Clarizen Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Clarizen

Project Management for the Enterprise (50+ employees, not suitable for small companies): Built on a secure, scalable platform, Clarizen brings together project management, configurable workflow automation and in-context collaboration all from an intuitive interface that allows everyone to work the way they work best. Everyone involved can track tasks, communicate effortlessly and participate on their terms. Connect your workforce, eliminate silos and bring new levels of visibility and progress. Learn more about Clarizen

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 163 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 163 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Garret S.
Operations Manager - Project Management
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2017

“Clarizen has been a solid tool for us when expanding our professional services organization. ”

OverallVisibility into projects across the entire professional services portfolio. This gave us a better understanding of our teams and how they were utilized.
ProsThe ability to customize Clarizen is one of it's strongest features. While not as advanced as some of the bigger SaaS players like Salesforce, it still provides a robust set of features to allow you to create custom business processes to accomplish your companies goals. They compete pretty well against other companies with much larger teams. Another great feature we use a lot is the expansive and complex WBSs you can have for projects. This allowed us to have a better sense of project flow and visibility to where our projects are at.
ConsOur biggest struggle comes with the idea that a PSA should be a three legged stool (projects/task management, time tracking/resource management, and project financial management). We can only seem to make two work at a time with Clarizen. Our PMs want some pretty detailed project plans to really understand where tasks are and who is responsible, but when you implement that with time tracking it becomes a nightmare for resources to know where to submit there time entries. As our organization grew, the financials and resource management became more important that detailed project plans so we struggled to find a balance of how detailed our WBSs should be because everything within the project plan was tied to time entries and drove project cost. It has become pretty administrative for some of our PMs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2017
Bill C.
Learning Technology Strategist
Insurance, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2017

“Love Clarizen!”

OverallMy organization selected Clarizen from a wide array of project management software options just over 2 years ago and we're very happy with our decision. We're a training organization, so slack built into most projects is used up before we get the handoff. This means we must be very efficient and well-coordinated. Clarizen gives us what we need all in a single application. Social, email, file attachment/link to work items... prevent us from checking multiple sources for information. We've customized Work Plans and documentation templates our project managers use to quickly execute tasks. The social functions have replace our Outlook email and we've found that makes projects much more transparent and eliminates hidden agendas that often hit projects. Clarizen support is phenomenal! We have a dedicated expert that currently meets with us every other week and I get quick resolution to any issue posted to their Support Request Center. The dedicated expert has been especially helpful as we're constantly customizing the system to the point that it will soon become the training department's operating system with schedules, timesheets, project plans... everything right in Clarizen.
ProsAll in one; Social, Work Plans, Scheduling...
ConsThe User Guide is useless.
Recommendations to other buyersIt's so customizable that you can spend the rest of your career optimizing Clarizen and it's all worth the time.
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2017

“Finally one project management platform that got it all ”

ProsOne single platform where both project information and customer information meet, thanks to the Salesforce.com integration. This enables salespeople to keep a real-time view on margins and project progress, without them needing to ask a project manager for a status update or a meeting. The information is right there, up to date and accurate.
ConsYou need to make a solid business case and build a real plan to get the budget approved. Most companies have a lot of tools and some work together with others and... but none beat Clarizen if you ask me - it is a "one-stop" to get all information. So do the math to show you can save money by centralizing the tools, and that you can lower the time spent on managing different solutions. It helps if you show dashboards: management likes dashboards (and numbers). Clarizen was not so easy to explain to the whole team, it is a very complete solution. So we decided to "drip-feed" it to the teams.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2017
David S.
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2016

“Great project management system with good flexibility”

OverallClarizen is a great platform for project management, workflow management and internal communication tracking. The reporting suite is also very good and there seems to be a keen drive to continually improve the product. Customer support throughout setup and launch was excellent with a product specialist available onsite, phone and web-conference to help train our team and customize our environment. Despite some challenging requests our support team and the flexibility of the system allowed to achieve near all our requirements thus far.
ProsFlexibility/Customisation - the system is extremely adaptable and can be used for a number of functions beyond that which it was designed because of it. Reporting - The reporting suite is excellent but there is still room for improvement in terms of pivots and lining relevant data in reports.
ConsSupport - Although our setup support was great there can be a delay in resolving system bugs but no more than most software services. Caps on custom fields - There are caps on customisation depending on the package you choose and the price hike between them can be quite significant.
Recommendations to other buyersWe reviewed a lot of solutions before deciding to use Clarizen, none seemed as flexible while also providing a comfortable user interface. It's not perfect and it has some quirks but no system is without them and it's adaptability should allow you to workaround most issues.
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2016
Leo L.
Director of Professional Services
Information Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016

“Enterprise grade PSA Solution”

