Shopify Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.4/5

About Shopify

Shopify is a commerce platform that allows anyone to easily sell online, at a retail location, and everywhere in between. Shopify offers a professional online storefront, a payment solution to accept credit cards, and the Shopify POS application to power retail sales. Shopify currently powers over 160,000 retailers in 100 different countries, including: Tesla Motors, Gatorade, Forbes, Amnesty International, Encyclopedia Britannica, Maxim Magazine, CrossFit, Black Milk Clothing, Herschel Sup Learn more about Shopify

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 2865 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 2865 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Randi Z.
Owner
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019

“Shopify is Go To for Building Any eCommerce Physical Product Store”

OverallShopify is amazing. Building an e-commerce website on your own or with a developer is ultimately complex. Shopify has made this a simple experience. Building your own eCommerce site typically would require you to pay for a lot of things in all different places such as hosting with GoDaddy and a URL and then you need to buy all this different plugins from different developers. It becomes a headache. Your site can also crash and get buggy as a result. Shopify is an all-in-one solution and will usually never crash unless all of Shopify is under maintenance. It's just a really great software and a must use if you're building an eCommerce website for the first time. You can start with Shopify and most likely find all the features you need to keep your site there for the long haul.
ProsShopify allows even a beginner to build a really nice looking, responsive eCommerce site. You offer templates that you know help store owners be more successful. They are already designed really well and someone just needs to switch out elements to make the store their own. You made it easy to buy a domain, a template and hosting all in one place. You also have it easy to setup your sales tax which on platforms like Magento and Wordpress can requires additional plugins that can be a headache. You connect well with distribution channels such as Amazon and eBay and I can manage my inventory quantities all in one place.
ConsCons is of course with any DIY software limitations within the software. You also to customize this need to work with developer who really knows Shopify and deep coding experience, versus building a website on Wordpress, millions of developers know wordpress, Shopify has less true experts to choose from.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019
Chelsea D.
Business Owner
Retail, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Shopify for the win!”

OverallI love that shopify will scale with my business and that there are various pricing plans that give you different options and shipping discounts. It's easy to use and has other apps that work with it so I can easily generate line sheets and product catalogues.
ProsI love that shopify integrates seamlessly into my inventory program, social media accounts, email marketing platform, etc. They also work really well with google ads so you can add products to google shopping and run really effective retargeting ads. Their live view option is great and gives me an idea of where my customers are coming from. Their shipping discounts are also great!
ConsThe only thing that really annoys me is that I can't pick which shipping option comes first. Because one of my shipping options is "local pickup" and is free, I'd rather that not be the default shipping option (a lot of out of town customers accidentally choose local pickup and then I have to contact them and it looks unprofessional). Apart from that, it's a great platform
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Emeka O.
Trainer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Want to start Drop Shipping? Meet Shopify!”

OverallGenerally, Shopify has been an awesome service. I was able to build many sites with it. Ecommerce and Drop shipping is very easy with Shopify. With Shopify, I didn't have to bother about hosting my store or making my site secure. All these were taken care of by Shopify. It's ease of use for drop shipping is second to none, and I didn't have to be a programmer to enjoy it. The only turn off I had while starting was the initial cost because I wanted to start on a very lean budget. It's ease of use is beautiful. Using Shopify is fun.
ProsI love many things about Shopify. Honestly, I've not fallen in love with any other alternative as much as I have with Shopify. The pros of Shopify includes: 1. No Hosting required: This is a beautiful part of Shopify. With Shopify, I never had to worry about purchasing a hosting plan. Shopify hosts all merchant accounts on their server. 2. Free SSL: I love this a lot. With some other alternatives, a user may need to purchase an SSL certificate to keep his/her site safe, but not with Shopify. Shopify provides free SSL for all users. 3. Easy to use: With Shopify, I was able to get up and running in about half an hour. No programming skills required. Customising and tweaking everything can be done in about an hour. This is beautiful compared to alternatives. 4. Free trials: Shopify allows a new user to tryout it's services for complete two weeks without paying any money if the user desires. Being curious, I had to try the free service before deciding to make any purchase. 5. Easy to install apps: Shopify have apps to help users add functionalities to their websites. The apps are very easy to install. Their are both free and premium apps on Shopify. 6. Easy payment collection: Shopify has it's own payment system for users. This allows users collect payment for products and services from their customers. The payment processing fee varies from plan to plan. 7. Easy to integrate with drop shipping services: A large chunk of Shopify users are drop shippers. This is a plus.
ConsInasmuch as I so much love Shopify, honestly, there are a few turn offs. They include: 1. Expensive: For a starter, Shopify may be very expensive compared to alternatives like woocommerce. With woocommerce, a user can build a free forever ecommerce/ drop shipping site. The user only need to purchase a hosting service and an SSL certificate if need be. 2. Some apps are not available: I opted to using another payment gateway other than Shopify's. The issue I had was that I couldn't find the app for my desired payment processor on the App store. By this, I was compelled to use another payment processor. 3. Premium Apps: Shopify apps helps users add features to their websites. The con here is that many of the apps are premium apps, and should be paid for. This means that apart from the money one have to pay to use Shopify, the one still need to pay some more to have his/her desired apps installed. This can be a turn off for newbies, and others users. Apart from those cons, Shopify is a beautiful app to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Jay A.
Institute Director
Health, Wellness and Fitness, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“The Shopify platform is a richly supported online and retail solution ”

OverallI've attended a Shopify master class speaker event, done some studying along a roadmap towards certifications on the platform, and I've begun some nominal work upon creating web stores as a developer seeking to start establishing an E-commerce and brand management solution.
ProsThere are many aspects to the Shopify software platform, including 3rd party app development, e-commerce, retail Point-of-Sale hardware, affiliate programs for referring merchants, professional learning articles and paths to professional certifications of the Shopify platform. In addition, the Shopify experience, for users, admins, developers, partners, etc. is richly engaging with Shopify retail store events, here in downtown Los Angeles. Shopify's retail store presence features master classes from professionals who have successfully launched brands and online and physical stores using Shopify's technology and features, as well as their own third party establishments which integrate nicely within the Shopify platform.
ConsThere's a high learning curve to establishing a professional web presence in an E-commerce setting, and many steps and lessons to learn along the way, but for dedicated developers and entrepreneurs, the Shopify app is a truly viable tool for establishing an E-commerce web presence.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Vy N.
Owner
Cosmetics, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2019

“User-friendly platform that covers (almost) all your e-commerce needs”

