VolunteerHub Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About VolunteerHub

Since 1996, VolunteerHub has helped nonprofits get more from their volunteers. In fact, our software has been used to manage over 5 billion hours. When you stop and consider that each volunteer hour contributes over $22 in value to your organization, using a volunteer management software like VolunteerHub can really add up! Learn more about VolunteerHub

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 24 of 24 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 24 of 24 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Tyler B.
Volunteer Coordinator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018

“Saves so much time with high demand, one-off or shift-based opportunities!”

OverallOverall I am very pleased with my VolunteerHub experience. When I joined the organization 1.5 years ago, we had been using its most basic functionality for a few years. Since then, I have learned from webinars, help docs and extremely responsive support team emails how to use nearly every feature. We've implemented each feature successfully, which has saved time and allowed us to rely on a huge pool of volunteers in new ways. Although I think the price increases have been a bit disproportionate to the increase in the number of active users we can have, VolunteerHub is meeting all of our major needs at the moment, and most of our minor ones, too.
ProsPerfect for empowering thousands of individuals and group leaders to claim space in our twice-daily, year-round meal service opportunities with minimal initial interaction from our very small staff Volunteers can join groups (skills, interests, corporate, etc.), on their own or automatically through a customized link, and we can email those groups to recruit in a way more targeted than emailing all volunteers at once Easy to record volunteer hours automatically, and print useful nametags, with minimal interaction from a staff member, for opportunities with set start and end times (regular shifts, one-off opportunities, etc.) and to report basic attendance for those opportunities Automatic confirmation, reminder and thank-you emails Modify events, reservations, user groups, etc. in large batches and pull useful general participation reports Make notes about individual volunteers in their accounts
ConsVolunteer Hub shines with scheduling volunteers for opportunities with set start and end times. Much more attention is needed for creating irregular opportunities and scheduling volunteers/recording attendance for them. For example, opportunities with flexible start and end times, just gauging interest in internships, and volunteers who don't stick to a regular schedule but are welcome any time, can be a bit complex in Volunteer Hub. Unfortunately, there is no dashboard or easy view of major trends Some of the text that administrators have no control over provides constant confusion for volunteers. For example, the sign in button(s) in the Kiosk feature say "new" and "existing users," which often causes first-time volunteers - who have created accounts at home - to create a duplicate account on-site (and we need volunteers to be able to create accounts on-site for other reasons). Very basic email generator
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018
Amanda K.
Director of Development
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2014

“Stop Letting the Tail Wag the Dog and Use VolunteerHub”

OverallBefore VolunteerHub, each call or email that came in from interested volunteers was receiving a personal response. Then I liken the next step to "pin the tail on the donkey", because you would tell them of opportunities guessing at which ones would be a good match. Time intensive, and not highly effective. Since VH, here's an actual example- Volunteer A calls and wants to do X. We don't really have a need for X. In the past we would either have to try to accommodate, or cut the volunteer loose. Now that we have VolunteerHub, Volunteer A calls in and is immediately directed to a list of current opportunities on the website. While X is not listed, Volunteer A found 4 other opportunities that he did like, and signed himself up to meet our actual need! Pros- We also use Blackbaud products and like the intentional product integration. We are a very complex organization, setting up multiple programs and sites. The software allows for this complexity all within the same database. We like the live support vs some of the competitors that require you to just read posts or email in for help. Cons- Lack of enough training time, and training seemed a little too flexible. "What do you need to know?" I don't know what I don't know. By the end of our given hours we hadn't covered some of the basic uses of the system. They have provided phone support, but reporting and exporting to me should certainly be covered during training. Everything is logged as an event. If you choose to automatically credit hours to volunteers, a simple 3 day drive would credit a volunteer with 72 hours, which skews reporting. We're getting to where we can't manually go in to fix these. Or tasks that could be done anytime- short of putting that in the description, it's confusing to volunteers. We have events with shifts of volunteers for child care. We'd like to have the ability to click on multiple groups/events and email all those volunteers one message. At this point, that is not easily done. We understand that continual product plans are underway, and any time we provide feedback on what we need, it is sent to development, so they are aware of the need for future roll outs. There may be a few cons, but we are pushing this product to the max. The freedom of posting our volunteer opportunities and allowing our volunteers to customize their experience based on what they want to do has taken our volunteer program to the next level.
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2014
Eliza S.
Grant Writer
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 21, 2015

