CostX Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About CostX

CostX estimating software allows quick and accurate measurement from scanned, PDF and CAD drawings, as well as generation of automatic BIM quantities from 3D/BIM models. Use live-linked hierarchical workbooks to create an estimating build up with links to user-defined rate libraries. You can also create customised reports. The faster, smarter and more accurate way to takeoff and estimate is here- join the estimating revolution today! Learn more about CostX

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Charlie E.
Quantity Surveyor - Pricing Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2018

“Wouldn't Look Back”

OverallI had been putting off getting any sort of software packages for a long time as I really liked doing manual take offs and using spreadsheets. Cost X was very easy to change to after doing these type of take offs. I wouldn't look back now. I have had a new graduate start with me and it is very easy to teach them (as most of it has already been set up by me), this also keeps uniformity over take offs. One of the biggest advantages for us being a residential / light commercial building company is that we seem to have a lot of revisions over a job up until contract stage - the revision tool has been great for this and makes doing a series of changes from one plan to the next a breeze and a report can give a detailed breakdown of the changes at these revision points.
Pros- Really easy to get started, just set out dimensions as you would manually, set out your spreadsheets and link the two up. The more you use it, the more you learn, and it just keeps getting better. - No need to save all the time as all your work is up to date. - Easily relates to excel spreadsheets. - Data from spreadsheets can be exported or imported with ease. - Importing of .dwg files directly from the drawing team makes measurements exact. Any mistakes in the drawing files can be picked up and relayed back to the drawing team before another revision. - When working on multiple build projects, it is a lot easy to open and close jobs from the same place compared to other applications where they would all be seperate files needing to be opened. - Being able to compare drawing files, ie; site plan over a subfloor plan to work out pile heights easily. - The ability to do measurements, add a legend with quantities, save as a PDF and provide to subcontractors. ie; joist layout for builder, measure of a full drainage plan for the drainlayer.
ConsThe only thing that I have found hard work is the report software provided with Cost X. This is mainly because I just haven't had the time to put into it. I can see that it will be very good, but can see that this is going to take some time to get what I want from it. Other than that I still was able to make up functional reports easy enough, just not to the level I would like yet.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on September 3, 2018
Hi Charlie, thanks for your great review! We're so happy to hear that you're loving CostX! It's great to see you're getting full use from the functionality, and that the revisioning tool is making your life easier! With regards to the reporting, we do offer the standard report writer which allows you to create basic reports, but the custom report writer can be a little more complex. Because of this, we do offer training for it, so if you are interested in exploring it further that may be worthwhile. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Phil M.
Associate Director
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“Excellent QS tool for direct take off, estimating and producing schedules/bills of quantities.”

OverallWe moved to digital taking off initially and a windows GUI from an old terminal window based system. The ability to view, section and walk round 3D models and have BIM extraction capabilities is most advantageous.
ProsWe moved to CostX completely as a QS practice a number of years ago and we find it a very powerful tool in producing all levels of estimates, bills/schedules of quantities and builders quants etc. It's the best software we've seen for a number of years and for the future with it's BIM capabilities also. With customised branded report formats available allow us to provide consistently high quality presentation documents. Staff were quick to pick up the basics of operation and quickly progress their skills in taking off and scheduling digitally. Regular updates from user feature requests and continually developing and improving the CostX software. Excellent customer support and follow up to ensure the best service is provided and maintained to resolve any issues found or queried.
ConsLack of ability to complete cut and fill exercises The only real downside is the inability to handle drawings in batches and without having to load them individually to edit their properties. We understand that this is a registered client feature request under review for development and greatly look forward to its implementation.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on January 11, 2018
Hi Phil, Thanks so much for your great review! We are so pleased to hear that you find CostX such a powerful tool to use at Maltbys. It's great to hear that staff were able to pick up the program so quickly too! In regards to your comments on cut and fill, CostX supports the extraction of cut and fill volumes from other systems via BIM. Whilst there is no dedicated cut and fill takeoff, CostX supports volume calculations based on areas with heights applied and using dimension group formulas, users can also perform more advanced volume calculations. Additionally, you're correct in noting that bulk updates to drawing file scales is in the development roadmap- for now, CostX supports adding multiple drawing files at the same time or multiple sheets /pages from a single file and the scale can be set for all added drawings in bulk at the time of adding. CostX also now supports scale and calibration factor columns on the Drawings list so that scale is always visible. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Darren O.
Quantity Surveyor/ Manager
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017

