BestNotes Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About BestNotes

BestNotes is a cloud based, HIPAA compliant EHR and CRM. Enjoy practice management from A to Z with a special focus on marketing/admissions and outcome measures. Billing, fully customizable documentation, scheduling, e-prescribe, e-MAR, credit card processing, lab results, patient portal, human resource management, administrative tools and so much more! Try BestNotes today with no upfront fees, month-to-month contract, unlimited training and support for one low monthly price. Learn more about BestNotes

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 34 of 34 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 34 of 34 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
James Y.
IT Support
Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Excellent CRM”

OverallOverall our experience with BestNotes has been great. Their support staff is really on top of things. We are very much looking forward to what BestNotes Fresh has to bring.
ProsI think the CRM functions of this software are fantastic. We run a multi-facility drug and alcohol treatment center and BestNotes certainly meets the needs for the varying levels of complexity that each client's chart needs based on their level of care. The note templates are highly customizable and the reporting functions have been a massive asset as tool for our chart audits.
ConsHonestly, our biggest problems with BestNotes come from its integration with other software and the eMAR. As a CRM BestNotes functions well, but we use an integration with DrFirst for ePrescribe that disrupts some functionality within BestNotes. We also use a lab integration through HalfPenny that has been left wanting. The eMAR is nice to have, but the ability to audit and track medication changes is fairly limited at this point.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Chris M.
Owner
Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Best EMR System I Have Ever Used ”

OverallI am able to manage clients across three mental health facilities all on one platform.
ProsThe software is extremely reliable and the maintenance times never impact our ability to treat clients. The ability to have multiple users at a set price point. The BN customer service experience has always been a joy!
ConsNone, I have yet to come across a need that the team was unable to meet.

Vendor Response

By BestNotes on August 1, 2019
Thanks for your support Chris! We're really excited about our future developments - we hope to make your experience with BestNotes even better!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Adam R.
Program Director
Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“Best Notes is Amazing”

OverallHonestly what makes Best Notes a great tool and asset for our organization is the Best Notes team. The product itself is great but the people behind the scenes are what make it amazing. I have never had a bad interaction with a Best Notes team member. Furthermore, they are very quick to support and to resolve issues. I have confidence if I have a question or a request, it will be treated fairly and promptly. I love the people I have had the pleasure of speaking to in person and online.
ProsWhat I like most about the software is the level to which it can be customized to fit the needs of the organization.
ConsThe look is kind of old or plain I suppose. But that is not a real complaint I have, just what I like the least.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Michelle D.
CEP
Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019

“You Get What You Pay For”

OverallI really wanted to love BestNotes but I regretted my decision straight away. Having the trial was useless because the system is cumbersome but I thought it was just me. Thus stuck with in site of my concern, hoping things would get easier/better but that never happened. Lesson learned for selecting them based on a non-clinician referral who clearly didn't know any better. BestNotes reps acknowledge that little has changed with the platform in the past 15 years (since its inception) and it shows. They insist a new product is underway although they have no information on when it will be released. Think this said to merely pacify customers. I assume they gain and keep some customers due to the low price but using the software is like stepping into a time warp. I'd rather pay more money for a modern, user friendly system that can be used across device and is truly web based rather than a low price for a grossly outdated system. This EHR needs a complete overall!
ProsThe price for this EHR is phenomenal and BestNotes has the potential to be great. I like that you can add your own customized forms. The scripted treatment plan goals are better than most as they are measurable (but BestNotes did take some short cuts by simply repeating the same goals over and over).
ConsAs many users have been indicating since 2016, BestNotes is looks like something from the 1900's. Thus the systems uses a lot of odd symbols from the 1990's (such as a floppy disk).There seems to be no consistency with font size across pages. Some of the templates have typos. Minor clients that require parental signature consent forms is ridiculously complicated. They systems uses a lot of their own made up acronyms that are confusing. Many of the videos/self help guides are outdated or otherwise irrelevant. It is clunky, grossly outdated, has an ugly interface, and is not intuitive. This system is not web based, you have to download the software application on your computer, the client portal is practically useless since clients cant self schedule or pay a bill there, and have to contract with a third party for billing thereby increasing your costs. Sadly, the staff are nice enough but can be a bit condescending if you cant quickly make sense out of the madness that is BestNotes that they have normalized.

