gGastro EHR & ERW Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About gGastro EHR & ERW

Modernizing Medicine Gastroenterology offers the gGastro EHR and gGastro Endoscopy Report Writer (ERW) for private practices, ASCs and hospitals, as part of a suite of solutions. Built for and by gastroenterologists, gGastro EHR is available as a cloud- or server-based solution. Features include automated ICD-10 and CPT coding suggestions, preloaded gastroenterology diagnoses, a built-in MIPS scorecard and more. gGastro EHR integrates with gGastro ERW. Learn more about gGastro EHR & ERW

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Medical Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019

“All-Around Great ”

OverallI am a Medical Assistant at a GI clinic, with gGastro you don't have to know the software entirely, only the functions that relate to your specific job function. The doctors at the clinic enjoy the level of customization within the Electronic Health Records and Endoscopy Report Writer. I use the EHR aspect of gGastro daily while working in the scheduling department. I started out rooming patients, then working at the front desk area and progressed to scheduling within a few months. I've discovered that regardless of department, gGastro is essential for business operations and being able to move employees around without additional training is a huge plus.
ProsThe ease of use is most likable about this software. Growing up in the digital age i'm a quick learner when it comes to software and tech. I've witnessed many co-workers who considered themselves not so tech savvy learn this software quickly. Many functions tend to carry over into each task to the point that I've been placed in several different departments at work and I already know the system of gGastro well, no new learning needed. This is a great feature.
ConsI don't think it's a con at all but it would be neat to add an instant messaging type feature. The tasking and messaging works well and gets the job done. However a common situation I face is the need for timely responses from co-workers. I believe a live messaging type feature would bring even more value to this already great software program.

Vendor Response

By Modernizing Medicine Gastroenterology on February 1, 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your honest feedback and suggestions with us and others considering our EHR and ERW software. We're glad you and the practice you work for have experienced many benefits. -Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019
Richard N.
Doctor
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 21, 2015

“Dr. Nemec's review”

ProsThe leadership is continually trying to improve the product. It is also the PREMIER GI-specific EHR. The integration of clinical information between the endoscopy suite and office is seamless IF gMed product is used for both. The integration between clinical and practice management is extremely helpful for a managing physician
ConsMajor general complaint: It is still very cumbersome and impossible to efficiently work within an electronic healthcare record. Significant specific complaint: Clinical data recorded in either a tasking note or gPortal is not readily available to the clinician. Those separate and distinct sections have to be searched for clinical information. To avoid this problem, I often "dual document"
Recommendations to other buyersMy top three: (1) Recognize that all electronic software companies over-promise and under-deliver. (2) Consider all the "tasks" that a clinician does OUTSIDE of the OFFICE/PROCEDURE visit (This is an often ignored but very important aspect of all EHRs). (3) To what extent can the proximal truly integrate with other electronic healthcare records (ie receiving DATA, not .pdf or scanned documents)?
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 21, 2015
Joyce M.
Center Manager
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019

“Long time gGastro user”

OverallWe have everything in 1 server and utilize the billing, patient reminders, patient portal etc. Makes it easy to have everything with one company.
ProsI like that it is GI specific and is fairly customizable
ConsSometimes enhancement requests are slow to happen

Vendor Response

By Modernizing Medicine Gastroenterology on June 4, 2019
Good morning Joyce - We're glad to have you and Seaford Endoscopy Center as part of the Modernizing Medicine Gastroenterology family. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and those considering our EHR & ERW. - Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019
Lynne A.
LVN
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“My latest EMR”

OverallGood system but I have wasted a lot of time during my day waiting for the system to work, load and update.
ProsEasy to learn and navigate . You can complete billing, scheduling, and messaging without having multiple systems!
ConsSlow as molasses! I have used other EMRs and this is by far the slowest one ! I can't even imagine how efficient I could be in patient service if this EMR worked at its full potential. You can not "flip" from screen to screen quickly or even type too fast!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Todd W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 6, 2013

OverallWe looked at several EMRs and ultimately chose gMed because it was the only one that was "GI specific." It truly seems to have the hearts of the private gastroenterologist in mind. This company is very warm and friendly to work with, and I know that their own survival is deeply entwined with my survival as a private gastroenterologist. You can't say this for any other vendor. Everyone at their company - from trainers to programmers - know what I do as a gastroenterologist. Like many EMR companies now, they are super busy working on Meaningful Use stuff, but they are also working on stuff that I care about, instead of working on things that a PCP or dermatologist mind care about. We have nearly all of their products and have built a fully integrated system that includes everything from office to endo to scheduling and billing. I am forced to use ProVation at the hospital I work at, and I hate it. gMED's product is ultimately customizable, so you can become very efficient (of course, you need good IT and SuperUser types, but that's true of any EMR). If you are thinking of switching to an EMR, come to their annual Users Conference to network with other GI docs, and you'll be convinced! This product may not (yet) be as flashy as other products (eClinicalWorks, for example), but don't be lured in by the flashiness of someone who doesn't really care about you. You are not going for a quick fling here, you're marrying an EMR vendor and want someone for the long haul. This product is only getting better! Transitioning from paper to EMR is a painful process; I won't kid you. But I can't see why any private gastroenterologist would work with any EMR vendor besides gMED.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 6, 2013
Tasha C.
Practice Administrator
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“gMed review”

ProsI appreciate the ease of having everything in one system.
ConsI would enjoy having more mobile features.

