Centerbase Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Centerbase

Your practice doesn't need to change. Your software does. Centerbase is the most configurable accounting, billing and practice management software for mid-size firms. With highly customizable, comprehensive features, Centerbase can grow with your firm, streamline your daily tasks, and increase profitability. Learn more about Centerbase

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Theresa A.
Director of Client Relations
Law Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Highly Customize-able, scale-able, intuitive”

OverallWe decided on Centerbase for many reasons, but the catalyst is that we, as a Los Angeles-based firm, acquired an office in San Francisco and in San Diego. We needed a central repository for case management and document management. In addition: 1) We needed our practice to be accessible in court or on the go (cloud-based) 2) We needed integration with a reputable document manager (we went with NetDocs, though Cenbterbase has it's own document management system, too) 3) We needed to eliminate the "human error" component in workflow systems, so we built workflow systems for all different types of legal procedures from intake to administrative appeals to litigation. This is especially important for solo practitioners, those working with limited resources or when the job requires extensive training about minute things. Creating a workflow that does the administrative thinking for you, is everything. They have a great Word Merge feature which integrates with Word. 4) We needed a reliable calendaring system - they're working to integrate the calendar with Outlook and Google calendars, as I understand.
ProsThe software is incredibly customize-able. There is no limit to what you can do. Think big, bigger than you think you need to. The customization scales marvelously and works intuitively. The software elevates practice management so that operations are more fluid.
ConsThe only con is that we need to review lots of data in table form. Once you chose column headings, you are stuck with those columns no matter what query you run. Column headings are customizable, but not customizable within each data set; you have to modify them each time you run a query. The way around this is to export to Excel and delete the irrelevant data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Holly P.
Administrator
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“New User: Growing Business”

OverallCenterbase has moved our firm into the 21st Century in terms of access through web browser and phone app. Our timekeepers love the straight forward use and it has increased consistency and timing of time entry. The link to LawPay that auto-processes payments has cut our manpower down and increased cash flow for it's ease of use for our clients. We are a Trust/Retainer heavy firm and clients can make one payment and it directs splits between AR and replenishment retainer in trust to the correct accounts, opposed to us manually tracking and writing multiple checks or transfers from one account to the other.
ProsThe ease of use, I have used several billing and accounting programs over my 25 years experience and must say Centerbase is thoughtful in its approach of what worked and what didn't and compiled an inclusive product that is constantly evolving with ease. Since it is cloud based, upgrades and updates are pushed monthly, no versioning or what for new/annual releases that need to be purchased like on premise software.
ConsThey are still developing out of the reports, which I wish were more inclusive. However, they have built a comprehensive and easy to use menu to build your own. Their accounting side is fairly new and constantly taking feedback and improving, but still has some AP areas that could be streamlined. I am looking forward to the opening up API where you can add apps to work in conjunction with Centerbase and make it truly a one stop shop for timekeeper and administrator. They are on their way!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Jessica S.
Head of Accounting
Legal Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019

“Centerbase is Great but Could be Better”

OverallOverall I do like using CB because I use it daily. As long as the cons could be worked on, everything would be a 100% great!
ProsIt's easy on the eyes. Certain reports are easy to use and navigate. Quick at generating invoices, certain reports, emails.
Cons1. CB needs to have a report feature that shows the legal services with number of hours worked and rates. However, CB only provides expenses per client/matter. 2. It's confusing how to pull up total paid amount to each matter. It confuses accounting and the client. It needs to be clear report that shows attorneys, hours, rates, total. 3. In posted bills, there needs to be a box to let us see only certain origination attorneys and their specific matters. 4. There also needs a contingency setting where it shows rate the legal fees amounts are but doesn't require the client to pay the invoice since it'll be recoup at the end.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019
Howard L.
Operations Manager
Legal Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“The right choice for putting your practice in the cloud.”

OverallWe migrated to Centerbase after reviewing a dozen practice management solutions. We left Practice Advantage and the move to the cloud and the import of our data was easy and accurate. Most of the interface is very user friendly and it was easy to train out timekeeper.
ProsCenterbase is easy to use and fairly easy to configure. We email our invoices out directly from the software and it has cut days off of the time getting our invoices to our clients. There is integration with MS office that streamlines practice management. They have an app that most of our attorney find very helpful in tracking time and getting what they need.
ConsReporting can be a challenge but no more than most applications with lots of database. If what you want it in a canned report it is easy to get. If what you need isn't you need to engage a consultant (for a fee) to work with you. This is not unusual.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Donna B.
President
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“Centerbase for Legal Practice management, billing and accounting”

OverallWe have been using Centerbase for 15 months and love the ability to work from anywhere we can get internet access. We love being able to enter billing items from our phones and it immediately be available to bill. We love that the accounting module is built into the software as well.
ProsA completely integrated cloud solution all in one package with immeasurable customization options.
ConsHow cloud products handle document assembly or document automation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Kenneth S.
Partner
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Centerbase”

ProsOur firm has used Centerbase for over three years. During this time period, with the assistance of Centerbase, we have become more organized and efficient in our case management while increasing our overall billable hours. We are able to customize Centerbase to manage and track the data that is most helpful to our firm. The file management feature is also a major plus. Finally, the best part about Centerbase is the team behind the project. The Centerbase team has always been there when needed to assist with technical support.
ConsIn previous versions, the product had problems with lag. This problem has been addressed and fixed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
John L.
Exec Manager - Business Operations
Legal Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019

“Centerbase in the Cloud for Law Firms”

OverallCenterbase is a Legal Case Management cloud application that provides a Law firm with full matter management of all the details about a case, including the Parties (each with contact screens) the Court, the Filed Case Activity and MOST importantly all the Documents associated with the Matter, in one location (at the Matter). It is really easy to use and has fantastic Customize-ability.
ProsPowerful legal practice management solution Can establish multiple workflows to automate a process (where tasks are sequenced and fulfilled by the system) integration with O365 (saving an email to the matter, or scheduling an appointment /saved in both) Plugin for MS WOrd and Outlook (to allow drafting of a document or an email to be saved in the matter) Capture incoming leads and turn into a Potential New Client.
ConsComplex workflow processes require a knowledgeable Consultant (expert) to build. Training for an IT Admin would be helpful if provided (meaning in-depth behind the scenes configurations) More videos about how to Implement key customizable features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019
Daniel G.
owner
Law Practice, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Centerbase Makes Life Easy!”

