NEOGOV Ratings

Overall
3.9/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About NEOGOV

Learning management software that increases the productivity, safety, and retention of your workforce with engaging training. Learn more about NEOGOV

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“Neogov Review”

OverallNeogov has a very high learning curve. Once I became proficient - after about 6 to 9 months later - I found the application fairly easy to navigate. However, I learn additional functions regularly as I use it. I am an expert user now, but I have been using it for 5 1/2 years. Our section has 2 other recruiters who have been there for 2 years now. They continue to ask me user questions which I then walk them through. The application is not intuitive. A user needs to know exactly where to go to perform the function they need to perform. The tutorials need to be more detailed and clear as they leave users with questions after they have completed the tutorials.
ProsNeogov is great once you learn how it works. I like that I can customize job announcements, add point values to questions, and add photos to job announcements. I like the auto-grader if the scoring plan is set up correctly. I like the dashboard tasks section and that I am notified when a new requisition has been approved. I like the candidate tracking in OHC since the new update. The visual of the candidate steps on the wheel is helpful.
ConsThe bold, italic and underline capabilities in the supplemental questions has been removed. Also, I can't change the color of the font in either the job posting or the supplemental questions. Report titles don't really reflect what information the report pulls. I have to open all related reports to find the one I need to use to obtain the information I need. Options under applicants are in a different order and named differently under applicants for various lists in Insight and OHC. When entering a hire, with the last OHC update, a tab for approvers now exists. This is confusing for managers as they enter some random name. If the approval section was eliminated, it would be much better for managers and recruiters as recruiters would receive a notification once the hire has been entered and submitted. User access on the OHC side is confusing for managers. The owner of the requisition is the only one who can upload final recruitment documents. Access for hiring managers as well as the owner would allow anyone who is either to perform necessary functions without have to have HR change the owner. I have created job announcements with templates that have an incorrect scoring plan, so then the auto-grader doesn't work - it fails all applicants. Then its very time consuming to figure out where the issue is in the scoring plan.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Deborah E.
HR Business Analyst
Public Policy, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 10, 2018

“NEOGOV INSIGHT - Bringing Government Recruitment and Selection to Modern Day”

OverallWe have implemented all of NEOGOV's modules and found them to be very engaged in collecting customer feedback/experience and continuing to improve their products.
Pros-Help us over technology hurdles to incorporate google analytics, RSS feeds and responsive technology to our applicant sourcing for public sector. -Integrated with our HRIS system for position control, job classes and salaries. -Great value for the price. -Actively listens to customer feedback for increased value and improved customer experience. -Easily customizable and implementable within a few days without expensive consultants. -Built based on U.S. public sector best practice. So it uses the workflow and terms that our end users understand. -Great online help and resources for customers implementing. -Modern user interface that is easy to understand, reducing our support costs. -Capability to build customized reports with subscriptions that can be sent on a regular basis.
Cons- Based on a U.S. pubic sector it is specific to government and schools not other businesses. - Reporting tool could have more capability to aggregate data and create calculated values.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Keion L. B.
Administrative Analyst
Government Administration, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2019

“Reliable Applicant Tracking Software”

OverallMy overall experience with Neogov has been really good. I love using the software and it has been a good way for us to recruit candidates for all of our job bulletins.
ProsWhat I like most about Neogov is that the system is very easy to learn and use. The layout and design of the software is easy to navigate. I like that Neogov has a online community to support the software and you can pick up the phone and call them if you need real time technical assistance. I have used the system for about 4 years and it has been one of the most reliable that I have ever worked with. I also like that the software is web based.
ConsThere are some areas in Neogov that do not have the audit trail feature. This is a feature that tracks which user has made changes or completed tasks in the system. Another thing I do not like about Neogov is that some features have to be customized and developed before they can be implemented
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2019
Annette M.
Director Human Resources
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“Government Application System”

OverallProduct is good. Frustrated how there are extra fees for everything, including now you have to pay to take their training programs. You should not have to pay extra to learn how to be more proficient and better use a product features.
ProsIt provides a basic electronic application system for applicants for government jobs. Allows employees to have one application to apply for multiple jobs. Can look at applicant history to see what they have applied for in the past and the stages of the recruitment process.
ConsIt is pricey for what we get. Additional components are all add-on costs. Even the training through their on-line "university" now has a fee associated with learning about how to use the product. Reporting is very limited and it is difficult to get what we actually need without time spent trying to manipulate the data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Leslie S.
Asst. Mgr. Selection & Assessment
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2018

“Insight not difficult but can be cumbersome ”

ProsAdmin set up wasn't difficult, Dashboard is convenient, the exam plan set up and review of applications is easy. Navigating isn't difficult. The system comes with many reports and you can create your own as well.
Consimplementation time is unrealistic, no integration with current HRIS, there are many limitations that need work arounds. After a search, if you hit back button, you have to type in the search again. Can be frustrating in ways.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2018
Kristen M.
CFO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“Okay, but I would go with PeopleSoft next time ”