“Cost X is functional, flexible and value for money. The technical support team are fantastic. ”

OverallCost X gives me speed, I get more work tendered and so put the company in a position to grow quicker and be more profitable. Its flexible I have changed things to suit the type of work I'm pricing Its reliable I can trust the quantities and figures and makes negotiations simpler and more informed. Its value for money as I do believe it is worth and extra person in the office. Its accurate and consistent I know I have everything taken off and my rates are stable.
ProsThe software allows flexibility to suit the type of work we do. We are a specialist ventilation contractor and Cost X has taken us from manual drawing take off to a quick, simple and reliable system that you can review in seconds. We are organised and know a project inside out so we can negotiate contracts know that our figures and quantities can be relied on. We are also consistent in of pricing as quantities are accurate and rates are stable. The technical support team are amazing they provide a very prompt and professional service, they go to great lengths to get you back up and running as so as possible. Cost X is also value for money, I believe that it is worth one extra person in the office to me, the volume of work that can be done is excellent.
ConsI do believe that training would really be essential for the correct use of the system, I did not get training but have still found it brilliant but I do believe if I was using it correctly I would probably get more from it. Also on the standalone version the back up button or procedure would need to be streamlined, as loosing data in Cost X is a huge lose to a company.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on October 23, 2017
Hi Darren, Thanks for your amazing review! We really appreciate hearing your great comments, and will definitely pass your words onto the Tech team. Regarding back-up, it is always done automatically with network licences; its also possible to arrange automatic back up with standalone licences but you must set it up in Windows. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017
Jack R.
Quantity Surveyor
Civil Engineering, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2017

“CostX has made measuring and estimating from CAD manageable. Would recommend.”

ProsThe biggest selling point for the software for us is the link between dimensions in the workbook and drawing files. This allows clients to quickly understand the source of the data in the workbook, and builds a level of transparency and trust. The ability to store a rate database also has advantages in terms of the ability to reference past rates and benchmark cost. The rate library allows the quick adjustment of a rate across a major project, with only one edit required to adjust the entire estimate to accommodate this change. After care in terms of technical support for the product has been superb, which is vital when adopting such software as your mainstay for measuring or estimating. The Product Support Team have gone above and beyond on numerous occasions to ensure that any technical issue we have encountered has been resolved in a timely fashion, to ensure minimal inconvenience to our projects.
ConsI would consider the 3D Measuring Tools fairly primitive currently. The model maps tool would be perfectly adequate if the quality of models received in the industry currently was always sufficient for automatic quantity extraction, but unfortunately that often is not the case at the moment. Measuring manually on 3D models currently can feel clunky, and measuring wall faces on the insides of buildings can feel like a chore, as navigating the model can be difficult with the tools available. The ability to lock the model in the centre of the screen in v6.6 was a very necessary step.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on August 6, 2017
Hi Jack, Thanks so much for your review! We're so pleased to hear you love the live-links, and great to see a 5 star rating for customer support. With regards to the BIM features, we note the industry does have a little way to go before BIM can be used as it is intended. It may be helpful if you provide your architects with a copy of our Drawing File Optimisation document so they have a better idea of what they need to include in the model they are providing to Quantity Surveyors. Apart from that, we will take your comments on board! One of our Product Specialists will contact you about the navigation issue you mentioned too. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2017
Avatar Image
Cameron H.
Project Consultant
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“Daily use with minimal issues and fantastic customer support”

