Magento Ratings

Overall
4.3/5
Ease of Use
3.6/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Magento

Magento is the complete eCommerce solution for businesses that are ready to take full advantage of their online channel. This solution combines an unrivaled feature set with world-class support and virtually infinite flexibility, at a fraction of the price charged by competitive platforms. Learn more about Magento

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 476 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 476 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Scott F.
Director of IT
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Complicated But Can't Be Beat”

OverallI began using Magento over 15 years ago, in one of their earliest versions, when I had outgrown some of the boxed ASP.net solutions available at the time. The open source nature of the software is absolutely amazing, and it has been fun to watch it expand over all these years. Today I am running 6 different websites with different versions of Magento, and I've built many more than that, most of which are still in use. Magento makes it easy to create and deploy affordable eCommerce solutions that scale and grow with the customer, even if it is a bit tricky to learn for beginners.
ProsMagento is easily the most extensive and full-featured piece of open-source eCommerce out there. Once you understand the layout, you'll find that it is very intuitive and flows perfectly. What really shines for me for Magento is all the different options available out there. Not only are there open source versions you can host and manage yourself, but you can pay for the enterprise versions too. There is basically a plug-in or module available at this point for anything you need to accomplish, along with thousands of professionals out there that can help if you get in a jam. Best of all, Magento easily grows with you and is simple to harness and hold back features from, any easy to unchain it and grow with you.
ConsIt took me a good bit of time to learn AND get comfortable with this software and how it works, which was a bit of a pain, so this software isn't for the faint of heart or a weekend warrior shop keeper who doesn't have extensive knowledge of HTML, CSS, PHP, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Robust Out of Box Features Paired with Customization”

OverallIn terms of e-commerce platforms, Magento has proven to be a great value because of it extensive out of box features and relatively moderate price. Overall, it is one of the more commonly used platforms, so it is easier to find developers who know and are willing to work with the platform, which can reduce your maintenance costs.
ProsThe Magento E-Commerce platform offers a wide array of out of box features that are ideal for managing an online store. The platform also provides an extensive amount of flexibility for add-ons and customizations to cater to your specific business model and fulfillment needs. Extensions/Modules for the platform are readily available through a variety of vendors and developers at varying costs depending on the complexity of the feature involved. In a marketplace filled with expensive annual license fees and strict feature offerings, Magento is a great value for the investment.
ConsMagento has changed it target audience significantly since its acquisition by Adobe, now catering more to mid- to large-size businesses. This is reflective in its pricing model and its termination of support for the older version of the version of the Community platform (Magento 1). It's flexibility for modules and extensions, while very beneficial, can create complexity and additional development cost when attempting to update the platform, as news releases of the corresponding extensions also needs to be available in order to ensure compatibility. The platform must be properly updated and maintained on a regular basis in order to reduce security vulnerability, which is a responsibility that falls on the consumer as opposed to Magento. Corporate support for the platform is available, but if you do not have an annual subscription the service is not as prompt.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Goods, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Best Enterprise Level eCommerce Platform”

OverallMagento is incredible if you have the technical team and developers that know how to work with it and make it shine.
ProsMagento has a lot of functionality out of the box to set up and ecommerce store. The UX for M2 is significantly better than it was on M1. You can really narrow down the scope of permissions that your provide to users.
ConsThere have been a lot of bugs that have come up that should have been worked out before release. There is a fairly high technical barrier to entry compared to other platforms.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Printing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 20, 2019

“e-commerce platforms have made it very easy to open up online stores”

OverallFinal verdict Overall, Magento is the best online store building software for mid to large retailers. It can handle tons of traffic and deal with thousands of products. It offers flexibility and you can customize your site according to your preference and need. Magento has a great track record, so there is very less risk involved. It may not be very appropriate for small businesses, but if you have mid-sized or large retail and you are thinking of moving online, you should choose Magento.
ProsMagento Review Shopify, Bigcommerce and other e-commerce platforms have made it very easy to open up online stores. But Magento tops them all with 20% of all e-commerce sites using it. Magenta will not only give you a shopping cart; it will provide advertising solutions, analytics, content creation, and more. Giant retailers like Samsung are using Magento for their business. Here we are going to look at the pros and cons of using Magento for your online business. Magento is suitable for everyone, including non-programmers and programmers. It works very well for medium to large e-commerce sites. Magento provides both free and paid memberships. There are lots of benefits of using Magento. User experience Magento is very user-friendly. You can easily change your site according to the trend and your needs. The users enjoy a seamless shopping experience. The main dashboard of Magento is very well-organized. You will be able to find the things you need very conveniently. Adding new products is easy. There is a detailed user guide that can help you learn the basic functions. Features Payment is one of the major concerns for e-commerce sites. With Magento you can integrate your site with PayPal. You can have multiple payment options for the users. With analytics you can track the inventory, sales, etc. You can automate the reorder process. So, once the inventory reaches a minimum level, the software will automatically create a new order for you. With Magento you will be able
ConsThe setup and customization process of Magento is not very simple. If you don't have any idea about web development, you will find it difficult to customize. The enterprise version of Magento is expensive. The free version is also not entirely free. You need to pay for the domain names, web hosting, SSL certificate, and add-ons. It takes a long time to learn all the features of Magento. So, if any change needs to be made on the site, it takes a long time. As Magento is self-hosted, you should be concerned about the site's security. It's your responsibility to install the SSL certificate. Magento doesn't have many features to attract the small businesses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 20, 2019
Stephanie G.
CFO
Sports, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2018

