Calyx Point Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Calyx Point

Calyx Software, the #1 provider of mortgage solutions for banks, credit unions, mortgage bankers and brokers, is dedicated to offering reliable and affordable software that streamlines, integrates and optimizes all phases of the loan process. All Calyx products are designed to maximize profitability by enabling more loans to close quickly. Learn more about Calyx Point

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Gregory F.
Vice President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018

“I shopped for better value (price and feature) systems, and didn't find any. ”

ProsPoint has been a mainstay of Loan Origination Systems for years. I've used several of the biggest name products (Encompass, Genesis, LendingQB) and Point offers some of the best feature/price balance available. It does NOT try to be all things - it's an LOS. Other sytems attempt to include CRM, and advanced marketing, and rules and engines, but for a small mortgage brokerage, there are better 3rd party tools to do all of that, and Point does a good job at playing well with others. Combined with a hosted server, it's very secure, easy to navigate, and integrates with all the major players in the space. It does have all of the necessary loan origination tools, it updated regularly to keep pace with changes in the industry, and it FEELS like you're entering data directly onto a paper loan application, so there is very little learning curve.
ConsThe interface hasn't been updated since 2004 - maybe longer, so it looks like software from the Windows XP era. It also doesn't know how to handle custom forms other than Word, or custom views or custom much of anything else. It's an installed application, with a lot of function, but if you're looking for something cloud-based, or infinitely flexible, this isn't it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018
Avatar Image
R. Curtis M.
System Analyst
Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“Mortgage Loan Management Made Easy”

OverallI am a user and administrator. I have integrated stand alone and hosted systems on many occasions. I love the completeness of this application. I have not seen any other that has so much in one place. As a team manager Calyx Point makes my job easier.
ProsCalyx Point has every single aspect of the mortgage loan process integrated into one application. I have used others in the past but none compare. They offer stand alone and hosted applications. This software can support a 2 person organization to 100s of loan processors with ease. Single point management makes managing the application seamless.
ConsThis is a large application and you have a lot of users you will need in house IT to support all of the integration. Although Calyx has great support you need someone to be there for day to day computing issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018
Deborah H.
Marketing Manager
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2019

“Calyx Point is a pioneer”

OverallCalyx Point is an outstanding program and I highly recommend it to the mortgage industry.
ProsCalyx Point has been around forever and we've been using it for so many years. It has always been a flawless program to use. We couldn't imagine business without it. Calyx always keeps up with the changing times. A must have for the mortgage industry.
ConsAt first like with most software there is a learning curve. It's not super complicated but you will have to get used to it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2019
Laura K.
Admin
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2018

“Calyx Point is great!”

OverallCalyx Point is a great software for mortgage brokers/bankers, originator & processors to use. Great for reports with tons of different customizable options. Very user friendly.
ProsThe software is pretty self explanatory and easy to use. Features "Read Only" mode if multiple users are in a file at the same time so you don't have to worry about multiple save versions.
ConsThey update the software too often. Sometimes there will be 2 mandatory updates within a 2 week period, instead of just lumping both updates into one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2018
nitish b.
Associate Financial Analyst
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2018

“Morgage User friendly ”

OverallIt is very user friendly and it great software for mortgage originator and processors to use.
ProsI liked that the screen and user interface are similar to the loan originator form. This also helps in keeping my client information in an organised manner. I like the ease of use once familiar and the ability to customize the loan originator system to your system.
ConsAlthough easy to use once familiar but it has a steep learning curve that may cause some difficulties to new users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2018
Patti H.
Mortgage Specialist
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 29, 2019

“Calyx Point Software”

OverallI used this daily and loved the format and all the functions for mortgage origination.
ProsI loved this software for originating mortgage loans! It's ease of use and step by step through the application process was the best for origination software in my opinion.
ConsI liked everything about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 29, 2019
Taniya M.
Procurement Manager
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“General Use Review”

OverallCustomer service is great and very helpful and informative.
ProsProduct does exactly as it says and quickly. Variety of new products always come available which are competitive.
ConsPricing options are limited. Get cornered with higher prices even when volume increases and have to use this vendor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 30, 2018

“Calyx is the industry standard. I love it! ”

ProsThe majority of my mortgage origination and loan officer jobs have required familiarity with Calyx Point software. I have found it to be the industry standard.
ConsThe upgrades don't change the GUI or functionality much. However, even the slightest change takes a little getting used to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 30, 2018
Apple M.
mortgage specialist
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018

“My experience with calyx point is very good. Im using it almost everyday at work.”

Overallsome of the benefits I get from this software are having my file organized and being able to have one file organizer and share it with the team.
Proswhat I like the most with this software is that it keeps records from my clients and help me organize my files. it is awesome that i can separate their profile to different folders i wish to have as long as it is connected with my computer's jungle disc.
Conswhat I like the least with this software is that it cannot filter if the clients name is already there by just saving it. i have to go to advance search tab and type the client's name in order to know if they are already there.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Jason S.
Account Executive
Financial Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“Calyx Point is a great simple loan origination software.”

ProsI like the ease of use and the ability to customize fields to customize the loan origination system to your business.
ConsI do not like the non-cloud based system. The system also does not have a good indexing system for file names.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Ana Maria C.
Mortgage Specialist
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“I still have to learn much about navigating to this program though it is helpful in keeping info.”