OverallAs our organization grew we knew need to migrate from our existing PM tool. We initiated an exhaustive search to find the best solution for our business. There are hundreds of "PM" tools out there of various shapes and sizes. We quickly narrowed this down to a handful of potential partners. We found Clarizen to be the best fit for our business. Clarizen accomplished 80% of our requirements out of the box. Because of the solutions extreme flexibility we were able to develop custom workflows to meet the rest of our requirements. Clarizen is scaleable to meet our growing business needs.
ProsExtremely flexible in all aspects of the solution. The end user can customize the views to best fit his specific work requirements. Sys Admins can configure the system to provide custom functionality. Software updates occur regularly and they provide meaningful enhancements and bug fixes. Support has been great.
ConsHonestly, not come to mind.
Recommendations to other buyersWe tried to rush the implementation. Clarizen can work out of the box, however the system is extremely flexible and configurable and we found out shortly after beginning the implementation that we needed more time to do it right and bring all the functionality to our end users.
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016
Meline G.
PM
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2017

“Definitely, one of the most comprehensive (in good way) system between alike frameworks!”

OverallNot only entering timesheets, but also do proper estimations for the project budgeting and resource planning!
ProsThe ability to automatically track the tasks start/end dates if there are dependencies set up as well as when there are vacations or holidays for a person. The automatic smart systems make huge help for any human mistake on those calcualtions and future possible changes. Thanks for this!
ConsWhen someone creates a vacation request in Clarizen, it would be good to have a notification mechanism to inform the project manager about it, if the person is assigned to a task of this PM's project(s). Otherwise, only the direct manager of the person is being announced. And if there is no established manual process, the vacation request gets approved without the PM being informed about it. This is really serious problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2017
Bryan M.
Manager, Engineering Services
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2016

“The "Swiss Army Knife" of Project Management”

OverallWorking with Clarizen for a few years. Started before the rich reporting capability existed. Using it for Portfolio and Project Management in an Advanced Engineering Product Development team.
ProsIt is Microsoft Project Management on steroids. It gives you the same capability to manage a project but adds features to provide a complete solution. Easy customization to fit each department needs. Resource Management across of projects, Collaboration at all levels, robust reporting module...
ConsThe reporting module provides the capability to easily create dashboards. I have created dashboards for every level and function of the organization. However, it is difficult for a manager to see his staff's dashboard.
Recommendations to other buyersTry it, Clarizen makes it easy to give it a trial run. I was able to implement 200+ licenses across 3 sites and 2 countries without paying any consulting fees.
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2016
Maria S.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2017

“This is the best project management tool I've used”

OverallGreat visibility into my projects.
ProsThe tool offers A LOT of functionality. As I'm not a system administrator, I am not aware of everything that Clarizen can do, but whenever our admins unleash a new feature, I'm always excited by it. The new Android app is super nice/handy to have, especially for logging time. The support is great: we have logged bugs before, and these are generally resolved very fast. I am not blocked for long whenever something like that happens.
ConsThe fact that there are so many features also has a downside. I feel like there is a lot more to discover, and sometimes, things are no consistent. For example, in some views, I can hide the right-hand vertical "space" (or menu) and in others, I can't. I also find that column resizing is quite burdensome, and I have to resize columns in multiple views (it doesn't propagate.)
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2017
Brian H.
Project Manager
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2016

“Full Featured Project Management Software”

OverallClarizen is the foundation of our project management process. It provides a wide range of features and customization to support the needs of our design team, project managers, production, upper management and sales staff. With customized reports, each team member can see the data that is important to them. With customized views estimating can see what is important to them, sales can see that they need and project management can see their information. The dashboards are great to show a snapshot of how many projects are doing. It is obvious the people at Clarizen have put a lot of time and effort developing and refining the project management process. It's a great program to get everyone on your team involved
ProsThe almost unlimited features and options
ConsThere are almost too many choices, it takes a while to really gain a full understanding of how everything works
Recommendations to other buyersIf there is something you are trying to do in the program but can't figure it out, join one of the free questions and answer sessions. There is probably a workaround that will get the job done.
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2016
Jonathan B.
Project Manager
Information Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2016

“Effective & Customisable Project Management Tool”

OverallClarizen has moved us from spreadsheet based project management to collaborative, efficient portfolio management. Adopting Clarizen was straight-forward and it was quick to see the benefits. Managing many projects simultaneously across many customers and project types is now possible and manageable. Our development team have a much easier time of knowing what they should be working on in disparate cross-company project teams. The accompanying iPhone and Android apps help ensuring time-sheets are kept updated and communications are not missed. It is hugely customisable in regards to setting up simple forms, workflows with notifications and visual aids. We've been able to recreate our own methodologies in Clarizen. The only issue we have had is reaching the limit of custom fields possible without moving to the unlimited license model. Support has been excellent and dependable.
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2016
Jonathan O.
Corporate Business Planner
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018

“PM tool is not bad, but integrated time/expense/invoice processing did not work.”

