BudgetPak Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About BudgetPak

Ideal for mid-sized organizations with decentralized or distributed budgeting. Designed to engage multiple (10+), non-financial end-users with an easy-to-use cloud-based, budgeting, forecasting and reporting solution. A perfect fit for finance teams who need to increase accountability, accuracy and align the budget to the strategic plan. Recognized highest in overall customer satisfaction, our powerful SaaS solution also ranked highest for ease of use, quick implementation and excellent support. Learn more about BudgetPak

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Clint L.
Executive Director for Budgets & Financial Service
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“Incredibly useful for establishing dynamic & inclusive ("bottom up" budgeting process”

OverallInclusive budgeting process and much enhanced ability to forecast and deliver needed reports.
ProsEnd user experience is easy and intuitive. I especially love the ability to establish monthly budgets which provides a much greater probability for accurate year-end forecasts. The numerous ad hoc reports and MyExcel features are also dynamic and incredibly useful.
ConsWhile Xlerant offers wonderful and ready customer service, we still found the installation process very time consuming and quite challenging. Also, you need a person dedicated to the continued administration of this software.

Vendor Response

By XLerant on August 22, 2019
We're glad to hear your end-user experience has been so positive! While our normal implementation process is an average of 8 weeks, on occasion the process can take longer - especially when, as in this case, we are working through supporting the development of new budgeting processes simultaneous with the new software set-up. For the majority of our clients, system administrators may spend a few hours a month to load in new data. During the budget season there is additional work in the system preparation, oversight of the budget process and approval cycles - however, administrators report significantly less time spent than with Excel-based budgeting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Catherine B.
Enterprise Reporting Accountant
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2018

“Cathy's review”

OverallWe are a large property/casualty insurance company with 23 departments. Departments are more aware of what they are spending and are looking for ways to control their costs. End users have spoken very highly and favorably of the product. They are fully engaged and more accountable with their own budgets and feel more involved in the overall budgeting process for the company.
ProsBudgetPak is a cloud based software, user friendly and easy to use for the non-financial user.
ConsAs Administrators, when you make changes in your company configuration, the Validation and Initialization process can take at least 1 hour or more to run. While this is happening, no other end users are able to see or work on their budgets since system is under maintenance.

Vendor Response

By XLerant on August 22, 2019
Thanks for the kind review Catherine! We are happy to report that as of our most recent software release the NJM validation/initialization has been reduced to just ten minutes!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2018
Ngoc N.
L&A OG Manager, Budgets
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2009

“BudgetPak is easy to implement and is very user friendly.”

OverallGet rid of those Excel workbooks and macros you currently use for budgeting. BudgetPak makes it easy to budget and forecast for any users. We went through a realign of our HQ office in early 2009. BudgetPak made it easy to make those changes quickly and consolidation was a snap with great audit trails.
ProsIn 2008 our Company (at one of the Operating Group Headquarters location) was looking for a budgeting software tool to replace our Excel workbooks to prepare our annual budget and forecast. After considering 6 different budgeting software packages BudgetPak was the clear winner for the ease of implementation, but more importantly, how user friendly it is. You are not required to be a finance person to use it. During the initial demonstration I had various internal users (VP, Director, Manager) participate in addition to myself who is a Finance person with lots of software experience. I wanted my internal users to feel comfortable with BudgetPak and not to be intimidated. It was also their feedback that made the decision easy to select BudgetPak. For the features, performance, and robustness I am getting for BudgetPak and the price to implement and maintain it BudgetPak has the edge over its competitor.
ConsThe vanilla canned reports that came with BudgetPak are good, but I would like to see more custom reports or more ways for me to build custom reports. I plan to work with BudgetPak to enhance reports in future version releases.

Vendor Response

By XLerant on August 22, 2019
Happy to report that since 2009 we have dramatically expanded our reporting flavors from plain vanilla! With every new release we include additional reports for our standard offering - many based on customer request. In addition, we have a custom reporting tool that easily addresses unique reporting requirements.
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2009
Jeremiah M.
Junior Director of Financial Planning & Analysis
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“XLerant provides a fantastic software that has greatly improved our budgeting process.”

