The EDGE Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About The EDGE

Designed by experienced industry professionals, The EDGE is the most effective takeoff to estimate solution in the industry. Not only is The EDGE customized to your trade, but also to your business, so that your takeoff sources the exact materials and manufacturers that your company utilizes. With training to build the databases you need and the best customer service in the business, the EDGE caters to you. Stay ahead of the competition. Wouldn't you rather bid with The EDGE than against it? Learn more about The EDGE

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 290 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 290 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Cory H.
Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“Edge Review”

OverallWe use the EDGE as our primary estimating tool for typical Re-Roofs, New Construction Roofs, as well as wall panels. We began using the edge years ago using the digitizing boards to now using Version 12 with the cloud based system and image manager. There have been several changes within the last 10 yrs and I am pleased to say your help and customer support has been great. I am looking forward to integrating our company into the newest Version 12.
ProsThe software makes bidding and adjusting new/existing projects easy and consistent. Setting up the software to our company's specific job codes is also crucial for our estimating and cost tracking process.
Conson the current Version 12 I am having difficulties adding images to an existing condition/bid. The ease of use seems harder than the pervious Version 10. I would like to alter our overhead costs by entering a numerical number in lieu of consistently adjusting the percentages to match the overhead I want on a given project.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. Estimating Edge has a knowledgebase which can help you answer these questions. https://www.estimatingedge.com/knowledgebase/add-an-image-to-an-existing-job-v12/ will help you add an image to an existing bid. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Carl M.
Estimator/Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2017

“The Edge Software = More time and more money”

OverallI've been using the Edge Estimating Software program since 2005 and have been happier as a commercial roofing and waterproofing estimator ever since. The ease of use ing the Edge estimating software program is very easy to use - a 10 as a perfect score; however, you do need to go to Florida for a week of training, which I highly recommend so you can learn all the features and how to use them correctly. The features and functionality of their estimating software program allow you to bid much quicker and efficiently - a score of 10. What used to take me 10 hours to perform a complete take-off, with labor and material totals, now only takes 30 to 45 minutes. This allows me more time to bid more projects and help make the company more money in the process. The value of the estimating system pays off for itself with the first job you sell! Plus, knowing the Edge system has all the templates for almost any type of commercial roofing system and manufacturer helps to make sure there are no mistakes and nothing is left out on your bid. The days of having to look at 36" x 42" blue lines is over. You simply download a pdf on your screen, set the scale correctly, and you are ready to perform your entire take-off. I use the Edge reports to give our foreman and superintendent the labor and material take-off's which shows them if they are going over the budget and helps them to get back on track if necessary. I sometimes make colored prints of the roof plan showing the complete take-off with the associated legend to help the client better understand what is involved in their re-roof project or new roof project. I can continue to go and on about the benefits of using the Edge system, but just know that the value of the Edge will give you peace of mind and help save the company thousands of dollars in preventing material shortages, due to estimator errors(the old fashion way) as well as how much labor dollars you will spend in manhours and crewdays you will need for each job....I cannot put a dollar amount for this value because it is priceless and worth every penny spent on the Edge Estimating software program. The customer support has been very beneficial over the years and continues to be so. If I ever have a problem or need to ask a question, I simply call the Edge and talk to a technical representative and in less than 5 minutes, I'm a happy customer all over again. The overall quality rating of the Edge system is a 10!
ProsHow nothing is missed on a typical take-off. All the labor and materials are completely figured for you while performing each command.
ConsN.A.....everything is great!
Recommendations to other buyersJust continue to update us with new changes perhaps in e-mail form to each member.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on May 5, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments.
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2017
Shane N.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2017

“Really enjoy The EDGE, just wanted to point out a few things”