OverallWe got very little benefit from this software, as it did not perform as expected.
ProsProject management tool is comparable to MS Project. Users that are looking for a subscription PM product rather than purchasing MS Project may benefit from this software, but I am not sure if all PM features are available out-of-the-box at cheaper subscription levels.
ConsAlthough the PM tool is comparable to MS Project, it also comes with a level of complication also comparable to MS Project. Full functionality of PM (i.e. including resource management) requires buy-in by all departments/users in the company, and this is difficult to acheive in large or diverse organizations. Our company implemeted this software with the goal of bringing project management together with time reporting, expense reporting, and invoice processing. The purpose of implementing Clarizen was to have a centralized system where we could report project status by including all relevant metrics on the project in a list or detailed view, e.g. planned time vs. actual time, planned cost vs. actual cost, and project manager comments/narrative on goal vs. result. This purpose was never realized. Clarizen underestimated the work effort to develop customizations, which resulted in the time module never being completed, the expense/invoice modules were cumbersome to use, the related approval workflows had many problems, and support from Clarizen management was almost non-existent. We are now taking a different approach. No longer do we believe that one system can handle all our needs, and so we have adopted different systems with some integration between them to try to bring together all project-related data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018
John T.
Team Lead
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2016

“Highly Recommended ”

OverallWe used Clarizen for our project management. It is easy to learn, user friendly and our employees love it.
ProsThe user friendliness of Clarizen can not be beat. Recently, our company moved to Clarizen for project tracking and the transition couldn't have been easier. Employees rave about the ease of the system.
ConsIf i had to choose, the disconnect between Projects and tasks on the same view. It would be nice to have these without the need of workflows to integrate them.
Recommendations to other buyersClarizen gives our employees a method to track projects and complete tasks while implementing our clients. It simplifies the implementation and keeps employees organized.
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2016
Melissa S.
Manager of Process Improvement & Resourcing
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2016

“Improves our business processes and communication”

OverallAfter launching Clarizen in our organization, it was easier than ever before to do resource management and get timesheets in. Therefore the data is more accurate so we can now make sound business decision based on accurate information.
ProsIt's easy to use and to change configuration or customize to best meet your user's needs.
ConsCost management is great but could use the concept of effective date to make it easy to use when spanning the fiscal year or promoting individuals.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure you get a professional services package, that week on site made a world of difference when we launched and it continues to pay off over a year later.
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2016
Phil S.
Project Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 3, 2016

“A flexible, intutive tool that is packed with features”

ProsWorking with Clarizen is always easy, they are incredibly helpful and their Professional Services support is outstanding. Developing a custom timesheet module for our specific needs was never a problem for them and they have delivered far in excess of the original brief. The layout and format of the system is so intuitive we have not needed to undertake lengthy training sessions to our users, almost all have found themselves navigating and operating without issue with only a basic introductory training session.
ConsThe only area where development is still required is the reporting tools. These tools are good, but they are not at the high level that I would want. That said there is significant development taking place that I am aware of and updates are made to improve this area particularly on a regular basis. The tool does have the ability to export almost all data to Excel so if you can't do something within the reporting tools available, you probably can externally.
Recommendations to other buyersTake out a trial, once you try this software, I'm confident you will see the benefits.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 3, 2016
Peter K.
Director of Operations
Aviation & Aerospace, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
August 22, 2015

“Clarizen: Perpetual Motion Towards Great”

OverallI started using Clarizen 18 months ago to manage multiple complex projects and to corral a pool of shared resources. Out of the gate, Clarion performed well. But what I am most impressed with is the perpetual evolution towards great. Updates are delivered on a regular basis and deliver meaningful improvements.
ProsAt its core, Clarion is a strong project portfolio management tool. The social media element is seamlessly incorporated and has added a valuable dimension to project management. The resource management component is strong and just got stronger with the Summer '15 update. And, most important, Clarizen provides a high-availability SaaS platform. They haven't left me hanging.
ConsI am still waiting for a mechanism to assign multiple managers to a task. Our projects span multiple shifts. I need a mechanism to allow all shift supervisors to adjust tasks and sub-tasks as needed. The pricing model could be improved. The number of customizations are limited in all except the Enterprise package. We use all three customizations in our package and, at times, turn some off so we can turn others on. Surely a better balance can be reached.
Source: GetApp
August 22, 2015
Neyda Jose M.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 20, 2019

“Fantastic software!”

ProsIt is a phenomenal software because it offers great features to carry out a great management of business projects from the handling of mail, schedules and much more, offers excellent support as they answer any questions or problems personally ie go to the company to solve the inconvenience in the best time possible so not be satisfied with this great tool would be inappropriate because unlike other software works very well and provide a perfect orientation thus allowing to understand the operation of the software quickly that is why it is truly useful because through it we have everything in one place.
ConsIt may present some flaws but due to its very effective support it is something for which the use of this great software should not be limited.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 20, 2019
Peter K.
Consultant
Information Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2017

“Best Online Project Tool”

OverallClarizen is so easy to use, the vast majority of users were up and running within minutes . The powerful social module incorporates item level in context discussions within each project, even to a task level. Flexibility is a strong feature, and the ability to track financial data across the entire project makes the tool a powerful asset in any business
ProsInterface is intuitive. Plenty of awesome functionality
ConsMore Drag and Drop features would be nice , and possibly Agile standard out the box included
Recommendations to other buyersClarizen is an excellent project management tool, and I would highly recommend it.
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2017
Sean F.
Technical Project Manager III
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
January 21, 2016

“A mostly positive experience.”

