SmartSearch Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About SmartSearch

Since 1986, Advanced Personnel Systems, Inc., makers of SmartSearch talent acquisition and staffing management software, has been creating applicant tracking software to streamline sourcing, recruiting and hiring in one easy-to-use solution. We lead the way in the development and deployment of quality talent management and recruiting solutions to help our clients recruit at the speed of life and stay ahead of the curve in the ever-changing recruitment landscape. Learn more about SmartSearch

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 46 of 46 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 46 of 46 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Garrett K.
CEO
Staffing and Recruiting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2017

“10+ years I have used SmartSearch”

OverallIf you need a great applicant tracking system that was built for applicant tracking and candidate rating/search, plus some limited accounting capabilities and online timecards that upload to accounting software, this is a great system. If you need a full GL accounting system and not so much an applicant tracking system, this isn't for you.
ProsHighly customize-able, versatile, EEOC compliance built in, job portal, some limited accounting capabilities too. Personable staff, most with long-tenure. Responsive to needs and even suggestions to incorporate into their core product at no cost. One of the largest 2 staffing firms in the world wanted to buy them multiple times. You can easily set up automated tasks at any step of the hiring process, which is awesome to help control how your staff uses the system and to ensure that they don't forget important things for their customers. I've used their system for over 10 years and I've never even thought of leaving due to need for something they don't have. And I'm a bit of a perfectionist.
ConsSome reporting needs are difficult to achieve on your own with their built in reports. It's almost like both too many options and some important options aren't there. But they are generally willing to help pull the information for you from the back-end.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2017
Tom K.
Executive Vice President
Staffing and Recruiting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 12, 2018

“Have used SmartSearch in our business for years and as a user and administrator for the past 3 years”

OverallLove the people at SmartSearch. Would like to see better eye candy (user interface simplicity), better reporting and formatting, telephony integration, better API capabilities, and mobile applications for time reporting.
ProsSmartSearch has alot of functionality, great customer support, always willing to look at new features, a lot of independent study capabilities built into the application. Our recruiters are using the hiring and onboarding functions daily. Sales is using a small percentage of the CRM capabilities. Love integration to email, text, but no phone recording capability is limiting
ConsSmart Search is not easy to navigate, and we hear this from our users and users in other companies. It does have an strong online training tool, but most people don't have time to learn this way. Most people like visual instruction, which can easily be documented for the way we use the product. Report writing is less than simple and difficult to set up. Reports do not format well. Lacks telephony integration, which is pretty common in almost all CRM products these days.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 12, 2018
DAVID S.
Vice President
Staffing and Recruiting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Solid ATS Package”

OverallWe have used SmartSearch since 1996, and have used some form of the product ever since. Technical support has always been outstanding. Training has been great. We really could not have asked for a better business partner. We have been approached by numerous vendors for years with different ATS packages and none made us consider moving away from SmartSearch.
ProsSolid reliable product. Company is always working to add features and update the product to keep up with the changing requirements of the staffing world. Like the overall interface. The dashboard is customizable and really let's you look at the key indicators you want to see. The search capabilities are second to none. The basic system is fairly intuitive so bringing on new recruiters and getting them up to speed is not a big issue.
ConsSome of the features and reporting are not what we need and the report designer is not user friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Scott K.
CEO
Staffing and Recruiting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2017

“Outstanding”

OverallThere are many players in the ATS space these days. Few if any have the experience that SmartSearch does. We've found that many make claims that are unsubstantiated by their product. At the end of the day, we believe SmartSearch is the best product on the market.
ProsSmartSearch is a full featured, end to end recruiting software package that will efficiently manage an operation regardless of size. As. Tool, SmartSearch creates workflow and order in an operation and that translates into more orders, more submits, more interviews, more placements, and more gross profit.
ConsThe only con is the other side of a strength. SmartSearch has been built with many options. You can configure SmartSearch in several ways. You will have to invest the time to configure each element of SmartSearch the way you'd like it to function in your operation. This will require advance planning on the part of the end user.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2017
Jack S.
Owner and Managing Director
Staffing and Recruiting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 13, 2017

“Owner ITech Recruiting LLC”

