PointOS

PointOS Professional

3.5 / 5 16 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Hospitality - Bars/Restaurants/Clubs


Average Ratings

16 Reviews
  • 3.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $499.00/one-time/user
  • Free Trial
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Installed - Windows
  • Training
    Live Online
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • PointOS
  • www.pointos.com/
  • Founded 2007
  • United States

About PointOS Professional

A full featured, easy to use point of sale software package specifically designed for bars, clubs, and restaurants. All of the tools you need at a price you can afford. With inventory control, customer tracking, full reporting, and an easy to use interface, PointOS will save you time and money. Main Features: Easy Order Entry, Inventory Control, Track Customers, QuickBooks, Integration. Available In English To US and Canadian Businesses Only


PointOS Professional Features

  • Delivery Management
  • Gift Card Management
  • Online Ordering
  • Order Management
  • Separate Checks
  • Split Checks
  • Supports Loyalty Program
  • Table Management
  • Tips Management

PointOS Professional Reviews Recently Reviewed!

Company full of empty promises, defective products

Oct 21, 2017
1/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The only possible pro to this software was that you can download it online and there is not a long delay for setup.

Cons: Implementation of the PointOS Profesional software along with their hardware bundles was an unmitigated disaster. The software is riddled with glitches, anomalies, malfunctions and bugs. I spent hours and hours and hours on line with tech support fixing problems within the first 2 weeks.
After an agonizing opening week with thousands of dollars lost in comped food and upset customers I called in an IT expert to find and fix the problem. Ultimately, the hardware I received had a defective network adapter that caused the software to malfunction. PointOS abdicated all responsibility for their defective hardware and dragged me along from 8/9/17 to today without ever offering a resolution.
If you are looking for a nightmare software/hardware backed by a company that fundamentally fails to be not only proactive but even reactive to a customer's crisis than look no further. I purchased PointOS Professional for the lower price tag and quicker turn-around time and it was the worst mistake I have ever made.
You will PAY MORE for PointOS Profesional than their competitors once you figure in the losses, stain to your business reputation and sheer aggravation you will endure with this company. Best case scenario (everyone works right-which I guarantee won't happen) the software lacks countless basic features.
As a small business owner, I urge you to steer clear and wish you only the best of luck if you've made the mistake of purchasing the software before reading this review.

Overall: Actually and absolutely no benefits whatsoever. That sounds exaggerated--but it is not.
(BEWARE. Sales people will tell you hardware will ship same day as payment clears, but this is NOT TRUE. Several days of delay after payment even after 4 follow-up calls.)

Vendor Response

by PointOS on October 26, 2017

Hi Jake, we are very sorry you had this experience. I see the detailed notes on your account, unfortunately your printer arrived in a different mode than the standard PointOS mode. It did take longer than expected. However, it was identified in one business day. It was at this point the product team authorized to provide white glove support at no cost to you, which is above our standard support service. Our team identified your network had IP conflicts. Our standard support package does not include network configuration. It was at this time an IT person was brought in to work on site with our team. We then assisted with you with setup of 2 network printers, and a kitchen printer along with your stations. We logged over 10 hours of white glove assistance. The support tickets did not include reports of bugs. Specifically there were two tickets regarding issues with reporting and cash balances. The reporting issue was tied to the fact the POS terminal didn't have MS Excel on it, which pre

Not very well thought out

Jul 28, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The pricing was fair. networking and backroom reports are fine. The system installed ok with tech help.

Cons: The sales person promised the functionality but was wrong. System doesn't open tabs as told. I was told it couldn't be done the way our software and others do it. Lots of programming in areas that are not popular in our area like music playlists etc. maybe in other areas that works not sure. biggest problem spending 1100+ for the one feature we needed in a busy bar.

Overall: zero lost 1100 on purchase.

Vendor Response

by PointOS on August 09, 2017

Hi Jeff, We have made some really great additions to the Software. We will reach out to you and discuss your tabs issue.

Awful support

Jun 08, 2017
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Loaded with features. POS, Scheduling, Membership, Email intigration, delivery, payouts, calendar, more.

Cons: Poorly documented in some areas. Getting information to implement product functions if you can't figure it out in the manuals will require an additional support contract. In short, after the purchase you are on your own unless you pay them s lot more money.