“Flexible and Administration Ease”

OverallEnterprise and dealing with the development company that supported us was terrible but community and a local developer has been great. We didn't have the budget for the big version but were sold into it by the developer when the community version was more appropriate.
ProsWe are a small family business and reliant (for many things) on our ability to manage the back end of our site. Neither of us have a background in building sites, managing integration, etc. but we have been able to get very comfortable with the back end of the site. For a novice or inexperienced person, I was surprised that I could pick it up quickly. We use the community version which has been critical to controlling costs. At that same time, we haven't sacrificed functionality in that there are some incredible plug-ins that ultimately replaced the Enterprise functionality (which we moved away from because of the annual price tag). We also work with a small development company locally who manage the set up of the plug-ins (but quite honestly it seems fairly straightforward). As the site "breaks" (for lack of a better word), we have our developer do it.
ConsIt's possible that it is far more plug and play than I realize for plug-ins but would love to see something user friendly created. There used to be some version of Magento that I think was discontinued but you almost need something for smaller companies that gives them the sophistication of the community edition but potentially managed by Magento. In the next few years, we need to make a decision to stay on Magento or move and Shopify has a managed version that is very intriguing. Our computers are using it and Big Commerce and they look every bit as sophisticated on the front end as we do but we are reliant on a separate developer who could move on or go out of business. A stable subscription based product for larger small businesses would be great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2018
Charlie M.
Account Manager
Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“An In-depth eCommerce platform if you know how to use it to its potential.”

OverallGreat platform if you have the development team and budget behind you!
ProsI've been using Magento for over 2 years as the main eCommerce platform for an internet based company and is a great bit of kit if you know what your doing. Magento offer a couple of versions to choose from, giving you the ability to select the right platform for your level of expertise. The platform itself offers an indepth eCommerce system with the ability to pull reports, manage products, promotions, sales and much more, easily and effectively while offering a whole load of other back ground features to really help take your business to another level. In terms of support there is a whole world of this available via reading Q&A or by contacting them directly. They have a whole help centre dedicated to their platform and offering reasonable support when needed.
ConsIf you're a beginner into the world of eCommerce platforms then Magento isn't the platform for you. The interface is complex and can come across as a bit overwhelming if you don't know where you're looking for something. While it is a great platform, it is aimed at developers who have the experience to know what they are doing with it. Its not a platform for small businesses looking to set up shop for the first time. While not a direct reflection on Magento, we suffered lots of attacks from spam bots, some reports where not filtering correctly and we eventually changed to Wordpress when we rebranded. The move was a welcome one as unless you really get to depths with Magento, it can have a draw back effect.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Avatar Image
Chamath N.
Chief Technology Officer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019

“Magento makes your investments very worthwhile”

OverallMagento solves your eCommerce solutions even if you have an online business which requires scaling. Magento helps you to be hosted by eCommerce solutions like Volusion and Shopify that gives the flexibility you need.
ProsAre you looking for a solution in eCommerce? Magento provides you the solution of eCommerce. Magento makes your investments very worthwhile even if it is your main business. It has been recommended as one of the best solutions to eCommerce since it is flexible and scalable. It has also become so much popular for the fact many companies bear its name. Pros - 1. It is user-friendly. Magento's administration is has a very simple back end which is easy to navigate and has very perfectly arranged store management features. 2. It is affordable for anyone. The community version Magento doesn't require any money to afford since it is free. 3. It is flexible. You have the chance to create anything in Magento because it has been designed in a way that you can customize anything you want. 4. It also gives the ability to fully control the code thereby developing the type of functionality you require. 5. It is easy to scale. Magento designed in a scalable way on any amount of products you are selling.
ConsCons- 1. Only the community version of Magento is cheap. The other versions of Magento including support and enterprise and the premium enterprise versions aren't freely available. Their prices are very high for every person to afford. 2. Magento can only be hosted on dedicated servers. Since it is large, it can't be hosted in small servers that aren't dedicated because it needs to be configured. 3. It requires a lot of time to customize using magneto. The architecture who have designed it have made it complicated and hence it takes a lot of time to learn the learning curve and make customizations as compared to other eCommerce solutions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Fabian D.
digital marketer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019

“My Magento Review”

OverallMagento is the future of online shopping. You can truly customize your shop for any look, feel or functionality you need.
ProsI could customize my online store to look the way I want it while giving my customers the online shopping experience they deserve. The reviews extension really helps with building credibility.
ConsI found that starting to use Magento was extremely overwhelming. I had to spend hours just setting up a few features that I needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019
Samuel N.
Web Designer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018

“Robust, but SO Much Work to Use”

