BioRAFT Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About BioRAFT

Created specifically for the research community, our software mitigates risks by standardizing and automating laboratory safety processes, inventory, and reporting. Our scalable solution decreases risk and improves productivity for: Asset & Equipment Management, Biosafety Registration & Committee Review, Chemical Inventory, Hazardous Waste, Inspections & Audits, Occupational Health & Risk Assessments, Radioisotope Management, Training and more. Learn more about BioRAFT

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Erik C.
EHS Specialist
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019

“2 Years with BioRAFT ”

OverallOverall, I have felt that after implementation of the software for our research program, we have increased responses, transparency, feedback and overall support for our labs. No software will be perfect, the initial set up of BioRAFT took time to implement and to fit our safety program, but with the help from BioRAFT support we were able to enhance our program with the adoption of the platform.
ProsThe BioRAFT software has been an integral part of our research safety program. We adopted BioRAFT around 2 years ago and have worked with the BioRAFT team to tailor the software to better fit our research safety program. One of the main benefits of the software is the ability for enhanced correspondence between the research lab and our safety team. The utilization of the correspondence tab, response features, and comment box has allowed us to review feedback and provide better support for our researchers. Furthermore, automated follow-up reminders were critical in maintaining consistent compliance with our research labs. Our ability to set it and forget it, having BioRAFT reminder emails do the work has allowed us to work more efficiency while maintaining records.
ConsOne of the most frequent complaints is initial usability on the researchers side. The initial set up of lab profiles for some of the labs seems to cause some issues. The wizard set up process has helped guide the user in setting up their lab profiles. From the point of view of an EHS professional, limitations of the software can be seen, to some extent, with the ability to modify some of the features. We were hoping to modify the columns for location spaces (labs), to include date inspected, but this option was not possible after talking with BioRAFT support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019
Subhashini c.
Project co ordinator
Education Management, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2019

“Review system implementation engineer”

OverallOverall usage perspective system is very good. More customizations needed. Each module requires some improvements. Overall system implementation and support is good. Timely responses for minor tickets. Some tickets which involves more technical work either needs to be fixed on a timely manner or users need to be updated on the status.
Pros. Implementation phase is very interactive and supportive. . System is easy to administer but bit slow. . Records keeping is great. . Presentation of dashboards and data at the lab levels are very useful. . User friendly wizards.
Cons. Application is too slow. . More customizations needed for dashboards and Reports. . More customer centric customizations needed. . Inspection reports need to be more visual. Right now they are all text and not that catchy. . Pictures from inspection reports are not easily accessible. . Permissions at each level (Center level, lab levels) need to be improved. . Institution level permissions need to be added. . Support tickets need to be addressed on a timely manner. We are very new in using the system. Some tickets still not addressed. . Bio and RAD modules need to be customized more as per customer requirements. . Some basic features in trainings are still missing. Like single place view of training calendar. . Administrators should have permissions to view the activities log. . Help and support guides need to be added to the system itself. . Need incident management module. . If the system has interactive learning profile (Training module) it will be great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2019
John D.
Lab Safety Compliance Coordinator
Facilities Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“University of Arkansas Lab Auditor Review”

OverallOverall BioRAFT has been more trouble than helpful. It only works if the professors and students use it and many have been very frustrated with it so they do not use it until we tell them to. I have many emails from professors complaining about multiple aspects of the software that I would be happy to share.
ProsI like the tracking of lab members and their training. That s about it. But that only works if the professors do their part. Many professors have complained about the inability to temporarily suspend a member who has left the lab and will return at a later date. they do not like the fact that they have to remove the member and reenter them to stop the harassing emails regarding overdue training.
ConsEverything else. 1. I especially do not like the software bugs and the enormous amount of time it takes to use. Being logged out or loosing entered information after saving has been the biggest problem among many. I have multiple emails regarding lost time and data. I have to copy and paste everything I key into BioRAFT into a word document in anticipation that what I entered could be lost. 2. Exporting the chemical inventory where it is readable and printable has been a real disappointment. 3. The Labs vs Spaces disconnect is absolutely ridiculous and does not seem very well thought out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Martin B.
Director
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2019

“Excellent software”

OverallOverall, I feel we chose the right software for out needs.
ProsI really like having all the information about my lab responsibilities on one page. The dashboard functions for reports are excellent. It is really easy to communicate with the researchers through this system. Tracking and following findings is really easy in the inspection module.
ConsOne thing i really don't like concerns the inspection module. The sysqtem does not bring you back to the inspection list once you update a specific inspection and submit it. You have navigate back to the list using the left navigation menu. It should just take you back to the inspection list once you submit. The following are little things that would make the system a lot better: - Exportable dashboard graphs. - Email reminders for equipment certifications or expirations in the equipment module. - option to add additional equipment that is not in the preached list.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2019
Karen H.
Lab Safety Program Manager
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“A Game Changer!”