OverallShopify is still my first pick after almost a decade working with E-commerce, but with a much lesser margin than before. Squarespace and Wix offer, in my opinion, good alternatives if you don't want to put up with constantly wondering "Why isn't this function in place? Oh, I have to install an app and pay X$ every month". I would recommend Shopify for those who don't require a lot beyond the standard E-commerce solution and/or won't mind paying a bit for some pro templates and apps.
ProsShopify is extremely user-friendly and easy to set up. It's intuitive even if you've never used an e-commerce platform before, and you're able to get by with no coding skills. The basic templates are plain, but professional and modern. Basically it covers everything you need to get started with an online business, the pricing model is fair, and there's a wealth of 3rd party plugins and templates if you require something beyond the standard functionalities.
ConsThough I've put the 3rd party marketplace as a benefit, I'm also left with the feeling that it comes with a hidden downside. Basic functions such as bundling and customer messages on an order (which, to give an example, Etsy offers) requires a 3rd party plugin with Shopify. After so many years in the industry, I'm baffled as to why this hasn't been implemented by default. The only reason I can think of is, why would they? Customers are forced to buy an app, which makes more money for Shopify. Another pet peeve example: You cannot use more than 1 discount code unless you install an app. Which means, you can't put 10% off the entire site, and offer customers an additional discount with a code.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2019
Brendon B.
Ecommerce Director & Digital Marketing
Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 21, 2019

“With all the gold standard tools for eCommerce, Shopify is fastest road to launch.”

OverallI have been rapidly deploying eCommerce customers, and they have been quite pleased with the handover. I love watching them take ownership of all the intuitive tools - the burden of training has decreased exponentially.
ProsShopify is a fully managed platform on the software level. Things just work all the time. No hosting hassles, code bugs, no downtime.
ConsCertainly feels overpriced if you can launch an equivalent WooCommerce store for close to free. I don't like how their pricing model is based on access to modifying the checkout process. Templating is a new language based on the Shopify variables,
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 21, 2019
Brady H.
Brand Experience Manager
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“The Best Solution for eCommerce-Focused Brands”

OverallOverall, my experience has been great! Sales have gone up since we moved to Shopify and it's easy to learn and teach to new employees!
ProsThe management and selling of products is the focus of this platform, and it nails it on that front. The backend order management, checkout process, and fulfillment processes are super easy to use.
ConsIf you want to make a beautiful site with custom-feeling pages, Shopify might not be for you. The homepage is relatively customizable but beyond that there isn't much flexibility unless you know how to code.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Jamie H.
Senior Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Amazing eCommerce platform for novices and developers alike!”

ProsI've been running an eCommerce shop for 5 years on Shopify. Easy setup and easy import of products from a CSV file. The app store has a large variety of free and paid plugins that deal with all the edge cases and shortcomings of Shopify. I've been able to import multiple other platforms and convert a Shopify store in a matter of hours. The user interface is intuitive and simple to navigate. In the last few years, adding channels to sell on such as Houzz and Facebook have made a big difference in being able to get visibility into our products. The ability to quickly change themes and customize using the Liquid language is quite nice for developers using this product.
ConsThe pricing between the middle tier and advance is a big leap. The middle tier plan only allows 5 staff accounts, which can be limited, to people using development consultants and virtual staff. The ability manage redirects (from a previous site) is limited but can be fixed by using a paid app from the Shopify app store.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019

“Good tool to manage commerce easily”

ProsShopify is a very good to manage you ecommerce even if you don't have many departments or people helping you our with your online store. To start, it is very intuitive, both the front end and the back end part. It guides you through all the process to creating the layout of your website offering multiple templates, product pages, descriptions to the payment processing to the shipping options parts. You can do all by yourself without needing much experience. This tool offers different plans, so make sure to read and choose the one that fits better with your business model. All plans allows you to upload products with no limits. Plans focus on number of accounts and other shop features. What I like more about Shopify, is that it offers their own payment platform (with many options) so no need to bother with an external provider if you don't have one. If you do, you can integrate it too. Shopify also offers the possibility to calculate taxes according to the country and the possibility to restrict your shipping area. Some features are a bit limited but you can find many options/plug ins on the marketplace. Needless to say, just be sure to give a check of all the features of the website everytime you install a plug in.
ConsThis tool offers the possibility of create an ecommerce easily, but if you are looking for something more customizable or for a big site, you might want to check other options too. The only blocker I have found so for is the possibility to calculate taxes not only on country level but on product/group level automatically. This would be very helpful for online stores that manage multi tax items
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Entertainment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“I use Shopify for all my Ecommerce Businesses”

OverallI built both shopify stores from scratch without prior knowledge and it took me about a full week to get the hang of things. I would make adjustments as I could to help convert customers. I still feel like it's the best place to only sell products but still a bit costly to make a really nice design. I now hire virtual assistants to make all the changes on the site and manage it but that can cost too so it's great there are API's to help grow the business, which all cost more money though, some are free (Reddit, pinterest). Overall, I will still use the software.
ProsSleek designs, easy to use, easy to keep track of products and sales, great third party API integrations and marketing software, and simple to run. Many Virtual Assistants already know how to use this software which makes life very easy for me. The simpler, the better. I have several shopify stores and I aim to make passive income in this realm.
ConsTemplates are limited, a lot of the development is backend yet I'm a visual person so I like to see everything as I'm doing it, and it can get a little overwhelming with all the integrations needed to turn a Shopify store into a massive profitable business. I feel like the best templates cost too much money and the ones we are offered look basic and not easily customizable. It could use a better blog feature section and a bit more visual aspects such as videos to help pitch or promote the business. Maybe even used for online courses with private logins would be great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Judah P.
Senior Account Executive - Commercial Print
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2019

“OK but MUCH room for improvement”

Overall2014 = great 2018 = terrible I would encourage rep. to contact me.
ProsWhen I first signed up for Shopify 4-5 years ago I thought it was the best thing to happen to ecommerce. Gurus were knowledgeable and accessible (via phone!), the product worked beautifully and it met my needs. Now that my business has grown and I'm finding that Shopify is not set up to handle a business of high growth. Shopify has grown so fast that the average conversation with a Guru has dropped from outstanding to barely acceptable. Most of the time, the I know more than the Gurus. Follow up from the gurus is also terrible. You can still reach them by phone but if you need to speak to someome in the company with more experience, you can only access them via email and they take FOREVER to get to you. So you can forget about getting any help from someone with real knowledge of the product. The native functionality is also only good for very basic businesses. For example, if you need to ship a single item in multiple boxes, you can forget about doing that natively in the app or taking advantage of their discounted shipping rates. If you want to get a custom app built, you can forget about getting any support on the API from the gurus because they don't know anything about API. Again, there is no escalation point for customers who have a higher level of needs. Want help from the Shopify Expert community? You can forget about being called and speaking to someone local. Most won't do it, I've tried. If you get a response, the best you'll get is an email that reads something alo
Consng the lines of "I can do this for you." and it's from someone on the other side of the world that has no clue about you, your business, your country or it's customs. I could go on and on but in summary, I am HIGHLY disappointed with the level of support and in 4 years have gone from a loyal, enthusiastic customer to a highly disgruntled customer looking for new options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2019
Brandon M.
Instructional Designer
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 16, 2018