OverallI've used several other talent/recruiting systems, both vendor supplied and custom built and this is the best one I've seen.
ProsVery easy to learn; functions are intuitive; excellent support; easy to get tech support people on the phone, including the CTO; very responsive to suggestions for enhancements and tweaks; good problem tracking capability; always enhancing and improving.
ConsCould do a better job of communicating functional changes. Also, I use a very small percentage of the functionality so a mini version with less on the screens would probably work for me. And since it has a lot of formatting and customizing features, perhaps that is even currently possible but I haven't brought up the issue, but now that I thought of it i will do so.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 13, 2017
Jesse W.
Consultant
Staffing and Recruiting, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 3, 2017

“Best Customer Service in the Industry”

OverallSmartSearch is designed with the recruiter in mind. While reporting and process compliance are important (and the tool does this very well) in my mind the most important function is to help you find more candidates faster and manage your relationships, which SmartSearch does wonderfully. And the customer service is hands-down the best I have experienced across all the ATS/CRM platforms I have worked with.
ProsVery flexible and customizable Excellent customer service Designed around how a recruiter thinks and needs to use the tool
ConsReally the only negative for me is that the tool is so flexible it can become overwhelming on what you can do with it. This is ultimately a good thing, but you need to invest your time to understand the capabilities and how you can use them all.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 3, 2017
Tom K.
Executive Vice President
Staffing and Recruiting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2017

“SmartSearch continues to build value”

OverallThe people at SmartSearch makes this solution appropriate for our business. When we have questions, they help us immediately. They couldn't be more friendly or accommodating.
ProsThe user interface had been continually improved and over the past 18 months there have been a number of enhancements, which have greatly benefited our staff. Highly recommend doing a refresh with sales to ensure your are familiar with new features/functionality. We found several golden nuggets by going through this process. Custom software development has been a great value.
ConsSetting up reports is not as easy as we would like to see, but recent enhancements have greatly improved the reporting tools.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2017
Leigh P.
Vice President
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2008

“SmartSearch receives my highest recommendation. It is, quite simply, the best tool on the market. ”

OverallSmartSearch receives my highest recommendation. It is, quite simply, the best tool on the market. It assists us in every area of our business, from applicant and job order tracking to customer relationship management to online time and subvendor management. The APS team and their SmartSearch product have earned our loyalty.
ProsSmartSearch has a great "out of the box" product and provides enough customization capabilities to keep our users and customers happy. It's easy to use and our team members love it. The search speed is unsurpassed. We use it for both technical resume word searches and clerical and light industrial application searches, and it provides us with information very quickly. The only limitation to its speed is the traffic on the Internet. SmartSearch is reliable. The system is always "up," and our data is secure. We have brough multiple divisions on the system, and the data migrations have gone off without a proverbial hitch. When I email or call the support team, they find answers. In addition, they listen when we request improvements and incorporate our needs into future releases. In addition, we appreciate that SmartSearch has maintained their focus on the staffing industry. Many competitive products have come and gone, but SmartSearch is still here doing a great job.
ConsIn recent releases, SmartSearch has addresses their known weaknesses. They have provided an ad-hoc reporting function which has assisted us in generating customized customer-specific reports in a timely manner. They also now provided training content which was not available in previous releases.
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2008
Dannielle P.
Recruiting Manager
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017

“SmartSearch Review June 2017”

OverallSmartSearch is a decent product but is expensive.
Pros1) Good customer service 2) Decent reporting tools 3) Auto posts to free and paid Job Boards - which is a great time saver. We post to Indeed, Glassdoor, Monster and Dice with just a one click for each job board. 4) BPM (Business Process Management) = automated req approval emails to the the approval chain. We have the approval chain set-up as Recruiting Department - Compensation Analysis - CEO. Once the hiring manager opens the Req - SmartSearch emails Recruiting for approval with a link to the job. Recruiting reviews the job and hits the "Approved" button. The process is then repeated unto CEO approves. Once the CEO approves, then the job auto-posts itself to free and paid sites. 5) Easy to use and customize reports and Req Fields. 6) Can build data pipes and integrate with ADP so candidate information flows in to ADP Workforce 7) SmartSearch can integrate with a company's web-site and be the back-end of the "Career" page. 8) Nice WIP (Work in Progress) side ribbon where at a glance shows #open reqs, pending approval, submittals & interviews that are taking place.
Cons1) SmartSearch is expensive. 2) If using SmartSearch as the company's Career Page be advised it is very ugly. The font of the req job fields are in Times Roman, size 14. 3) No auto capture of emails to candidates. Everything requires a manual copy and paste.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017
Tom L.
Ceo
Staffing and Recruiting, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017