OverallWhile the majority of the time I love the functionality and practicality of The EDGE, I've run into a few "glitches" as well as a few things I believe could be added/changed with the next version. Please see my thoughts below. 1. Look up Database (Misc., stud, board, anything) shows No items to display happens a few times a month. Have to restart Edge. 2. Option to lock in Board heights so that it does not change when changing stud heights. 3. 6 Mil poly Labour shows up under prices. 4. More Track options in soffits. Can have 8 stud types but only 2 tracks. 5. Option to automatically allow for curved/flex tracks at walls plus arch bead and ¼ board at soffitss and arch molding at ceilings when using convert to arch 6. Allow same bead ( 3 counts) options for furred walls as there is for regular partitions. 7. There is a user code for special labour but not for special material. 8. Molding swap outs for acoustic ceilings to allow for C channel @ radiant heat panels and flex molding at curved walls 9. Would like an undo button for deleting conditions, pages etc. 10. Add a Notes page that can be added to the pages tab to put reminders, scope items, exclusions, etc. 11. Option to save Stocking and other Reports as pdf for e-mailing to suppliers. 12. Add condition for ceiling board swap outs 13. Multi condition selection tool does not always capture interior soffit, ocl. (May be more, only noticed with this one) Again I would like to reiterate that day to day I love the EDGE, these are just a few things i've noticed over the past couple of years. Thanks Shane

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments and we welcome any additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2017
Jeffrey B.
Vice President
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Edge (Vs 10.7)”

ProsWe can customize the database. This allows us to have consistency with our estimates. The functions are intuitive. The learning curve is short. The on-screen takeoff communicates well with the pricing and condition setup features.
ConsThe functionality of the software is behind some of the competitors. We are on an older version. It can be glitchy. We've lost estimates when the Edge crashes. This is less frequent as new versions have rolled out over the years. From what I've seen, these issues are addressed and resolved in the new version. The cost to convert to the new (cloud) version is extensive. There will also be a learning curve. The architecture of the software is all new. This will be an additional cost (training and down time) and will introduce opportunities for estimating errors until we get the new software figured out.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Joseph B.
Executive Vice President
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Best Roofing Estimating Software on the Market”

OverallWe have standardized on The Edge as our estimating software company wide. Their technical support is second to none. They consistently listen to their customers and implement changes that benefit their customers on a regular basis.
ProsEase of use, database for labor and materials, reports and ability to import estimates into Timberline/Sage 300 accounting software. The tapered insulation module enables us to do our own tapered packages and shop drawings in house.
ConsThe new version does not have the "Detail" capability of the previous version and it is cumbersome to update item pricing.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Dane L.
Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“EDGE Review - Dane Lantry”

OverallOverall very exceptional program. There are a few items i wish could be implemented in an upcoming update: - Drawing Maneuverability - I have used AutoCAD extensively and the zooming/panning operation with the mouse is much better/easier than what the EDGE currently offers. The zoom function is achieved by rolling the wheel of the mouse and the panning is achieved by holding down the wheel while moving the mouse. Currently the EDGE zooming is much slower and hard to control either with the keyboard (ctrl++/-) or the zoom window in the top right corner. Panning is not very user friendly whether the window in the corner or the keyboard arrows are used. - Customizing Reports - the reports function of the EDGE is a very useful tool. However, sometimes i need it to spit other information out and this is not a very easy task to modify. - Excel - exporting to excel is a nice function but i have been told that importing from excel is impossible. when entering prices in the Prices screen it isn't possible to pull down a value that is the same for multiple items. This repetitive process takes time and leaves room for potentially dangerous errors.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s. Zooming and panning has been greater improved in Version 12. This version is now available and can be implemented immediately depending on your databases. This greatly improved version is a total rewrite which enables us to deliver innovative features, an updated modern interface, is web-based and is much easier to use. If you are interested in upgrading feel free to contact sales@edgeestimating.com.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Dennis H.
Senior Estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2017

“Version 12 Review”

OverallThe new version is easy to learn and move around within the program. It as the same basic function/layout as for the different tabs, scenario, section, condition, drawing. It has some great new features within the drawing (take-off) screen, but some improvements would be helpful in certain areas of the drawing (take-off) screen. I'm sure that there are other great changes that I have not seen yet, but overall, the new version 12 is a fantastic improvement from previous version of the Edge Estimating Software. I cannot wait to get all of the other estimators working on the new version.
ProsAccurately producing a bid. Keeps the project organized when it come to alternates, VE options and other project changes.
ConsManipulation of the drawings within the take-off screen, example - measuring, without being within a condition, draw lines parallel or perpendicular to each other. Detail screen not working or is very limited in what you can do.
Recommendations to other buyersNeed to utilize the use of measuring on the take-off or on any documents imported to the project. Need to have the same ability to manipulate the drawing on the detail screen, example - measuring, drawing lines etc... Need to be able to insert a hyper link to a detail page.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2017
Abiezer A.
Chief Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019

“After learning it well, you love it.”