OverallHonestly, very few. I suppose it's good to have gained a little experience with Magento to add to my repertoire, but that's about it.
ProsThere are a plethora of installed features: search term synonyms, built-in marketing tools, detailed shipping/packaging settings, separate catalog and cart price rules, etc. It's a monster of a platform, one that serves many companies very well. Not having to install a hundred plugins (like on WP) to do what Magento does out of the box is a plus, for sure, not to mention having to worry about the compatibility, support, and updates on WP plugins.
ConsGo away for 5 minutes, you're signed out. Also, literally every website I download Magento to has to have everything reindexed. I get this message immediately after installing Magento: "One or more indexers are invalid. Make sure your Magento cron job is running." Very little info out there on how to fix this, so the first go around was a bit tricky. Not impossible or difficult now, but it's not a good feeling when you install software and immediately it appears broken. It is simply not easy to make a site look good with Magento. You can, for sure, but it requires SO much more work than other platforms, and there's not an easy way to view the front end without going live. The idea of not having plugins seemed appealing, but after using Magento, I only use WP with WooCommerce unless a client near-demands that I use Magento. It just takes way to long to create anything. The time I would have spent installing, updating, or researching plugins in WP, I wasted just trying to find my way around Magento. There should be a way to create a quick menu or admin favorites bar or something, so it doesn't take 3 clicks/pages just to get to where you want to be.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“With Magento, developer training is important”

OverallMy introduction to Magento was very bad. I was a developer that got handed a Magento website that had been built by someone who had never used Magento before. I broke many things. I fixed other things. I would find about 5 articles describing how to fix something and none of them said the same thing and sometimes none of it would work. I took an introduction to Magento course and things started making a lot more sense. Please, for the sanity of whoever builds your site, make sure they get training if they need it.
ProsMagento lets you do so much right out of the box even with the free community edition. It has great product management, comprehensive discounting options, multilingual functionality and more. Customization can also be done to hook Magento into your CRM software, simplifying inventory management. Since Magento is so popular there's a good chance that if you have a problem to solve someone else has already tried, and possibly succeeded, at solving it. There is a large plugin marketplace.
ConsMagento is a beast. You will not be able to make template or other programmatic changes to a Magento without a developer. Even then, the developer you have may struggle because the code can be complicated and confusing and online resources are often out of date or for the wrong version. If you are going to use Magento I strongly recommend that you get a developer that has worked on at least one Magento in the past. If you have the money and time to get your developer trained, Magento offers courses and I found them quite helpful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Oshan M.
Mobile Apllication Developer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“Magento : Perfect eCommerce platform”

OverallMore than just an ordinary eCommerce platform which is efficient and effective .
ProsMagento is suitable for any business group whether it is a small or large business and its admin dashboard will provide a perfect overview of the business.We can use free and paid plugins as our requirements.It is a Responsive eCommerce platform which can runs on any mobile or computer devices and also Highly customizable and developer friendly CMS platform.Enriched with important features and functionalities to provide everything in a one platform. Magento is capable for integrations such as payment gateways and able to set up currency and languages depend on the location.
ConsI'm using magento 2.2 . The main con according to me is, when i need to edit the content of a page it will give us only a small size text area(text box) which is difficult to work with using mouse scroll and also If we are having large number of products website may slow with its performance. Developer skills are required if we want to customize the platform.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Stella N.
Website Developer and Commercial Assistant
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017

“Magento a Good Starting Place for an Online Store”

OverallInitially Magento was implemented by a website design company to create a website to sell a bespoke service and products for us. Set up as a website that we can maintain and develop in house, which we have done for the past 4 years. We do not use the shop and buy basket element of Magento. But I can see it would be a beneficial website use for companies selling off the shelf products. It is fairly easy to use but basic HTML5 knowledge is beneficial. Multiple users is helpful, that has required training in house. Magento role out security patches that need to be applied; we have these applied by an external company. As a B2C company, we do not actually use payments online so I unable to comment on that element of Magento. For the version of Magento that we use, we do not have access to their customer support however on the occasion I contacted them and they informed me this; they were helpful and at least put me in the right direction. The entire set up is good for a ecommerce; it is especially good for maintaining SEO well and updating it regularly.
ProsMultiple users and ease to update website data and information.
ConsSome elements can not be updated in house and require a developer/programmer.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure that you or someone in your company know html5 as a minimum requirement.
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017
Christos T.
CEO
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“The most sophisticated platform to build online stores”

OverallMagento has helped us provide our clients with the best online stores possible. The websites are robust, fast, and safe.
ProsWith magento we are able to build the best performing online stores for our clients. Magento is very robust and can support online stores of huge volumes of traffic or products.
ConsMagento is quite difficult to set-up. A lot of infrastructure is required even for the simplest online store which makes it suitable only for high-end clients.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018

“Industrial performance on an open source platform ”

OverallIncredible way to leverage the power of e-commerce on the internet.
ProsMagento proves time and time again to be scalable beyond any other e-commerce platform that I've tried. With millions of plugins and plenty of developers working freelance worldwide, we've never hit a problem that can't be solved with an inexpensive plugin or a few hours of third-party development costs. We've put through tens of millions of pounds of transactions throughout the years and the ability of the websites to handle peaks and troughs of traffic are unparalleled.
ConsThe software needs a true developer to customise it's functionality. If you wish to do something that is not handled by a plugin, the process of specifying and developing a custom function takes more involvement than on other platforms. Magento provides a bulletproof solution for enterprises where a member of staff can be tasked with the daily running of the site, it's not a "fire and Forget" solution by any stretch of the imagination.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018
Kristine B.
Executive Director
Philanthropy, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 20, 2018

