Who Uses This Software?

ToolWatch is the most comprehensive system available today for managing tools, equipment, materials and consumables more efficiently across your company.


Average Ratings

19 Reviews

  • 3.5 / 5
    Overall

  • 3 / 5
    Ease of Use

  • 3.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    Not provided by vendor
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • ToolWatch
  • www.toolwatch.com
  • Founded 1991
  • United States

About ToolWatch Enterprise

The most extensive system available today for managing tools, equipment, materials and consumables across your enterprise.


ToolWatch Enterprise Features

  • Accounting Integration
  • Budget Tracking/Job Costing
  • Change Orders
  • Commercial
  • Contract Management
  • Contractors
  • CRM
  • Equipment Tracking
  • Estimating
  • Incident Reporting
  • Mobile Access
  • Offline Access
  • Residential
  • RFI & Submittals
  • Subcontractor Management
  • Customer Database
  • Dispatch Management
  • Equipment Tracking
  • Inventory Control
  • Job Management
  • Maintenance Scheduling
  • Warranty Tracking
  • Work Order Management

Vendor has not completed this information.

  • Calibration Management
  • Fixed Asset Management
  • Issue & Return Management
  • Job Costing
  • Maintenance Scheduling
  • Order Management
  • Tool Kitting

ToolWatch Enterprise Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Gave them money and received 0 value in return.

Aug 25, 2016
3/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Good presentation and visually looked great.

Cons: spotty support, UN-fulfilled promises, syncing issues with mobile devices, cloud based headache, spent money and all I have left to show for it is a box of barcode stickers and scanning equipment that is useless to our company for anything else. I could be here for days... Let's just say, anything you think this program can do for your company with probably be difficult if not next to aggravating to accomplish.

Overall: The original sales person who sold us on the program added sections that we had no idea what they were for, but we were charged for. The CFO would not refund our cost for the software add-ons. Training was promised (and paid for) and support, but it never panned out and we were left out in the dark to figure things out on our own. The sales person who we dealt with said that the software could do certain functions that we later found out to be not true. Syncing our very pricey mobile device was a total headache. (it sits on my desk as a reminder of what we invested and lost doing business with this company.) When we decided to part ways and not renew our subscription (very expensive by the way) we wanted all our data that we had spent months entering to populate the database... We were originally told that if needed they could export and make it seamless. We received a hundred pages of scripted text and left to figure out a way of retrieving the data for us to import into a different asset tracking program.. THAT was a total headache.

If you partner yourself with this company, you are very angry at your money and your trying to get away from it as fast as possible!

Recommendations to other buyers: ToolWatch from what I understand, did not develop this software, they bought it and marketed it!...well. . So support and training is "Yeah umm i'm not sure if that will work, let me start a ticket for you", or "Umm uh ... I don't think so, not sure, let me ask someone maybe". I actually received an e-mail update that an issue I had two months into using the system had finally been resolved.... 6 months after our year subscription was over and we chose not to renew with this company... It actually made me laugh.

Great Turnkey Asset Management Solution

Feb 03, 2017
5/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Turnkey Solution, minimal development for custom reporting and API integration. The mobile apps on iPhone/Android work really well. The ToolWatch development team works on a evolving road map which brings continuous improvements to our investment.

Cons: The Enterprise desktop client can be sluggish at times. We are optimistically waiting for planned updates to the application that should resolve this.

Overall: ToolWatch was chosen to help our construction company manage our tool and equipment inventory at multiple warehouse and job site locations. In 2.5 years our database has grown to 3,350+ model records comprised of 42,700+ active items. Our employees use ToolWatch to accurately manage assignments of assets allowing us to generate the necessary accounting recovery to recoup the operating expenses from projects and minimize end of project losses.

Having access to the Reporting Cloud allows us to develop customized reporting and business intelligence that Project Management and Leadership have grown to rely on. ToolWatch's API allows us a channel for bi-directional communication of data generated in ToolWatch to our existing ERP.

Most support related issues are resolved same day unless escalation to development is required.

In the past year ToolWatch has made great progress in developing a mobile platform (iOS/Android) that is very polished and shows great promise. We are excited to put it to use in the field to expedite our requisition process.

The ToolWatch staff, from Support, Sales, and Development, have been a pleasure to work with and we look forward to our continued partnership.

2% USER FRIENDLY

Sep 24, 2018
2/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

2 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: There is definite potential with this software; however after my 2 years with my company and using TW (employer usage 10+yrs) and making user friendly recommendations, there have been no changes incorporated.