OverallI had a great experience with this software. I do not consider it user-friendly. I consider it for technical people and I love that. As I consider myself one, it was easy for me to learn and I have mastered the version I use in a way most users do not... or so I have been told throughout many years.
ProsIt allows me to customize my templates.
ConsSome materials are stored in different parts of the database where they cannot be used equally all over. For example, if I create a new material for an adhesive and I store it in the "SF Misc Type" it cannot be used if you want to enter the formula using it from "EA Misc Type". In reality the adhesive comes in a can and sometimes, depending on the situation you may need or want to use it either way. However, if all the materials were stored in the same place in the database, you could use them however you wanted them without creating duplicates. In my opinion there are too many compartments for storing and classifying materials. It might be some coding requirement for the programmers but I do not know that.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 17, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019
Michael C.
Senior Estimator
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017

“Long Time User”

OverallI think the product is great. would love to see the changes forthcoming with Version 12. I think there are a few of items that would only make the program only that much better.
ProsThe fact it walks you through each assembly and gives you the areas you need to focus on. unlike with Qbid you have to know each part and peace before building the assembly.
ConsSome of the Onscreen features of Qbid would make the edge that much better. like the ability to just select a portion of a wall assembly in stead of the entire wall. or having to break it up into small parts.
Recommendations to other buyerswould love to see an integrated material pricing system. where i can email the bill of materials straight from the Edge to my suppliers and they can send it back and be able to compare side by side.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s. Additionally, version 12 is now available and can be implemented immediately depending on your databases. This greatly improved version is a total rewrite which enables us to deliver innovative features, an updated modern interface, and is much easier to use. If you are interested in upgrading feel free to contact sales@edgeestimating.com.
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017
Tyler T.
Project Manager/Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Estimating made easy”

OverallThe Edge is a completely comprehensive method of estimating construction projects. The best part about the program is the user has the power to manipulate the input in order to meet his needs. The Edge has been a terrific tool which has allowed for a full breakdown of our operations from estimating all the way to evaluation of job cost versus expected O + P. The friendly staff at the Edge in Boynton Beach, Florida have been great to work with from the time I was in Florida for the introductory stages to the customer service aspect now. It's a terrific program and I would highly recommend it.
ProsThe overall functionality of the software is seamless. It's very easy to set things up and estimate a project using the Edge in a matter of moments. Once the preliminary stages of learning the ins and outs of the program is complete, it makes taking off a project very easy.
ConsIt can be clunky at times when revisions to estimates are necessary.
Recommendations to other buyersIf one purchases the product and wants to begin using it, I highly recommend spending a week in Florida with the Edge team. They can show you exactly how the programs function and where things are located. It would be like learning a foreign language at times without their support and help from the week on location with them to the customer service aspect of it.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
David D.
Fireproofing Consultant
Construction, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2017

“Edge for 18 years plus!”

OverallI have used the EDGE for fireproofing estimates for more than 18yrs. The Edge software is very versetile and allows you to build a system that is taylered to your business needs. I have also use the edge for developing estimates for Fire Stop, Insulating Roof Systems, Roofing Systems, Sprayed insulation such as K-13 and Monoglass, as well as generic SF, and unit counts for other materials. I would recommend the edge to anyone who does estimating for a career.
ProsAccuracy, data bases, on screen, printing of reports, and charts for shop drawings and field crews.
ConsIt is a little more in depth than most estimating software and takes more time to learn, however the benefits of the learning process are realized in the accuracy and customization to a company's needs.
Recommendations to other buyersSpend the time to use the Help Function, it is very detailed with step by step directions. Also spend the time to learn how to use the system to its full potential. As a consultant I find that most people don't realize how powerful the Edge system is. Especially with input on customer information, and the use of the Edge as a project management tool. The Edge is a very powerful tool for project management not just estimating. Job tracking, ordering materials, field operations , change orders, project closeout., etc...