“Magento Community V.1.9.3.6”

OverallBoth our website consultant and one of the third-party module developers have recommended against upgrading to the newer Magento platform, advising that it wouldn't reduce any of the problems we have experienced.
ProsAs a small nonprofit, we couldn't afford most ecommerce platforms, and Magento has worked reasonably well for us over the past 3-1/2 years. Our website looks nice, and is relatively straightforward to update after a moderately steep learning curve for people with very limited prior website management experience.
ConsIt isn't set up for membership organizations, which we are in addition to selling products. Third-party modules have significant limitations. We have a membership module that our local web consultant has been able to reprogram to work better for us as problems became apparent (at extra expense, of course). Another module connecting Magento to Square POS sends only the total amount paid to Square, requiring us to do a lot of record-keeping in a separate spreadsheet for sales tax, member dues and donations, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 20, 2018
Avatar Image
Kevin W.
Web Developer
Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019

“Still the best scalable e-commerce platform i've used”

OverallAm surprised that Magento sort of ranks below Joomla, drupal and shopify in current market shares but I would definitely be comfortable with only relying on Magento
ProsMagento has been around a long time and has many stable patches released, community of forums and help along with long list of extensions/plugins. Magento structure is nice for keeping up and learning MVC. The free community edition is already enough to run full fledge e-commerce site as well as given the option to do multi-stores in the same account. As a developer i did not want a out of the block low-coding to start off with (wordpress/shopify) so its a great tool to keep up with.
ConsMagento initially always tends to be pretty slow. The admin procedures such as exports, updating, backup, etc all seem a little unstable at times. Understanding your current state and limit of scalability(before improving it some other way) always seems questionable or hard to gauge at first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019

“Super powerful, but can be cumbersome”

ProsMagento is clearly one of the most powerful and robust ecommerce tools out there. The Shopify approach, while great, takes a lot of the tools out your hands-tools you may need to make important technical changes to your store. Magento is very flexible, fast, and able to suit stores from small level to enterprise billion dollar retailers.
ConsWhere Shopify hides or locks certain technical settings from you, Magento gives you more access. But this can also leave your store open to being accidentally messed up by an employee that hits the wrong button. I've often said that while Magento can be fine for small start up ecommerce stores, it is best suited for bigtime enterprise level retailers with a team dedicated to fully utilize the tools Magento makes available to you. For the average employee for a small boutique, for instance, Shopify seems to make things a bit easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019
Avatar Image
Pedro G.
Senior Global eCommerce Manager
Consumer Goods, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018

“Great ecommerce tool, providing 2 different models (one free and another one paid). ”

OverallNot having to develop my own ecommerce platform
ProsOne of the most important things is really well prepared for handling the most common ecommerce businesses requirements out of the box even in the free version (paid version provides thinks like RMA support also), especially important supports international business setups. The things that are not handled out of the box can be completed through modules, some free/ some paid.
ConsThat hey don't have a SaaS option (they used in the past, Magento Go) as that will be easier for startups and SMB. Also the installation of the modules should be made more plug and play without needing tech support and more stable, as some time when adding new modules they crash with each other, and that means everything requires a lot of testing, that could be time consuming. In comparison to tools like shopify, Magento is much more complex.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018
Lydia H.
Graphic Designer
Sporting Goods, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019

“Perfect for online sales management”

OverallWe've been using Magento to develop and manage several websites for the past few years. While my team was not the one to create the website, we were given a lot of access to manage and customize it as needed. Including running ads, using widgets like location finders, etc. I also appreciated the places where you could instantly change a product value everywhere on the site.
Pros Ease of use for new users Options to restrict and permit users to have certain features Visual Set up Universal information implementation
Cons If your admin set you up incorrectly, you may be limited in your actions. Older versions are a little more confusing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Katie G.
Digital Content Specialist
Retail, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018

“Customization = Best in class ”

OverallTo customize the user experience and create clear brand awareness. With premium content and an intuitive UX/UI comes increase to website conversions.
ProsCustomize your heart out! Magento's base functionality has thousands of custom configurations that can be combined to create an intuitive user experience no matter how you want your site/store to function. If you're setting up an eCommerce store, this is by far the most amazing option as far as CMS is goes. Their user guides and training handouts make it easy to learn. Magento U training courses are invaluable to understanding the verbiage and concepts used across the software. (Scopes and creating any type of rule)
ConsExtensions requires to further customize can be a bit clunky. I wish further analytics were provided based on marketing features and rules created. Also, for a CMS that provides such a seamless user experience, the admin tool is quite clicky. The return key should work to apply filters and such- instead it requires clicks to move forward and such.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Public Safety, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018

“It was easy to transition from WordPress to Magento for a large e-commerce site”