“I have used SnartSearch for more thsnn10 years”

OverallAs CEO of a division of a large staffing company I have seen everything available at one time or another. SmartSearch out performs them all at a very reasonable price without months, or years, of extensive installation processes, training issues, inflexible demands and delays.
ProsI have used SmartSearch in over 100 locations with minimal training requirements and ease of use. The staff and principals are accessabke and willing to deliver solutions. The updates are always timely and keeps the program state of the art. I have investigated more costly competitors and found all unsatisfactory and less capable.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017
Mary Ellen M.
Manager of Recruitment
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2012

“Smartsearch, the logical choice--again and again. ”

OverallI've been in the position several times at different companies where I've had to select applicant tracking software, based on fit. Each time, I review the marketplace to see what is available, investigate the top contenders, match features to cost and every single time, Smartsearch has been the choice. I've been the implementation project sponsor and managed the adoption process. Note: It is ALWAYS easier to manage change among professionals if there is a quality solution that positively impacts efficiency attached. Smartsearch is that solution. I'm excited to recommend the software and the team behind/beside it. Feel free to reach out to me personally at Mary Ellen Mesi on linkedin with any specific questions you may have or detail you'd like. I am a raving fan, for sure.
ProsReasons I keep coming back to Smartsearch include excellent support from the top down, quick response when there is a question, capabilities that far exceed any other tool in its class, cost that is reasonable and the ability to customize easily--increasing the user's reach and effectiveness while maintaining a personal touch. The staff is quick to respond to helpdesk tickets, the programmers are open to suggestions and the upgrade schedule is quite aggressive--they are always adding new features, the latest including social network tie-ins.
ConsThe new apps for iPhone and Droid are lacking slightly in the Smartsearch 'sizzle' that comes with the standard on-line version, but I'm certain that improvements will be on the way. Also, the Outlook toolbar, which is a solid add-in was designed specifically for PC's, so Mac users are out of luck with that one feature.
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2012
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2017

“Easy to use!”

ProsThe text messaging feature is great! It makes it easier to get a hold of candidates, seeing how most people prefer to text these days.
ConsIt needs an easier way to find "duplicate" records in the system. When searching for a common name in the system, it could come up with hundreds of records. If I only have a name and no other information, this system makes it hard to identify the right one.

Vendor Response

By Advanced Personnel Systems on April 4, 2018
Thanks for your review. Enhancements have been made to the system to improve the intuitive functionality of the software making it easier to eliminate duplicate records.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2017
Avatar Image
Amy C.
Sr Recruiter
Defense & Space, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Hands down best ATS available”

OverallSmartSearch has helped our company retain it's edge competitively and to increase our profits exponentially
ProsThe ability of SmartSearch interface with multiple job boards allows you to search across ALL paid (and some free) sites without having to re-enter search criteria. Excellent tool for repeat postings to Facebook and Linked in, great candidate tracking and notes functions.
ConsNot very intuitive and takes some hands on use and training to get comfortable with it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Lisa P.
President, Support Services
Oil & Energy, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2017

“SmartSearch is definitey user friendly!”

ProsEase of use and functionality. SmartSearch can be tailored to the user needs and allows for the creation of unique fields required by a client.
ConsThe most challenging things about SmartSearch is the creation of ad hoc reports that are not found in the reporting area of the platform. The frequency for the need for such unique reports is minimal and contacting SmartSearch tech support for assistance has produced excellent results!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2017
amy c.
Sr Recruiter
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 26, 2017

“Best ATS on the market”

OverallCustomer support and training ALWAYS available ---and they're willing to do group or one on one training on request.
ProsAbility to search across multiple databases simultaneously AND to schedule posts onto social media Easy to track and manage candidate content and contact.
ConsNot entirely user friendly---takes some training to get up to speed on all features but well worth the effort Wish there was a user manual and not just a 'help' menu
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 26, 2017
Nicholas T.
Vice President of Operations
Staffing and Recruiting, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 20, 2017

“Completely satisfied with all phases from integration to customization”

OverallTruly appreciate the SmartSEarch team, from CIO to help desk to report building specialists. Everyone has made a good experience.
ProsThe personalized approach SmartSearch brings, makes them a market leader. Value in user fees comparable to the competition set SmartSearch apart.
ConsI would like to see a bit more self service customization of data labels. But completely understand the liability in compromising the data's integrity.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 20, 2017
Jacob S.
Sales Manager
Staffing and Recruiting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2017

“Use it everyday for our company. I like that tracking portion of the system the best.”

