OpenClinica Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About OpenClinica

Protocols are complex. Getting data shouldn't be. With a collaborative, drag-and-drop study designer for you and mobile-friendly forms for your sites and subjects, OpenClinica is more than just data capture. It's a better experience. The result? Higher quality data for your study, at a low cost that makes budgeting easy, too. With every deployment: secure, high-performance cloud hosting on AWS | Documented validation | FDA, EMA, GDPR and HIPAA compliance Learn more about OpenClinica

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Catherine M.
Manager, CDM
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017

“I used OpenClinica for ~3 years and found it a flexible and reliable system. ”

ProsThe study build is straightforward, validation/derivation procedures were a breeze to create, and data extractions easy to set up and quickly provide to my statistician. Mid-study updates/amendments were a simple process and the audit trail versioning was excellent and easy to track. There is a learning curve for the novice data manager when building CRFs. But after the first few CRFs build from scratch, it became very easy. Also the training program I took was very good (1 week face-to face-class). I was comfortable building studies on my own within a couple of weeks of taking the class. The online user community was extremely helpful and a great resource. As I was the only DM for some time, the site/user administration was easy to manage. As I performed all end user training, most CRAs & CRCs were pleased with the system's ease of use for the end user. I built ~13 production studies and these functioned well as traditional EDC as well as in-house double DE databases. I found the query email function was a very helpful tool. Customer support (using Enterprise Edition) was second to none. My questions were usually addressed within a few hours after submitting the ticket. Any unexpected issues were addressed and usually corrected that same day.
ConsThe data load process was a bit challenging. I would recommend an easier method for non-programmers to perform this task. For complex types of reports, additional tools are needed as the included extracts can be a bit cumbersome to join (depending on the report) however I was able to utilize Excel for the majority of the reporting tasks I performed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017
L M.
Data Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 1, 2016

“Good Research Study Database”

OverallPros: Automated audit log tracking, structured subject matrix for visits for visualization of longitudinal follow-up, capability to link subject co-enrolled in two different studies, exportable datasets, Some metadata / information about study protocol incorporated into the database for documentation (helpful for new employees in future), Built in discrepancy tracking which can be linked to a specific variable Cons: Rigid user roles/privileges, Import of data into system can be challenging because of structure, Need IT background for initial setup/installation if you are setting up on own server and not using the cloud Wishlist for future improvements: Easier, built-in import mechanism of data into existing projects, Make cohort groups usable within system, Build in more scheduling features and functionality (for example, printable list of subjects expected to arrive on a particular day according to scheduled visit dates) or create reasonably priced product for this aspect which can be used as add-on, Make user roles more flexible/al a carte, Allow aliases for user roles as user role titles do not match structure of every organization In my experience, many are hesitant to adopt an open source product because they may have concerns about security, reliability or functionality. After using for around 3 years and for hundreds of participants, I have found this to be a very high-quality database and certainly worth considering for small academic research organizations.
ProsAutomated variable level audit log/change tracking
ConsDifficult to import lists/data
Source: Capterra
December 1, 2016
Avatar Image
Yama G.
Clinical Trials IT Manager
Research, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“I use OC 3 for over five years and found it a good electronic data capture system”

OverallOC is a great application for clinical trial research projects. It is easy to use and easy to build CRFs. The user support team is very helpful and there is a big community of people who could be helpful. The new version of the application OC4 seems to be very promising and the team has done a great job with interdicting new functionalists.
ProsOC there is an excellent application for clinical trial projects. - It is easy to build a CRF, and one does not need a technical background to develop a CRF. - It supports multi-site studies. - It supports multi-event studies - It supports multi CRFs per event studies - Support multi-section (tabs) and multi group CRF - Supports repeating events - Support grid layout questions which is helpful (e.g. if you wont record participant's medication history) - User-friendly interface - compatible with Firefox, internet explore and Chrome - Good user support - Easy to install
Cons- OC 3 interface is not responsive ( OC4 is responsive) - No offline data entry capability - Programmer skills are needed to implement complex validations during CRF design
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Patrick M.
Senior Director of Data Management
Research, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2017

“Great product, stable for many years, always incorporating new features, great support, open source”

