Contensis Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Contensis

Contensis is the CMS that powers websites for some of the UK's leading organisations. It handles huge sites and publishes global content, naturally. But it is also easy to use, and simple to manage. Built on a scalable architecture, Contensis can deliver content through multiple channels formatted for any device. People love Contensis. It provides them with an elegant user experience and an unrivalled sense of ownership over their content. Learn more about Contensis

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Gemma Wilks D.
Web Designer
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019

“Easy to use but no instant publishing”

OverallI use Contensis everyday as part of my job. Overall, I've really enjoyed using Contensis. It does what it needs to do and there aren't (for me personally) any serious limitations. There are a few functions I've still not had the time to have a play with yet, such as AB Testing, but it's on my list. Overall, I'd recommend the system.
ProsReally intuitive interface. It's actually nicely designed too - there are so many UIs out there that are dated and boring - Contensis is quite nice.
ConsContensis doesn't have instant publishing. I know some of our editors find it frustrating that their content doesn't publish as instantly as WordPress, for example. Contensis doesn't work on my mobile which I find irritating when I'm out and about and notice an error I'd like to fix.

Vendor Response

By Zengenti on May 3, 2019
Hi Gemma, Thanks for your great review. I'm glad you enjoy using Contensis and like the UI - we're working on ways to make it even better. Unfortunately the publishing speed of web pages is limited by FTP, as we publish actual files to the web servers. This is one of the reasons we introduced content types and entries with the Delivery API. Because the Delivery API doesn't rely on FTP, content is published immediately and can be delivered using front-end technologies like React. You'll be pleased to hear we're working on mobile responsiveness as we refactor the Contensis UI. Regards, Si Horan Chief Product Officer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019
Dave R.
Application Operation Team Leader
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Contensis is a flexible tool for creating and maintaining websites”

Pros- flexibility: Contensis allows a variety of technologies to be used on our website - ease of use: non-technical people can be trained to use Contensis quickly - support: Zengenti respond quickly to any calls we raise - we can use standard templates for branding purposes but users still have the freedom to do what they want within the constraints on the template
Cons- the infrastructure needed to run Contensis and the website is complicated - the support system used by Zengenti, where bugs are found, reported and fixed but only when you upgrade to a new version is difficult to use on a website our size, as every upgrade requires considerable resource for testing before we can go live with it

Vendor Response

By Zengenti on May 3, 2019
Hi Dave, Thanks for your review. I'm glad you've found Contensis easy to use. We recognise that Contensis has become increasingly complicated to host on-premise. This is one of the reasons we are making new releases of Contensis cloud-only. Running Contensis in the cloud will let us use cutting-edge technologies that our customers might struggle to support on their own infrastructure. And, eventually, it will also allow us to make Contensis versionless - meaning bug fixes and incremental improvements will be released automatically. Regards, Si Horan Chief Product Officer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Phillip N.
Digital Officer
Government Administration, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“A content management system for the modern age”

OverallWe've been with Zengenti and using Contensis since 2015 now and it's been a really good experience. They're always looking for innovative ways to make content creation easier and more flexible for the end user.
ProsEase of use really. We've had a history of really realllly bad content management systems so to get one that just works is good. It's a really flexible system and how one organisation uses it to the next is completely different. We want to utilise the new content type and entries feature now which flip the script on how we create content in future so we're excited to see what Contensis will do next.
ConsProbably the fact it isn't open source but it isn't really a deal breaker in truth.

Vendor Response

By Zengenti on May 13, 2019
Hi Phillip, Thanks for your great review. It's brilliant to hear that you and your team see the value in content types and entries. There are some really exciting features coming in the next couple of Contensis releases that I'm sure you'll be keen to try out as well. Look forward to catching up with you at our next community event, Si Horan Chief Product Officer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Jaroslav F.
C#/.net developer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019

“Flexible / Friendly to use”

OverallProfessional team is helpful as well as some good community support running on slack. We have been through ups and downs while working on a big project while a new contensits version was being developed/launched. Now we past that, we have one good, stable and reliable CMS.
ProsGreat for editors as no html knowledge is required when dealing with entries. Very flexible product that can do all we need. Easy integration with our systems.
Conslocal dev copy in VS is sometimes slow when building solution.