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on May 5, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments.
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2017
Mike K.
Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 28, 2018

“The Only Estimating Software”

OverallBest construction estimating software on the market.
ProsI've been using the Edge Estimating Software, on and off, since 2012. I own another take-off software that is a great tool for measuring, but doesn't have the integrated condition builder and pricing features. Scanning through some of the other reviews here, let me assure you, that the negative reviews are from those who don't have the correct operating system to run Edge functions or the user just doesn't understand how to use the system. Construction take-off's are only as easy as your understanding of the part and pieces (conditions) required for an accurate take-off. The Edge Estimating System is the only software I would suggest for on-screen take-offs with the ability to hand-enter if you're so inclined. I prefer on-screen as there is 0 chance of losing a condition in transfer.
ConsYou can't load large pdf's at one time. Can't view more than one screen at a time (would be nice to be able to open a detail page and measure parts while building the condition). A little pricey.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 28, 2018
Abiezer A.
Chief Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2017

“I love the program and the support”

OverallI have used it for 10 years and I enjoy working with it. I have to recognize that for most people that have used it in our office throughout all these years it has difficult and for some very difficult. I have developed a database very user friendly but once they have to make changes in the miscellaneous tab it becomes almost impossible for some of them. Despite all of this, I love the program and the support. Abi
ProsOnce I develop a group it becomes very easy to use and change to any particular project.
ConsCreating a new group using materials not listed in the original database is somewhat slow and complicated. I think it lacks a little flexibility in the sense that one single space changes one material in the price screen.
Recommendations to other buyersI would like to have one unified database of all the materials instead of compartmentalized to use based on if a particular material is being used per SQ, SF, LF, etc. I don't know if it is possible but that might help simplifying the overall process of changing systems.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2017
Spencer S.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Edge Estimating 10.8”

OverallWith all the little quirks the Edge has, it is still a fairly versatile program. I came from PlanSwift 11 and even though it was a little easier to do take-offs, the database building was much simpler with the Edge (for the most part). Overall 8/10.
ProsCustom Database Building. Ease of Take-off estimating.
ConsThe small bugs (Crashes, install issues, etc) Not Cloud Based, yet. No tutorial on how to make custom 'reports'.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Scott M J.
Estimator / PM
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017

“Estimating ”

OverallI really enjoy using the edge for my fireproofing take-offs. The simple design of the user interface makes it quite easy to use, and their technical department is very responsive to questions and dealing with the back-of-house operations if changes with-in the program need to be done. This program allows me to greatly increase my production as an estimator in both the quantity and quality of my estimates for my company. With the ability to upload drawings directly into program, I have gone paperless in my estimates, saving my company money in the long run by not having to order or print out drawings anymore. The Edge is a great tool for us and highly recommended.
ProsEase of Use. Good Technical support.
ConsFireproofing Shop Drawings as printed out directly from the Edge are a bit messy. I need to use a PDF editor to edit and clean them up. Should have the ability to write notes directly on the take off pages that can be included in the printed out shop drawings

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017
Joshua N.
Chief Estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Great estimating tool!”

OverallThe Edge is a clean system that allows our estimators to quantify and create bids that are easy to review and simple to follow. Having a uniform bid software makes training easy! The Edge reports truly give our project managers an advantage in ordering materials and understanding the bid. A great tool!
ProsThe software makes for an easy take off. Reviewing bids is simple. Revising old bids or creating multiple bid scenarios is as simple as a click.
ConsNot many cons... you cannot manipulate colors or fonts. So visually speaking you can't make color separators for grouping. Not a game changer.
Recommendations to other buyersThe EDGE has the capacity to transform the process from award to construction if it is set up right. Like many tools, you can take 5 minutes to enter in good information or cheat and put in basic info. Garbage in = garbage out. The support group at the EDGE is 5 star! They are quick to respond, they take all feedback seriously and we see our suggestions in updates.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Erik R.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Estimating Edge Review”

ProsIf you are doing fireproofing, this is the only software to have. It simplifies everything and takes all of the guesswork and time out of manually estimating this work
ConsThe scroll wheel doesn't work and you feel like you're in the 90s using this software, but none of that effects the overall functionality. There is a slight learning curve to train your brain how to use it, but then it becomes second nature

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Rick M.
estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019

“Ricks Review”

OverallI have only been estimating for 2 years now, before I used the edge we would use planswift and then make an excel sheet for the estimate, switching over to the edge really helped stream line our estimating process.
ProsIt a do all software, you don't need to use a program to measure and another to estimate, its all in one.
ConsWe have trouble making a report to print of the estimate that the project managers can understand, we are still working on that where I work.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 25, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019
Dave M.
Senior Estimator/PM
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2017

“Great product overall”