OverallThis made daily tasks very easy to compete and generally made my work life all around much easier.
ProsThe software is easy to use once you've taken the time to do the training, with a wide range of useful features. Being able to extract large amounts of take-off speeds up everything, while the 5D BIM integration is among the best available. I use it daily and compared to other competing software the competition doesn't compare.
ConsA fairly advanced knowledge of methods of take-off is required, along with use of the provided training information and guides. For 2D take-off, DWG files are preferred, followed by vector'd PDFs and then rasta'd PDFs and images. While these will work, it really is built around DWG use.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on June 12, 2018
Hi Cameron, Thanks so much for your great review! We're especially pleased to hear about how you've received great support from our team. We're also happy to hear you're finding our 5D BIM features world class! As you mentioned, CostX 2D takeoff is most powerful when used with DWG drawings, as the program allows you to take advantage of the in-built drawing intelligence. However, we can of course still support PDFs, JPGs and other image files for those that don't receive these. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Michelle L.
Senior Cost Consultant
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“Does the job but there is better estimating software ”

OverallIt's an okay software as a measuring tool to do quantity takeoff but not a good comprehensive estimating software.
ProsIt is pretty easy to use ONCE you get it set up or if someone else sets it up for you. One of the nice features is you can click a line to measure its length as opposed to clicking from point to point.
ConsIt is not very intuitive to set up a project. When you upload the drawings, hopefully they are already named properly or you'll have trouble finding the drawing you're looking for. The drawings are linked to a file on your hard drive, so if you move that file the link is broken and needs to be re-established which is a big disadvantage in many ways. The workbook is a blank spreadsheet and requires a professional to set up in order to be used effectively.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on September 30, 2019
Hi Michelle. Thanks for your review, we're glad to hear that you've had a positive experience with the measuring aspects of our software. Regarding your feedback on initial setup for projects and workbooks, we do offer a range of free training videos that make these processes clear to understand. Users can also access free webinars that provide helpful advice on workbook setup, while paid online and on-site training options are also available for expanding CostX knowledge. We would like to assist with making these setup processes easier for you, so feel free to contact our North American team on +1 (512) 768 8111 and ask to speak with one of our qualified Product Specialists for advice. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019
Tony L.
Cost Planner
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2018

“Easy, beneficial, transparent, enjoyable”

OverallEasy to use, accurate, good visibility for other users to review work. Work books can be easily imported and exported in other formats.
ProsEasy to use, the multilevel work book, the subcontractor analysis function, customized code libraries that suit our financial management system, project specific rate libraries that allow rate adjustments very late in the pricing phase.,
ConsMeasuring off a BIM model takes a bit of learning. Having a BIM model that is sufficiently developed at pricing stage to extract quantities is an in frequent occurrance. As a consequence I don't have the opportunity to use this feature.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on March 22, 2018
Hi Tony, Thanks for your great review! We're so glad to hear that you find CostX easy to use for all your requirements. Sorry to hear you haven't been able to use the BIM features as much as you'd like; luckily CostX has the ability to deal with incomplete BIM files as well with features like manual BIM measurement and 2D & 3D linking, so you can still use it even in those cases. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2018
Ahmed Adnan S.
Quantity Surveyor
Construction, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017

“I have been using costx now for last 1 year as a quantity surveyor it has made my life easy.”

OverallMultitasking easy review especially the show source function in work book and one can create csv file in excel for dimension groups and import in costx, since it is connected to the server I can work from anywhere even from my home.
ProsMultiple user can work on same project connected to costx server. Workbook is very easy to assemble from floor to wall area ,floor base,ceilings .the rate library function is very help tool,revision modes has eliminated my reworks,with the help of zones one can setup multiple workbooks.
Consplease dont press Ctrl+F in workbook and change the spelling in entire workbook it will make your dimension appear zero because it will change the dimension name linked to your dimension group in quantity cell.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on October 16, 2017
Hi Ahmed, Thanks so much for your great review! We are very pleased to hear that you're enjoying the features of CostX, including show-source and zones! In regards to your comment on changing the spelling in the workbook, don't worry, this is easy to fix- just edit the Dimension Group name to match and it will automatically re-establish the link. Hope this helps and thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017
Michael R.
senior quantity surveyor / team leader
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“I'm using the software daily, I'm happy with the level of service it provide to me and the company.”