“Very easy to get started with advanced features for those who need it”

OverallFor the price of the software, it is hard to complain about anything. It is super easy to set up and manage, tons of usability and plugins for advanced features, great customer service.
ProsShopify is very easy to get started with. It practically holds your hand with simple shops and the plugins make for a robust software that almost anyone can make use of. I use it primarily for selling eLearning courses. Shopify has plugins available for most LMS software. Simply connect the LMS to Shopify with a plugin, input the course identifier, with my LMS it is a string of numbers and letters that is unique to each course, then set the price and start selling. When you sell a course through Shopify, the purchaser automatically gets login information for the LMS and is automatically assigned the course they purchased. Shopify has a couple of options for setting up a shop. The first option, which is the easiest, is to create a storefront within Shopify that is like a website, just for your store. It is very easy to pick a theme and then just type in the information. The storefront through Shopify looks very professional and is worth it if you just need a simple storefront. The second option is the buy button, which I use for my companies website. This way, if you already have a website, you can just use Shopify to generate a code that will give you a button to place on your website. There are other options I rarely use such as generating a code for email which is similar to the buy button but I am sure it would be very useful for those wishing to email out their products. There are so many plugins to sell different ways that there would be too much to post in this review. The customer service is top-notch. They respond quickly and when I needed something, they worked with me until it was resolved. The last customer service need I had took a few tries to get everything going but they kept at it until it was fixed.
ConsThe only con I have is for a lot of the advanced usage, you will need plugins for anything beyond selling simple items, like I said before, this is a pro but it can be a con at the same time. Some of the plugins are simple and free but a lot have an extra cost to either purchase the plugin or a monthly fee to use the plugin. The creators of the plugins do need the pay, that is understandable, but most are out of small businesses', like my company's, budget.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018

“Shopify is a Clean, Responsive E-commerce Solution”

OverallHelped a friend setup multiple online businesses.
ProsIf you want to stick to just basics and you need a clean, responsive E-commerce site, then Shopify is for you. No programming knowledge is required and there are many fine templates to choose from, and you can always find more. If you are interested in starting online, Shopify is a good choice because it offers a PCI compliant and secure shopping cart and payment gateway solution. Adding products to Shopify is surprisingly fast and easy but you are limited to 100 Variants. Shipping integration with USPS, UPS and Fedex is included and integrates with many popular software via Add ons. Things like email marketing, product feeds, and popups are easy to find and setup. And you can export your products to Google, and setup customer reviews with some other add ons. Having all these extra with add ons is both good and bad, and customers should be aware of the small downsides to Shopify.
ConsMost things come included, however any extra customization requires some kind of add-on with monthly charge. Thankfully they have a good amount of add-ons to choose from, but most have fake reviews. Shopify much like other modern shopping carts is unable to store credit cards, out of the box. If your business needs to charge a customer for re-shipping, you have to create an invoice each time using an addon or creating a new order. Customer support is responsive but very general, but the basic Shopify will suit most small business owners. I am however not like most people, and like more customization. You cannot customize things too much other than what templates and add ons offer. Development on Shopify is highly difficult and goes above and beyond html / css however you can make some small changes like adding an image, or a link, a variable, or a tracking script with a look in their help center.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018
Igor N.
Operations Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“If you're starting an online ecommecte business Shopify is a Go to!”

OverallShopify is awesome for online selling no matter if your shop is small or a big one. You can keep it with few products only or you can scale it to thousands. Additional plans are available for more in depth reporting and functionalities too.
ProsI like the fact that Shopify team did a great job in making it easy to setup and use. You can literally set it up in minutes, get yourself around in hours and be up and selling in a day. Another awesome thing is that Shopify is integrated with almost everything out there, you name it. There are tons of free and paid apps that extend the functionality and/or simplify things. User interface is already optimized for optimal user experience and shopping so no need to worry there too.
ConsThe least, and probably the only thing I don't like in Shopify is the traffic source attribution. Now, this is something that will bother you when you are already gaining some pretty good sales and want to know more about where the traffic is coming from. Is it because of some blog post you've made? Is it because of the Facebook campaign? Is it from Google Ads or pure organic traffic? Now those are good problems to have to be honest, but when it comes to that I've experienced a lot of issues in determining those details. There are number of reports to give you an insight where the traffic is coming from, but to my personal preferences I find it lacking in details. Again, if this is something that is ok with you, go for it you will not regret it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Flutra S.
Manager
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019

“Best e-Commerce store ”

OverallSimply love the DIIIIINGGGG on my phone when I get a sale :) Honestly, it is quite easy to use it and lots of material on the help center plus I was positively surprised with their technical support, on many occasions they were very professional and very helpful. Add shipping costs for all the countries is kind of painful hopefully you guys will make some option to add the same rule for all the countries or something, at the moment we are using a plugin for that but would prefer the option available on Shopify
ProsThe best part about the Shopify is that allows you to code on the offered themes, but even if you are not an advanced developer their support is always there to guide every step of the way.
ConsOne thing that hopefully is soon going to be fixed is to be able to track the sales in more details and also be able to tell if the order is fraudulent or not. But for the latter, they come up with a good solution, not the ideal one but it gives me comfort.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Jaron H.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018

“I have successfully built 5+ websites with Shopify”

ProsIf you want to build an ecommerce website and you have little to no experience with web development, then Shopify is your place to go. Anybody can easily get something set up in less than a day and begin selling immediately. I have created multiple websites on Shopify for myself and it is a very user-friendly platform with a lot of basic functionality that you will need in your business. Shopify can automate many steps in the process of selling products, and it will also act as a central hub for all your customer and product information. If I wanted to set up a website from scratch or piecing together other applications, it would take a lot of time and proabably cost me a lot more than the monthly cost of Shopify.
ConsShopify is perfect for getting you going and it's great if you have a pretty standard and straightforward product line. If, however, you need to have some kind of a custom made function on your website, it's possible you can run into some hurdles. Shopify is in a tricky situation where they are trying to cater to those with little tech skills, but also needs to be able to work well with those that DO have the tech skills and want to customize things. One thing that is frustrating with Shopify is you're limited in certain ways when it comes to customizing website themes. You also are not allowed to upload your own theme. You must purchase the theme through Shopify. You are limited in your ability to customize the checkout page on your website.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018
Ryan R.
head of biz dev
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“It is a good software- would recommend to try it out”