OverallWe are implementing Clarizen as a project management tool for the entire organization but starting in the Information Technology and Performance Improvement departments. Our goal is to capture all project requests and projects in one place for review, approval, management, and reporting. Clarizen has mostly met our expectations so far. Most of the items that have not met our expectations are minor. We are still early in our implementation so there are still lessons to learn in our journey.
Pros1. Unlimited email-only users. Resources that infrequently or rarely work on projects can report progress via email without consuming an expensive license. 2. Email and/or API integration with work order systems. Clarizen doesn't charge an expensive license to integrate it with other systems. 3. A modern-looking user interface with an emphasis on social media-like collaboration. 4. Lots of options for charts and graphs for reporting. 5. Can import spreadsheets and MS Project workplans. 6. Lots of training and support webinars every week. 7. Pre-recorded online training via the Clarizen University.
Cons1. Support seems slow to respond to support requests. 2. There is currently a bug they haven't fixed yet that requires you to keep resetting column widths in reports and dashboards. They don't stick. 3. Their online self-help knowledge base seems new and thin. 4. They don't have a feature I used in other project management software to identify the last (most recent) note, comment, etc. on an item. This can be worked around via user training or some custom workflow programming but it would be nice if they built it in as others have.
Source: GetApp
January 21, 2016
Avatar Image
Bryce V.
Managing Member
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Everything we needed to take our team to the next level”

OverallWe needed to evaluate how we could best deliver a quick first time to value for our customers on our implementation team.
ProsClarizen enabled our team to effectively manage the numerous projects we had while surfacing the insights we needed to make business decisions.
ConsLike any software that is aimed at solving complex business problems, Clarizen had so many features that it became overwhelming to our team during implementation. When a business has to undergo major changes to their operations, it needs the transition to be as easy as possible. This is more of a critique for most large software solutions as opposed to just Clarizen.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Babar S.
Senior Project Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2016

“Clarizen makes project management easy”

OverallWorking on clarizen was a new world for me as I had never used an online project management tool. As most project managers it is hard to move out of the comfort zone which really works, but Clarizen was different. It provided the flexibility of updating projects on the go as well as task assignment to resources and updates to stake holders. Clarizen also helped us to decrease the time to update project status as it was easy to get reminders on updates and also daily status reports on emails for escalation. The social collaboration part is one of the best I have experienced so far on any type of platform for the "working" environment.
ProsSocial Collaboration Customization right down to the fields being used in each and every element.
ConsI would see that at times the interface due to it's beauty becomes a bit slow.
Recommendations to other buyersI would expect that anyone who tries out Clarizen would definitely be interested in using it in it's organization.
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2016
Sean W.
Project Manager
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 18, 2016

“Clarizen, Versatile and Powerful!”

ProsThere are two things I Love about Clarizen. First, their staff, friendly, helpful and fulfilling the companies position of customer success. This couldn't be more important in making Clarizen a valuable tool for my company. Two, configuration! tired of wrapping your companies processes around a a software's functions? We were too, and with Clarizen's customization functions we were able to wrap it around our processes. This made for seamless integration into our ecosystem and simplistic integration into employees daily life.
ConsThere isn't much to say here. Clarizen is a great tool and if leveraged properly will become the best tool in your arsenal.
Recommendations to other buyersAgain, I cant stress how important it is that you can customize this software to a great extent. Look at all the functions, customizing, API usage, and InterAct. Ask yourself if the competitors can compete with this.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 18, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018

“This tool helps me to manage my workflow and plan my activities appropriately.”

OverallAll in all, it is the best time-tracking solution that is quite scalable and flexible. If you're ready to work manually for the time being, it has flexible, scalable and can be implemented very quickly. If you are prepared to work with a few manual steps, for the time being (that hopefully will improve), it is a great value product.
ProsIt has a great interactive interphase and amazing functionality. Its easy to enter and track the time via this software. The planning tools allow me to plan and define my project, its functionality, its feasibility, and the resource available.
ConsBit expensive, the level of functionality for lower-amount licences is seemingly poor compared to advanced versions. Reports corresponding to calendar days require manual entry.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018
Alan C.
Creative Director
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2016

“Great tool for collaboration”

OverallGreat product that allows for a ton of flexibility. It's been great to be able to customize for the specific needs of each team, yet still have all teams in the same product.
ProsThe level to which you can customize, create custom actions and workflows, etc. is the best part of the product
ConsImplementation can be tricky. Your instance starts with everything turned on, it would be better to start with a minimal instance and turn things on as you need to implement.
Recommendations to other buyersSame as above -- have a clear plan for your implementation. Turn off all the features that you aren't going to use, and minimize the number of fields showing in the UI. This will help with adoption.
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Source: GetApp
February 5, 2016