ProsAbility to have open drawings in more screens. Ability to quickly update the building templates with ease. Ability to create reports. Ability to have a support team on hands.
ConsHere we use costx to standardize the estimates we do for our construction projects. We are utilizing a default template on all our estimates and sometimes we require to update specific cells in multiple workbooks. It would be nice if we were able to do it, once, for a series of buildings, rather then repeating the same task several times.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on January 11, 2018
Hi Michael, Thanks so much for your review! It's great to hear you're happy with the features and the support you're receiving. Thanks also for your comment regarding your default template. Mass updates are possible to do with some items, such as live-linked rates. One of our Product Specialists will give you a call to further discuss specifics. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Louis M.
Cost Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018

“A real time saver”

ProsAbility to reference rates and dims. Ease of measuring vast amounts of drawings quickly. Zone splitting. BIM functionality.
ConsExporting to excel (contractors still want to use it) looks terrible. Report printing time consuming.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on February 4, 2018
Hi Louis, thanks for your review! We are happy to hear that you think CostX is a time saver for your business. Thanks also for your five star review for our customer support! In regards to Excel export, if customers use this often we recommend CostXL which gives you live links between CostX & your Excel spreadsheet, allowing you to lay it out however you like. Report printing has been made faster in our latest release too, which can be downloaded by any client under maintenance. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018
Drew C.
Estimator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2017

“Very good software, a good all rounder”

ProsTakeoff software is second to none, simple excel style pricing structure makes it easy to use. Rate libraries are extensive and detailed once populated correctly.
ConsReports are a tad complicated if you want your own custom report. With a large number of buildings its best to keep a searchable building code somewhere else as it can get confusing scrolling through the list. I have been informed this will be implemented in the future though.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on December 4, 2017
Hi Drew, Thanks so much for your review! We always appreciate receiving feedback from our customers. It is great to hear that you're enjoying the takeoff and our Excel-style workbook. Thanks also for your comments on reports and building codes, we have passed it onto our Product Development team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2017
Paul T.
National Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“Great Experience”

OverallPlenty of benefits. Time savings with measurement, more professional presentation of cost reports etc etc.
ProsI really like the measurement functionality and how this can be auto linked to costing workbooks. Generally like all aspects of Cost X
ConsWould be fantastic to have more excel functionality in costing sheets/workbooks, for example; additional formula options, circular referencing etc

Vendor Response

By Exactal on October 8, 2017
Thanks for your great review Paul, much appreciated! Hope you continue to enjoy using CostX!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Malcolm W.
Cost Planning Manager
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2016

“Terrific software - just wish I could sort by rates to allow detailed review process”

OverallMeasuring - big tick Cost Planning - ditto Speed in a Citrix environment is at time slow and / or crashes Pure rating and estimating - needs work
ProsIntergration of measure Abilty to sort by element / trade / component Ease of review of take off
ConsWhen power pricing - live link library rates are great - however the ability to rate on the fly and sort projects according to common rates would allow "estimators" a more diliginent and powerful review process

Vendor Response

By Exactal on July 22, 2016
Thanks for your review Malcolm! Our customer support will be very pleased to see their 5 star rating! We will be sure to pass your comments onto our developers, as we are always working to keep our products leading the market. Thanks again!
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2016
Avatar Image
Victor I.
Project Engineer
Environmental Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“Time-Efficiency Tool”

OverallIt is a high efficiency tool. If used properly, it will make the job easier to take-off and the estimating comes easy afterwards. I like it very much.
ProsIt is a very complete software that includes almost every aspect of the estimating/construction business development. It will make a bid proposal and estimation look easier.
ConsOne of the issues I experienced is while sharing files. It can be tricky and very easy to make mistakes while transferring the CostX file to other party. It takes several steps in order to save and export your final product, and make sure it is compatible with your other party's version.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on October 5, 2018
Hi Victor, Thanks so much for your great review! We love hearing about how much you like CostX and how efficient you have found it. We're especially happy that you rated our Customer Support 5 stars! In regards to your comment on sharing files, we will pass this to our development team, and we've also asked our support team to contact you in case they can help make this process easier for you. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Amandy J.
Assistant Quantity Surveyor
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2017

“I have been using CostX for six months but I was mainly doing the 2D takeoff.”