ProsGood UI but some of the simple options available with other ecommerce products are unavailable or cost extra. For example, if you want to calculate shipping for each item (as opposed to a flat shipping charge) you have to pay extra monthly. Also, you cannot adjust image sizes. If you want a different size image for the category page and the product page, you have to upload 2 images.
ConsThis may be a good platform to start your online experience with, despite the high fees.However, I've run into an unexpected hurdle that I can not seem to resolve. I have had a chargeback (stolen credit card) from an order. It was settled, I had to pay out of my pocket. After I covered the chargeback willingly to keep my store operating, they froze my orders and would not let my money out of my account. They have started a fraud investigation on me, and requested my re-seller agreements and shipping and tracking information for my latest orders, which I produced promptly. This is not the frustrating part. I understand the importance of security and fraud prevention and would assist in any way I can to resolve the issue. It has now been two weeks since I submitted all the required information for review, and I have not heard anything back. No, we've received it and it's in review no we need more information. NOTHING. I have been calling back and they would not let me talk to the person who requested the information from me, because he is either out of the office, or we are unable to transfer your call directly to him. I have sent many emails directly to the investigator, starting off with nice and progressively more frustrated, but still professional and non-offensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Chelsee B.
Marketing & Operations Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“Highly recommend for all eCommerce”

OverallI can't imagine using any other platform for our website/sales home base. We actually acquired another company using a different platform for their website and are looking to migrate as soon as possible.
ProsShopify is both simple and powerful. An individual could easily set it up on their own, but there are lots of options and great features if you have a team/experience.
ConsWhile you can achieve most things via the various apps that are available, there is some functionality that seems like it should be available natively in Shopify. For instance, there isn't built-in functionality for customers to filter products while browsing. If you have more than just a few products, this is very necessary. You can take care of it with apps, but it would nice if things like this were available from Shopify out of the box.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Vishal N.
EA
Apparel & Fashion, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018

“Best E-commerce platform in the market”

OverallI have tried several similar platforms but Shopify is hands down the best E-commerce platform in the market. Definitely will recommend to all new entrepreneurs who are trying to learn drop shipping.
ProsShopify is the best platform for drop shipping and also for retailers who want to take their shop online. Anyone with no previous experience with web designing can also easily set up a shop and start selling globally. The dashboard is very user friendly and they also have tips and instructions displayed upfront to help you set up easily. It also has a 14 day trial that allows you to set up things and check out if your products are working. The customer service team is also quick to respond, I was not able to attach my card to one of my stores due to some issues with my bank and when I informed them that I was not able to take my shop online because of this and the trial period was about to come to an end and they extended the trial for me in just one request made via email. Once your website is set up it also has additional applications to help you add inventory, up sell products, send automatic emails, track orders, basically all that you will ever need to run an online store is taken care off all under one platform. I would rate it 10/10
ConsShopify has no cons to be honest. Everything works fine from the day you set it up and you do not need to patch or upgrade anything ever. The basic fee per month is also money well spent for all the amazing features. Its all just upto you to market your products and get sales to keep ur shop running.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018
Gayana I.
CX, Escalations
Internet, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2019

“the BEST e-commerce software available”

OverallTHE BEST PERIOD. no other e-commerce platform compares.
ProsShopify has many benefits: 1) extremely easy to navigate platform - they make everything so user friendly and beautiful. tons of images to visually keep you engages and interested while using 2) shopify blogs, help articles, education portal, and resources are AMAZING. This is the single best company I've ever seen that offers so much education and help for FREE. This is very helpful for a small business owner doing everything yourself. 3)thousands of apps available to further the shopify experience and add to your store to do anything possible. 4)cost effective - they offer so much for the most basic plan and you can even pause your subscription whenever you need to
Conssometimes the apps are not quality made and can slow down your store or not work properly, and sometimes you can't find help on really detailed things that are related to coding/building your site in a customized way. I also don't like that only the first page in your site is drap/drop and easy to create without coding/html experience, and all other pages you add have to be custom coded. This is not easy for 90% of the population who are not web developers. If they can do it for the landing page, they should provide it for any page you want to add to your site. I'd even be willing to pay more.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Kevin S. O.
Digital Marketing Manager
Furniture, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Great potential and possibility, but cannot skip tech spend”

OverallShopify is riding a popularity wave right now which makes integrations plentiful and easy. Their CDN is fast and dependable. If you dedicate a decent development contractor budget, you'll be fine. If you try to do it solely on your own, it is very time consuming.
ProsThe interface is easy enough to understand that, even if a programmer has rewritten the entire site in unique liquid code, someone unfamiliar with the platform could verify order information, write blog posts, refund customers, etc. Businesses require collaboration so this is certainly advantageous. Plugins/apps don't crowd the original UI so your main menu will always stay the same. Finally, Shopify is a major, for-profit market force which compels older applications to update to become compatible, and also new entrants elect to work solely with shopify. WooCommerce users demonstrate that they don't want to pay for even basic expenses. In this way, it separate to two extremes what wordpress tries to meet in the middle. WP has a short, steep learning curve with a lot of interface changes with plugins.
ConsAlways another tech language that's used, always another developer required. Customization nearly always requires a developer if its beyond swapping photos or fonts. Products with complex dependent variants do not work past a certain number of options. Limited. Be very wary of Shopify's app for Google products (ads, tags). These are essential for remarketing and configuration is often better done through coding and google than one of shopify's apps.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Jennifer J.
Owner
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“Best Value for your Money”

ProsShopify provides you with the solid framework to create a successful webstore very easily and for a good value. The templates they have available are reasonably priced and allow you, if you have an eye for design and a head for layout and organization, to make a very high quality and professional looking webstore with only a little effort. I really appreciate that Shopify provides a "all in one solution" for small businesses like mine to manage their web presence. Shopify has the basic reporting I need (at the basic level, advanced reports are available with bigger plans) and integrates with many apps for reviews and customization and planning and management etc. Shopify also provides you with your code base so that you can REALLY customize if you have a programmer at your disposal. However, I LOVE that it CAN be an all in one solution for anyone with basic computer skills. Their customer service, the two times I needed help, was responsive and helpful - so thats another plus. Without Shopify we couldn't have gotten our business off the ground - so we can't say enough good. I've tried both Wix and Big Commerce, but for an easy to use and fair priced website - Shopify is the BEST value for your dollar, hands down!
ConsI really don't have many complaints. I wish I had more access to certain reporting features, but I CAN have access if I choose to upgrade my plan. But thats on me, not Shopify, because I choose to stay at the basic plan. There was one day, in the last six months, where they seemed to have trouble processing and loading and hosting my site -- but one day in six months isn't bad.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“Great Online Store Builder for Beginners”