OverallAbility to successfully handle business with various types of customers for a business that does both b2c and b2b.
ProsI used to think that WordPress was the best CMS available. However, once I started working for a company with complex e-commerce needs, I soon realized that WordPress just wouldn't do the job. What I enjoy about Magento is its ability to handle complex systems, and it's ability to integrate with various systems and plugins. Our business is both b2c and b2b, and I'm amazed at Magento's ability to handle our different types of customers.
ConsAt first I felt like the interface was a little clunky. It was not as clean of an interface as I was used to with WordPress. At first it can be a little overwhelming to navigate, but it doesn't take too long for the interface to become second nature. Also, there are a few work arounds that are needed here-and-there. For example, it's easier to copy and paste html code into a text editor instead of editing it within Magento. And sometimes there is a "save and continue" button that doesn't make much sense, as it redirects you to another page as soon as you save your work. But you get used to all of this pretty quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Thamara D.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018

“Reliable CMS platform ”

OverallDeveloper skills also essential to have a perfect Magento CMS .
ProsI am using Magento platform for more than 1 year. During this time period, I have experienced following capabilities which made me think that Magento is a reliable & easy to use CMS platform. * You can customize source code and you can accomplish your desired functions for your business. * Platform setting up is easy if you follow their documentation. * Best e-commerce platform to startup a large online store. * Developer friendly open source application. * Admin dashboard will reflect your business growth. * Can have large number of products without any disturbances. * Can change currencies according to yours location.
Cons* Have to flush the Magento cache once you have done changes using admin dashboard. * Not easy to use without IT knowledge. (Due to complexity) * If you have any desired functionalities you must have developer skills to accomplish the task. * Few free extensions are available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018
Ashwani B.
Project Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019

“Good Ecommerce Software with Powerful Interface”

ProsAdministrator- Features availability for admin is very good and if you are used of it then you can get each and every bit of data whatever you want to extract.
ConsBiggest problem with the software is its complexity. If you are beginner then it is very difficult to understand the structure of its panel. Also plugins customisation seems to be very tricky. You have to look for many options if you want to explore this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Maryann A.
Freelancer/online retailer
Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Magento - great features ”

OverallMy experience with Magento was a bit tough during the learning process but after that it has been awesome. I would always recommend Magento.
ProsFirst, I want to say Magenti is not as easy as shopify but with a little bit of learning, I was able to handle it. Magento is an excellent store building platform with great features and customizations. I was able to download Magento open source for free. I love the fact that they have an excellent active global community that's ready to thrash any problem. Did I say this software made for any type of business, products or services.
ConsFree but I needed to pay for hosting, domain, add ons, payment processing etc. If you want great specs and features then you've to pay.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Lindsey S.
Assistant Operations Manager
Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“Magento makes our website look great! There are a LOT of layers to the software.”

OverallWe are able to manage our website in house without having to hire too many outside contractors. We can personalize and update as things come up. It's nice to be able to have this control at our finger tips.
ProsThere are SO many options for personalizing the look of our website. Also, creating associated SKUs from a configurable SKU speed the process along, especially considering we are multiple clothing lines that we produce and release each year.
ConsA lot of things that seem "normal" on website we visit cost extra to add to our platform. There is no simple way to bulk price change or discontinue products. We use simple SKUs and configurable SKUs and would think that the information would trickle down from the configurable to the simple SKUs that are associated to it, but they don't. So for price changing, we have to go into every single simple SKU (all sizes within all colors) to make any updates.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Rob S.
Technology Manager
Biotechnology, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2018

“By FAR the best platform our company has used for E-Commerce”

OverallGreat E-Commerce platform that any small business owner should turn to when hosting their own website platform.
ProsMagento can do almost everything and anything and there are so many plugins and addon's from the Magento community that pushes it far beyond just a website platform into something else that can really be tailored to fit your websites needs. Our Company came from the Yahoo platform and that was just a 4 wall padded cell compared to Magento which is beyond anything we can fully utilize to its maximum potential for our E-Commerce business.
ConsThere is some learning curve to Magento; however, with a little time it is easy enough to master and ends up having much more functionality and versatility in the long run.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2018
Sunho C.
administrator
Arts and Crafts, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“Community 2.0 version is the way to go!”

OverallWe've been with Magento for 10 years now and we do not see a reason to go to any other platform as most are subscription based which is not so great for you.
ProsGreat platform to built your Ecommerce website. If you have programming knowledge you are all set! If not, you can hire a Magento Developer to get exactly what you want out of your website. Lots of extensions to customize the user and backend experience. V2.0 has made the backend experience on par with other platforms.
ConsYou need to know how to code to get a well functioning website. It is not as easy as shopify to setup and get running. However there are many developers who you can hire via upwork and other freelance websites.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019
Rushi B.
E-Commerce Specialist
Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018

“Magento is best for the Ecommerce websites ( Note : Magento is Not best if you are not technical )”

OverallMagento is Best in case you have a huge structural website like having Multistore - Multi language - Multi Currency but at other end you must have good fund to maintain that. Alternative is Shopify which is easy to use but when you need functionality in shopify its all Compromise.
Pros- Open Source and Free - Best Community Support - Latest Version updates - Multistore - Multi language - Multi Currency and many more feature which can only Achieve by custom costly development - Best Payment Gateways inbuilt like Paypal, Brain tree, Kalrna etc Best Available Ecommerece Solution in the Market
Cons- Speed of magento is horrible - Theme is Expensive - Extension are expensive - Developers are Expensive - Complicated Structure
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Paul A.
Software Engineer III
Telecommunications, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“As a developer this software was amazing. As a user there is a lot to cover.”