OverallSolid platform, great user support, query system, design is currently spreadsheet based which appeals to the minds of programmers, lots of options for data export, have used it in multi-country clinical and observational trials.
ProsGreat interface for sites to enter data for their subjects, repeating rows for AEs and con meds, validated system, automatic data exports, robust querying system, dynamic display of questions on one form based on answers from another form, great visual cues for data entry staff (colors, icons are meaningful), calendar control is powerful and easy to write data cleaning checks for, version control of forms, strong data integrity (can't change pre-programmed answer sets for questions without adequate control), great user support including option to contract for development at reasonable prices, built-in support for double data entry of paper forms, stable over the 7 years I've used it for clinical and observational trials, incredible user community which makes 3rd party tools available, yearly international conferences to keep users up to date, patient PRO module is very feature laden, patient PRO module creates solid link between site CRF data and patient PRO data, I have used it for 7 years and have never lost a data point.
ConsWould like to have patient compensation built-in to patient PRO module, more reports needed but are coming based on user feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2017
VICENTE A.
INTERNATIONAL DIRECTOR
Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2017

“OpenClinica makes it simple. Flexible, reliable and easy to use”

OverallFlexible, reliable and easy to use
ProsI have had a great experience using OpenClinica EDC during the last 3 years with several studies (Observational studies, Registries and Clinical Trials). It´s a web based solution to build and manage multi-sites clinical studies. It´s a powerful platform, great user support, Data Entry and DM capabilities makes everything simple. The study build and CRF designer allows re-use across studies. Updates and amendments are a simple process. Audit trail is excellent and easy to track and data extractions are available in several formats whenever is needed for the statistician. Data management capabilities improves data quality and productive monitoring. Most CRAs were pleased with the system. OpenClinica offers Cloud Services. No need IT skills for installation and setup. Super User Training is very helpful for data managers when building CRFs. If regulatory submission is required, the Regulatory Support Package service is highly recommended.
ConsProgrammer skills are needed to implement complex validations during CRF design. Complex reports should be customized in Excel after data extract.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“ Personalization options are impressive”

OverallOpenClinica makes it easy to us to keep track of a huge number of patients in the same place and query it for studies.
ProsI continue to be impressed by how many ways we can personalize OpenClinica to our clinic setting. We were able to select the different categories we want completed for each patient, as well as unique drop-down options for everyone.
ConsThe version of OpenClinica we use does not look very modern. It doesn't affect the functionality of the software, but could be nicer to look at.

Vendor Response

By OpenClinica on May 1, 2018
Thank you for the candid and encouraging review. Let us help you transition to the latest release, OC4. You'll find the ultra-modern (and ultra-powerful) UX you deserve! https://openclinica.com/contact-openclinica/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Ade Idowu M.
Data Management
Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2019

“Open-Clinica 4 (OC4)”

OverallData validation and data management are one of the most critical aspects of Clinical Research as they portray the end result of a study. With open-clinica,you can expect to capture a high quality dataset which has been pre-validated and monitored.
ProsThe software is very user friendly and yet embedded with very powerful functionalities for creating a study. It also allows the extraction of datasets in various formats in a very well organized output with some being pre-coded for ease of use.
ConsStill a few limitations with customizing the user interface, but a great improvement from the previous versions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2019
Kevin J.
Project Manager
Research, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018

“Excellent eConsent platform”

ProsOur department has recently has recently begun the process for eConsent development and deployment through the OpenClinica platform. The functionality and engaging features of the forms and other various tools within the program will make our processes run much smoother and increase our efficiency and overall ability to recruit qualified participants for our clinical trials. The OpenClinica team have been tremendous in providing support with prompt and professional communication all along the way, from the initial product demonstration through our current design and implementation stages.
ConsSo far, we are in the design and implementation stage, and no complaints.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“I've been using OC3 for 10 years, transitioning to OC4 has been painless. The knowledge transfers.”

ProsOpenClinica has listened to their customers and it shows with this new product. Being a user for 10 years, I see the features I have personally requested in OC3 appear in OC4. The people behind the product have passion for their product.
ConsI have trouble with using it on different internet browsers. Seems to be optimize, in my experience, for Firefox.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Evance O.
Data Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2015

“I have used OC to successfully manage more than 5 clinical trial studies.”

OverallCompatibility with browsers other than IE is a major problem. In-Flexibility in changing CRF versions.
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2015
Ahmed K.
System administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2015

“Great system”

Overallall free functions are great with good security as a web application and acceptable free suport.
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2015
Paul T.
MD
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Difficult to use for doctors (maybe easy for programmers)”

OverallThis program is a difficult program, which I tried to use for my clinical trial. Building the case report form took ages, and a lot of frustration. Furthermore, using the CRF is not intuitive at all. I am quite disappointed.
Prosnothing
Consthe lack of ease of use
Recommendations to other buyersMake it work! And make it easy to use!
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017