Vendor Response

By BestNotes on June 11, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Michelle. I'm sorry you had such a painful experience. Respectfully, there are a few points that I would like to clarify. First, you mentioned that documentation can be confusing and clunky. It's true that BestNotes is customizable to a fault and we've taken some significant steps to make things easier. We hired a clinical director and after 3 years of Research/Development, we've released an entire set of behavioral health and addiction treatment focused documentation (from Admission to Discharge) that considers Joint Commission, CARF, Payer and common State/County regulations. The best part is that we keep this documentation updated for you. As regulations change, so does your documentation one less thing to worry about! Unfortunately, Capterra only have gives us 1000 characters to reply to your feedback. Quickly, BestNotes is entirely web-based, includes a lot of internal billing tools and we haven't stopped developing our current version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019
Natasha S.
Office Manager
Mental Health Care, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“BestNotes”

OverallMy program uses BestNotes for Mental Health Case Management and Foster Care. Neither of these is the niche field for BestNotes. However, the BestNotes team worked with us extensively to make sure that the software does what we need. BestNotes dedicated a lot of time to us during start-up and after start-up as we continued to make changes after going live.
ProsThe BestNotes team is fantastic and the software is flexible. Our program had a lot of requests regarding both form and function as we started implementation and the BestNotes staff was amazingly accommodating. The BestNotes dashboard is easy to navigate. There are items within the system that we can change ourselves, allowing ongoing and instantaneous development.
ConsUnfortunately BestNotes can't do everything. For example it won't track dates without the user's specific intervention.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019

“BestNotes ”

ProsI enjoy that you can upload documents and have everything in one place. The individual and group case notes are simple and user-friendly. It makes documenting sessions easy.
ConsIt is not always so intuitive. I have had to train a few individuals on how to use and the same questions come up with the treatment plan and not always knowing if you push save and continue or next. It sounds simple but it is not always easy to go back and fix.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019
Robert C.
Billing Manager
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 19, 2018

“Perfect for what we use it for”

OverallI still currently use this daily.
ProsGreat way to organize patient files. It's easy to use and understand. Can be organized and separated by facilities (we bill for multiple facilities).
ConsMy biggest complaint is that the "quick list" only goes up to 7 and there isn't any customization to add lists. We use that to separate our facilities patients however we bill for more than 7 facilities.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 19, 2018
Katie S.
Office Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2018

“BestNotes is worked wonderfully as an all inclusive EHR and Billing system when paired with Claim.MD”

ProsI like that the software captures all claim data information and builds electronic HCFA 1500 claim forms with information input to BestNotes. This makes billing a seamless and streamlined process.
ConsThe software is susceptible to internet interruptions and can be slow loading from page to page. Certain client files and registers that are very large sometimes produce an error code when loading .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2018
Joe R.
Partner
Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Phenomenal Customer Service!”

OverallOur experience with BestNotes has been phenomenal. The best part of the experience has been the customer service. Customer executives are always available, extremely knowledgeable, and super-fast to respond. We are very excited about BestNotes Fresh!
ProsVery intuitive, easily customizable, reasonably priced, unbelievable customer service.
ConsAPI limitations, inability to auto-schedule report exports
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Jose Gregorio L.
Motivador Superación Personal
Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“BestNotes to organize your mind !!”

OverallSo far I have had to install this system to more than 30 people and none have expressed unwanted comments about the operation and operation of the system. They are very satisfied customers because of the way they organize medical information and how they access it.
ProsBestNotes is a cloud based health or medical records system. Conceptualized for small and medium clinics. BestNotes offers applications for mobile devices on Android and iOS.
ConsBestNotes has managed to satisfy the need to solve the complex task of managing patient documents. It is a software that covers all the administrative aspects to handle medical documents. It has a practical, simple and fast search systems. Its interface has the information well ordered so that the medical authority can make a diagnosis. The more medical history a patient has, the order of visualization of the data is decisive for a diagnosis and this system does it very well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Micah B.
CFO
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 9, 2019

“Customizable ”

ProsThe best feature of BestNotes is how customizable it is, we are a specialized business so that was very important to us. Also, the customer service was great, they helped us get up and running very quickly.
ConsBestNotes is not very intuitive, so it takes practice to get use the functions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 9, 2019
Amy M.
Marketing Assistant/BestNotes Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2015

“BestNotes- Great Program. Great Partnership.”