OverallIt's a big awesome piece of software, but if you just want to run a simple e-commerce site, it's not for you.
ProsMagento is rich in features and functionality. As a developer I loved working on this platform, mainly because the developers who wrote it took a lot of care and did things right. If you test it and think it's cumbersome, remember this: it's not built for running a single website; it's built for running a business. I ran 15 websites off one instance of Magento, using cross-site pricing, coupons, and integration to our ERP system.
ConsIt's big and it's heavy. There are ways to make it faster, because you need them. It has a high-ish learning curve for a developer, so do be aware of this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018
Kevin H.
Marketing Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“If you are looking to upgrade your e-commerce experience, Magento is the software to use”

ProsWith the vast list of Magento developers out there, creating extensions and customizations, there really isn't anything you cannot do with Magento. When our website out-grew the smaller platform we were running, we migrated to Magento and didn't look back. It's a powerful system that can work for any size business, but really shows the power on larger websites.
ConsThere is definitely a learning curve and a cost associated with customizations. You get what you pay for in Magento developers, so it's important to find the right one. It will cost you more for doing custom work than other platforms, but once you find the right one, the possibilities are endless and it will last.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018

“Good integration with Magento and excellent support Good Service”

OverallExcellent support and very good Service.
ProsIt is compatible with both Android and Apple and does not cause conflict in any. Install and synchronize the products in the mobile application is very easy. This extension is essential for everyone Providing superb experience Easy to set up and manage from admin side, results a powerful tool to engage your audience. Interaction couldn't be easier. It is very useful to develop our own mobile application without coding.
ConsIt is not flexible. does not allow the use of other people's content without permission. App purchases do not work. You can not create games with many complex elements. Unable to add user generated content.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Goods, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 3, 2019

“Good for e-commerce websites”

ProsThis was a good platform for our global e-commerce website. We did use a developer to build it out but was easy to dive into and help build out some pages to help the project stay on track with launch. You do have to have some background in websites and coding for some parts but most sections it is easy to plug in in the information. They allow you to handle your SEO easily and create up-selling, cross selling and promotions easily.
ConsI didn't like that there are some glitches but I think that is common for any platform. The glitches do require you to have a developer who is familiar or certified to build websites in Magento.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2019

“It is NOT as simple as it seems to be”

OverallIf you decided to go with Magento, get ready to work with installing PHP packages, checking your PHP versions, working with XML for any theme customization. Despite all downsides and dependencies/sensitivities of Magento... somehow I still believe that it is a very solid and reliable solution... :-)
ProsAll you need "out of the box" for your e-commerce project. Clean and modern design. Good performance of the store front (front end). Able to handle BIG stores. API friendly. Good official documentation.
ConsVery sensitive to PHP versions and packages. You do need to be a developer in order to get going with it. Lots of most important stuff is actually done through CLI... so get ready to work with black screen of SSH interface. Slow admin's interface (back end). Requires more server resources (it is almost impossible to run a Magento store on a shared hosting; Magento 2 official docs recommend a minimum of 2Gb dedicated RAM...) I do not like this one, but... real Magento developers are EXPENSIVE... this is not WordPress for you. Very small official marketplace for themes and plugins (extensions), as well as most of them either do not work at all (the free ones) or way too overpriced (those that do work).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2019
Oren M.
Project Manager
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019

“Great functions but difficult to set up”

ProsThis software is amazing when you need to build an ecommerce site with hundreds of products. It is not worth it when using for 20 products.
ConsEvery update, new feature or necessary module costs additional money. The basic version does not fulfill every user's need. Also, servers for magento are very expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2018

“Definitely the best ecommerce platform”

OverallIt's a really advanced platform so for this reason it might be a bit difficult to use for some, but besides that it's just fantastic. Magento has anything you'd ever need in a ecommerce platform, so that's why I recommend it 9/10 times. That one other time is usually for beginners - maybe they should try something else or at least prepare to learn a lot.
ProsIt definitely has the most extensive feature list, that's for sure! Catalog management, SEO, gift registries, customer service, order management and dozens more! If you want a really advance e-shop, Magento is your #1 choice, that's for sure. Advanced, really customizable, safe, always supported, that's why I love it.
ConsIf you're just a beginner, it might be a little bit difficult for you at first. But once you get used to it, you'll definitely love it. It cannot get better for ecommerce.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Raul F.
Marketing Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“Great software, but needs a lot of effort to make it work well”