ProsThe Dashboard. It makes follow up and organization easy and those are very valuable to my work and industry.
ConsUpdates to the system and how long it takes to do a software update, when a change request has been issued.

Vendor Response

By Advanced Personnel Systems on April 4, 2018
Thanks for your review! Any / all updates to the software are driven by customer demand. We take a holistic view of all requests and prioritize them by the level of urgency from our clients, as a whole, which keeps costs down for our clients.
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2017
Eric K.
Managing Partner
Staffing and Recruiting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 3, 2017

“SmartSearch is super!”

OverallWe have used this service for nearly 10 years and never had an issue. If we had problems they were quickly resolved.
ProsEasy to setup and use, reliable, great support, good training, always innovating. Good value for the price.
ConsSometimes identifies false duplicates, however, would rather have it flag them than miss one. Location search sometimes misses candidates but is dependent on what data candidate enters.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 3, 2017
Devin H.
Sr. Partner
Staffing and Recruiting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 18, 2017

“Great customer service!”

Overall Really appreciate the tech-support team over there, especially Maria. They've always taking such good care of me and my team.
Pros I have use this product for over 10 years now and it's critical to my contact management and active sales efforts
Cons There is an much that I don't like about Smart Search. The product is robust and is always growing and functionality.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 18, 2017
Leah S.
VP, Finance and Operations
Staffing and Recruiting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017

“Good software with strong support!”

ProsWe appreciate the accessible and prompt support, when needs arise; they also do a great job of keeping in touch and checking in. The software is also fairly easy to use.
ConsNot a lot of customization, some limitations. Training videos are available but most of the training has to be self-taught.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017
Anne H.
Recruiter
Medical Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 3, 2017

“Very good ATS for our company.”

ProsExcellent customer service and very comprehensive tools to assist with recruiting and employee management.
ConsI don't have many complaints but I did find it more complicated to learn than other ATS's I have used. That is because it has more customizable features than they did.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 3, 2017
Renee W.
Talent Acquisition Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 2, 2017

“Rail Personnel Review (Renee Wade, Talent Acquisition Manager)”

ProsSmartsearch is always ahead of the pack when it comes to keeping up to date with the latest tools and trends in the recruitment industry.
ConsNo cons. We have been very happy with the service provided by Smartsearch, particularly with regards to the support we receive from Sylvia and LJ.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 2, 2017
Bo E.
CEO and Founder
Staffing and Recruiting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2017

“Powerful, flexible system gives us quality and structure”

OverallOutstanding support and trainings!
ProsAll the system configuration options helps us to get the exact functionalities we want. The Search -engine is very good and fast.
ConsIt's a complex system and it takes some time to understand all possibilities. There are some functions missing for us as a European user.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2017
Caroline B.
Recruiting Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2017

“Easy to use and robust”

ProsThis system keeps track of everything I need and is easy to use. It is easy for new employees to learn.
ConsWe experience quite a bit of small technical issues, but they either resolve themselves or technical support/customer services works to remedy the issues.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2017
Ron Richard R.
Recruitment Manager
Management Consulting, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017

“Highly Flexible for Your Needs”

ProsIf you are looking for a software that you can customize to fit your needs, SmartSearch is an affordable solution. It's also perfect for those who haven't used an applicant tracking system before since they offer generic templates.
ConsInterface is not based in next generation design. Function wise this is great, needs more improvement in the interface - look and feel should be smoother.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017
Sandy M.
Sr. Technical Recruiter
Staffing and Recruiting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2017

“Used a number of ATS throughout my career and believe SmartSearch has been the easiest and quickest to learn”

Proscustomer support received if issues arise and speed of resolution; ease of learning and continued use; ability to run ad-hoc reports; training videos and constant updates to product
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2017
Jim L.
CHRO (retired)
Philanthropy, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 26, 2017

“Best Product for The Money”

OverallMany of the companies where I was the VP or CHR or Consultant are still using SmartSearch. One in particular was a early adaptor in 2004 and is still happy with the product.
ProsEasy to use. The pricing structure allows managers free access. Interfaces very well with HRIS systems. Great technical and customer support. Excellent "up-time". Flexible and friendly report writer. Integrity of this company is beyond question
ConsThe user interface needs a fresh new look. I believe that they are working on that. The API could use some updating as well.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 26, 2017
Linda F.
Branch Manager
Staffing and Recruiting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017

“Always my first choice for an ATS/CRM, hands down!”