OverallEngage first purchased BestNotes in late 2013. Kristen Francom has been our Implementation Specialist since then. She worked with us to set up BestNotes for our Intensive Outpatient Programs. Our company has experience tremendous growth within the past two years and Kristen at BestNotes has been right there helping get the most out of BestNotes. We appreciate that if there is a functionality of BestNotes that we need but is not in place she talks with the developer on our behalf to see if those needs can be met. BestNotes has helped us keep better track of our clients as well as get a better picture of how our community outreach is directly impacting our census. Ideally we would like Bestnotes to have the functionality to house both our private practice and program clients WITHOUT crossover but have been informed that there is not a way to do that at this time. It did take our staff a while to get use to how to use Bestnotes. Since BestNotes is a program that is used differently between companies there is not one standardized training that BestNotes can offer. They do have a help desk site that does answer many questions a user may have. However, we have created our own training documents that are specific to how our office uses the program. Overall we are very happy that with BestNotes we not only purchased a very useful and helpful program but also that we have experienced a partnership with Kristen Francom in making BestNotes work for us.
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2015
Dominic T.
OARS Product Specialist
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 2, 2018

“Great product!”

ProsBest product on the market! Too many other ehrs are way too expensive for what they feature! Love bestnotes!
ConsI cant think of anything negative to say, i widh we wouldve went with bestnotes from the beginning! Thanks BN!
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 2, 2018
Kassie H.
admissions specialist
Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2019

“Very well rounded”

OverallI have been pleased with this program
ProsThis is not only an EMR, but also can be used for marketing data
ConsThere are many things that have to be done manually
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Chari C.
Office Manager
Facilities Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“It does what it needs to”

ProsThey give you a lot of features you need for scheduling and client management in a secure place.
ConsIt is definitely not pretty. You would think that something that has been around for a while would have a better user interface. There is also a huge learning curve for all of our Therapist and other users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Ari L.
Ceo
Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018

“Has become pure garbage”

OverallUsed to be ok. Now with their support and better products out there, it's WorstNotes "tm"
ProsIt's cheap. It was great to use years ago. They were also a much better company years ago.
ConsSame basic interface since day one. Zero updates. Hard to navigate. Customer support has become horrendous. Can only use from their program. Can't use it on a phone because it isn't web friendly, and their "app" does literally nothing.

Vendor Response

By BestNotes on October 16, 2018
Hi Ari, It pains me to hear that your experience with BestNotes was once great but became poor over time. Looking back at your use of BestNotes, it corresponds with an explosive period of growth we experienced. Indeed, our support team struggled during this time and we couldn't hire and train employees quick enough. This painful process has made us a much better company. We've overhauled the way we train employees and carefully watch forecasting metrics, so we can hire new teammates before we need them. In addition, we have never stopped improving BestNotes by adding new features and improving the overall workflow. Unfortunately, we didn't do a good job communicating these new enhancements to end-users. Today, we are sending regular emails to System Administrators about updates, promoting new enhancements on the login screen and provide a live view of everything we are working on through a public facing Trello board. I hope we can earn your trust back someday.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018
Phil S.
Owner
Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 28, 2018

“Great efficient notekeepinf software”

ProsLoved the ease of use and access and ability to customize the product to fit the needs the of the clientele. Did great with individual and group casenotes.
ConsI was just a user and not an admin so I don't know how to manage the financial and billing side of the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 28, 2018
Ruth B.
Billing Manager
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 23, 2016

“Nice scheduling product.”