OverallI will say the first time I used Shopify I was very impressed with how easy it was to work in. I got a call from a friend who runs a non-profit. He had his designer bail on him after saying he would start the project in Shopify. I took at look and after getting into the system it was clear the other designer had done nothing with my buddy's web site. I had never used their system before but the interfaces were very easy to work in and we had his full site created with all of his products (about 30+) listed online and selling by the end of the day. It was pretty sweet to get that knocked out for him and because of that experience I have been using and recommending Shopify to clients where the system fits their needs. I definitely would not recommend it if you run retail stores with more the one location or if you need true inventory control, or accounting software syncing. Shopify is designed for the small retailer or business owner who is looking to get selling online for the first time. It works great and is very affordable for what it does. As you grow it may not be a fit anymore, but if you have sales coming in then you hopefully have the money to pay for switching to another system as well.
Pros- Really easy for beginners to build an online store; you can literally build a store in a matter of minutes - Does not require any coding knowledge - Excellent interface to work in - Great built-in tools for working with social media networks - Fantastic choice if you have a small inventory and are wanting to dip you toe into the e-commerce world cheaply
Cons- Reporting is a bit lack luster for medium to larger businesses - Inventory tracking is not good if you need more than just quantity on the shelf - If you have a lot of products and skus it can become hard to manage products; their system is truly targeted to smaller merchants or business owners selling out of their garage - Does not sync with Desktop accounting software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Berry D.
Director of Operations, Sales & Marketing
Apparel & Fashion, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 12, 2017

“Shopify Perks & Shortcomings”

OverallOverall, Shopify is the clear leader in their industry. Do they have shortcomings? Sure. But compared to their competitors, the shortcomings are few and far between. After all, no system will ever be exactly perfect to your unique business unless you decide to build your own software which comes with the glitches and lack of functionality that building your own software entails.
ProsAMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE. Shopify is entirely unparalleled in this regard. Their live chat option is not only convenient but staffed by PEOPLE WHO ACTUALLY KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT! They are not an outside tech support and it is clear how well each of them is versed in the system and its capabilities. Another amazing feature about Shopify is the plethora of apps that are available in order to customize your system (many of which are free!). This means that if Shopify is lacking in any way in terms of your particular business needs, there is definitely an app for it.
Cons1. They dont allow for multiple warehouses/locations in their inventory system! 2. They dont allow for cost of goods (COGs) vs. Retail pricing in their system which means it is completely useless for any inventory management or accounting needs 3. Their inventory system doesn't have an "inventory taking" system built in which means it has to be done manually (NOT an option for anyone who has ever had to actually manage an inventory. which i assume is ALL of us) Overall, their shortcomings are ENTIRELY within the inventory department which is such an essential aspect of running a business and book keeping.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 12, 2017
Isaac B.
Executive Director
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2019

“Shopify is a great e-commerce solution”

OverallOverall Shopify is a great platform for having an online presence in the e-commerce world.
ProsShopify is easy to set up, easy to use, and easy to begin making money (provided that you have customers). Their platform integrates with tons of other software, apps, and features. They provide very aesthetically pleasing themes (both free and paid), and their app store is full of add-on services to help optimize your e-commerce business.
ConsShopify can be a bit expensive if you go for the middle or highest tier. Also, there is a bit of a learning curve for optimizing your store (particularly if you are using drop shipping).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2019
Aly Z.
Product Marketing Manager
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“No-Brainer For Startups”

OverallSeriously awesome tool for start-ups. A little room for a few improvements, but overall, would definitely recommend.
ProsGreat e-comm product. Easy to use, easy to build reports, and if you're looking for a little more customization, it's easy to find the plugin you need. Customer Support was quick and helpful (I should mention that my experience has been with Shopify Plus, that has a chat system). It integrates seamlessly with most platforms.
ConsIt started to get a little tricky as we expanded as a business. For one, you can only have one system admin. This became a headache as we had to hunt down the 1 person who could approve a charge, before moving forward with anything. It also got a little trickier to work with as we wanted to move further from "out of the box" Shopify set-up. Custom PDPs, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Dave V.
CEO
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Is Shopify A Good E-Commerce Platform?”

OverallI have nothing but good experiences to now with Shopify. There have been times when we had to enlist the support team to work through issues, and they were there every time to get things right fast. That is why I still maintain stores on the Shopify platform.
ProsI have used Shopify for some of my e-commerce stores for 18 months and have had a good experience with the platform. It is very easy to set-up and gets to the business of selling quickly. For the new person who is entering the e-commerce online marketing segment, that will help a lot. Rather than working through the challenges of setting up a website and designing it so it works well, you have a ready solution and can upgrade later as you gain experience with widgets and add-ons that will work seamlessly with the platform and help you sell more.
ConsI do think that over time the costs go up too much for using the platform. Initially, it will not cost much, but as you grow your business, the monthly costs will go up for using the platform and any add-ons that you may use. This is not really a con in some way since you are going to be earning more. It is something that the entrepreneur needs to be aware of and plan for. As in any business, there is a cost for having the resources you need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Katie H.
Artisan/Owner
Retail, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“Great for Larger Businesses - Not for Smaller”

OverallShopify is still a software that I would revisit if I were to grow beyond what I can handle with my Etsy and Square current combination. Shopify has a lot of positive things to it that I can see would be incredibly useful to larger companies, but after over a year of using the software for eCommerce, it wasn't working for my incredibly small business. ROI just wasn't there - more because, I'm sure, I wasn't taking advantage of some of the features because I frankly couldn't handle the expense. If you've got more of a budget for eCommerce, advertising, and website management, this is a great piece of SaaS.
ProsThe flexibility to create/control my entire website was nice. There are quite a few functions that are absolutely critical to successful retail, like coupons, abandoned carts, etc. It's great for having multiple brands as well, as you can indicate which brand is attached to which item if needed.
ConsYou need to add apps for almost everything. I spent more time managing my website than I did creating new items while I was using Shopify, and I got little to no return on it. There are apps for importing items from other sites (like Etsy), apps for mailing lists, apps for just about everything you can name. Most of them cost - so there is more to the cost of Shopify than the monthly fees.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Donna D.
Make-Up Artist
Cosmetics, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019

“Shopify is an absolute MUST for e-commerce.”

OverallWhen I first launched my online store, I used squarespace. After a year, I switched to Shopify because we could easily adjust the shipping fee for the different countries. Plus, Shopify has that connection with FB, Instagram, Pinterest, and Amazon .. you can't beat that.
ProsThere are so many things I love about Shopify and their customer service is at the top of the least. They have 24/7 availability to chat live with a representative. As an entrepreneur, sometimes you are working late into the evening (past midnight) and someone is always available to answer your questions! I am floored by this. And if they do not have an answer, the representative will reach out to other employees and email you back with the solution. Excellent service.
ConsThere isn't much I don't love about Shopify. They connect with FB and instagram and sell on those platforms, they provide excellent analytics, easy information for shipping internationally, and many templates and apps to help elevate your business.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019
Danielle D.
Director of E-Commerce
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“I always appreciate how easy Shopify is to use. ”

OverallOverall, we have been able to solution things from, wholesale lock screens, to making a new site very easily. To app plug ins that help with fraud, and tracking analytics.
ProsThe best parts about this software are the fact that anyone can use it. Even people who are not well versed in E-commerce. It is fantastic for stores of all sizes, and now it can manage multiple warehouses. I love the support we get with Shopify PLUS, and every time I have issues or am looking for app solutions they point me in the right direction.
ConsMy associates get confused when the UX updates piece by piece, I personally do not mind it, but day to day as they do updates it can look different, and I need to explain to them this is how you would update a large platform like this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Neville P.
Owner
Retail, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“I should have switched to Shopify sooner!”