OverallI have been using the edge software for 12 years now and so far it has been the best and well rounded system so far. The cost seems to be getting a little high compared to other programs with similar functions. I would like to see the system receive a few upgrades to justify the cost. Hopefully this will include a production control module for the project management side.
ProsThe accuracy of the system, the simplicity and universal use of the conditions.
ConsDoesn't have enough features to assist with the project management side. Needs more control options for uploaded drawings. would really like to see a production control feature for managing projects.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s. Version 12 is now available and can be implemented immediately depending on your databases. This greatly improved version is a total rewrite which enables us to deliver innovative features, an updated modern interface, and is much easier to use. If you are interested in upgrading feel free to contact sales@edgeestimating.com.
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2017
kim a.
Division Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019

“Allows you to give consistent estimates ”

OverallTechnical customer service is unparalleled. I cannot say enough good things about how quick they help. I would recommend it highly.
ProsAllows you do measurements from blueprints without having to print blueprints. Also allows you to so takeoffs from aerial views.
ConsYou can't go into the program and update prices. You need to go into an existing estimate and update it from there. Would be much easier to be able to go into the database and update quickly.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 25, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. In the database, you can update templatized items. Which is a fantastic idea for a future webinar. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019
Dennis H.
Senior Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019

“The Edge - Not There Yet”

OverallOverall experience is very good. Like the program a lot and it fits our company well enough for the estimating team.
ProsThe versatility of creating different conditions. The ability to quickly add conditions. The accuracy of the calculations.
ConsNot able to stack hyper links from page to page. Need to track details from Elevations back to enlarged details. Sometimes this will be three to four pages back into the documents. Do not have the ability to add notes, lines, clouds, bubbles, etc... to the take-off page. Can only add notes in one line and not a paragraph type setting. Need better options in printing out take-off, annotations come out too large and it does not print out correctly on 11x17 size paper. Need to utilize the project management side of construction as well.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 25, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019
Allen S.
Estimating and consulting
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“THE BEST”

OverallVery good.
ProsEverything: Clarity Complete Job costing tracking Flexibility
ConsWish it was available in Apple mac systems

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Austin T.
Estimating Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019

“Austin Rackley Roofing Review”

OverallWe have been able to bid many more projects with the edge, with less estimators. To go along with that, estimates have become much more accurate and fool-proof.
ProsI like mostly the time that it saves while estimating compared to by hand takeoffs and also the accuracy it allows if things are set up properly. I like the ability to fully customize everything from estimating templates to the reports and so much more.
ConsThere are several features that have been taken out in version 12 that we really liked as a company. Also there are several smaller bugs in the newer version that hopefully shouldn't be too difficult to work out.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and we would love to hear what features you would like to see in version 12. Please fill out our product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019
Pete S.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019

“The Edge review”

ProsI have been using The Edge since 2006, I believe the software version was 7. We are now using version 12 with the cloud. What I like most about the this program is the ease of use and how it reduces my time estimating. With the time saved, I am able to take that time and be productive with other task during the day.
Consthe Edge is a great program and if I had of to choose something that I like least I would say, the setup and not having the ability to transfer job information into our accounting and project management program.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on August 26, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The EDGE does integrate with accounting and project management software. To view the integrations, visit https://www.estimatingedge.com/integrations. If you do not see your integration on the list please submit a request at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa or email marketing@estimatingedge.com. We continue to improve The EDGE experience and appreciate your candid feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019
Travis S.
Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2017

“Cuts estimating time in half. ”

OverallI have been using the Edge estimating for about 3 years now and I can't imagine life without it. The Edge Estimating is so important to me that when I recently switched companies and the new company didn't have the Edge the first thing I did was call Ryan Bogart in sales and purchased a license out of my own pocket. The Edge allows me to bid each job more comfortable because of the great database and tools. I strongly believe that my success in estimating is in a large part due to the great software programs like the Edge. The Edge Estimating is always there to help answer any questions I have and that includes both the sales and technical guys. Everyone I have been in contact with at the Edge has been absolutely great and I absolutely recommend their software to anyone.
ProsThe Database and the tools are great.
ConsThe software can be a little complicated at first but the technical team is always a phone call away and they are great with helping.
Recommendations to other buyersThe software is great and they are always updating the software to make it better.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on May 5, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments.
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2017
Jeff B.
Vice President
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Edge Review”

