EMPOWER Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About EMPOWER

EMPOWER is a fully integrated student information system supporting the management needs of colleges and universities. Its modular design supports ease and efficiency in recruitment, admissions, records/registration, degree audit, financial aid, student billing, alumni relations and much more. The EMPOWER database offers the industry-best security allowing data to be stored in one central location, managed, updated and accessed in real-time. Cloud-based or self-hosted options available. Learn more about EMPOWER

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Paullina W.
Registrar
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2017

“Easy Student Information System”

OverallEMPOWER is a user-friendly student information system that our school has used for over ten years! All of our departments, students and staff are able to use the same system and has made communication, tracking and reporting exceptionally efficient for our school. We use this database to do a wide variety of tasks from handling applications for incoming students, tracking students through the Admissions process, enrolling students into classes, storing confidential student records and maintaining them, a place to process/maintain billing/tuition payments, financial aid tracking, annual reporting and much more. We also use the web portal where students can view their schedules and pay tuition online, and we even use this as a place for our instructors to enter attendance and grades. Needless to say, it's organized our school a tremendous amount. Not only is it an easy software to use but all of the support staff are extremely helpful, and always go above and beyond as far as database support and training. I highly recommend EMPOWER!
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2017
Laura K.
HRIR
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2017

“Great for payroll; does a great job with the basics.”

ProsReliable, fast payroll process. Displays the payroll register before you post for easy double-checking. The payroll process is clear and straightforward.
ConsThe HRIS functions are limited beyond the basics. Very little customization available. HRIS employee-side and applicant tracking system are not browser neutral which is oftentimes problematic. They're converting to a new platform and because of that, R&D resources aren't committed like they used to be to this software product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2017
Conrad B.
Director of Personnel
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 9, 2017

“Empower provides payroll and HR software that helps keep us organized, although the reporting has room to be better”

OverallWhen we combine these couple issues with less than stellar customer service with our payroll provider that supports us in the use of this software, I would not recommend it--and we will be looking to replace it in the coming year probably.
ProsThe software helps our company keep much HR and payroll data accessible and accurate in the many needs we have in remaining compliant and keeping track of employees.
ConsMy 2 biggest complaints related to reporting capabilities and no built in time and labor (& accruals for time off) software. There are huge, almost endless reporting capabilities, but you have to master another type of software in the system in order to build many reports we need. For time, labor & time off accruals, it is "klunky" to have to login to another software that we use that interfaces with Empower.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 9, 2017
Jon M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017

“Fantastic product for the cost”

OverallThe customer service is out of this world. The modules are code driven and user definable. New features and functions are continually added to improve the product. The profiles and extracts makes retrieving data even easier.
ProsEasy to use. User definable codes.
Recommendations to other buyersCustomer service is very knowledgeable and fast to respond.
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017
Cassandra G.
Account manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2017

“Empower Review”

OverallImagetek has been a partner of Empower's for over 10 years and I've had the pleasure of working with them for the past 2.5 years. They are amazing to work with and care deeply about their clients.
ProsSoftware has a clean look and many options for customization.
ConsThe admissions piece isn't as flashy as other things on market because Empower is more focused on functionality instead.
Recommendations to other buyersEmpower takes concerns seriously and uses customer feedback to make software better.
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2017
Tiffany F.
Msr
Telecommunications, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019

“Empower”

OverallSo far this is the best one I've used to display metrics
ProsIts east to understand. The metrics are all on there in a nice spreadsheet format that isnt difficult to navigate. I haven't used it long but I am already impressed.
ConsThe writing can be a little small and I'm unsure if you can have different fonts set up (this is user related, I dont know all the coding and such)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019
Daryl C.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2016

“Terrible system to manage and process work”

OverallI have used several Financial Aid systems and this has to be one of the worse. The steps it takes to process basic financial aid information is simply time consuming and not worth the time. I have been asking a for a new system and it looks like this is going to happen. It would be better for a school to use Edexpress for processing as it is easier. Training for this system is cumbersome and not very detailed. Just to load ISIR's is a multi step process where you have to load instructions in order to load the files. I cant wait to get rid of it.
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2016
Holly B.
HR Manager
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 11, 2018

“User friendly”

ProsEasy to navigate through the system and easy for employees to use as well. Reporting is stream lined.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 11, 2018
Lynne C.
Office Manager
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Nice student information system”

ProsThe EMPOWER system is really user friendly. Student database is very useful and easy to use.
ConsNavigation could be a little easier, some of our students had issues
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018