OverallI will say it increases the efficiency of my work. Also, thanks for all the customer support!
ProsAt the moment it will be the ability to copy and move dimensions from the current drawing to a different drawing, which saves a lot of time! Also, the phraseologies library which allows us to click and drag the description of ARM4 into the workbook is also really useful.
ConsI don't see myself as a very experienced user yet and I am also not yet familiar with all of the functions. I believe this software has a lot of potentials and will send feedback to CostX for feature suggestions as discussed.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on November 15, 2017
Hi Amandy, Thanks so much for your great review! We really appreciate your comments and it's great to hear that CostX has increased the efficiency of your work. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2017
Bob B.
IT Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2017

“Support Experience is always first class, friendly and helpful”

OverallIt started small with a few internal users using it, the benefits of speed and exporting data has led to a universal uptake in its use and staff in every office have access.
ProsMy users find that the software is easy to use, deploy and update. Feedback is positive that it does what it says on the box!
ConsResource hungry, we use an i5 processor platform with Solid State Drive and some functions seem slower than others, so would benefit being on faster systems.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on November 1, 2017
Thanks for your great review Bob! We're very happy that you've found CostX easy to use, and will definitely be passing this feedback onto our team. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2017
Zohair H.
VDC Engineer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“Cost X is a good for estimating 2D and 3D data. ”

ProsCostX has good features in terms of estimating as it supports 2D sheets and 3D models. It supports PDF, dwg, skp and other file formats. Calibrating feature and snapping feature while using 2D sheets is very helpful. Spreadsheet with costX maintains the data and organizes the project.
ConsModel based takeoff in cost X for simple projects is achievable. But I have struggled when it came to projects with complicated geometry. 2D to 3D collaboration for the same file is not as suitable as it is in Assemble Systems.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on October 1, 2018
Hi Zohair, Thanks for your review! We're happy to hear that you found CostX to be helpful in a variety of ways, such as calibration and snapping. We're also glad you found the fact that we import a variety of file formats to be useful! In regards to your comments on model-based takeoff, this is suprising as we are often complimented on our advanced yet easy-to-use BIM functionality for takeoff. We would love to chat with you further about how you could use our Model Maps feature to assist with more complicated geometry. Please contact our US office on +1 (512) 768 8111 and ask to speak with one of our qualified Product Specialists. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Akinwale O.
Quantity Surveyor
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2019

“Best quantity Surveyor software ”

OverallI used the student version some times ago, it was quite interesting but expensive
ProsIt's the best quantity surveying software have ever used because it has the capability of carrying taking off and bill preparations within limited time. Most especially 3d intelligent BIM model
ConsIt is expensive for the early career , which makes it unaffordable.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on August 5, 2019
Hi Akinwale, thanks so much for your positive review! We're so glad to hear how much you like using CostX, especially the BIM functionality! We do offer a free educational version for students too, so hopefully you were able to take advantage of that. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2019
Tom J.
BIM Implentation Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017

“Good package but for smaller projects only”

ProsUnderstandable interface and workflows and reflects traditional pricing processes well. Auto quantity extraction is a helpful automation aspect.
ConsLimited 3D input formats (DWFx & IFC) only. IFC files import with incorrect orientation (on their side). No ability to add global factors e.g.; materials, location factors etc.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on May 26, 2017
Thanks for your review Tom! Great to hear you find the workflow easy to use! CostX is used on projects of all sizes around the world. Just a note, CostX also supports several other 3D file formats including SketchUp, 3D PDF, DGN and 3D DWG. In terms of BIM, most major design packages export to IFC in any case (being the international format). For IFC imports, you can set your own default view which may help. Finally, in regards to global factors, this may be achievable with Values or rate libraries tied to Locations. Our team will contact you to discuss further. Thanks again!
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017
Avatar Image
Dean B.
Structural Design Engineer
Civil Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2018