Overall: The software is exceptional - it is the service and support that makes this product a very poor choice.

Easy to use

Jun 08, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Easy to use,
easy to program, can copy menu items key features into a new product
Employees learn it quickly

Cons: Limited amount of Pricing levels for a single product. (Only Good Customer, Special, Regular or Employee) As an example, you can't have "Bud Light" at regular , lower on Tuesday and a different another day... you can only have one pre-set price drop per week.

Knowledgeable sales team. Responsive customer support. Easy to use POS. Great for pizza shop.

Jun 07, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Pizza builder makes it easy for for our staff to create custom pizzas. The system is easy to learn from set the set up to daily use.

Cons: The only issue we had was with the printer when we initially installed the product. Resolved with a replacement.

Overall: Quick start up when we opened up the restaurant and very little hassle going forward. I have complete confidence in the team at PointOS to help us resolve operational problems where the POS system can be of help.

Simple to use. Wish the online support was better.

Jun 05, 2017
3/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Very easy to program. Simple for my employees to use. Able to add stations to the system to better serve our customers

Cons: Put a second system on it and it's slower then the first computer. The mypointos app is unavailable. Support hasn't gotten back to me in two weeks.

Overall: Accountability

Vendor Response

by PointOS on June 05, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We take customer contact seriously and apologize for your experience. PointOS Support will reach out to you within the next few hours to follow up. They will also create a support ticket. We recommend keeping those on hand.

Support is great but software needs twe eking alot

Jun 01, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use, reports are plentiful but not always right. Easy for new hires to learn. Quite cash out process.

Cons: Have to have to many modifiers to complete an order. Wish it was more condensed but maybe I don't have it set up right.

Overall: Ease of reports

I am just amazed at this system and reccomend it to all I speak to..Ty McDougal outdid himself

May 21, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Everything about this system is exactly what the salesman told me.easy to use,support,and affordability

Cons: I have had minor start-up, problems..I truly love Pointos. It's Easy to use, easy to set up, easy to teach.Just an amazing product

Overall: Easiness of operation

Disappointing....but functional.

Aug 14, 2016
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 3.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Customer service during the day is very helpful. Multiple pricing options are useful.

Cons: Night time customer service are not as knowledgeable, but are still very nice.
The initial set up was very time consuming. They do hardly any of it for you. Little to no training. Just "play with it and call me with questions." I called constantly and had to redo things multiple times because no one had explained all the features. (Little boxes to check and what not).
It's has a fairly slow reaction time.
Reports are confusing and need a lot more work. Modifier report doesnt even show any prices of those listed modifiers. Inventory reports do not give you any kind of comparison. I have to go thru each menu item and calculate how much I am missing individually between what I had, what I sold and now what I actually have left.
My receipt printer was printing an extra 6 inches of paper for 6 weeks. During that time I requested help to fix the settings over 15 times. Finally, it is now printing normally. (This particular printer is very paper wasteful even at the smallest parameters. If I were to add a logo a one item purchase it would print a 10 inch long receipt! I said forget the logo, and settled for a 7.25 inch receipt.
The open tabs are not well organized and make searching for a current customer time consuming.
My staff are all disappointed in our purchase.

Overall: Sales person sold it well. However, it isn't easy to set up or use, reports are not set up well (at least not for my bar business) and customer service is great (especially day time) but recomendations to "development team" seem to fall on deaf ears or take very long to get a response.

Recommendations to other buyers: Pointos gets the job done. But I have probably spent 90 hours on the phone with customer service in the last 2 months. Pointos seems like a small company that doesn't have all their issues worked out yet. Again, I love the customer service personnel! But the program needs work!!

Vendor Response

by PointOS on August 16, 2016

I'm sorry you had issues setting it up. It is a very robust piece of software with many settings, however we try to keep it as simple as possible. We allow imports of menu items, inventory items and employees directly from Excel spreadsheets to speed up the setup process. However, like QuickBooks or any of our competitors there is a learning curve if you are not familiar with Point Of Sale software. Once setup we do strive for ease of use for the server, bartender or other employee using the system. The interface on the front end is intuitive and simple to use. We offer many resources for setting up the system in addition to our 24/7 support. We have videos, online manuals, a knowledge base. Additionally you can talk to sales about setting up your menu for an additional charge. I hope that now that it is setup, it is meeting your needs. If not please contact me personally and I will help you with any remaining issues. Thanks!