OverallI've been using The Edge estimating software for 12 years. I've secured and managed jobs ranging from small to over . The conditions are easy to manipulate to accommodate odd or difficult conditions. The program can be unstable. We are using an older version (10.7.3) due to costs and the process of moving to a newer version with an all new architecture (not backwards compatible). When using the Wizard (which you sometimes can't get around), it will change the formulas it uses to calculate board counts. The wizard makes you input a number (example: 48 for 4x12 board). When doing so, it overwrites the formula that uses the inputted board width and length. Easy to fix, but you have to know to do it.
ProsIf set up and checked, it will provide an accurate estimate. It's on-screen capabilities streamline the bidding process
ConsSometimes unstable. The wizard changes formulas.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Blake F.
Project Manager/Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019

“Edge Review”

OverallCustomizing the reports to create production rates for the field and creating SOV's.
ProsI like the dual screen capability, being able to customize reports, the software is user friendly and the customer service is top notch. Representative, with the Edge, has be integrall in transition from 10 to 12 for our entire team. He will always take the time to listen and help it we have any problems.
ConsNot being able to run multiple job take offs, not being able to pull conditions from one page to the next from the take off screen and not being able to print a drawing report on a wide format printer without additional editing software.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 26, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019
Christopher V.
Sr. Estimator/Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Sr. Estimator/Project Manager-DRI NFCA-(IFRM/SFRM)”

OverallOver my career that has spanned over 23 years. I have taken projects off from the old school method by hand. To utilizing a number of other estimating programs that are out on the market. The EDGE system is by far the most comprehensive all in one system that is a must have for any Fireproofing company. From saving time in doing take off's to the daunting submital process. Most would agree that this is the Holy Grail of the Fireproofing world!
ProsOnce configured to meet your in house requirements with cost coding and other basic formatting. This is by far the best system i have ever used.
Conswould give it a 10 if not for the occasional 5 second time to back up...

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comment about the 5 second time to backup has been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Addison E.
Manager/Estimator Specialty Coatings
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Estimator/Manager Specialty Coatings”

OverallI have been using edge know for over two years. We have asked for UL updates the whole time. Every UL update still has the wrong thicknesses. On intumescent fireproofing, I have to go through and check and or change the thickness. This is on every manufacture. On the ease of use, its complicated at first then as you use it I see little flaws. Such as, UL rating wrong, no undo button, difficult to break out individual sheet material counts or linear to sq.ft. Defiantly better than others but lacking follow through.
ProsIt's software, much better then by hand.
Consincorrect UL's , no undo, and ease of gathering individual member material counts.
Recommendations to other buyersno

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on May 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. Updates are available and we would be happy to help you "apply" the updates and verify the various thicknesses. If you need instructions or help please contact the support team at theestimatingedgesupportteam@edgeestimating.com.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Matt O.
Estimator
Building Materials, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Good Estimating Software”

OverallEDGE provides great information that would otherwise take a lot of time to figure out manually. There are features (UNDO BUTTON!) that would be nice, but overall the user interface and available reports are great.
ProsEasy to learn user interface. Provides usable reports. Easier and more thorough than estimating by hand.
ConsNo undo button. Some of the more intricate features are difficult to learn how to perform.
Recommendations to other buyersUndo button! Better training (not even sure if there is any, I have for the most part taught myself the software).

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We have noted your request and welcome additional comments http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s. We welcome the opportunity to help with training to ensure complete end-user satisfaction. Please feel free to contact sales@edgeestimating.com. We also have a YouTube channel that has a collection of how-to videos located http://go.edgeestimating.com/YouTube.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Ricky S.
Senior Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“My Edge Review”

OverallI've been using the Edge ever since version 7 back in the summer of 2000, and here am I now on version 12 in 2019 so almost 20 years and I wouldn't want to use anything else to do my estimates.
ProsAll in one take-off and estimating program that has the ability to integrate with your accounting software to have precise job costing. Cloud based so little to no digital footprint has to be stored on someones computer and you can access your project anywhere with an internet connection.
ConsThe reporting feature they allow you to use to manipulate their default reports is extremely time consuming and should be much more simple.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Dwayne S.
Estimating Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Estimating Manger”

OverallOverall its excellent, Easy to use and train other and new estimators on.
ProsEverything! Like that they keep doing upgrades but get kind of hard to get all the estimators in our company to upgrade to the most current version every time one comes out.
ConsThe cost of the program, Sometimes drawings don't load clearly, Seems like sometime items data base changes after something is saved? Adding different fastener lengths for taper on several conditions because we do not have the taper module.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Michael P.
principal
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“fireproofing”