OverallShopify customer service is pretty amazing. They are knowledgeable and easily help you with anything site related. Customer service is not quick to get you off the phone, they truly seem like they want to help me succeed and even offer up suggestions on things I didnt know about for my store...I feel like each time I have had the need to contact customer service, not only do they resolve whatever issue I was having, they leave me with even more knowledge so I can excel my website. I've only had one issue that was unpleasant and that was when Shopify resynced my products to google. I was getting really good traffic and when they did the resync, all my sessions dropped to maybe 15-20 per day. Im still recovering from that because I was doing about 500 sessions per day before they did the resync. Wish they would have told me it would cause a pause in sessions because it turned out the products were already synced with google and live on the shopping ad I have running but for some reason these products showed as pending on the shopify side. They really didnt do much to check into that before doing the resync so this is quite frustrating that I lost my momentum with google.
ProsAnyone can create a great looking website with little effort or knowledge about building websites. A little bit of a learning curve but after that I found Shopify to be quite easy to use.
ConsI really dont understand the need for all the apps. It forces you to have to speak with third parties when issues arise with the apps. I feel the majority of the apps offer features that should already be integrated within Shopify but since the apps I've needed are free (for now) Im ok with this. I know big commerce uses apps too.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2019

“A pretty good option for a small business!”

OverallOverall, Shopify has made it simple to showcase and sell our product to customers all over the world. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone considering opening a small business.
ProsAs an employee of a (very) small business--just me and one other full-time employee, and a handful of part-time folks--I was so relieved to find an e-retail option that had just the right amount of functionality. We only offer a couple hundred products, so we didn't need something exhaustive. And because a number of our employees were part-time, we needed something with a low bar for entry. We found it! It's Shopify. Shopify makes it easy to add, edit, and update product pages, giving our online store a sleek and simple look that's easy to navigate. It also has a ton of handy guides for updating your site and ecommerce tips overall. I learned so much from their features on social media!
ConsEvery once in a while, it's difficult to format a page in the way that we want. Our landing page was especially difficult, and we had to rotate through a couple template options before we found one that worked for our industry. We sometimes feel that Shopify wasn't especially geared for our inventory processing needs, though it would be much simpler for someone who was only selling a couple kinds of products.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Yemin K.
Co-Founder & COO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018

“Great service but you need to be careful”

OverallWe saved a lot of time and money to build our own website. Most importantly we can be assured by the stable service.
Pros1. Easy to use and hassle free. Analytics is super helpful. 2. There are some learning curves but it is easy to get accustomed. Shopify constantly add up new features like social network integrations, new sales channels, added security and so on. 3. A lot of Apps to try although it is the double-edged sword. It is easy to determine which app you will pick based on a lot of reviews compared to different platforms. 4. Their default payment system - Stripe is very easy to set up. PayPal and Amazon Payment integrations are also very easy to set up. 5. Facebook, Pinterest and Instagram shopping integration is awesome. It is really helpful either send more customers to your website or real sales on those platforms. 6. Amazon and eBay integrations are not that great but worth to try.
ConsApps, Apps, Apps. If you want to add up some features that means you have to pay the extra money and also you might need to sacrifice your site's speed because of the added codes from Apps. Not every App but some Apps will definitely drag your site's speed. Uninstalling Apps are easy but there might be some residues from uninstalled Apps. That is annoying sometimes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018
Divan v.
Graphic Designer
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“One-stop Online Shop”

OverallShopify is a well-oiled machine and the platform is evolving with modern trends. I have had a good experience with this platform
ProsWith Shopify, you can choose from thousands of online store templates that will give your online store it professional look and feel. Payments are secured and handle very discreetly giving you and your potential buyers peace of mind. Shopify integrates well with the mobile application and is optimized for users on mobile as well as desktop screens. Safe and secure back-up of all your transactional data as well your website data can be initiated with a few easy steps unlike competitive software that relies heavily on plugins Shopify breaks it down so that the website owner needs minimal coding knowledge to get around the important aspects.
ConsIn some instances adding advanced features etc. onto a specific template can be daunting if you're looking at a high level of customization that is not necessarily supported by the theme itself you can be confronted with some higher-level CSS and custom HTML coding to make additional features work well. I would love to see a free plan on Shopify especially for users that want to familiarize themselves beyond the free-trial period that Shopify has on offer when you initially sign up or show interest.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
October 24, 2018

“Shopify is a powerful and empowering e-commerce platform”

ProsShopify has comprehensive features that are super easy to use. It offers everything you need to get your online storefront up and running quickly, and many more advanced features that allow you to integrate with other vendors' tools and platforms, e.g., Facebook shopping, Google shopping, Google Analytics, Klaviyo email marketing, etc. There are a ton of Shopify developers out there if you want help customizing your storefront, or you can choose from a bunch of existing templates - both good options. This is the second business in which I've used Shopify, and I think it pays to work with the leader in the space because of its flawless existing integrations with other platforms. You may be able to find something a little cheaper, but if you do, you will likely experience much more difficultly as you try to expand your business.
ConsThe built-in analytics are super basic; it would be nice to have something slightly more robust (but then again you can easily integrate with Google Analytics so you're not at a complete loss - you just can't see it all in one dashboard). Customer support is good for most types of questions, but not as satisfying for a few more challenging questions I've posed (e.g., why has Shopify recently auto-enabled abandoned cart abandonment emails, especially when GDPR raises a lot of questions about when/to whom those types of emails should be sent?).
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
October 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Pedro G.
Senior Global eCommerce Manager
Consumer Goods, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Excellent eCommerce platform from MVP to full scale”

OverallQuick and cheap setup
ProsReally easy to setup without any technical knowledge and very cheap options. I find it ideal for startups beginning their journey and business that want to go online with very low investment needed. It has also a wide ecosystem of plugins that you and add for the non out of the box functionalities, a lot of them for free and really easy to install and configure. Also one thing to remark is that you don't need to worry about hosting or capability as you scale the business as they take care of all of that + CDN for best perfomance. Also it has a more professional suite just in case you need more support.
ConsThe 2 most deceiving facts about Shopify for me is when you go international as it does not support multicurrency or different stores by country sharing stock (you need to create a different shopify for all of them)., that sometimes impact conversion as even if you are capable of doing some tweaks to show different currencies you can only transact in on, same happening with the localization of the site, which is not good for SEO purposes. the second thing is the fact that you cannot customize the checkout funnel, that provides the system to be more stable btu does not allow you to do A/B testing and improve conversion on checkout.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Courtney J.
Owner
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“Best Online Website Platform out there!!”