OverallI have greatly enjoyed the implementation and usage of BioRAFT. Representative and her team have been excellent in walking us through the process. I love how it streamlines not only the processes on the EHS end, but also lessens the burden on researcher end.
Pros I love that this is one place where you have all laboratory information right at your fingertips. It's user-friendly, has a fast response time, and automates many of the processes that I used to have to do manually.
ConsIt doesn't have every little bell and whistle that we might ideally want, but they are constantly receiving feedback from users and working to improve the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Research, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“Essential to growing our safety culture”

ProsHow it created a path for communication between researchers and the labs and our safety group. That and how we were able to engage the researchers in their own health and safety the systematic and scalable way.
ConsAny kind of change is difficult, but the BioRAFT team helped us make this change with the least amount of pain I think is possible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
John O.
Biosafety Specialist
Public Safety, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019

“BioRAFT is so much better than our previous audit program”

OverallI generally use BioRAFT to look into problems associated with individual laboratories.
ProsBioRAFT is so much better than our previous audit program. We went from a 30% response rate to 100% response rate in a single audit cycle.
ConsThe system could be a little more intuitive. It could also be more customizable to the needs of the individual institutions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019
sarah e.
director of EHS
Education Management, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“Benefits of BioRAFT”

OverallThis software is essential for us to deliver EHS programs to the scope and scale required for our organization.
ProsThe product is very intuitive for both those building the platform and using the product.
ConsThere are no cons to this product that I have seen.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Luke H.
Student
Research, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019

“BioRAFT from a student perspective”

OverallOverall, the software does what it needs too, but the user interface and navigation could be reformatted and refined to put prevalent information in easier to find locations (Ex. returning to a page that lists training to be done with better status indication).
ProsThe training is in depth and provides enough information to be safe without getting too bogged down in details. It is easy to see the lab sections i am a part of, as well as the training status of members of the lab. The notifications that my training is due to expire are helpful reminders.
ConsThe navigation can be difficult when trying to renew multiple training in one go. Getting to the page that tells you what you have left is difficult.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019
Matthew F.
Assistant Biosafety Officer
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019

“Works well for our needs”

ProsThe software is very easy and intuitive to use.
ConsThere are quite a few places where the wording isn't exactly perfect for our needs and we've been told customization was not possible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019
David K.
Chemical Safety Specialist
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“BioRAFT review”

ProsThe best part about the software is you can have all your programs under one interface with a single login.
ConsIts pretty slow and not very customizable. If you want a certain feature it needs to be change that will happen to all users
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Daniel L.
Director, Lab Managers
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019

“Bioraft review”

ProsI like that PIs can be established under labs, and training can be assigned to persons in the lab.
ConsThe chain of command within the software is buggy. You must be assigned to a lab, and labs cant have multiple PIs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019
Ahad S.
Lead, Safety & Facility
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2019

“Great Product”

Pros_ Ease of access - Integration - Dashboards
Cons- Speed - Interface needs development - More Job roles
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2019
Nadeem Q.
Scientist
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“Review ”

ProsIt works as a friend and it is great product to work with.
ConsNothing. Software is very user friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Traci N.
Office Manager
Primary/Secondary Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“BioRAFT Implementation Baylor University”

ProsAvailable customization of the software is beneficial and the interface is user friendly.
ConsThe BioRAFT software is somewhat expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Melissa B.
Staff Scientist II
Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019

“BioRAFT Review”

ProsEasy to use. Trainings are informative.
ConsI wish there was a way to have a preset template of all of the trainings used for my lab so that when I add a new member I can just click the template and have all trainings automatically pop up instead of having to go through every tab to select what training is needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019
Logan O.
Hazardous Materials Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“BioRAFT Review”

ProsCustomer support is excellent. Covers multiple EHS functions.
ConsSometimes the user interface feels clunky.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Mani Teja V.
Student
Education Management, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“Bioraft- Review”

OverallNice.. All at glance
ProsEverything organised, all the trainings. Certificates can be easily accepted. Labs details can be monitored.
ConsI think nothing much to say. Its nicely organised
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Bronagh H.
Lab Manager
Research, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“BioRaft Review”

OverallOverall positive experience although a little slow at times.
ProsI like the ability to see each lab members training records. Also like the ease of signing up to training courses directly via BioRaft.
ConsI find the software quite slow to open and make changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
michael p.
Safety Coordinator
Research, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“Inspections”

Overallthis will help us with inventory and inspection process. possible future will be to help us determine who needs what kind of training depending on hazards.
Prosease of completing the inspections and the ability to take and save pictures.
ConsNo sure yet. still kinda new on our part
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Michelle P.
EHS Specialist
Non-Profit Organization Management, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“Review Title”

OverallIt seems to be working ok with a few hiccups due to inexperience.
ProsAll the functionality is in a singular place.
ConsI feel like the learning curve is too high for users who will only work with BioRAFT infrequently.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Shiou -.
PhD student
Biotechnology, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“BioRAFT Rreview”

Proscombing the training with the system
Consneed to upload everything individual. why can't user do it by themselves
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Muhammad P.
Electronics Engineer Lead
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“Training”

ProsBioRAFT does good management of safety trainings.
ConsVery slow when you are login in the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019