Vendor Response

By Modernizing Medicine Gastroenterology on May 13, 2019
Hi Tasha - Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and others considering using our GI-specific EHR and ERW. -Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Apurva T.
MD
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 13, 2018

“Ancient platform is in urgent need to a complete rebuild to be browser agnostic”

OverallBest for GI but we deserve better.
ProsThis is the most GI-specific EHR out there and it does a great job integrating the endoscopy workflow, scheduling, and outpatient workflow. Good document management, faxing integration, usually fast.
ConsStuck in internet explorer and activex from over a decade ago. Imagine using a cell phone that old. This is a cumbersome setup that requires use of Windows OS, unsafe browser settings, and it often stops working after Windows auto-updates. Patient portal and patient communications in general are dated, though does allow sharing of PDF versions of chart docs. Fax was nice but direct should work a lot better. Can only renew or prescribe meds one at a time. Importing pharmacies and local providers is cumbersome.

Vendor Response

By Modernizing Medicine Gastroenterology on October 12, 2018
Hello Dr. Trivedi - Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I understand that you have connected with one of our customer success managers to discuss your concerns and suggestions, and they have been shared with the appropriate teams. We're here to help and you can reach out to support at 866-459-4227 or gSupport@modmed.com with any immediate needs in the future. Thank you! -Holly, Clinical Solutions Manager
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 13, 2018
Rebecca R.
Materials Manager
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Replaced EndoWorks for us ”

ProsTech support is very helpful in addressing issues on the fly.
ConsIt was a little difficult to learn just because it's very involved, maybe more than it needs to be.

Vendor Response

By Modernizing Medicine Gastroenterology on August 26, 2019
Good morning, Rebecca - Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and those considering the gGastro suite. - Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Pam I.
Administrator
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 21, 2015

“Excellent EMR”

ProsEasy system to learn, well laid out, integrates with outside organizations, looks to the future
ConsVery attentive, don't have any issues they aren't working on
Recommendations to other buyersAsk other users, visit a user if possible and include physicians and staff
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 21, 2015
Tasha C.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 20, 2013

“Tasha from GastroClinic”

ProsThe best part of this product is the fact that it is specialty specific.
ConsThe hardest part of the product is moving forward with electronic medical records. We switched over from paper to EHR and it was a challenge. Now that the transition is complete, we could never imagine going back.
Recommendations to other buyersThis product is great if you are looking for a quality product that has the "complete package." Talk to other users of the product to get a good feel for how gMed has streamlined their practice.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 20, 2013
Stacey B.
Medical Biller
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 27, 2016

“gMed Review”

ProsThe product is intuitive, easy to use, and GI-specific.
ConsVery attentive, don't have any issues they aren't working on.
Recommendations to other buyersAsk other users, visit a user if possible and include physicians and staff
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 27, 2016
Andria M.
Director of Finance
Medical Practice, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 4, 2016

“gMed - not robust enough for a large group”

OverallgMed appears to have been designed for a smaller physician group. With a group as large as ours (28 docs), it is currently cumbersome and does not offer all of the flexibility and support needed.
ProsReporting features for financial info are great.
ConsReporting features for clinical aspects are weak. Has trouble working with large volumes of data. (i.e. Year to date reports for 10 months or more always time out and won't complete running)
Recommendations to other buyersWait until the new owners - Modern Medicine - revamp and upgrade this product before implementing.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 4, 2016
Debbie P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 1, 2013

OverallWe are an 8-provider GI practice; we've been on GMED EMR 18 months, and we could not be happier! The GI-specific product was extremely easy to adapt to our practice, and we easily met meaningful use. The physicians and staff love it. Our workflow is now completely digitalized and highly efficient; it also presents countless opportunities to improve patient care. Support is great; I love their GBUS for online training.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 1, 2013
Tasha C.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 12, 2014

“Great Product”

ProsThe product is intuitive, easy to use, and GI-specific.
ConsIdeas are not able to be all addressed at once. They are appropriately triaged; however, instant gratification is always wanted.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure you know what you are needing to make this change from paper to electronic work. Visit another site that is working well with the product.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 12, 2014
Peter M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2016

“gGastro - Lacks Customer Support”

OverallThis system needs some updating. The active X controls make it a real pain to work with other applications. The support has recently taken a dive but am hoping that firms up once their new team of techs is trained up. Just went through a purchase is my understanding

Vendor Response

By Modernizing Medicine Gastroenterology on October 10, 2016
Hi Peter - Thank you for sharing your feedback and it has been shared with our team here to address your concerns. We recently have added additional team members and they are quickly ramping up. The experience you had will continue to improve. We still regularly receive glowing reviews on the majority of support service which we provide and have had an above 90% customer satisfaction rating in 2016. Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2016
Eduardo K.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 7, 2013

OverallLove it! This system has really improved the way we practice medicine. You can tell it was designed for GI and Colorectal Surgeons. We've found it easy to use, and their support is excellent.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 7, 2013
Gustavo C.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2.5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 27, 2015

“Improving - but slowly”

ProsI've gotten used to the product and its quirks. It is possible to modify it to one's preferences.
ConsRequests for fixes are too slowly addressed. Many obvious flaws are ignored. Many unnecessary steps are for a simple process. The program is very slow at times.
Recommendations to other buyersTry using it before buying it, and visit a practice that already uses it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 27, 2015