OverallIt has been wonderful. Any time I have had any sort of problem, Shopify support has been quick to help me figure it out. I have had ideas that I have passed along and now they are features on the platform. Shopify knows what they are doing and let me tell ya - I've tried every single website platform out there and I came back to Shopify for a reason. They are the best.
ProsI love how easy this platform is to use! I feel that I can accomplish more with how easy the platform is to navigate!
ConsI really have nothing bad to say at all.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Insurance, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“I recommend Shopify to anyone who needs a starter e-commerce platform”

OverallOverall, I miss the ease of use of Shopify and hope that I can get a chance to open another shop with them again here soon.
ProsShopify is ridiculously easy to get started with. Adding new products is really simple and intuitive. Building out the website portion of your store is also quite simple. Setting up sales tax is robust and shipping labels and that whole system is really handy.
ConsAlmost all Shopify stores look exactly the same. As a web developer and previous Shopify user, I can always tell when a shop is on Shopify.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Santiago A.
Co Editor Chief
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2019

“The best option in the market for e-commerce.”

OverallI have had an experience that has exceeded my expectations. By hiring their services, you receive a very intuitive platform that offers everything imaginable so that your business can be at the same level as the existing large brands. I really like that I can work with a team without geographical limitations thanks to the Shopify platform. I have saved a lot of time in the programming, they offer you many options in their templates so you can build your store with the details that you like, it is a great experience.
ProsIt seems fantastic to have in one place, everything you need for electronic commerce, I have a year of use for the people who work and it is great all the benefits it offers. You can, in a few minutes, upload a product for sale completing everything that your intuitive interface is requesting, then you can, within the same platform, use the SEO service to position your products in browsers, it's a wonder, , you can immediately post any products on social networks. I have worked with other platforms and none compare with Shopify. It has everything you need to succeed in digital entrepreneurship. Another important element in e-commerce is the analysis of statistics, with Shopify you have just one click, you can see the origin of web traffic and know from which electronic device people access your store.
ConsThe benefits offered by Shopify are greater than the negative aspects, so I do not identify problems when implementing it. They include constant improvements, so you can be sure that any possible inconvenience will be resolved in record time as we are accustomed to your customers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2019
Avatar Image
SAVIOUR YAO D.
SENIOR IT MANAGER
Apparel & Fashion, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018

“Shopify is the best ecommerce platform ”

OverallAs far as am concern, ever since I moved my store to shopify, I've not encountered any glitches. My sales went up due to their inbuilt SEO features which drives me more traffic naturally. I always recommend shopify to people who want to start their online stores
ProsShopify is a great place to start! Whether you are a small seller with a few items, or a huge company, It has everything you need to have a successful online store. Shopify is arguable the most popular platform for creating unique online stores. My number one reason for choosing shopify over other platform is their security and up-time Ever since i started using shopify I've never encountered any cyber security issues with them. The platform has a wide variety of themes which some are free and paid version. The themes are very easy to edit due to the drag and drop feature which was introduced not long ago. They platform also has lot of apps which you can use to extend the features of your store. In all I chose shopify over WordPress' woocommerce after trying my store on both platforms
ConsI have one major problem with the shopify platform. You can't set up complex shipping rules without paying additional money or upgrading to a higher plan. Even that you still need to pay for a shipping app from third parties to be able to achieve that. Secondly the admin dashboard is quiet slow when you are making changes to your store.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018
Brian M.
Director of Operations
Music, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Exceptional Open Source eComm Retail Software”

OverallShopify has led to a huge increase in our customers eCommerce sales year over year. It also allows them to have different types of sales strategies to offer on the webstore, such as, bundling and presales.
ProsWe use this software daily, as we help manage over 100+ Shopify webstores that deal with heavy traffic and hundreds of daily orders
ConsOverall the total experience and amount of available apps/add on features and customization Shopify allows is great. I just wish there was another intermediate shopify plan platform to help out some of our smaller customers and not have such a high monthly cost, but allows some of the app plug ins and other accessibility.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Jon P.
Systems Engineer
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“Fast, straighforward, and functional software to lauch an eCommerce store”

OverallI have had an excellent experience with Shopify. Straightforward billing that doesn't nickel and dime you. They have very little downtime and anytime there are issues, they are quick to resolve them. We are using Shopify for a new product line we launched several years ago. We didn't want to use our existing platform as it was too cumbersome and was setup to sell a fairly different product line. Once we decided on Shopify we were able to have our new product line launched within a month all while starting from scratch. We also like the ability to connect and sell our product on other channels such as amazon and eBay.
ProsThe best features of Shopify is how easy it is to get an eCommerce store up and running. They walk you through the steps to get launched. Everything is simple. They have many free and paid website templates to select from and you don't need to know how to code to have a great looking website. They also have many 3rd party apps available to solve most of the features that are lacking in the main Shopify backoffice.
ConsThe biggest downside to Shopify is that they make it so straightforward and easy to use that it can lack some more advanced or specific features that we would like. The good news is that they have a 3rd party app store that has plenty of apps to fill all the missing features we have desired.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Avatar Image
Scott S. M.
Sr. Data Analyst
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“An extremely powerful and easy to use e-commerce platform”

OverallEase of use and endless opportunity.
ProsShopify has been providing a very easy to use and powerful SaaS e-commerce platform for years. I can't even imagine using a non-SaaS shopping cart these days and Shopify is my go to product - even for sites that don't sell anything - purely for the ease of use of the content management (blog, pages). With a massive amount of site themes and 3rd party add-on apps, so much is possible. And, with help from a knowledgeable programmer, you can really make Shopify do anything with it's native language, Liquid. I think the real defining moment with Shopify for me that continues to happen is when I turn a less technical client onto Shopify and they don't call me for help because they intuitively figured it out. That alone is a massive accomplishment. But, I love all the other very thoughtfully engineered things like automatically connecting to GoDaddy to setup a domain.
ConsThere are some limitations in terms implementing more complex catalogs or functionalities that often will require a 3rd party app. An example might be very complex business rules for shipping in terms of multiple products that require multiple boxes, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Charlie M.
Account Manager
Wholesale, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“A Fantastic platform to manage ecommerce easily for all levels”