ProsIt is very easy to use, keeps a record of what has been done on a patient's account, it is great for notes.
ConsAt the time of printing records it was not possible to work on anything else, there is a little window that appears and disappear for every single page printing, which was pretty annoying and does not allow you to work in another program.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you are looking for a scheduling program, and a program to keep a record of your notes, this is a great product. However you have to purchase another product that is compatible with it to process your billing.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 23, 2016
Brittany R.
Director
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“EHR Review”

OverallI am still in the implementation process, however I have worked closely with the rep throughout the process. He has been knowledgeable, assisted me in learning the system so that I can navigate myself, is reliable and accessible, and has been a great support for my team and I.
ProsI like that the interface is user friendly and has a lot of features that are specifically useful within my field. I also like that there are many fields that can be pulled forward from other documents to minimize human error and increase compliance. Lastly, I like the ease with which I can create and modify my own documents as I see fit.
ConsThere are a couple features that are not available that would be helpful, however the team is always able to work through other options with me.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Miriam G.
Strategy Director
Medical Practice, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 26, 2018

“BestNotes offers many possibilities to users.”

ProsThe best thing that BestNotes has is that it is a multifunctional platform for users, offering the possibility that someone can edit my notes if I give them the authorization, and in this way, be able to have group notes within an organization or company.
ConsI would like BestNotes to improve its design, since since I am using it, I have noticed that the design has never changed, it has always been the same, and that in particular, it bores all users, it should be much more varied and with colors Nicer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 26, 2018
Jessica C.
Collections specialist
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 26, 2018

“Seems to be an older software.”

OverallI believe Best Notes could be more utilized if they would advance the technologies of the program to easily use and make edits.
ProsWhen a patient is selected, all documents uploaded are listed on the right, but I am still able to create and select a folder on the left to see a list of the documents in that category.
ConsThe software doesn't seem to be upgrading with the advances in technology. I still find it hard to navigate and make edits to a document without it making an error in the formatting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 26, 2018
Natsumi M.
Counselor
Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“BestNotes is the pioneer! ”

ProsI think BestNotes is one of the pioneers of the online medical record keeping company. I loved using it. They have wonderful wonderful customer support! I was able to learn quickly and used it.
ConsYou will probably encounter some learning curves when you start using Best Notes. but customer service team will help you get through.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Charley D.
Program Manager
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 24, 2018

“Not for those who love a paper chart”

ProsThe integrating process was difficult but their trainers were always available and very helpful. They can customize a lot, but if you have clinician who love a paper chart and who prefer free flow documentation this is a difficult program to get them on board with.
ConsIf you are trying to use without something like a DoctorFirst, it is really problem prone. They have just rolled out some new features though, which I hope will resolve ongoing med errors and lots of front end work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 24, 2018
Angela W.
Office Admin
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 29, 2018

“Great training experience which makes things a lot smoother.”

ProsOnce trained, it is very helpful and they make it unique to your documents and reports. There are lots of things to learn, but they take you through, step-by-step, and assign you homework so you can practice.
ConsIt is initially confusing, lots of different sections to worry about. Not really quick at returning general email questions. They are quick if you have a meeting with a trainer, but other than that their tickets are not answered promptly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 29, 2018
Mark S.
CEO
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2016

“BestNotes lives up to its name. ”

OverallBestNotes is by far the best EHR I have ever worked with. From their product to their excellent customer service, they deliver with professionalism and concern. They have even assisted us with Medicaid issues by contacting state office to expedite application issues.
ProsThe ease of use and full range of documents makes paperwork and billing a breeze for my staff.
ConsI have no cons at this time.
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2016
Rick H.
Co-Founder
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2015

“BestNotes provides the best possible CRM system for any behavioral healthcare company”

OverallI have experienced many customer relationship management systems over the years; time and time again BestNotes has proven to be our perfect CRM system. The BesNnotes platform is intuitive, resourceful and easy to navigate and use our data in the variety of productive ways. The BestNotes support team has an individualized investment in their customers and have consistently provided me with personal care through their valuable customer service and unmatched support for my company. From the Patient Portal to Outcome Tools, BestNotes provides the best integration of customer information. With all their services and support, BestNotes provides the best possible CRM system for any behavior healthcare company.
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2015
Donte P.
Executive Director
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“Great Customer Serivce ”