ProsThe customer support. Any time there is a question or concern, the XLerant team quickly responds and assists. When there were areas that the software seemed to be lacking, the support team would troubleshoot and came up with working solutions that improved the software greatly.
ConsFrom an administrator standpoint, the software is complicated. It has taken me a bit of time to learn all the options within it. In a way, this is a very positive thing as the system has many features useful to different clients. The only issue is that it becomes difficult to train new system administrators and to know that our institution is using the system to it's full effect.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018

“Focused on the Budget Owner”

OverallWorking with the XLerant team has been great. They were very patient with us in the decision process and have been very helpful in getting set up as well. Great team.
ProsBudgetPak was built with the end user (Budget Holder) in mind. The budget process is a simple step by step process made so that "non-finance" people can easily put their annual plan together. Then, as the finance team, you can use that data to run forecasts and long term projections as often as you need. There are also easy Excel integrations for the finance team to use to pull data or upload data directly to the cloud database.
ConsI haven't used the software for very long, but I am concerned about the "refresh" or initialization times. But it isn't something that would've pushed me away from the product per se as most other options I saw would require the same thing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018
Karen D.
Administrator, Enterprise Reporting
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018

“BudgetPak”

OverallBudgetPak has made our process more collaborative. It has centralized all the data in one place with easy access.
ProsWe have been able to keep all data in a centralized place and not in Excel. The ease of use for our end users.
ConsThe standard reporting available. We have employed the Excel add-on to facilitate in what we need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018
Donna F.
Director of Budgeting
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2014

“Meeting Goals with BudgetPak”

OverallThe College takes a bottom up approach to developing the annual budget. Budget Managers are expected to develop a plan that establishes their Strategic Planning Goals and Objectives for the department that is linked to the College's plan then determine the expenses (and for some departments) revenue associated with achieving their plan. Excel and paper worksheets were unable to satisfy this basic requirement or our other long term goals of monthly budget details, periodic forecasting updates, and 5-year planning. BudgetPak has allowed us to document the line item requests and link them to department plans as well as establishing monthly budgets by line item. Budget Managers were surprised and delighted by the ease with which they were able to create, document and review their budgets as well as run reports which quickly compared their newest requests to prior budget or actual periods. The executives and I now spend our time making decisions based on quickly summarized data which is fully owned and supported by the Budget Managers.
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2014
Michael C.
Finance Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2009

“Budgetpak is a powerful and easy to use budgeting tool”

OverallStrongly recommended. Provides us the functionality we require, coupled with a user experience that requires virtaully no training. A very solid product.
ProsReal-time rollups, version control, auditability, integrated headcount and capital budgeting. Simple and straightforward from an end-user standpoint, but the real benefit will be to your company's finance team responsible for the overall budgeting process. Easy to configure to your company's needs and powerful in that it always enables you to know where your end-users are in their process and provide real-time updates and snapshots to senior management.
ConsOn-the-fly configuration changes often require a system "reinitialization" which requires the software be taken offline for a short period of time. Can be done off-hours, but in an international company with users all over the world, this can be inconvenient.
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2009
Jill L.
Treasurer/CFO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2009

“User friendly budgeting”

OverallThis is an excellent product. We compared several budgeting software packages before selecting BudgetPak. We have 40 cost centers and almost 100 users. This software has made our budget process more transparent & more efficient. We could not be happier.
ProsBudgetPak is an easy to use, robust budgeting tool for organizations. *Budget users love it *Provides transparent payroll budgeting for the budgeting manager *Security provides different levels of access for users *Organization wide reports are easy to produce *Excellent visibility of comparative data - both budgets and actuals *Ability to spread budget based on several easy to use methodologies
ConsWish they made more software products!
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2009
Dave L.
Director of Information Technology
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2009

“BudgetPak is robust AND easy to use”

OverallVery useful for all sizes of organizations. We examined all of the top Gartner-recommended products, and this was by far the easiest for our staff to understand and be proficient with.
ProsEven users challenged to use Excel understand BudgetPak Very easy from IT's perspective to install, maintain, and load updates Great for what-if scenarios Robust headcount management Multiple ways to budget - by month, by headcount, by monthly spreading, by percent increase or decrease, etc. Very useful and intuitive reporting Smooth interfaces to external sources and our GL system
ConsBudgetPak is unavailable when Accounting performs maintenance. Not any real problems!
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2009
Dee B.
General Ledger Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2009

“Outstanding Product!!”