OverallIt allows me to track my time and create billing records efficiently. I've been ver pleased with this product.
ProsIt suits my need as a single practitioner perfectly. A lot of thought was obviously given to making it user friendly.
ConsMy only minor concern was that after a relatively brief period during which I was learning to use this software, support services became less accessible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Moira L.
Managing Partner
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019

“Amazing Product!”

OverallThe customer service is amazing. The CEO is committed to learning from his customers and actively engages and listens to help make the product better every day.
ProsCloud based, user friendly, all in one practice management that integrates with document management software beautifully.
ConsThis software has really met every need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019
Judge P.
Partner
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“Firm Management Softward”

OverallWe have been very happy with Centerbase from the onsight, both in the product itself but moreso in the people behind the product and the service that we have received.
ProsWe have worked with this developer almost from the day we opened our law firm, and they have walked along side our growth and been responsive to our developing needs as we have grown. The flexibility and adaptability of the software has been critical to our ability to grow.
ConsThere are parts of the software, such as the document management piece, that are not compatible with our practice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Robert R.
rrice@3545consulting.com
Legal Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Very Flexible ”

ProsCenterbase has enormous flexibility. You can add virtually unlimited number of custom records and custom fields - allowing you to track just about anything. The creation of new record types and fields is intuitive and fairly easy. The very powerful workflow allows you to customize even further.
ConsHaving so many options and features can be a bit overwhelming at the beginning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Katya A.
Office Administrator
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Centerbase ”

ProsSo much potential for automation! You just have to get creative. I no longer have to crunch excel sheets like crazy when I want to come up with certain lists/data. It's made many of my redundant reports obsolete. The cloud function is very convenient, as are all of the integrations it has with other products. The interface is also really clean which helps encourage my people to use it.
ConsThe calendaring features could use improvements, which is already apparently in the works.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Frank M.
CFO/Firm Administrator
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019

“Centerbase Software - An Accounting Perspective”

ProsEase of access - cloud based. Time entry users love it.
ConsSomewhat limited data entry capabilities - must re-enter similar transaction data. Would also like to see user option to eliminate certain data entry fields. For example, since we do not use accounts payable (we are a cash basis user), we have no need to put in invoice dates when we enter a check payment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019
Rick H.
Consultant
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“Great Product - Fleixble and Customizable ”

OverallVery eager to please. Open to feature requests. Quick at finding and fixing any problems (usually due to environmental changes or updates)
ProsFor a cloud based product the number of customization choices is amazing. Company very responsive to user feature requests. Once customized with workflows and customization it is not difficult to train users. Growing list of consultants to advise you on how to setup and use this product. Very good path for importing data.
ConsDo not set this up yourself; It requires someone with experience with the product. This is not a 15 minute training and your on your way. Due to its myriad of customizable features you will want a certified consultant to do the roll out with you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Sherry M.
Firm Administrator
Legal Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Not an out-of-the-box time and billing software.”

OverallCenterbase has improved our ability to pull meaningful reports. Customization has allowed us to enter detailed information about each case so it is easily available to all users.
ProsCenterbase is customize-able. Customer support has been very helpful in setting up our database and reporting specifically for our practice. Great bang for your buck.
ConsSecurity cannot be set up as precisely as we would like it to be.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Erin D.
Office Manager
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Lupkin PLLC Review”

OverallCenterbase has helped streamline our daily operation and our monthly billing process.
ProsUser friendly, easy to navigate, easy to edit bills
ConsI would like to link documents from my document management software to calendar entries. This feature is very important to me and was available with my previous practice management system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Jason M.
Consultant
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Flexible and Reliable”

ProsThe ability to create and customize items and sections that are unique to our business.
ConsCreating workflows and some admin features are not as intuitive as I would like. However, they continue to make improvements in this area, and update the software on a regular basis.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Amy C.
Software Consultant
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019

“Working on the Go”

ProsCenterbase is very easy to navigate and use, and it is great to be able to connect from anywhere. I have been able to keep up with work while traveling this summer with family.
ConsWorkflows can be cumbersome to setup but great to use once they are in place. Need the ability to sync contacts to phone similar to calendar.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019
LaShawn B.
Office Manager
Law Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Review of Product”

OverallIntegration of the law pay program into centerbase has help with the collection of funds.
ProsCustomer service support support website Custom forms
ConsThe program is new and getting use to utilizing the all the aspects of the program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Melanie T.
Legal Assistant
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Centerbase Review”

OverallWe can load more information and pull reports that will help our daily tasks.
ProsIt is user-friendly. You can have more that one tab open when multitasking.
ConsSome of the kinks still need to be worked out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Ivan C.
Managing partner
Law Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Not a fan”

OverallI did not like this produce and have already moved on to a better accounting software program that is easier to run
ProsIt is comprehensive and would do a well for a defense firm; however, for a Plaintiff firm this product is not useful at all.
ConsIts cumbersome and not user friendly at all and made it very difficult to enter and track payments. Moreover, once payments were made it was very difficult to locate same to assure there were no overpayments.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019