“VolunteerHub - customizable enough, with lots of usable features”

ProsI like that our users can choose to view the opportunities in different formats (date, calendar, or grid) and can skip to a certain date in the future. I like that we can create a one-page user form, so our users can see all the information they're asked to provide before beginning to input information into the form. As an administrator, I like that we can choose which fields are optional and which are mandatory, that we can create template events that repeat themselves (we just change the date), and that we can embed hyperlinks within the event descriptions to navigate users back to our website. I like that we can reserve events for a group and give the group leader a join code, and then the group members can reserve spots within that group reservation, while general users can reserve the remaining opportunities outside of the group reservation. Once the event fills, it will say "full" if users claimed the spaces, or "reserved" if we the administrators reserve the spots for groups on their behalf.
ConsIt would be neat if VolunteerHub appeared to be seamlessly embedded into our website, so that it used our URL, instead of VolunteerHub's URL.
Recommendations to other buyersLook into how customizable the user forms and interface are and if their level of customization fits your needs.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 21, 2015
Sarah F.
Volunteer Program Manager
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 22, 2017

“Volunteer Hub is an invaluable tool for our shelter!”

OverallOur shelter wouldn't be where it is today without Volunteer Hub. I highly recommend it!
ProsCustomer service is easy to contact and extremely helpful. Ease of volunteer application storage. Great tutorials.
ConsVolunteer Hub is an excellent tool but it can be a bit pricey for our non profit shelter running solely on donations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 22, 2017
Camellia C.
Volunteer Coordinator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“Volunteer Hub is definitely one of the top volunteer management systems in the market for a reason!”

OverallMost of the entire office was able to use the system in some capacity.
ProsThe ease of use, accessibility and features for volunteers are incredible! Our office enjoyed using Volunteer Hub. The different ways each department could utilize the system was impressive!
ConsIt's so overpriced compared to other systems that do the same (if not more) as Volunteer Hub makes it unrealistic for any non-profit to invest in.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2018

“We went from paper and pencil to our first volunteer software (VolunteerHu after extensive research.”

ProsWe love how customizable it is and how we can make it match all of our other branding. We felt VolunteerHUb offered us the most options of any other available software.
ConsHaving to set up the system from scratch was very time consuming. Understanding the wording and how to set up the system isn't very intuitive at first but once you understand it set up is easy and tech support is fantastic!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2018
Ruth R.
Director of Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 26, 2015

“Ohio Premier Invitational Tournament Director”

ProsVery easy to use and by far the simplest way to get volunteers to sign up, and as the director, a very convenient method of tracking said volunteers.
ConsI was thoroughly satisfied and have nothing to report on the negative side.
Recommendations to other buyersBe sure to check out everything it has to offer. The reports were very helpful to me as an operations person.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 26, 2015
Anne P.
Volunteer Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2014

“The Hub!”

OverallWe've used VolunteerHub at Habitat Wake County for about 6 years. It was certainly vital for growing our volunteer program to manage 10,000+ volunteers per year. This includes multiple Construction sites, Deconstruction, A Brush With Kindness and now four ReStores! Pros - Support from Christine and the team is stellar. They are always willing to work with you to find a new solution or fix challenges. You also get regular notices about updates to the software. Once you are fully trained, it is easy to use. VolunteerHub allows a staff of 2 to communicate effectively with a multitude of volunteers and track them for metrics and volunteer recognition. Cons - Reports can be clunky, but they are always adding more options. We would love an option for regular volunteers to easily register for multiple events, i.e. every Friday morning shift for the month. We're happy to use the Hub to it's full potential and appreciate the open dialogue between ourselves and the team!
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2014
Jan L.
Program Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2014