OverallExcellent product - you will not regret the purchase.
ProsBudgetPak is amazing, our organization with over 50 centers and 275 employees finds it "user friendly" and very intuitive. The reporting is versatile and exportable. The tech support area is prompt, helpful and answers even the smallest of questions with courtesy and professionalism. All tuitorials are detailed with screenshots and great directions. One of the best software purchases!!!
ConsNothing comes to mind - any problems we have encountered have been dealt with promptly with detailed instructions.
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2009
Jeff G.
Director of FIscal Affairs & Central Services
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2012

“Bunker Hill Review”

OverallI would recopmmend this product over any other product that claims to manage and develop the budget process. There is no comparison out there and this is hands down the best purchase I have made in my 11 years as Budget Director.
ProsEase of use Intuitive approach More accurate budgeting More efficient process Improved communication Easy access to previous versions More accountability from managers Minimal internal IT resources needed (personnel) Excellent customer service
ConsI have nothing negative to say about this product.
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2012
Kim A.
Manager of FP&A
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2013

“Addison Group Review”

OverallCreating spreadsheet budgets is not the best use of our finance team's time, but until we found BudgetPak, it was necessary. Our team was able to master the budget set-up tools in BudgetPak with very little training and with the XLerant product in place, we can now spend time focusing on higher value tasks. What we love about XLerant is it gives our managers the tools to transform their department-specific knowledge into a budget they can understand and own.
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2013
Hazel C.
Manager, Corp. accounting
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2009

“General Administrator”

OverallVery good budgeting tool
ProsEase of use for users. More visibility for department heads which leads to better decision making
ConsLimitations in forecast mode. A little complicated for administrator. Lacks instructional manual for administrator.

Vendor Response

By XLerant on August 22, 2019
Thanks to feedback from our customers like you, we are happy to report significant improvements across the board in each of these categories. We offer robust and easy to use forecasting and projections functionality, and we have award-winning customer service and training resources.
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2009
Linda R.
CFO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2012

“BudgetPak Review”

OverallI recommend BudgetPak as an affordable, easy to use replacement of Excel oriented budgeting.
ProsBudgetPak is an easy to implement, easy to use budgeting software. Department managers with little budgeting experience are walked through the budgeting process step by step, in a manner similar to Turbo Tax.
ConsMinor issues with headcount changes
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2012
Daniel B.
Associate Vice President of Finance
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2014

“Massachusetts School of Professional Psychology”

OverallWe wanted a system that not only could provide us with control over the budgeting process, but a system that could help us with forecasting the bottom line at the end of the year. Not only did BudgetPak meet those needs, we can now create a forecast in a few hours instead of a few days using Excel spreadsheets.
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2014
Yingxi L.
Financial Analyst
Entertainment, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“Very pleasant ”

OverallBudgetPak meets our company's need for budgeting purposes.
ProsThe software fits our company's need. The client service (Team) is very responsive. The communication portal (basecamp) is very convenient.
ConsThe software BudgetPak is constantly upgraded with new functions and advanced reports, which well satisfies our company's need for budgeting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Ferrell F.
Associate Director, Center for Advocacy and Care
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2009

“Love that BudgetPak”

OverallI'm a user so I don't know about the back end, but the front end is great.
ProsWe used a customized Access approach in the past that was terribly cumbersome and counter-intuitive. BudgetPak is just the opposite. This is our second year with it. I loved it from the start and still do.
ConsNo cons to report
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2009
Avatar Image
Jolene G.
Controller
Insurance, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“Great Software for nonexcel users”

OverallThe staff has been very helpful, understanding and responsive. They have found solutions for any situation we have brought to their attention, or have taken the suggestions to make future enhancements.
ProsOur end users have most liked that this software does not look like excel. It is user friendly. The ability to quickly and easily roll up the budgets will be a huge time saver.
ConsThe software does not yet accommodate balance sheet budgeting.

Vendor Response

By XLerant on August 22, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Jolene. Our focus to date has been prioritizing features that support collaborative budgeting and improve system ease-of-use. That said, thanks to feedback from customers like you, we've added balance sheet budgeting to our product development roadmap to be included in a future release.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Dana V.
Assistant Treasurer & Controller
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2016

“BudgetPak is a great tool and the customer service and support is outstanding”

OverallThe training video the BudgetPak staff provided for us was great and we had another successful budget cycle with BudgetPak! Once again we got great feedback from our users on the ease of use of the system.
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2016
Kathy H.
BudgetAnalyst
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“BudgetPak Beginner”

OverallI am attempting to have our College use BudgetPak in the place of budgeting with jut Excel.
ProsThe choice of menus allows users to work with whatever best fits them.
ConsTerms unique to this software are not translated to the new user. If you are not the one who set up the software, the terms are undefined.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018