OverallI have used SmartSearch for the majority of my staffing career. I prefer it over any other ATS systems I have been exposed to in the past.
ProsGreat tool, it's user-friendly, intuitive and has great functionality as an ATS and CRM. The customer/user support team is knowledgeable, quick to respond and very friendly!
ConsUnfortunately, I can't think of any feature that I am disappointed with or would like to change. I'm happy with it as it is!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017
Paul L.
Senior Account Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2012

“SmartSearch is effeciency”

OverallAn outstanding product with outstanding support.
ProsPrior to SmartSearch we did our candidate retention and correspondence in Access database. It was cumbersome, did not perform searches and our fields did not interrelate. When we introduced SmartSearch into our recruiting process we improved our effeciency tremendously. We can search, store, coordinate, and look up information on clients or candidates. When we talk to candidates or clients, we know what has been said or written and we look very professional because we have correct information. In addition, the support offered by SmartSearch is quick and accurate. There are webinars, skilled technicians that know the product and have the answers immediately. We are happy we made the investment.
ConsReally, nothing. If there are concerns, SmartSearch support fixes the problem or incorporates our request in the next version.
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2012
Dawn M.
CRO
Oil & Energy, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2017

“CRO”

ProsIntegrates with a number of other applications and social media Ease of use! Customizable. Customer Service is excellent!
ConsCan be slow at times but all web based applications have the same challenge! Would like a workforce management application as part of the ATS.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2017
Barrett K.
Operations Manager
Staffing and Recruiting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017

“Legacy software with incremental updates”

ProsRelatively inexpensive compared to the competition. The Work in Progress sidebar is very helpful. Being able to query multiple resume databases with one search is something that others don't have.
ConsThe UI/UX is terrible, but daily users figure out how to use it. Overall it is not intuitive. It is challenging to drill down to get further detail in the reporting. It is very hard to navigate back and forth throughout the application and it is impossible to open anything in a new tab for side by side windows.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017
Alan E.
Executive Recruiter
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2018

“Best ATS I've ever used”

OverallMy go to whenever I need an ATS at a company I'm working with.
ProsUser friendly, has options for every function which can be configured to the meet user demands
ConsHas many functions that require fore thought.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2018
Norman G.
President
Staffing and Recruiting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017

“Kudos from customer number 56”

Overallbuy buy buy
ProsEasy to learn, super inclusive functionality, fast pager turns, easy to configure - very strong website integration / highly functional Career Center
ConsNone other than I still have to make the actual candidate calls I think its the best product on the market
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017
Michael F.
VP, Sales Support Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2008

“We recently successfully completed the conversion and upgrade to the current Web Enabled version.”

OverallWe recently successfully completed the conversion and upgrade to the current Web Enabled version. We are extremely pleased with this version of SmartSearch and very impressed APS team efforts prior to, during and after the conversion: The Training Team provides a level of training and orientation that allows our users to be functional on the test database after only 2 3 hours of training. The Technical Team did a super job of converting our production data and creating a test database to allow us to learn the system functionalities and validate the integrity of our production data. We sent a snapshot of our latest production database on a Friday evening and the new production database was ready for our IT team and users to validate on Saturday afternoon. Our production data was intact and a majority of the over 300 queries and reports executed successfully and very a few required limited modification.
Pros- Data Conversion - Training - Customer Support - System Functionality
Cons- We haven't found anything worth mentioning.
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2008
Bob S.
VP, Sales and Operations
Staffing and Recruiting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017

“SmartSearch Review”