“A must have for any professional Quantity Surveyor”

OverallCostX provides accurate take-offs and quantity estimates in a fraction of the time compared with the traditional routes. Its a must have for any decent size project and professional QS.
ProsCostX is fairly easy to use once you get the basics. It has great functionality and provides accurate take-offs. The PDF functions are a bliss and simplifies the process considerably as well as saving time.
ConsCostX software pack is fairly pricy with monthly leasing options or a one time hefty purchase price. Apart from the pricing, the rest is great.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on June 18, 2018
Hi Dean, Thank you so much for your excellent review. We're pleased to hear you are enjoying using the product and finding that it saves you time. In regards to the price, we offer our full CostX product as a premimum option but we also have other products in our range priced to suit a range of requirements. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2018
Rakesh C.
Senior Quantity Surveyor
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2018

“I am new with CostX, but now I am get the advantages of it.”

OverallThis tool saves lots of time in measuring compared with old school method of using scale ruler.
ProsI am using this daily - measuring quantities. This way quicker and faster then the old school method of using scale rule. this is a great tool for the quantity surveyors

Vendor Response

By Exactal on March 18, 2018
Hi Rakesh, Thanks so much for your great review! We're so pleased to hear you're finding CostX to be an upgrade from your scale ruler. As you're new with CostX, you may be interested in reviewing our CostX Coffee Break webinars for some tips & tricks that will help even more with your CostX use! (http://www.exactal.com/en/webinars) Thanks again and happy measuring!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2018
Winfred A.
Senior Analyst/Programmer
Commercial Real Estate, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017

“The assistance received by Harry Vaja from CostX technical support is 1st class and much appreciated”

OverallHighly impressive technical support
ProsThe depth, knowledge and experience of technical support when issues arise makes CostX a stand-out product

Vendor Response

By Exactal on October 26, 2017
Hi Winfred, Thank you for your great review! We're so pleased to hear you're happy with our technical support, and we will definitely pass the feedback on. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017
Soumi R.
Engineer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019

“New generation take off using CostX”

OverallCostX have lot of useful features and helps lot in the construction industry.
ProsWe can take accurate measurements using 2D drawings as well as in 3D drawings. Further we can generate auto quantity generation from 3d models and we can get reports.
ConsComparing to other similar products, premium is little bit high and need more customer support to handle the product.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on August 26, 2019
Hi Soumi, thanks for your great review! We're happy to hear that you found CostX useful for both 2D and 3D purposes. We agree that it is definitely a helpful product for the construction industry! For customer support, we do have a worldwide network of support engineers but also lots of free resources on our website, so you may wish to check these out too. Hope this helps!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospitality, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2018

“Good value for the entire set of software”

OverallVery helpful if you know how to use it and are property trained.
ProsFor those who know excel, you should have no issue learning. Lots of functions between different workbooks.
ConsTough to run on older work machines. Use with modern business machines- Reports too much data that most is hard to understand. Not really simple reporting.

Vendor Response

By Exactal on September 3, 2018
Hi, thanks for your great review! We're happy to hear you find CostX to be great value for money and helpful! In regards to reporting, we offer both standard and custom report writers and outputs from the standard report writer can be simplified to match your requirements. We also offer a range of training options for those that want more in-depth review. Just contact our team for more information. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2018
Damien s.
director
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2016

“Disgraceful ”

OverallPoor customer service software is not simple to use requested training and was made feel incompetent Had the software for 24hr and request a refund and was declined Just a money grubbing company steer clear
Prossales pitch very slick
Conssupport over all company attitude
Recommendations to other buyersthere are plenty better software packages than this
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2016
arfan a.
quantity surveyor
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2014

“good software”

Overallthis software made the measurement work more be easy
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2014