AlternativeSoft Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About AlternativeSoft

Since 2005, AlternativeSoft has simplified the fund selection and portfolio construction process for investors by creating a personalised investment universe driven by state-of-the-art analytics. With a total combined AuM over $1.5tn worldwide, some of the worlds largest pension funds, fund of funds, family offices, private banks, endowments, foundations, wealth managers and advisers trust AlternativeSoft to identify and analyse their multi-asset class portfolios. Learn more about AlternativeSoft

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Joe C.
Analyst
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“Alt Soft Review”

OverallIt has helped tremendously with automating or semi-automating a number of reports. The excel plug in was a fantastic idea and more importantly, works very well. As a comparison tool for screening funds, it's second to none
ProsVery intuitive, thoughtful UI, powerful backend, great datafeed plug ins, constant evolution
ConsToo difficult to filter funds you do not want when importing from ODU, leading to reimport of previously deleted assets. I understand the impetus for charging for the cloud option, but with a larger provider it would likely be provided at no additional cost. Morningstar Direct made this available at no extra cost and, given the comparability in cost between the two softwares, it is difficult to justify spending more on a cloud option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Daniel I.
Senior Hedge Fund Portfolio Manager
Investment Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“Good tool”

OverallWe use AlternativeSoft for analysing hedge funds and hedge fund portfolios and are quite happy with the flexibility and functionalities.
ProsEasy to use and easy to customise Good functions for analysing hedge funds as well as automize reports Good Excel add-in
ConsIn our version 5.0.3.41311: Portfolio Management Tool could have more analytics like contributions of assets and strategies In Database, there should be a good possibility to save user entered fund specific data like in the old "Holdings" tab. In the Asset Analysis Form it should be easier to compare two Funds agains each user with regards to performance, risk, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
Chris A.
Managing Director
Investment Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019

“Hedge Fund Analytics Software”

OverallWhile we only use a small portion of the tools AltSoft has (Database, Portfolio Management, Peer Groups), each have been helpful to our reporting processes and portfolio modeling.
ProsBreadth, ease of use (for those familiar with investment stats), customer service/technical help, and customization.
ConsExport times take a little bit long on some reports, but it's seconds, not minutes, and it can run in the background while I do something else. Also, would like them to introduce an "undo" feature during performance entry.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019
eugenia m.
Associate Director, Capital Markets
Capital Markets, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2018

“AS Review”

Overallportfolio monitoring, peer group and watch lists, monthly portfolio reporting to clients
Prosease of use, in-depth analyses available
ConsMany analysis, charts, etc. not available/easily exportable in excel.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2018
Matthew B.
Sr. Portfolio Manager
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“Extensive Feature Set and Strong Support”

OverallWe use AlternativeSoft to manage a complex hedge fund portfolio, as well as a centralized source of performance and market data.
ProsGreat feature set, very responsive support team, and excellent APIs enable us to build highly customized solutions.
ConsWe've experienced a bit more instability and issues with new version releases. Hope that the quality control of updates will be improved in the future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Lorenzo W.
Partner
Investment Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Logical, intuitive and a sound quantitative tool”

OverallGood tool for comparing managers' performances, creating synthetic benchmarks and building portfolios within specified risk boundaries. Help desk team always helpful and knowledgeable. Good value for money.
ProsEasy to learn. Great support team. Very solid quantitative models behind the tools.
ConsNot sure. It offers a solid and intuitive portfolio construction method. There is little to fault.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Bari A.
Equity Analyst
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“Gonet Review”

OverallWe were still working with Excel to compute performances... So for us it is a big step and a much higher level of analysis. Even though I know this software is mainly used by fund managers, I am sure it will be fine for our portfolio management.
ProsLink any sources of data with the program Flexibility of the programming team Analysis of the portfolio is very impressive and the live update with time window's adjustments is very important and useful.
ConsIt looks a bit outdated in terms of design but it doesn't matter. I already used the program so I was familiar with it, but for a beginner, it is not so user-friendly. In portfolio construction, time-window often is often re-based and adapted to the initial date when reopening a portfolio, and do not save the last time window used. So it makes me often check my weights (model 2) over the time line to see if there is no data missing...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
alex t.
fundmanager
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“good software fo my purposes”

Overallportfolio construction / time series analysis
Prosease of usage overall- time series management
Consstability of system overall- but seems to get better
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Farès J.
Hedge Fund Analyst
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“Very satisfied overall. Some features still need to be implemented in our view.”

ProsVery dedicated and helpful customer support. The software is quite complete but would need small enhancement to make it fully efficient.
ConsSome features are missing to reflect our true portfolio. I'm confident that this will be implemented soon by the team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Stefana P.
SM Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019

“Excellent ”

OverallVery good experience, very happy with this - I think it was a good investment for the company!
ProsReally good feature set, always available support team and excellent APIs with highly customized solutions.
Cons Some minor issues with new versions but the support team has sorted that our quickly!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Investment Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“Review”

ProsEase of running reports and updating analyses.
ConsWish there were more excel templates that cover a larger spectrum of the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
Caitlin R.
Team leader
Broadcast Media, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Great for performance review ”

ProsSuper easy to use and great IT support . We will definitely be continuing to use their performance review software following our free trial.
ConsNo issues have arisen yet, any confusion was cleared up by their support team .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Soon Kit T.
VP risk & digital
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“Good software for buy side”

ProsGood layout and feature. Good product base for futher extension
Consnothing so far. need more GTM positioning and you can increase market share easily
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019