OverallPerfect platform to familiarise yourself with the world of ecommerce.
ProsHaving run ecommerce shops on various platforms, Shopify is by far the easiest to set up and run. It is ideal for all levels of ability, requiring no programming knowledge to get going. It is ideal for either solo use or within a team, so anyone can get going and quickly too. The platform itself guides you through the set up, enabling you to create a basic shop design quickly and offers numerous templates, third party plugins and the ability to track those all important sales. If you are interested in starting a basic ecommerce system then it is a great platform to start your journey with and comes at affordable pricing too.
ConsAs your shop grows, so does the likelihood of using additional plugins and the want to customise your shop further. These come with additional monthly costs and this is where things start to ramp up. If you feel the need to customise your shop further to fit in with your unique branding and want the ability to offer some unique pages, you will need knowledge of coding and still this may present a challenge. Shopify is perfect for those who are not tech savvy and are wanting to create a small ecommerce shop. However, for a bigger businesses it is not quite there yet. Lastly, customer service is sometimes questionable with the help received. It pays to read around and do your research rather than bank solely on their support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Jeffrey H.
Business Development
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019

“Gamechanger ”

OverallUsing Shopify over wordpress or other web-builders like Wix or Squarespace has been amazing. It's simply more focused and has more integrated web store abilities than the rest of them, making the online store building process much more enjoyable.
ProsIf you plan on creating your own online store, there are a few things to like about Shopify: -it's fairly cheap -The learning curve is quick. No need to learn to code. -It's pretty much fully integrated with all the apps/add-ons/web page themes that you can think of you can create your own professional-looking and fully functional online store extremely quickly and for the fraction of the cost of getting a custom website made by a web developer.
ConsUnless you pay for upgraded website themes, most other web stores are going to run the same theme as yours.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019
Jonathan H.
E-Commerce Manager
Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019

“Shopify is a MUST for small businesses!”

ProsEase of creating an online store. Listing products online is a breeze. SEO is very easy, just fill out most forms in the product template. You can literally put your business online in weeks and have payouts coming to your bank account days after its up and running. The shipping is also super easy.
ConsI wish they allowed multiple coupon codes at checkout. This would make in-store sales translate to online sales much easier. It's hard to have a big sale in-store with multiple different numbered discounts (like 20% off pants, 25% off tops, 30% off shoes) and then put the sale online as well. Google Promotions wants to have a code required to promote them in their program. It would just work easier if we could allow multiple discounts. That's really our only con at this time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019
Elaine E.
Owner
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“Shopify Still #1 Ecommerce Software ”

OverallShopify hosts our online store and we have used it for years. It has gotten even better over time and we've been able to graduate to professional level plan.
ProsHuge app store with anything you could possibly need, and many developers are familiar with the Shopify framework. Shopify is intuitive and easy to use. I have tried competitors but Shopify beats all in terms of functionality and features.
ConsIt is more expensive than competitors. I wish there were more features that came native with the plan, like drag and drop theme templates - this is now standard in the website design industry and it's disappointing that you have to pay extra for an app or theme to do this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Michael H.
Co-Founder | Creative Director
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2019

“Easiest eCommerce platform to get you up & running fast”

OverallWe use, manage, and develop Shopify sites for many of our agency clients from a number of different industries. Our clients' love Shopify's ease of use for processing orders, while we often fight with the customization limits.
ProsShopify is without a doubt the easiest eCommerce platform available in terms of getting your shop up and running quickly. With a ton of free themes and plugins, even light, non-tech savvy users will be able to get their products online within a couple of days. Shopify's support is also A1, with live chat, phone and email options available, they were always very quick to respond to messages, and even in cases where the issue was escalated to a developer, queries were responded to and fixed within 24hrs!
ConsThe major issue with Shopify is in 2 parts; Cost, and Customization. Due to its' ease of use, Shopify is a bit of a pain to customize. You'll find that in order to do anything above extremely basic eCommerce functions, you'll need to start stringing together a variety of plugins to get the job done properly. Most, if not all of these plugins will come at a cost, which is a recurring monthly fee. After a couple plugins, it's not unheard of to be paying upwards of $300/mo. just to get the base functionality you need. Furthermore, if you want to make any huge edits to the site's design or functionality, you'll quickly learn that the ceiling for customization is pretty low. You'll often be faced with "This is going to be way too complex to do a simple change" or "This is simply not possible with Shopify".
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Kenneth M.
Chief Operating Officer
Military, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018

“SHOPIFY FLEXIBIITY FOR THE MOBILE MERCHANT”

OverallThe Shopfiy system continues to impress us daily as we continue to find new features or they update the software with new features that make our retail management easier. The system is continually in a spiral development and I assume adapts to client provided feedback. The latest function we found that impressed us is the ability to utilize our mobile phones to scan a bar code on a product when processing a transaction and have it added to the cart of the client. We have bar code scanners that we use, but this was a nice backup feature in case our bar code scanner is not working and we are at a remote event site away for replacement bar code scanners.
ProsUtilizing Shopfiy for our retail management has been an incredibly wise decision for our business model. We operate both an online store but also an in store retail operations as well as a mobile retail when attending events. Shopify's flexibility to meet all three of these requirements has been second to none. The system has allowed us to have more frequent promotional sales, highlight retail items for special pricing for inventory clearance, and allows for special discounts. The inventory management capability has allowed for much more accurate inventory monitoring and reordering of retail items. This list of things we like most goes on and on.
ConsThe only thing that would be a draw back is our monthly cost of this software. We receive a non-profit discount for the monthly cost, but a lower cost would always be beneficial for the organization as well as lower processing fees, but their fees are pretty much industry average.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018
Muneeba F.
Head Of Operations
Research, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2018

“Shopify makes you manage and create your own store easily”

OverallI have benefited a lo from Shopify. Shopify has surely helped me in running my online business. I haven't earned much yet through this platform because I feel I'm still new to this online realm. I have more online presence with an increasing customer base. I can sell my products easily without any hassle. The return I am getting from just a small investment in this portal, this is just astonishing. As everything is online, I don't have to give this business a lot of attention as I know it still keeps on running without my intervention. The analysis feature helps a lot in marketing my product to the right market further bringing in more income for me. My inventory is well managed, payments are received securely and also my customers are growing. Clearly this is quite beneficial for the expansion of my business
Pros-Shopify lets you sell via your Facebook page -Allows you to use Shopify in a physical location to sell goods / manage inventory -Gives you access to Shopify's Buy Button, which allows you to sell goods on an existing website or blog. -Top notch security measures keeping my transactions secured -Brilliant customer support team -Keeps a track of my inventory in a much effecient way -Get detailed analysis and reports on my sales and forecasts -Easy to use and understand software -Interface is well designed making me addicted to the software -Integration with Paypal -Value for money
Cons-A lot of Unnecessary deductions by Shopify like Credit Card rate of 1.6-2.2% for every transaction via credit card -Shopify payments not available in many countries -Only 10 themes available with the free plan -Software crashes sometimes when I try to export data
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2018