“Intuitive, Flexible, yet Powerful”

OverallClarizen is a great solution, which is proving to be an invaluable tool within our business. Despite having some very strictly defined processes that Clarizen were required to include, all of these were developed efficiently in full collaboration, even ensuring that developments were future proofed to ensure continued use with no requirement to pay out for additional development. The layout and 'look and feel' is crisp and clean while virtually everything on the page can be configured to ensure that it best fits the user's requirements. Before implementing Clarizen it was difficult to get true visibility of how the portfolio of projects sat, where potential conflict of resourcing would occur. With the powerful calendar and resource tools that come as standard in Clarizen it has become easy to see these potential issues earlier, allowing for a more planned response which ultimately benefits our customers and strengthens our brand.
ProsFlexible and easy to use. Social interaction, with in-context discussion panels for all projects and tasks. Easy monitoring of time submissions. Great (and expanding) set of modules (Apps) that can be deployed to further enhance the solution.
ConsReporting tools are still lacking, but this is actively being addressed with regular updates and improvements released.
Source: GetApp
February 5, 2016
Brian B.
Web Time Implementation Team Lead
Human Resources, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
August 18, 2015

“Clarizen a great Project Management Tool”

OverallMy team has used Clarizen for a little over a year now. I cannot say enough good things on how well it has done for my team and organizing the implementations of our Software. My team from an employee level up to management are able to use Clarizen to run their individual days and teams. We implement time and attendance software for clients and use Clarizen to organize our Projects with our specific timelines that we have. Clarizen makes it easy for employees to know exactly where they are at with all of their clients and allows management to easily track the progress of their teams.
ProsCustomization. I cannot say enough on how exceptional the Clarizen technical team is with taking our needs and making them happen in the system. One specific example is I formulated a scoring system for incoming clients that based upon how they were going to use our system would be given a "complexity" score so that I could assign higher level clients to my best employees and lower level clients to my lesser experienced employees. Clarizen took my request that I submitted and within a month had the entire scoring system automated and up and running giving me a fantastic tool to use daily.
ConsPricing. Clarizen needs to be able to add options on as fixed costs instead of raising the overall monthly rate. My team doesn't use every aspect of the program so when I need more of just one option in the system I shouldn't have to pay for a higher level across the board with more of all their options when I need just one. I am hoping that can change in the future to meet individual client needs.
Source: GetApp
August 18, 2015
Sharon A.
Project Manager
Insurance, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2018

“Lots of functionality at the user's fingertips”

OverallProject management, resource planning, baseline/planned/actual work comparison
ProsBasic use is very intuitive. I can add a new user for time tracking, provide a basic tutorial and tips and tricks, and they are all set to be able to report time correctly.
ConsThe table relationships and keys are not obvious so creating a report that includes the data I need to show takes more time than I have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2018
Yari B.
Technician
Chemicals, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2017

“Clarizen is a highly configurable and easy to learn application that suits our business needs!”

OverallIt is really good for indepth project management with a lot of tools available. Can be a pain in the ass to configure when the application need to so specific for your organization. (Recommend to use a IT projectmanager, Clarizen does not provide this or they just leave the project without any reason)
ProsThe massive functionality of designing the software to the specific needs in detail. Generating Reports from all kinds of data to be viewed by manageres and to control projectmanagement on a deeper level. It is a highly manageable application that can be used in all kinds of situations.
ConsThe ability to adapt the softwares permissions on a field level could not be done. Permissions can only be set to action buttons. One property card per module per user profile was for our situation not the best option. The user manual could also be expanded on a more detailed level. Clicking on a question mark icon (linked to the user manual) displayed the exact same information as hovering over it. It was not giving the best information so we had to contact support instead of a simple answer in the user manual.
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2017
Ryan H.
Director of Project Management
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 6, 2016

“Clean interface, pretty easy to set up; social aspect excellent”

OverallI liked Clarizen's product. I've used other large PM software products and Clarizen's offering was easier to use overall.
ProsThe interface is very clean, it's very flexible and fits with many processes. It was pretty easy for us to customize to what we needed. The social functionality was great, it lead to improved team interaction and teamwork. I really liked that. The reports were good, and again pretty easy to set up. Creating custom fields to report on was easy. Support was good, I think our consultant was very flexible and helped us with things even he wasn't used to; he was very open to our processes and helped us make them happen in the tool. He was very responsive as well.
ConsSeemed a bit expensive, and for our needs we found that any license except the most expensive was pretty useless. The levels of functionality in the lower licenses didn't help us at all. We ended up getting all licenses at the highest level.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure your processes are well-defined before implementing this software and they'll help you fit everything in, and in a user-friendly manner as well.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 6, 2016
Todd T.
CIO
Consumer Goods, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019