“Our Experience with VolunteerHub”

OverallHabitat for Humanity of Winchester-Frederick County has been using VolunteerHub since the late 1990s, primarily to manage the 300-400 volunteers per month who come to us to help build our houses. During our high build seasons, the ease of programming our ongoing construction events and specific details about each build day, and the ability to e-communicate with each volunteer who signs up online leads to an efficient effort by the one staff person responsible for volunteerism. Our monthly volunteer reports, and the ability to convert volunteers into invitation mailings to our annual volunteer appreciation picnic are only a few features we use on a regular basis. Also important is the VolunteerHub support staff. They have provided quick responses and even spent one-on-one time with me when I needed help in setting up a "private" ongoing construction schedule for volunteer employees of a major corporation to access.
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2014
Kate S.
Volunteer Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1.5/5
Ease of Use
1.5/5
Customer Service
1.5/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 3, 2015

“Challenging”

ProsIt is a great tool for allowing individuals to sign up for events on their own, with minimal work on the part of a volunteer coordinator.
ConsThe sync tool to Raiser's Edge has been a huge threat to our data integrity. And the process that we have to use for group members to register and get signed up for events is quite complicated to explain and takes a lot of staff time.
Recommendations to other buyersI would recommend that they have an additional plan for transferring data from the software to their database.

Vendor Response

By Carr Engineering on May 18, 2015
Thank you for sharing your concern, and we¿d love the opportunity to assist with your situation. To our knowledge, none of our other clients who use this integration are experiencing the issue you are describing. Please contact us at support@volunteerhub.com at your earliest convenience. ~The VolunteerHub team
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 3, 2015
Verified Reviewer
Music, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2019

“Great volunteer management. ”

ProsEasy to engage volunteers and let volunteers do things they need. Group management is a breeze.
ConsI don't make use of its fundraising capabilities at all. They're fine but I don't really see the additional value.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2019
Katherine C.
AmeriCorps, Volunteer Outreach Coordinator
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
2.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 2, 2015

“We use VHub to track our group and individual volunteers.”

ProsIt is a fantastic forum for individual volunteers. It makes signing up and canceling registration very simple.
ConsIt's not a great tool for group volunteers. Once they have an account we have to register them manually, and the process is a bit convoluted for our corporate, faith, and student groups.
Recommendations to other buyersI think that as long as you clarify your needs, you can make use of this tool. The reports are a little difficult to work with, and aren't in a great format when you export data to Excel.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 2, 2015
Jan C.
Volunteer Department Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2014

“Best Customer Service and a Great Product”

OverallAt the Foodbank where I work, we have used VolunteerHub for more than 5 years and we love it! It really is a full-service tool for managing all aspects of a non-profit organization's volunteerism department. The program is flexible, with many options that work for groups of various sizes. And the customer service is the best! Christine, Mike, and everyone on their team are responsive, smart and personable. Service tickets are handled quickly, too. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to effective manage a volunteerism department with an inexpensive, easy-to-use tool. We only have two staff members managing over 6,500 volunteers - and the VolunteerHub makes it easier!
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2014
Barbara M.
Executive Director
Fine Art, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 15, 2015

“Four years and counting!”