Blows away the competition

Jun 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Locally based hardware installed and installed with reliable LAN with added in the cloud back up and iPad connectivity makes this a winner!

Cons: You have to use either Vantiv or Cayan processors but they both do a great job so that's not a problem for me

Overall: I've worked with a dozen systems over the years and even for more money this system hands down has more usable features than any of them

Recommendations to other buyers: Integrates with Quickbooks ... Don't spend thousands more on proprietary systems like Aloha or Micros or Positouch... This system does more for less money

Vendor Response

by PointOS on June 10, 2016

Thank you for the glowing review. the entire hard working team here loves seeing these!

Average at best

Jul 29, 2015
2/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: This one isn't even paid off yet and I'm already looking into replacing it.

Pros - price, easy to use, my sales guy/customer service guy is good.

Cons - touch screen works horribly, bartenders had to resort to using pen caps to get it to accept. It has been that way since day one. Tried stylus pens and those don't work either. must purchase excel to have reports emailed or printed. can't check online live unless pay for their service, credit card merchant options are terrible. can't bring up previous days closed tabs to check things that might be wrong. can't reprint cashier closing reports. can't split tabs 50/50 or 1/3,1/3,1/3...etc, etc. only by item, can't have the same item on special multiple days with different prices without changing it manually each day.

It's a decent enough system but I'm not satisfied I should have went with the pricier one!!!

Vendor Response

by PointOS on July 30, 2015

The hardware issues as far as the touchscreen are strange. Screen might just need to be calibrated. The hardware is older and not purchased through us. A touch screen is just an input device like a mouse. Our program does nothing special to make it work. You should contact the manufacturer. We do export to Excel but Open Office will open .xls files as well for free. As far as online, we offer full cloud services for $99 year, but have free basic online and iOS app reports for free. All previous tabs can be brought up by clicking the tab in the closed orders list. Here it can be reprinted. Also, you can split checks by item or by payment amount. You can also have an item on special multiple days. We support 5 different price options with Happy Hour and Specials able to change the price on a time schedule. I feel that this customer is simply unfamiliar with some of our features and am offering free training and help with their hardware

Good System

Aug 28, 2013
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I personally set up and sell point os. The system is easy to learn especially with the FREE tech support and FREE online manuals available at your disposal. Buggy i think not! Works on almost all windows based systems to boot.

Very good once you get it set up

Feb 20, 2013
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Price. Flawless operation. Great customer support. All the features we need

Cons: Complete pain in the a** to set up. Operation not particularly intuitive at first.

Overall: Very good - once you program it. Took me 25 data entry hours to load all of my menu items and tie them to inventory and I'm not that slow. My staff and I played with it a lot before we had enough confidence to go live with it. Some little twists and turns that need to be learned, but no major deal. However, once set up and going works beautifully. Totally satisfied.

POINTOS IS GOOD

May 12, 2012
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: THE PROGRAM IS THE BEST OUT THERE EZ TO USE. THE PEOPLE ARE VERY NICE AND GOOD

Cons: THE ONLY DRAW BACK IS credit card processor merchant WAREHOUSE,
GETTING OVER CHARGE, and not get the money in the account right, the credit card processing go's offline and can't charge any thing.

Overall: you need to look for a system that can do debit not credit cards

It work only with ONE Merchant provider and they are horrible

Sep 26, 2011
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Customer support is excellent and free, easy to use and you can program it by your self.

Cons: They are attach to ONLY ONE Merchant provider, called Merchant Warehouse. Merchant warehouse, are rude, very poor customer services, and hard to deal with.
Hope POINTOS will open to more Merchant providers.

Overall: I recommended it

Great software, Great price

Jul 17, 2009
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: This is the best software I have found for my bar at any price. Customers love the integrated music, and it makes checking id's really easy.

Excellent customer support.

Cons: I can't think of any...

Overall: I definitely recommend.