“Strong PPM with excellent customization”

ProsThe core PPM capabilities of Clarizen are very strong, but the biggest game change for us has been the 'custom objects' capability. This feature has allowed us to completely replace a legacy product management tool, running it as an integrated component of our Clarizen setup. Product and Project objects are linked together within a single system so that many business processes (item set-up, pricing approvals, product portfolio management) are happening within the same space as project management for new products.
ConsGenerally speaking, more functionality drives complexity in the user interface, and Clarizen is no different. It results in steeper learning curves vs. less full-featured solutions. Our hope is that Clarizen Go will help us solve this challenge for ordinary collaborators.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019
Gareth B.
Senior Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2015

“For Enterprise PM and Collaboration Software, there is nothing better.”

OverallExperience: We have been using Clarizen now at Hachette UK since 2015 and I must say it has enhanced the way we work dramatically. Gone are the days of having numerous spreadsheets, project plans and SharePoint issues logs, now we have one centralized application for our Programme of Projects, Milestones and Tasks, plus collaborative discussions within Clarizen itself, with a full history. Pros: + Excellent Project & Work Item management. + Powerful Enterprise discussion module which link into everything Clarizen does, from Projects to issues. + A customisation engine to build custom workflows, fields, views and even your own HTML/Javascript front end panels (for your own Forms etc). + Reporting and Dashboards, again with custom reporting. + A best-of-class Customer Services and community and quick responses. + A public product Roadmap which you can contribute to, with regular releases with new functionality. + Rich API for developers to hook into. + Growing community of Clarizen users and an App Marketplace of customisations, built using Clarizens own custom engine. + Collaboration extends to users outside of Clarizen itself (Sharing reports & widgets). Cons: - Clarizen sells Agile support. Yes there is a Team board, burndown charts etc, but the implementation is not good. - The amount of options available can be overwhelming until you have got to grips with the product. - Security groups within Clarizen needs to be out of the box and not a custom workflow. At the moment, there isnt a simple way of creating confidential Projects.
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2015
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“A great SAAS tool to have for your Project Management teams”

ProsExtremely easy to use Easily customizable Price points make sense per user Able to share information to all departments via email High level overview with charts for executives that need to big pictures
ConsThere are instances of downtime, but they communicate quickly and level set expectations
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
Jessica R.
Operations Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018

“Clarizen was selected as the PSA for my company and I've been the main administrator for a few years”

ProsCustomizable User friendly Web access Easy to scale as our company and departments grow Can be customized for various use cases
ConsDoesn't function well with detailed project plans. If you want to push the dates of s project out or adjust a schedule, it's difficult if you have too many tasks
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Peter K.
Independent Consultant/Contractor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2018

“SAAS based project management platform, scalable, with team collaboration, great dash-boarding ”

Prosease of use scalable Social Service and Support customizations Updates Adaptability Financial Management
ConsCost Agile framework needs attention Reporting Graphs are limited in selection limited amount of Graphs per report Scheduling options are limited to 24 reports , 1 per hour
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2018
Jonthan W.
Implementation Project Manager
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2016

“Clarizen for Change, Progress, and Satisfaction”

OverallClarizen allows our project managers to effectively manage and schedule action items to ensure completion dates are met and project dependencies do not go unnoticed. With Clarizen our team excels to meet deadlines and ensure client satisfaction.
ProsThe ability to schedule and create task dependencies, view road maps of project progress, track time per individual project tasks, and report on a managers current work load.
ConsThe ability to learn and grasp concepts for project scheduling and schedule management. PRO TIP: Use templates and other built in task management features to effectively plan and project a projects plan.
Recommendations to other buyersThe developers are always adding new features that keep your users learning!
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2016
Guy M.
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2016

“Very good cloud-based project management software”

OverallI've been using Clarizen for time reporting and project management. Almost 200 users are required to use it, and while the time reporting module of the system is rather mediocre, the project management capabilities are impressive.
ProsHighly configurable User friendly Great user experience
ConsLacking time reporting module Slow response from customer support (might be days)
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2016
Joseph K.
Director of Implementation
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2016

“Excellent PPM ”

OverallCompared all PPM solutions we have used in the past Clarizen provided a much needed increase in reporting and customization to meet our needs. It allows us to not only track the additional information we need but report on it in a way that make portfolio review much easier that it had previously been
ProsModern look and feel, customization, and reporting.
ConsExternal collaborator option is too expensive, e-mail tracking and integration for capturing communication customers who are not users in Clarizen is limited
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2016
Jeff H.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2016

“It Can Do Just About Anything...*”