Cons: Real time not really real time! TW needs to get some app and software testing done by real users who will let them know where changes/updates need to be made. (if not already submitted as a ticket to TW support). With the new app loaded and tested by field guy, he says "it is so complicated now, why did they ever change it?" I personally have made so many suggestions and not only have they been obviously ignored, they removed the "remember me" feature for logging in! Seriously?! Why would the developers removed such a helpful user friendly feature... goes to show there are not actual users testing for recommendations! no-brainer. TAKE THE RECOMMENDATIONS AND SUGGESTIONS FROM THE USERS AND THIS SOFTWARE COULD ACTUALLY BE HELPFUL INSTEAD OF BEING HEADACHE. Unfortunately, I do not foresee my employer changing to a different software application anytime soon although I will be researching alternatives!!!

Overall: Although the support is somewhat helpful, support can only do what they can do as their hands are tied. It is the developers behind the curtain who need to think outside their box!

Best Software we have to manage Assets and Tools. We under-utilize its many features.

Apr 19, 2018
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It forces you to be very organized on what you track and how.

Rollup reports are very nice.

Mobility has really increased our efficiency in getting things checked in and out.

Cons: Would like to see automated email reporting I need people to know (and own) ho many tools their departments have at any given time.

Customized reporting should be available as well.

Would really appreciate a "remember me" button upon login.

Vendor Response

by ToolWatch on April 20, 2018

Tommy,

Thank you for the review!
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave both pros and cons.

We hear you about the email reporting, we call it notifications and we are evaluating how we can bring that functionality to our users this year. So stay tuned!

We do have a custom reporting solution! Actually there are two options, either our Reporting Cloud or through our API.

A Success team member will be reaching out to you do discuss.

And again Thanks for the Review!

Best,
Team @ ToolWatch

Great Software, Great Company

Dec 14, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Our Company has worked with ToolWatch for quite a few years now and they have been very good at helping us shape the tool around our needs. We have over 23,000 bars coded tools, and 2,200 consumables in our database, so we certainly use this product to its fullest potential. Our business environment requires a lot of custom reporting and specialty data needs as we are always innovating with new applications and technology. The staff at ToolWatch has been very accommodating with helping us get API access to our tools database in order to take full advantage of our data. We are also very excited about all of the new products that ToolWatch is working on, like the Field App and the Rfid scanners. Working specifically with Casi and Ron on several of our last development efforts has been a great experience as they have been responsive and knowledgeable at each turn. This tool can do a lot of cool stuff and the staff is great.

Vendor Response

by ToolWatch on December 15, 2016

Hi Mike,

Thank you for the review!

All the best,
Team ToolWatch

Working With Us

Feb 22, 2016
2/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: The billing module in ToolWatch leaves a lot to be desired. It hasn't worked since the first of the year. Support is on their schedule, not ours making it hard to resolve. Their support staff likes to talk down to you, they are right, I am not a computer guru. I just want their software to work. Their pricing setup limits the number of users, you have pay for each station instead of users, which prevents the jobsites from using the system to place tool requests or pick-up requests. We had used ToolWatch SE for 14 years, it did everything we wanted. ToolWatch Enterprise is a disaster. After thousands of dollars and months of setup, we will be changing programs.

Update: ToolWatch support has contacted us since my original review. The people I talked to were very helpful and we got it running on track again. It turned out to be an error that was made on our end during a year-end billing cycle, our mistake. An advantage to Enterprise over SE, they can look into the database and see what has been occurring. They were able to reverse the mistake and we could move forward from there.

Have been using TW for 5+ years. Great way to track our tools.

Mar 30, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Ease of use. Service is awesome. Always get a live, pleasant, helpful voice when I call. Great way to track everything from our vehicles and service to our tools and recalls.

Cons: I'll get back to you on this as I haven't found a con yet. I also have not heard any complaints from our employees. It is a great product.

Customer Service is Great!

Mar 27, 2017
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The database is constantly needing to be synching. It would be great if we didn't have to worry about if it was synched or not.

Cons: During billing exports I have to unselect and select individually. I would love to be able to select using ctrl or shift...doing this in groups. It would make this process go much faster.

Overall: During a recent secondary implementation of ToolWatch, in order to start billing of Information Systems Equipment, we needed to perform a few hundred transfers to different cost centers. The ToolWatch team wholeheartedly supported our new initiative and performed all these transfers for us. This is GREAT customer service! Thanks so much, Elizabeth, IS Project Manager at Gaylor Electric.

Recommendations to other buyers: There should be a purpose for the transfer ticket numbers. Transfers of Quantity items should not automatically transfer the entire quantity.

ToolWatch is an effective tool billing and tracking application. Support staff is helpful.