Vendor Response

By Zengenti on May 21, 2019
Hi Jaroslav, Thanks for taking the time to review Contensis and for being so engaged with the Contensis community. I know you're always ready to help other Slack users with advice and feedback whenever you can. The work you and the rest of the team at Domino do alongside our technical consultants and services team has really driven Contensis forwards - especially the multilingual features of the product. Thanks again, Si Horan Chief Product Officer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019
Brad E.
Senior Digital Services Officer
Government Administration, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“CMS with functionality and ease.”

OverallI've been a user of contensis for around 7 years and have had an overall great experience using the software.
ProsThe layout for contensis is very simplistic and can train other users how to use basic webpage editing .
ConsForm posts are extremely unreliable when sending them to an inbox. 95% of the time they are received, the others are missed and no way of finding out why this happens.

Vendor Response

By Zengenti on April 30, 2019
Hi Brad, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great that you and your users are finding Contensis easy to use. I know that you've been working with Mark in our product team to resolve the issue you've had with form post notifications not being received and that he added audit logging to your forms module to gather more information. I've asked him to take a look into the logs we have so far to see if he can find the root cause. Regards, Si Horan Chief Product Officer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Matt J.
Production Manager
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“I want to love Contensis but we keep falling out”

OverallIt shows much promise and some things work great, but some things do not and they grind at you until you fear you may get to a point where you cannot see past this little niggles. Communication within the Zengenti support team seems to be problematic. Sometimes we have to explain our issues over and over again until everyone is on the same page.
ProsPowerful and flexible. Track changes, full version control with side by side comparison, audit trail.
ConsIt doesn't do everything it is purported to do. Some things don't work as advertised (eg. some administrative functions). Slow load time in authoring environment.

Vendor Response

By Zengenti on June 20, 2019
Hi Matt, I'm sorry Contensis hasn't worked as you expected. As you know, we did a considerable amount of bespoke work to make your instance of Contensis suit the specific needs of the University of Waterloo. There's a chance that a lot of these changes were outside the experience of the staff in our support team. I know that Alex in our product team has been working with you to make further custom changes to your CMS, so hopefully your experience of Contensis will be more in line with your expectations. With regards to your slow loading authoring environment, this isn't something we recognise as a problem for other clients and we will discuss this in more detail with you during our next scheduled account call. If you have any further concerns in the meantime, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Regards, Si Horan Chief Product Officer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Russell K.
Systems Manager
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019

“MCP review”

OverallWe have a very good working relationship with Zengenti management and technical staff.
ProsThe ability to embed the Contensis pages into our application and also share the security realm from our application. Also used to develop our Web site and Knowledge Base (for documents etc).
ConsDesktop tools for WebDav functionality has been troublesome.

Vendor Response

By Zengenti on May 3, 2019
Hi Russell, Thanks for your review - MCP is one of our oldest and most valued customers. It's great that you continue to get so much out of Contensis. I'm sorry you're having trouble with the desktop tool. I'll try to get the bottom of the issue. All the best, Si Horan Chief Product Officer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019
Tara S.
Communications Coordinator
Public Policy, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“Always around to help solve an issue ”

ProsI have started using content types and entries and find that very easy to use and feel that I have more autonomy to create engaging pages.
ConsSome of the language used in the settings tools are jargonistic and not always easy to understand

Vendor Response

By Zengenti on April 30, 2019
Hi Tara, Thanks for your review. I'm glad you're finding content types and entries easy to use. Usability was our top priority when we developed these features. We are constantly looking at refining microcopy in the UI. We would welcome any suggestions on areas that can be improved in our Slack suggestions channel. Thanks again, Si Horan, Chief Product Officer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“Solid CMS especially for universities or councils”

ProsUsed it for many years. Found it easy to use with many features. based on ASP.NET and you could write custom code sraight into the CMS. Great user support. Getting better year on year.
ConsSome of the add-on functionality that we paid for, over and above the core product, was not up to scratch at the time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018