Overall*...with the right knowledge of programming or significant investment in their custom programming services. If you can think it, Clarizen can probably do it. It's that flexible. That's my all-encompassing endorsement of the app. It's just that good! On the downside, the app can be a little slow at times--mainly slow page loads or inconsistent page refreshing. There are minor oddities and head-scratchers here and there (like it won't load more than 50 items on a page at a time without waiting for a further page reload), but we've been willing to settle for those quirks in exchange for the system's incredible flexibility and powerful tools, configuration, filtering, reporting, etc. One other thing that is of note... we have been using the app for 2 years and have had at least 4 different account reps. And they all have three things in common: they tend to want to only speak with you by appointment, they seem to be in a hurry when they do speak to you, and they are always ready and willing to sell you something without listening very well. So just be prepared for that and demand that they slow down. Tech support is thorough, but slow and sometimes it takes a while to get resolution to issues that aren't life-threatening. All-in-all, we've found Clarizen to be the most flexible, versatile, powerful tool out there. All of the people we've dealt with are likable and eager to help...just not on our terms, which is the place they could improve the most.
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Retail, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017

“Great tool with tons of potential. Is simple and flexible to meet needs, but room for improvement”

ProsEasy to use and manage. Using reports and dashboards to show major value and insight to senior leadership. End users are able to use the tool itself with little training. Interface is responsive, modern and clean.
ConsSecurity model is strange at first, but can be made to work great with some patience and thinking differently. Reporting has some limitations that feel frustrating but can be solved with export to an enterprise data warehouse. Brought in external vendor as solution integrator, but has issues with them delivering over complicated customizations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017
Bobbejo K.
Application Systems Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2016

“Clarizen more than project management”

OverallClarizen was brought into our company as a project management solution. We quickly learned that it is so much more than that and soon it was in all parts of our company.
ProsClarizen is easy to customize and has a wonderful roadmap and gantt chart.
ConsIt is designed for people to go in an update their own work, however, it seems hard to get buy in. Therefore, the PMs still end up doing most of the work.
Recommendations to other buyersTake time to understand your full business needs before customization.
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018

“PM tool for any application”

OverallIt makes us work collaboratively in a global organization.
ProsIts capability to be applied for wide applications and the customer support
ConsThe customizations are little tricky even though the syntax are not so complicated
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018
Rich G.
Project Manager
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2016

“Good tool with lots of features”

OverallClarizen is a feature-rich tool that has lots of capabilities and customizability. The negatives I have observed are the omission of some fundamental features like Undo, and some quirks, particularly in adjusting predecessors, cascading updated dates and adding new tasks in the work plan.
ProsSharing, resource management, Very powerful reporting tools
ConsNo undo, Workplan can be quirky and often have to refresh the page for updated/correct info to show. Slow.
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2016
Matt B.
Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 5, 2016

“Very capable, customizable & user friendly ”

ProsThis product is very capable. This does mean that it can be complex however. There will be a learning curve based on the level of use your interested in using the software for. The vendor has been very helpful in getting us off the ground and holding one-on-one training webinars. We have also found the software to be highly customizable. There have only been a couple of things we'd like to customize that currently isn't an option. The others we've changed to how "we" want to use the software. And, the software is user friendly. It did not take us long to figure out how to start entering projects and tasks. The admin role can be a little overwhelming, but the user role is pretty straight forward.
ConsThe team at Clarizen has been very diligent in their training approach. I'm sure they do so to ensure their clients' success. For us though, it's been too slow. If you know how to use Microsoft Project or other project management software, a lot of the training they will go through is common knowledge.
Recommendations to other buyersClarizen offers a free trial and free webinars. I would dig in and build out a sample project including milestones and tasks and set due dates for each of them. Don't be discouraged as things might not be completely clear at first. But, we started creating projects and using the software before our first training session and it helped.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 5, 2016
Jeffrey D.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
October 30, 2015

“Clarizen's deep set of tools”

OverallWe've used Clarizen for a few years now, and it's made a huge difference. I came in with project management experience, but many of our managers were just winging it. We moved from a simple time-tracking application to Clarizen's full fledged Project Management. That was a bigger step than most were ready for, but it's come into its own. We have visibility to things we didn't have before, and can make data-driven decisions instead of gut-feeling our way along. I've been able to prove that instinct was not the correct choice in many cases. Clarizen won't tell you what to do, but whatever you want to do, you can probably do it with Clarizen. Other packages I've used gave you a methodology with their software, but Clarizen is flexible, nimble, and robust.
Pros-Lots of customization -SQL-like API calls -Detailed data -Does what it says on the tin
Cons-Lack of a canned process for organizations that don't know where to start -I wish it was cheaper :)
Source: GetApp
October 30, 2015
Brian B.
Web Time Implementation Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2015

“Great Project Management tool for my software implementation team!”