ProsNEOGOV customer service reps are easily accessible and very helpful. The software is easy to use and run reports to view or track applicants and employees.
ConsA lot of manpower is needed up front to build/customize the platform. The process that this system uses is not simple, it should be easier for the end user to get through the tasks than it is. A system that is more costly may be a better fit if it is easier to use and less work for the managers up front to build out. The "look" of the site is tired and could use updating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Todd M.
Community Relations Director
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“NeoGov works”

OverallI use Neogov when filling a position in my department. It enhanced the recruitment process tremendously. The online system made it easy to review the candidates and make immediate decisions as to their strengths. Overall, the product eliminated a lot of the time that I had previously spent when reviewing resumes.
ProsAs a department head, it was great to have a system that weeds out the unqualified or lesser qualified candidates before they get to me, so that I could focus on reviewing the best potential prospects. I liked that everything was electronic. I didn't have to print out cover letters and resumes and keep separate folders for each candidate.
ConsThe interface did not work well with our existing website. It is not a real attractive product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
George A.
School Teacher
Management Consulting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 19, 2018

“Best App”

OverallGood app and is recommended for use in all offices
ProsVery easy to use as it connects you easily. Gives you the room to maneuver. Easy to connect to the net
ConsIt sometimes has compatibility issues. Manuals for use is not sufficient. Could be improved with ease buttons
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 19, 2018
Jon T.
HR Manager
Law Enforcement, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2017

“Not as Easy as it could be”

OverallOverall, it works fine and does most of what we need but posting a job can be cumbersome. It's not as straightforward as you would think. Also, copying a posting is not as easy as it could be to re-post the same job.
Prosit's easy to view and look things up has decent reporting capabilities
Consit's not straight forward in posting jobs it takes a long time to copy an existing post
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2017
Avatar Image
Ashok G.
Sr Cognos Developer, Administrator
Government Administration, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“Highly used Governmental HRMS software”

OverallMy overall experience with Neogov is really good. It is very helpful to recruit people for all of our job postings.
ProsIt is a great software for posting the Jobs, Announcements, Easy to navigate, Great Customer Service. It is great for applicants to use the same profile for multiple jobs.
ConsSome users mentioned about the compatibility issues. Adding more components to the existing HRMS is expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Rosemary D.
HR Analyst
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2018

“Fairly user friendly”

ProsAllows self evaluation, peer evaluation and supervisor evaluation.
ConsI found some of the navigation difficult
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2018
Matthew W.
HR Generalist
Public Policy, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 2, 2018

“Neogov”

Prosit's easy to view and look things applicants, reports, and Easy to contact NEOGOV reps, versatility of product is very useful.
ConsI think the program needs improvement in simplifying the startup process. I have used other programs such as PeopleSoft and found them much easier and more comprehensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 2, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019

“Neogov is great for our employee training portal”

ProsWe mainly use Neogov for employee training, and it works for us.
ConsWe don't have any complaints really; it can take a little bit to get used to at first from an administrative perspective.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019
Jimmy G.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2016

“From a hiring manager, it is sufficent.”

OverallSo this is purely a review from the hiring perspective. It is not too intuitive on how to get around in the main system but once you find your records, it is great, well organized, and provides sufficient data to make strong decisions. The tracking features to keep track of applicants are especially useful when dealing with high volumes of applications.
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2016
Elena S.
Primary/Secondary Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 10, 2015

“ES review 4-15”

OverallES review 4-15
ProsOnline process of candidate application review. Ability to only review applications assigned to me.
ConsIf multiple people review the same applications there is no option to keep individual reviews answers.
Recommendations to other buyersLook for extra features. Like ability to tabulate answers by reviewer and assign scores.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 10, 2015
James P.
Public Policy, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 13, 2015

“NEOGOV Review”

OverallNEOGOV Review
ProsEasy to contact NEOGOV reps, versatility of product is very useful.
ConsMaster Record Merge function can be very confusing to new users.
Recommendations to other buyersTraining modules for new users to NEOGOV Insight are very helpful.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 13, 2015
Richard D.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1.5/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 13, 2015

“Neogov Performance”

OverallNeogov Performance
ProsVery little. Very complicated to work with and service is spotty.
ConsAgain, I think the program needs a lot of work and simplifying. I have used other programs such as PeopleSoft and found them much easier and more comprehensive. This is a very labor intensive system.
Recommendations to other buyersDefine exactly what you need from your HRIS system, then look for programs that meet your needs. Don't judge by cost alone. You will most likely save on man hours with a system that costs a little more.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 13, 2015
ARLENE W.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018

“Easy job search engine.”

ProsAbility to search for government jobs from a variety of job levels. The search engine makes it so you can really narrow down your criteria.
ConsNothing to report. I like how you see a detailed description of the job you are applying for. It is easy to navigate.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018