Feb 29, 2016
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We have used ToolWatch SE and Enterprise for many years. When we switched from ToolWatch SE to Enterprise, we had data and process conversion concerns just like any application that would be converted. We found the support team at ToolWatch to be very helpful, courteous and patient. ToolWatch uses a concurrent licensing scheme which is an industry standard and does not limit the number of users. If a company wants to add more users, purchase more licenses. The application has the ability to track tools by hour, day, week and month. We use all billing schemes without issue, although our maintenance has increased due to the multiple rate sheets. ToolWatch is a tool billing and tracking application and it does that very well. ToolWatch is not a Warehouse Management application, but ToolWatch doesn't sell their product as a Warehouse Management application.

Vendor Response

by ToolWatch on December 15, 2016

Hi Gary,

Thank you for the review!

All the best,
Team ToolWatch

Outstanding Company and overall Outstanding satisfaction.

Dec 14, 2016
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I have used ToolWatch for over 10 years and have had outstanding overall results. As a customer, I have experienced excellent customer service on and software related issues. ToolWatch has always been committed to resolving and software issues that would come about. Recently we had some sync issues but ToolWatch support team handled the issues promptly and had us back in order in ample time. ToolWatch sales, support and service team is top in the industry and has helped our company manage our 25,000 bar coded tools and 2200 bar coded consumables. We serve 7 trades and 1300 field construction workers in multiple states with near perfect tracking and accountability. I would highly recommend Casi Portlock and ToolWatch Enterprise for your Tool management needs.

Vendor Response

by ToolWatch on December 15, 2016

Hi Alistair,

Thank you for the review!

All the best,
Team ToolWatch

ToolWatch is a good tool to manage assets. The support team is what I line the most

May 25, 2017
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: There are a lot of good tasks you can do on a tool with a right click.

I like you can define almost all of the metadata you use.

Cons: No support on controlling numbering of records as: Category iD, tool iD, Employee iD, etc

Some. I would be beneficial if the software could alert you of an exiting numbering.

No workflow features

No IFTT (if this then that) features

Delays on synchronization, I wish it could be closer to real time

It is a useful program that help maintain or organize our assets

May 19, 2017
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Organization is the assets into a structure that is easy o manage and maintain. We have dedicated people that keep the inventory structured

Cons: Integration and collaboration with other products. We have dedicated people that keep the inventory structured

Customer NO Service

May 29, 2015
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I paid for the software and when it came time to replace my computer the software would not work without a new keycode. Toolwatch refused to give me a new keycode until I paid for their support. It is a terrible company and you should not waste your money, their are better systems out there.

Vendor Response

by ToolWatch on June 11, 2015

Brent,
We would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience.
We revisit our policies based on customer feedback and this policy was changed in 2010. Today, if a ToolWatch SE customer contacts us for an authorization code we provide the code even if the customer has no current support contract.

Mediocre product, terrible customer service

Apr 21, 2015
2/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We have been struggling with ToolWatch for over a year. The system is clunky and difficult to adapt. For example it is set up to track tools by the hour and cannot be set up to track/bill by the day/week/month. The modifications offered don't work and customer service has been awful. We either get told we are running our rental business the wrong way or that we are "too stupid" to understand the software. We will be finding a new product ASAP which is very disappointing given the time and money we have put into trying to get this system up and running effectively.

Outdated & counterintuitive

Aug 12, 2015
2/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: The pricing scheme limits the number of users which prevents the jobsites from using the system to place tool requests or pick-up requests. The billing side of toolwatch is awful and the software constantly breaksdown on us or doesn't sync across our multiple users. Find something else or build it yourself. The training they provide is pretty good, but there are a lot of things it should be able to do that it doesn't.

Useful for IT

Jan 12, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: We have utilized Toolwatch for our construction tools for years. We just implemented Toolwatch for all of our Technology equipment and found that the platform adapts very well. We especially like the mobile app. Customer service is reliable, knowledgeable and responsive. Highly recommend.

Vendor Response

by ToolWatch on January 12, 2017

Hi Joel,

Thank you for the review!

- Team ToolWatch

Buyer Beware

Oct 28, 2016
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Had the software for a year. Have had nothing but problems and lost transactions due to sync issue. Tech support is less than helpful with the standard responses "we are working on it" "we have our developers looking into it". Expensive software that does not work as advertised half the time.

tool watch sucks

Oct 24, 2016
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Its got to work right for me to like it

Cons: doesn't ever work

Overall: Poor poor customer support!!!!! Poor response time with technical support! Not user friendly! Costly!

Recommendations to other buyers: Try something else!

OK piece of software

Jan 23, 2018
3/5
Overall

2 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The software integrates with an industry standard construction software called Sage 300 CRE which makes it pretty seamless in keeping inventory.

Cons: Kind of a hokey program and can have many issues when running on an RDS desktop. Doesn't support some legacy barcode systems.