ProsCustomized Workflow for Onboarding, Sales, and Candidate Management Document Management Timekeeping and Accounting Cloud Based
ConsLacks Mobile Optimized Functionality for Candidate/Customer Interface Lacks Instructional Guides for New Users Antiquated UX/UI
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 30, 2017
Paul W.
President
Staffing and Recruiting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 6, 2018

“Maybe too customizable”

ProsThe software can do most anything a recruiter might want to do. There is so much that much of the functionality will never be used.
ConsBecause it is so flexible and does so much, there is a big learning curve so it could hinder a recruiter getting it up and running in a timely manner.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 6, 2018
Crystal M.
Teacher
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 11, 2017

“Amazing. ”

ProsI just recently started using smart search and I can't possibly figure out WHY I didn't use it before. It's so easy to use and helps me get my work done ten times faster than I normally would without it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 11, 2017
Margie B.
Recruitment Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2008

“I highly recommend this product, especially if you are a company under 3000 employees.”

OverallI highly recommend this product, especially if you are a company under 3000 employees where cost is an issue and HR has limited staff.
ProsThe customer service, from sales to tech support has been terrific; especially when it came to dealing with customization issues. The cost comparison between this service and what others have proposed, for the same product, is phenomenal. We have never experienced a crash or loss of data of any type. It allows me to work from home when necesssary!
ConsMost training is done on a "remote" basis; never on-site.
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2008
Dan F.
Vice President, Sales
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2008

“I recommend SmartSearch to anyone involved in the recruiting process.”

OverallI recommend SmartSearch to anyone involved in the recruiting process. The product supports client, contact, and candidate tracking. It also features an easy to implement job board that integrates with your web site. The licensing is very flexible and cost effective and minimal training is required. Data conversion is straightforward when handled by the SmartSearch support team.
ProsSmartSearch is the easiest to use, full featured, and cost effective candidate and client contact tracking system that I have ever used.
ConsThe product is very good.
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2008
Michelle S.
Director of Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2015

“Great product and WONDERFUL service!”

OverallThe product is great - flexible, customizable, easy to use for sure. What makes it even better is that the people behind it are there for their customers. I've had nothing but great experiences from the initial sale contact to finalizing our implementation to follow up and questions. Just a first class organization with people who really care about their customers and want to deliver a top-notch product!

Vendor Response

By Advanced Personnel Systems on April 4, 2018
We apologize for the slow response. Thank you for your review!
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2015
Anita Z.
Managing Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2008

“I fully recommend SmartSearch.”

OverallI fully recommend SmartSearch.
ProsSmartSearch has been the most valuable addition to our business. It is well designed, the support is excellent and they have the ability to predict needs we didn't realize we needed with each software upgrade. This is a product rich in valuable features.
ConsI have no complaints about this software. As soon as I list a complaint, their developers create a solution for me.
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2008
Bill C.
VP
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2010

“It's a great offering - incredible team behind it! ”

OverallVery Good Experience in or first 6+ months, looking forward to tapping in to all that it offers our team and business.
ProsExcellent team behind SmartSearch - Recruiters love the new tools and features! Happy with our decision to roll to APS as key partner.
ConsImplemenetation - fairly smooth but still required lots of data clean up
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2010
Linda M.
VP, Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2008

“Good product with more potential than we have even been able to use as yet.”

OverallGood product with more potential than we have even been able to use as yet.
ProsConstantly improving! Integration w/Monster and CareerBuilder
ConsDuplication of candidates when pulling in from Monster and/or CareerBuilder. Extra step of having to combine and delete one record. Merging to most recent info is still not smooth.
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2008
David S.
Vice President of Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2009

“The most versatile, customizable, and integrated ATS product on the market.”

OverallThe most versatile, customizable, and integrated ATS product on the market.
ProsAs close to a custom ATS without the cost of customization. Support is by far the best I have had from software companies.
ConsThey have exceeded all my expectations.
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2009
William S.
Director of Operations
51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2019

“Ease of Use”

ProsVery detail oriented when navigating between various windows and tabs. Very useful for a day to day basis.
ConsCustomer service could be better. But that does not take away from the greatness of the application itself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2019
Robin B.
EVP
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2008

“Good software, great team from Sales, to Training, to Tech Support, to Development for new features”

OverallGood software, great team from Sales, to Training, to Tech Support, to Development for new features
ProsEasy to use and they are regularly adding nice new features
ConsStill waiting for a good interface between SS and Quickbooks
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2008