OverallA good working e-commerce website based on open source code.
ProsThere is an opens source version that may work all right. I am not a developer and neither a technician and I could set it up by myself. Even when it takes hard work. There are plany of extensions to give your site the look and feel you want. And works well with multi language sites.
ConsIt is recommended for shops that has more than 1 million dollars of yearly revenue. After using it for some years, I see why. I think it can be fine for shops that sell more than 200.000 dollars per year. But it may need to have a developer working on at least some hours per week.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2016

“Is good, looking forward to future versions”

OverallI've always been a big fan of Magento CE and run several stores with that software. So imagine my excitement when I was invited to beta test Project Stratus (Magento Go). That feeling faded when I realized that I was most likely an alpha tester. When Go was launched, I cautioned them that the program was not ready for rollout. The complaints about Go you've read are legitimate; the lack of support, the billing issues, difficulty in setup' Magento is a beast to set up, but once it's running smoothly, it goes on forever. Magento Go is a beast to set up, even though they provide a 'walk-through' Q&A set up program. If you want to make your site look different from all the other Magento Go Sites, you better well be a cascading style sheets guru. Their SaaS (software as a service) program does NOT come with FTP access. All your style images have to be uploaded individually to their server through their web interface. This is a glorious pain in the tuckus. They do offer a bulk uploader for item, but don't you dare leave a field accidentally bank. It will upload the new items, even list them on Google shopping, but they will not be listed in your Manage Products page. You won't be able to fill in the field you left blank. Which brings me to tech support' practically non-existent. 'I'm going to escalate this for you.' was the most common support answer I heard. Did I ever hear back about the escalation? Nope! They only began to respond to me after I got my credit card company involved with them for selling a fraudulent product, and overbilling me on multiple occassions. Recently I like AbanteCart because of the code it outputs and it has so many great features. It has great UI, rather secure with a fantastic layout. Also installation of extensions is very easy. I also tried CS-Cart. It is easy to set up and manage it. There are much more features in comparing with other shopping carts.
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2016
Ian C.
it tech
Computer Networking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“The Best CMS ”

ProsYour customers shopping experience could never be better. Absolutely insane amount of custom features, extremely fast, and heavily equipped for SEO. For someone who is versed in web development this software has everything you could possibly want to start your business.
ConsAs with all eCommerce that involve the complexities whether its Prestashop, osCommerce, or Open Cart, and so on. It takes a lot of skill to set up a fully functioning site with the custom modifications that you need. If you are not adept in web development having a site with software like this can be very expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Warehousing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019

“Not for the beginner or for most users!”

OverallI wouldn't recommend unless you have a lot of money and the right team in place. Don't try to figure it out yourself.
ProsThis is such a robust software. you can run many websites and share the same cart. If you know what you are doing magento is super powerful. It's great if you are doing millions of sales per month on your website.
ConsThis is not for most people and even if you have a big company, there are other tools that are easier and just as good. Also for google ranking, it's much better to use a wordpress site. It's very difficult to use and the developers tend to be more expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019
Marian P.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018

“Great speed for a big online store”

ProsWe have choosed magento as being the best software in it's category, and it did not let us down. The team we hired for developing our store was a top agency in building stores and we finished one monthe later with a top of the line online store. The best thing when you choose Magento, it's that when you ask for something it can be done, that not being the case with other ecommerce platforms.
ConsThe cost is an issue for any startup or business, but it will be very quickly absorbed by the happy cusotmers that would return and the breeze of maintaining a big online store.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Ariel I.
Senior Web Developer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018

“Solid eCommerce platform with a quirks”

ProsI'm a Magento 2 Enterprise Cloud user, and I find the bundled services (CDN, Caching, Reporting, etc) to be of great value. They are also PCI compliant and support a wide range of payment methods, shipping, and integrations. The platform is just booming right now and seems to have a great future.
ConsMagento 2 Cloud Edition comes with a few restrictions for the sake of security. Those restrictions are a problem with extensions that aren't optimized for the cloud version. Cloud is a new product so developers are catching up with the specs. The installation of new features via extensions could also be a problem for non-developers. You will find WooCommerce, Shopify, and Prestashop click based approach more efficient in this aspect.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2019

“Expensive, There Are Better Options Out There”

OverallThis platform is not for first-timers. You have to be very detailed on what you want, and be very aware of the costs involved. It's not a good platform for a small ecomm team to manage on a day to day basis.
ProsThis platform is super customizable, which is a big deal for a fashion brand who is very stringent on their look and feel.
ConsThe time and money it takes to make changes is much more than, say, Shopify. You also have to factor in costs of server performance, which is difficult if you are trying to grow a business and need to forecast traffic in order to make sure your site does not crash during a rush.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Frederick U.
Director
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“If you build it they will come really should be if you build on here you're stuck!”