ProsWith the festivals, races and other events we produce, VolunteerHub allows us to note the varied opportunities in each along with detailed descriptions. Our volunteers can access a great deal of information by logging in. When we signed on in 2011, it was a brave new world - now it's yet another valuable tool that we rely on when producing an event.
ConsWish they could opt in for other things like our eNewsletter when signing up for an event.
Recommendations to other buyersThrough our research back in 2011, it was clear that many folks were making due with other options - like free ticketing sites. For us, the investment into software that is specifically intended for volunteer sign up is another way we demonstrate the importance of the role volunteers play in our success.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 15, 2015
Sara A.
Resource Development Coordinator
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 2, 2015

“Teaching and Outreaching Volunteers for Habitat for Humanity”

ProsI love the setup of the page and how user-friendly it is. I also like that once you are a super-user, you can see how many have registered for each day.
ConsHonestly, I think it is great. I don't have anything that I don't like.
Recommendations to other buyersIt might be nice to have a more detailed login so we can collect more demographic information about our volunteers.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 2, 2015
Debbie C.
Mgr. Corporate and Community Engagement
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2014

“VolunteerHub”

OverallAs the volunteer coordinator for Habitat Forsyth, VolunteerHub has freed me up from receiving a phone call or email from every single person who wants to volunteer with us. They get to the site from our Habitat site. Groups still need to contact me, but that's fine. It's easy to load and easy for volunteers to use. My only complaint is that it is not real flexible as far as running reports. I would like to be able to know who worked on specific houses so that when the house is dedicated, they can be invited. I haven't figured out how to do that yet - or if it's possible.
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2014
Naomi S.
Corporate Engagement Associate
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2.5/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 20, 2015

“Satisfied with VolunteerHub”

ProsWe are able to provide all the details needed to explain and sell volunteer opportunities, and give volunteers the information they need for a successful event. It allows us to sign up every kind of volunteer we have as groups or individuals.
ConsI wish there were more functions to post many events at once with just small changes rather than posting most events individually.
Recommendations to other buyersSpending time signing up for events as a regular user is very helpful in being able to help volunteers through the process.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 20, 2015
Meeta P.
Religious Institutions, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 4, 2015

“Good Tool for Volunteering”

ProsEasy sign up process and ability to look at different dates. It's straightforward and sends reminders in advance.
ConsI do not appreciate that for various areas that I volunteer that I have to have separate usernames and passwords. I wish the portals could be combined.
Recommendations to other buyersTry to be able to combine these areas and make it more user-friendly like in a calendar format for signing up. Additionally, the ability to download to your calendar would be useful.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 4, 2015
Mae P.
Coordinator
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 2, 2015

“Our organization uses VH to engage and coordinate volunteers”

ProsI really like how VolunteerHub is easily integrated with CRMs.
ConsThe layout is somewhat boring and bulky. I think the information would look more enticing if it was cleaner.
Recommendations to other buyersDo you have a large number of volunteer opportunities? Are they one-day or on-going?
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 2, 2015
Kawanise M.
Volunteer Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2014

“Review from Dallas Area Habitat for Humanity”

OverallGreat software! I love how easy it is for everyone to read. We have had some issues with reports we need from volunteer hub but were not able to pull them because of its limitations. Some volunteers who have logged on with Apple products have problems with the website. I also wish there was a way to control the conformation, reminder, and thank you emails without having to go in every single event.
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2014
Lehuanani L.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 4, 2015

“tons of opportunities”

ProsVery easy to use, many great results on any search. Introduces many previously unknown events.
ConsThere is nothing that I like least. It's a great site.
Recommendations to other buyersThis is a great resource because it provides all levels of volunteer opportunities.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 4, 2015
Julia W.
Volunteer Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2015

“Easy to use and volunteers love it”

OverallVH is a great tool for out volunteers. They love being able to sign themselves up/see when they're registered. It's great for the volunteer department because we no longer have to be the "middle men" for volunteers.
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2015
James (Dick) H.
Volunteer Co-Ordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2014

“Volunteer Hub”

OverallEase of Use; Good Reports; Compatability; Reasonably Priced; Service is excellent Super User feature not easily controlled This system has limited phone traffic during the holiday season, What a blessing!!
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2014
Hannah B.
ASA
Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 4, 2018

“Smooth Transition”

ProsSuper easy interface. When we transitioned volunteer software, it was incredibly smooth. So easy to use.
ConsSome data transfer was a little difficult but not necessarily because of the software, nothing too crazy though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 4, 2018