Zengenti

Contensis


4.5 / 5
7 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Contensis is used by enterprise-level organisations in the higher education, local government, not-for-profit, health care, and manufacturing sectors.


Average Ratings

7 Reviews

  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall

  • 4.5 / 5
    Ease of Use

  • 4.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    Not provided by vendor
  • Free Demo
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Documentation
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • Zengenti
  • zengenti.com
  • Founded 2001
  • United Kingdom

About Contensis

Contensis is the CMS that powers websites for some of the UK's leading organisations. It handles huge sites and publishes global content, naturally. But it is also easy to use, and simple to manage. Built on a scalable architecture, Contensis can deliver content through multiple channels formatted for any device. People love Contensis. It provides them with an elegant user experience and an unrivalled sense of ownership over their content.


Contensis Features

  • Audio Content
  • Customizable Templates
  • Document Indexing
  • E-forms
  • Full Text Search
  • Image Editor
  • SEO Management
  • Text Editor
  • Version Control
  • Video Content
  • Website Management

Contensis Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Contensis is a flexible tool for creating and maintaining websites

Mar 19, 2019
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: - flexibility: Contensis allows a variety of technologies to be used on our website

- ease of use: non-technical people can be trained to use Contensis quickly

- support: Zengenti respond quickly to any calls we raise

- we can use standard templates for branding purposes but users still have the freedom to do what they want within the constraints on the template

Cons: - the infrastructure needed to run Contensis and the website is complicated

- the support system used by Zengenti, where bugs are found, reported and fixed but only when you upgrade to a new version is difficult to use on a website our size, as every upgrade requires considerable resource for testing before we can go live with it

Vendor Response

by Zengenti on April 18, 2019

Hi Dave,

Thanks for your review. I?m glad you?ve found Contensis easy to use.

We recognise that Contensis has become increasingly complicated to host on-premise. This is one of the reasons we are making new releases of Contensis cloud-only. Running Contensis in the cloud will let us use cutting-edge technologies that our customers might struggle to support on their own infrastructure. And, eventually, it will also allow us to make Contensis versionless ? meaning bug fixes and incremental improvements will be released automatically.

Regards,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

Easy to use but no instant publishing

Mar 18, 2019
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Really intuitive interface. It's actually nicely designed too - there are so many UIs out there that are dated and boring - Contensis is quite nice.

Cons: Contensis doesn't have instant publishing. I know some of our editors find it frustrating that their content doesn't publish as instantly as WordPress, for example.

Contensis doesn't work on my mobile which I find irritating when I'm out and about and notice an error I'd like to fix.

Overall: I use Contensis everyday as part of my job. Overall, I've really enjoyed using Contensis. It does what it needs to do and there aren't (for me personally) any serious limitations. There are a few functions I've still not had the time to have a play with yet, such as AB Testing, but it's on my list.

Overall, I'd recommend the system.

Vendor Response

by Zengenti on April 18, 2019

Hi Gemma,

Thanks for your great review. I?m glad you enjoy using Contensis and like the UI ? we?re working on ways to make it even better.

Unfortunately the publishing speed of web pages is limited by FTP, as we publish actual files to the web servers. This is one of the reasons we introduced content types and entries with the Delivery API. Because the Delivery API doesn?t rely on FTP, content is published immediately and can be delivered using front-end technologies like React.

You?ll be pleased to hear we?re working on mobile responsiveness as we refactor the Contensis UI.

Regards,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

Always around to help solve an issue

Apr 15, 2019
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I have started using content types and entries and find that very easy to use and feel that I have more autonomy to create engaging pages.

Cons: Some of the language used in the settings tools are jargonistic and not always easy to understand

Vendor Response

by Zengenti on April 18, 2019

Hi Tara,

Thanks for your review. I?m glad you?re finding content types and entries easy to use. Usability was our top priority when we developed these features.

We are constantly looking at refining microcopy in the UI. We would welcome any suggestions on areas that can be improved in our Slack suggestions channel.

Thanks again,

Si Horan,
Chief Product Officer

CMS with functionality and ease.

Apr 15, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The layout for contensis is very simplistic and can train other users how to use basic webpage editing .

Cons: Form posts are extremely unreliable when sending them to an inbox. 95% of the time they are received, the others are missed and no way of finding out why this happens.

Overall: I've been a user of contensis for around 7 years and have had an overall great experience using the software.

MCP review

Mar 18, 2019
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The ability to embed the Contensis pages into our application and also share the security realm from our application.

Also used to develop our Web site and Knowledge Base (for documents etc).

Cons: Desktop tools for WebDav functionality has been troublesome.

Overall: We have a very good working relationship with Zengenti management and technical staff.

Vendor Response

by Zengenti on April 18, 2019

Hi Russell,

Thanks for your review ? MCP is one of our oldest and most valued customers. It?s great that you continue to get so much out of Contensis.

I?m sorry you?re having trouble with the desktop tool. I?ll try to get the bottom of the issue.

All the best,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

Solid CMS especially for universities or councils

Nov 06, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Used it for many years. Found it easy to use with many features. based on ASP.NET and you could write custom code sraight into the CMS. Great user support. Getting better year on year.

Cons: Some of the add-on functionality that we paid for, over and above the core product, was not up to scratch at the time.

I want to love Contensis but we keep falling out

Apr 15, 2019
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 4.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Powerful and flexible.

Track changes, full version control with side by side comparison, audit trail.

Cons: It doesn't do everything it is purported to do. Some things don't work as advertised (eg. some administrative functions).

Slow load time in authoring environment.

Overall: It shows much promise and some things work great, but some things do not and they grind at you until you fear you may get to a point where you cannot see past this little niggles. Communication within the Zengenti support team seems to be problematic. Sometimes we have to explain our issues over and over again until everyone is on the same page.