OverallThe most impressive thing is their Customer service, they have quick turnaround time when you have questions and problems to be resolved
ProsThe simplicity and functionality of best notes is unmatched
Consthe only thing that didn't like about the software is that currently there isn't an update for Mac OS
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Cy M.
Administrator - Operations
Medical Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 5, 2016

“Competent but limited”

OverallThis is a basic program that allows you yo manage clinical and medical date. I would be great in 1990. With so many new options Best Notes has suffered due to lack of innovation. They need to increase support on financials and billing and truly make a practice management software. Not just a paper chart that is happened to be on a computer
ProsEasy to use and manage patients. Easy to learn.
ConsJust a paper chart that happens to be digital. No intuitive ways to connect data. It is literally a paper chart the is on the computer. No billing component. Limit reports available (9 month lead time if you want your own special report). No real update on layout so looks like a 90s program
Recommendations to other buyersThere are many more otions that can beter manage your clinical needs. It would ne a good first step trying to convert from paper to something electronic, but the lack of features make you realize you could do much better
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 5, 2016
Sam C.
Transportation Specialist
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 16, 2016

“It gets the job done”

OverallI've been able to use quite a few different EMR programs so far in my career. I even worked doing tech support for a company that gathered information from these types of programs to send appointment reminders. Based on my own experience with BestNotes, it gets the job done. It doesn't have much of a wow factor, it doesn't seem to have any special bells and whistles as far as I can tell. It's steady, it works and it does so consistently. Overall, I guess I find myself with no reasons to overly criticize the product, but also no reason to overly praise the product. What you get for the price seems to be fair and the program feels simple to understand and use.
ProsPrice Simplicity It just works
ConsUgly user interface (looks like a 90's program) Takes a few clicks to access the information that you want to see Lacks bells and whistles (smarthphone apps, cloud features, etc.)
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 16, 2016
Brooke K.
Office Manager
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 24, 2016

“LOVE. Such an amazing program.”

ProsSo simple to use, and MUCH easier than keeping paper files.
ConsLarger files upload very slowly, and sometimes not at all. But that's to be expected with large files.
Recommendations to other buyersSit down and play with it. The first few months I used only a fraction of the things this program is capable of. Play with all the options so you can get to know the program.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 24, 2016
Quinci H.
Recreational Therapist
Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 30, 2016

“BestNotes Review”

OverallBestNotes has been a good program to utilize for taking notes, organizing and tracking assessments, and keeping attendance. It's also nice you can customize some of the features for your company. I wish more features were able to be customized though and that some features would be fixed faster.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 30, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018

“Gave It A Try”

OverallWe are leaving Bestnotes to go with another company.
ProsThe look is promising. Not many other positives. Their online training tutorials are adequate.
ConsThe functionality is lacking. The eMAR is useless.

Vendor Response

By BestNotes on October 16, 2018
I'm sorry to hear that BestNotes didn't exceed your expectations. I see that you used our online help site but did you know that BestNotes offers unlimited training and support with a real BestNotes employee? I also want to point out that your experience is very similar to other users who were not part of the buy-in process for BestNotes. Ideally, important employees like you have the ability to demo BestNotes before purchase. This gives you the ability to see the natural work flow, ask questions and unpack unique scenarios that you face in daily work. In addition, our eMAR is a relatively new product offering that we include for no extra fee. We are adding new features and enhancements regularly. We're lucky enough to have a group of customers who are eMAR experts to help with the design and work flow. We would love the opportunity to show you these new enhancements. Thanks for your feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018
Eliza S.
Intern
Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019

“Some Limitations”

ProsVery effective for making therapy notes and billing.
ConsThere are some limitations with creating a muti-hour booking.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019
Elizabeth C.
Office Manager
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 24, 2016

“Best Notes”

ProsIt helps us stay organized with all the students we have.
ConsSometimes it runs really slowly. We aren't able to upload more than 8 pages at a time.
Recommendations to other buyersIf we were able to upload more pages that would be helpful. If they also could figure out why it runs slowly at times.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 24, 2016