OverallThe Edge allows you to take off many more jobs then other options, although the fireproofing seems to be the red headed step child of the company. We are always the last to get updated.
ProsEasy to use, very detailed. Data bank is detailed
ConsIntumescent take off's are outdated and do not work. Need to update several functions
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Leo R.
Vice President at Best Roofing
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2017

“The best estimating tool in the construction industry, estimating some other way is on the past ”

OverallThe Edge estimating software allowed the users to be able to pick a part every single condition in a job. The way that is develop based on 3 primary conditions to use such as the area, length and count makes everything so simple to put together from the take off stage to the final material and labor budgets. Very helpful tool and impressive capabilities and conditions to use. I'm very please with the amount of estimates and budgets we can put together in a very short period of time.
ProsThe software help us to estimate about 12 million dollars a month in roofing construction related projects. We operate the entire company based on the cost budgets generated by the Edge software
ConsNo very many cons. The Edge software technical department always keep improving the software capabilities and fixing all new bugs.
Recommendations to other buyersExcellent estimating tool. Good cost analytic tool Control Budget from A to Z

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on May 5, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments.
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2017
Miranda A.
Roofing estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Roofing Estimator”

OverallRoofing estimation. Shingles and flat rolled membrane Roofing as well as sheet metal fabrications.
ProsAbility to relace tilda codes. Ability to change units from LF or SF to pails/tubes etc.
ConsUnclear of how and when items get changed and messed up in the database. Especially when we hire a new employee something always seems to get messed up. Adding an "are you sutr you want to change this in thr database" prompt might help. Also a "select all" button eoukd be helpful in the wizard.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We welcome the opportunity to help you to ensure complete customer satisfaction. Please feel free to contact support at theestimatingedgesupportteam@edgeestimating.com or sales at sales@edgeestimating.com. We have also noted your request and welcome additional comments http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Andrew S.
President
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Edge”

ProsGreat for keeping you accurate on material estimates.
ConsEntering labor amounts is very subjective.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Robert S.
Senior PM
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017

“Robert's Review”

OverallThe system is fairly simple to use, updates are far and few in between. Customer support is typically okay, can be a struggle at times though. Upgrades are a little confusing, still awaiting the cloud service for EIFS which has been in the works for over a year and half I believe and was informed would not be available for another 6 months at the earliest.
ProsEasy to manipulate the conditions and formulas to fit our systems.
ConsThe absence of cloud service and expense of technical support, which has increased over 100%
Recommendations to other buyersKeep users up to date on progress made for future upgrades, send notices on status and expected release dates.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. Your suggestion on update notification is appreciated and we have implemented it into the release process. We also welcome additional comments http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017
Rick S.
Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Love the EDGE, WANT THE UPDATE!”

OverallI really do love The EDGE and what it allows me to do. I am much more efficient and consistent in my bidding. We have been anxiously waiting for the newer version since we bought the product almost 5 years ago. Every year we get teased that it will be ready later this year, and almost 5 years have gone by.
ProsThe built in features such as Sheet Metal count and the various reporting options
ConsIt is still outdated
Recommendations to other buyersFinish the update please

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on May 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. Version 12 is now available and can be implemented immediately depending on your databases. This greatly improved version is a total rewrite which enables us to deliver innovative features, an updated modern interface, is web-based and is much easier to use. If you are interested in upgrading feel free to contact sales@edgeestimating.com.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Kip H.
President
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019

“Longtime User”

OverallThe Edge saves me so much time in preparing estimates. Time in the office is limited. Using the Edge lets me make the most of that time.
ProsI've been an Edge customer since the late 80's when the program was DOS based. We bought then for the same reason I use it today. It's fast and accurate. I can change systems and calculate numerous alternates with ease in in short order.
ConsThat's really hard because there's very little that I don't like. If I had to give an answer it would be that the tapered insulation designer was an add on instead of being part of the program.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 25, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate your loyalty to our product. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019
Ian P.
Estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018

“Good program for quick estimates and takeoffs for material and labor on construction projects.Great!”