OverallMy team has been using Clarizen for a little over a year now and I cannot say enough good things about them. My team implements time and attendance software for companies across the country and using Clarizen as a daily tool to track the progress of those implementations has been great. What I am most impressed about with Clarizen is their ability to tackle new challenges. An example is my team has levels of employees based upon experience. One thing that we wanted to try do and then accomplished in Clarizen is writing a "Complexity" scoring system so that when we entered in new clients and put their information into Clarizen they were given a score based upon certain criteria so that when we assigned new clients to our employees we could assigned the easier clients to the lesser experienced employees and the tougher clients to the more experienced employees. It has worked out fantastically for us and that is just one example of many where we brought an idea to Clarizen and they made it happen. One thing that I continue to stress to Clarizen is a need for better Outlook integration. Whether it is a better streamlined emailing option or calendar enhancements it can be improved upon. Overall we have been very happy with the experience so far, enough so that we have brought a new division of our company onto Clarizen and look to possibly expand it even further in the future.
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2015
Sarah J.
Recruiter
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 12, 2018

“A Powerful Suite Backed By an Excellent Team”

ProsThe system allows you to create a project that is as complex or as simple as you desire. They have the capability for very complex projects.
ConsSupport for custom project hierarchies based on users or their groups. This would allow separate business units to see project categories without seeing the projects within those categories.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 12, 2018
Rachel S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
December 28, 2011

“Clarizen - Work and Project Management”

OverallThe best project management solution for team work! Clarizen's cloud based SaaS software is easy to use, without needing any technical support. It is the best choice for Project Managers who run multiple projects and/or have a team of people working from different locations. Real time visibility means everyone can see exactly what the team is working on, ensuring that time and resources are not wasted. Managers get a full picture of the project, while team members only see what they need to know. Communication is easy with built in email, chat and notes. Everyone's tasks are clearly defined and deadlines are visible, via the Dashboard. A project can be planned, with a time line and milestones, so it is easy to see where you are holding, and which tasks have been assigned to each team member. In general, Clarizen's project management program can help you become more efficient by ensuring that all team members have the same information, and time and money are not being wasted.
ProsProgress reports and reviews with real time data. Easy collaboration and communication between team members. Great online support team and webinars. Easy to track budget, time and resources from the same home page.
ConsClarizen's features mean that if you have a small, simple project that only needs a team of 2 or 3, Clarizen is probably too powerful.
Source: GetApp
December 28, 2011
Jason B.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 23, 2015

“Highly Customizable SaaS Tool with Great Overall Value”

ProsClarizen (V6) is likely the most configurable SaaS tool available in the PPM world. The ability to customize fields and workflows to support unique processes is a major selling point of the tool. The new native mobile app is great. Customer support, access to training and, professional services are all excellent.
ConsOut of the box, the tool can be a little overwhelming, with few preconfigured workflow options (cases, etc.). Because the tool has an extremely robust configuration/customization engine, there is/are some functionality/utilities that require customization (and thus more custom fields/actions) that most would probably expect to be available out of the box. The weakest point is the interactive Gantt chart, which has very limited configuration options.
Recommendations to other buyersDon't bother with a Professional license unless you truly plan on using it as an evaluation phase before moving up to Enterprise unless you have very basic needs. Dialing in the workflow requires custom fields/actions, which the Professional level barely provides. Take advantage of Clarizen's approach to training. They have daily free webinars and lots of documentation
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 23, 2015
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“Great for time tracking and expense reports”

OverallWe've used Clarizen for 10+ years and it is easy to create and manage projects for time tracking to better understand where our hours are spent, as well as for client billing. We also use it for Expense reports, which is nice to be able to do it all within one platform.
ProsSuper easy to track and submit hours, including setting up as many projects as necessary.
ConsCertain reports are only available to certain licenses, not allowing basic licenses to see things like time tracking reports for project management or PTO.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Sharad G.
Team Lead
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 20, 2018

“Best management tool with coolaborative options”

ProsGreat new social media and project management collaboration tools with V6. Creating and saving templates is much more intuitive in this new release.
ConsIt doesn't play well with IE; processing time is way too long. There is a substantial delay when working in IE with the application.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 20, 2018
Scott L.
EPMO Partner
Retail, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2017

“Very useful for getting everyone onto "one source of the truth"”

OverallBiggest benefit is "one source of truth".
ProsThe ease of use that comes from being a SaaS solution has been the strongest feature. In addition, because it is web-based, some of the configuration can be done using CSS, which does not take a lot of programmatic experience to implement.
ConsAs a PPM, there are still gaps (as of this writing) in some basic PPM functionality. The most glaring to me is the lack of Capacity Planning functionality. It can handle Resource Allocation, and Resource Loading, but if you are looking for a way to forecast out what your expected capacity for future work is, you can only do it through heavy configuration. As for configuration, it has pros and cons, but one of the more challenging limitations is in changing a custom field. If, for example, you decide that the data type on a field must be changed from string to number, you cannot simply change the data type. You must create a new field with the correct data type, find all the configuration instances where that field exists (in, for example, custom actions you've programmed Clarizen to take) and replace them, then delete the old field. It's a very clunky process. The last big con we have found is that there is no archiving of data. If you want to archive your data, you must dump everything out into a EDW of some sort. This is doubtlessly to keep the database slim, but that means that the system is always an "As Is" system, and you lose the ability to analyze trends.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2017