OverallThe best thing that we get here is the ratio of the client whether they are qualified for a mortgage loan and how much they can be qualified for. It is automatic once you enter all the details given by the buyer.
ProsSince we are in a real estate business, getting the ratio of a client based on their income which are automatically computed in this program makes it easier for us to know how much will their closing cost be and so help the client prepare ahead of time.
ConsIt is a bit difficult to navigate on this software if you are not very much familiar. It took me weeks to familiarize myself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Romayeo E.
Loan officer
Banking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Loan processing software”

OverallWas extremely happy with the product after switching from encompass
ProsThe ease of use for myself and my processor.
ConsThe initial training on the product was difficult.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Mark E.
Owner
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“WARNING: Potential for expensive software failure ... unresolved.”

OverallI use it in my daily business as a Mortgage Broker.
ProsOld, ancient, familiar software. Interfaces well with Fannie Mae DO ... and credit reporting vendors. INKit e-signing is convenient yet potentially dangerous to Mortgage Broker's income.
ConsUnstable ... data entered correctly does not always flow through to the critically important Loan Estimate (LE) ... yet their INKit system will then send out an incorrect Loan Estimate (LE) that could cost the Mortgage Broker $1,000's of dollars ... and worst of all ... they take zero responsibility for the accuracy of their software ... and choose to define the problem as "unkown" ... before telling the Mortgage Broker "too bad you lost money" using our product ... their corporate culture is as old & ancient as their software ... search for an alternative.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Sara S.
Closing Coordinator
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019

“Calyx Point Review”

ProsIt was easy to input information and run reports. The reports could be slow at times, but it depends on the data you are searching as well. All of the federal and state documents are included in Calyx and you can also custom make your own documents to print and have the specific file information you need automatically inserted.
ConsI have not used Point Central, but feel that should be their basic platform used instead. It allows you to implement rules so things are not forgotten and missed. With Calyx Point base program you do not have these options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019
Michael M.
President
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2016

“Calyx is getting worse”

OverallI've been using this software in my mortgage company for over 10-years. We used to be satisfied with it, but not any longer.
ProsNONE
ConsTech support used to be great. I've waited two-weeks to get a reply from tech support. When they do respond, it is often nonsensical , or they outright lie about the issue at hand. The program itself is full pf problems: printing issues, mis-calculations, data that should transfer to other forms does not. Support and management do not listen to user suggestions. They only seem to be interested in serving larger companies.
Recommendations to other buyersAvoid.
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2019

“Great software for mortgage loan processing and underwriting. ”

OverallI liked the detail of information that could be entered into the system.
ProsI like the ease of use and understanding. The layout makes complete sense and follows the mortgage loan documents.
ConsNothing really. Again, this software was very easy to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2019
BRYCE C.
Owner Broker
Real Estate, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Better than most, but still needs improvement”

ProsThe customer support is great, but for smaller companies like mine, it would be nice to have a more turnkey program -- this software requires a lot of initial set up and customization. Some may find that good, but in a heavily regulated industry, it's nicer to be able to just plug and go.
ConsNeeds to be more turnkey. There are a lot of things that require customization and template-setting at the beginning. This is extremely time-consuming and costly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“From an IT admin perspective”

ProsIt was fairly simple to manage user accounts and licenses. Phone support when needed was fantastic
ConsSetting up rules could be troublesome and small changes had large ripple effects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018

“Overall a good system ”

OverallThis system generates clean documents. This can't be said for other LOS.
ProsThere is always something to learn with this system. I haven't even scratched the surface of what this system can do.
ConsLearning the system was a little difficult because there are a few quirks, but once you learn them the system it isn't a problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018
Argyll S.
mortgage specialist
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018

“my experience was hard the first time working on it.”

Overalli can easily file my client's info
Proswhat i like the most about this software is that it really helps me file up the information of our clients
Conswhat i like the least about this software is that it is really complex to understand on my own so i had to watch videos first
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018
Tonya Y.
Owner
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“Very easy to use and understandable”

OverallI ask my client about detail information the entry was right where I could put the information in use. No guessing where the information has to be retrieve. I am used to this software only.
ProsVery clear on setup and where to information is explained in detai. The software is easy to use and very professionally detailed.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“It got the job done.”

ProsI found it very easy to navigate and to know exactly where to input your information. I do like the ability to separate borrower profiles in different folders.
ConsThis software has been a staple in the mortgage industry throughout the years. I'm disappointed that the interface ability is still very poor in my opinion.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Michele D.
owner
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“Great for lending business, easy to learn and use.”

ProsThis software is easy to use and easily input basic information to get the qualification I factors I am looking for.
ConsCost can be expensive but easily offset by the added business you will have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Fred G.
Founder
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“Point”

OverallAweful
ProsNothing. It's old school junk that has been lapped
ConsIt's 2018 and this is a dos program that is not web based. Their thing about security is lame and pathetic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2018

“At the time it was the best”

ProsIndustry leading interface with underwriters and banks
ConsAt the time it seemed a little behind the times for graphical looks and inteface nuances
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2018
Christine S.
Senior Loan Officer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2016

“Quick efficent program”

OverallFound it very easy to use for people with little to no experience in loans. Gave quick accuate answers
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2016