OverallThe platform is not plug and play the way Magento presents it to be. You are really only buying an outlined platform of how your site will approximately look. Most of the real work and heavy lifting still needs to be done in the programming. Not what expensive templates are supposed to deliver. Unless you can hire an in house experienced Magento developer stay away. You will either be taken advantage of and pay way too much for your site's development or be stuck with a foreign company impossible to communicate effectively. Almost all of the well know e-commerce platforms are easier to maneuver and have considerable affordable US based skilled help.
Prosthe ability to display and manipulate graphics is second to none.
ConsWe purchased megento 2.0 platform for our ecommerce site. We asked our friends at Magento to recommend some developers. My partners and I are fairly savy HTML programers and quick learners. We picked Magento because it came with a solid template and touted it's back end admin ease of usage. We figured we would hire a developer to make sure we had a correct skeloton and basic map of what we wanted in a site and then take over the work of actually writing and inserting the messaging and digital content. All the developers we were reffered to wanted starting retainers of $30,000 plus for what we knew would only be 10 to 20 hours of work for a developer familiar or specializing in Magento. We ended up finding our own magento developer who we thought understood our concepts and scope of work. Apparently they did but since most affordable Magento developers are based in India be prepared for all types of language issues and conference calls in the middle of the night. I'm sure we got what we paid for so shame on us but the alternative because of magento's lack of credible viable resources was to cancel the project.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Felix N.
SEO and BI Analytics Associate
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“eCommerce Simplified”

OverallHaving worked with numerous eCommerce solutions, both free and paid, I would say Magento comes on top as the best ever. It is the best solution for small to large businesses.
ProsMagento is an easy to use ecommerce solution. It does not require a lot of technical knowledge to manage. It has all the necessary feature required for an eCommerce platform; from Search Engine Optimization to Catalog management. It has a large community thus easy to get support.
ConsIt may require purchasing a few more extensions so as to achieve specific objectives e.g. In case you need a multi-vendor platform, you will have to add another third party extension as Magento itself does not offer that. It may need an experienced developer to customize.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Anton G.
IT Director
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019

“Full featured ecommerce website solution”

ProsAn oldy and a goody. Magento is very mature and is much more modern since their 2.0+ overhaul. Because it's mature, you can find integrations into many other solutions easily... payment gateways, ERP integration, etc. Includes many features that competitors such as WooCommerce charge extra for.
ConsNot the easiest thing to setup, but it is very capable so it's worth.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019
Samim S.
Marketing Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018

“Best eCommerce platform for small and medium stores”

OverallWe have recently migrated to magento2 from magento1 and we are very satisfied with the performance of the platform. The migration process was smooth although we needed outside developers help to do so but we got a much better, stable and faster platform with built in Full Page Cache.
Pros1. Community edition is completely free. 2. The latest Magento2 is way much faster, secure and stable. 3. One can start a store with just the vanilla installation. 4. Readily available hundreds of plugins. 5. Easy interface to manage orders and products.
Cons1. The latest magneto2 needs good server infrastructure to run smoothly which can be a little bit costly. 2. To change something minute in theme one needs developers help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Ankit J.
Partner & Digital Marketing Head
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2018

“Almost Perfect ECommerce CMS for Mega Stores”

OverallIf you are a megastore and want to add over 1k SKUs for your store, Magento can be Solution for you. If SKU's are below 1k, I would strongly recommend using WooCommerce or Shopify. It 'll be a much cheaper option. Extensions, Themes are quite expensive and plus the developers cost for customization is quite expensive as well. But it's all totally worth it if you are running a store with good earnings and good traffic. Small CMS like WP has always had scaling problems. But not Magento, it is totally built for scaling stores. Not recommended for small business or Startups.
ProsFor Store that has over 500 or 1000 products, Magento is perfect from them. Adding bulk products is quite easy. So many customizations and classes available for generation coupon cases or sale cases. Can easily handle big traffic.
ConsHave to have basic knowledge of PHP and html. Server has to be good. Atleast VPS or Dedicated. Very complex user interface. Extensions and Themes are extremely expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2018
Milana R.
Team lead
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018

“A complex but very useful CMS”

ProsIn the online store, created on the CMS Magento, you can functionally manage prices. Due to this function, it is possible for a certain category of buyers to offer individual prices, for example, to give discounts to regular customers. In addition, you can reduce the price for a while. You can also organize various actions, for example "when you buy this product you will receive free shipping or xxx as a gift." All special offers of the store can be collected on one page of the site, and, to make it you can be excellent in design from all other pages.
ConsCMS Magento is designed for experienced administrators, since the control panel in it is quite complicated, and you will either need to spend a lot of time studying it, or hire an experienced specialist. The main drawback of Magento is the English-language management interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018
Mark W.
IT Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018

“Overall A Great PHP Ecommerce App”

ProsI have in development, project manager over 4 years (enterprise level). The Magento core is designed such a way you virtually can do anything with it. What i liked most about magento is that most of the common ecommerce functionalities are built it, and it save you a lot of money and time.
ConsI am happy that M2 has been out for last few years. I wish there was a easy option to switch code from M1 to M2. M2 is a platform change, and requires me to rebuilt. I am sure somebody will create a module soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018
Julie B.
Sr. Ecommerce Coordinator
Medical Devices, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“Ecommerce Platform for beginners”

ProsWas easy to learn and train others with, love the ability for extensions galore.
ConsTheres minor issues that majorly mess with my OCD and although it may be how the developers coded something it shouldn't be possible. Such as when needed multiple of the same item of a selected product box, then going to the quantity and making it a 2 the box unchecks itself so you have to go back and check it again before it will add to my products. Small things like that are annoying.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019