ProsEasy to learn, for beginners to the program. Easily manipulated to fit a specific companies needs, awesome!
ConsAfter giving feedback about new updates to the software, most of our suggestions weren't taken into consideration leaving us frustrated. This also opened up more problems trying to use the new update the way we were used to working, slowing down our productivity.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on June 6, 2018
Thank you for your review and comments. While we strive to include all customer feedback in releases, at times we have to re-prioritize feature/functionality requests. Your requests are still on the backlog list and you can be assured that the product team continually re-evaluates these. This year, we have added more developers in order to meet all our customers needs. We value your business and thank you for being a loyal customer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018
Jared M.
Operations Manager/ Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2017

“Overhead Saver”

OverallWe were struggling with a bottle neck at our estimating department. We could not meet the deadlines of all the public tenders coming through our system and we were contemplating hiring another estimator. We happened to meet one of the Sales reps from the EDGE at a trades conference and we were excited to learn about their software that could save us time and increase our production. After a trial run with the program it was quickly evident to us that with the efficiencies we could gain from using the EDGE we didn't need to hire another estimator. This has saved us time and money. It has also given us the ability to set check points that limit our liabilities. We are very happy with our purchase of the EDGE.
ProsSaves time , Limits overhead of employees because it makes them more efficient and productive. Sets up check points of liabilities.
ConsIt takes some time to populate with information and adjust the settings. But this is a small inconvenience and is fairly standard practice with most programs.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on May 4, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments.
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2017
Frank O.
Commercial Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2017

“Best in class”

OverallHave been an Edge user for many years and have experienced the ease and integration of every upgrade, this program consistently evolves around the end user. Having more than 45 years estimating experience in the roofing industry, The Edge has mastered just about all area's of the roof estimating experience and has put it into an fully capable estimating system that is quite easy to use and far more efficient than most other roof estimating programs out there.
Prosease of use
ConsSoftware manual is confusing to work with since all aspects of the edge are in the one Manual. I think each division should be separated into multiple manuals

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on May 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. Your suggestion on the software manual is valued and we are currently in the process of updating all user guides. In the meantime visit http://go.edgeestimating.com/YouTube for a collection of how-to videos.
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2017
Abe A.
Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Great accuracy, rigid program”

OverallOnce the setup of conditions is established, it is a very accurate and useful tool. A couple of features are not able to be added that I would like. I estimate drywall and I cannot get a total board count for a job, which is a very basic and useful tool. I also have many different housetypes within a job. I must use a multiplier on the units within large multi-family jobs. I have been told there is no way to add these multipliers to check unit count. I must do this manually, leaving much room for costly errors
ProsVery accurate and easy to use for takeoffs
ConsLimited on information gathered within reports.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on November 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Carl M.
President
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Edge wish list - INTUMESCENT Calcs/Designs/Pricing”

ProsTime efficiency. Customization. Been using it since the late 1990's
ConsDon't want to update database because I don't want to lose the UL tests that I created in my existing old data base. Complications of trying to set up Edge for all of the different INTUMESCENT fireproofing manufacturers and UL's. I am forced to do intumescent calcs & pricing outside of the Edge. Messages saying that the system couldn't save job. Having to open/close the program until the edge jobs list pulls up.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Collin C.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“The Ferrari of the Estimating World”

OverallVery positive experience using The Edge to standardize our estimating process and create readable reports that anyone can look at and get meaningful data from.
ProsVery extensive features and options to be utilized in estimating, production, and accounting
ConsA high performance software requires high performance users and while this is great, it leaves a little to be desired in the realm of doing quick and simple quantity takeoffs outside of your normal scopes and builds. Can be done but not as efficiently as desired at times.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
ivan i.
Esrimator
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019

“Changing The way Estimating Is Done”

Overallmy overall experience with The Edge has been great. i give this software a 9/10
ProsThe ease of using the software and finding everything you need is the most valuable part in my opinion.
ConsThe difficulty of modifying specific conditions

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019
Allen H.
Estimator/Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019

“Happy User”

ProsSpeed at estimating, no longer having to waste paper and time printing plans, easy to go back and make changes to the project
ConsUnfortunately my boss never sent anyone to training, so wish there were better operating manuals on how to manipulate the data base and change how the formulas figure different materials. These may exist on the web site but I haven't found what I'm looking for yet.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We have a knowledgebase article on the v12 user guide https://www.estimatingedge.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/LIT-User-v12-User-Guide-The-EDGE-WEB_0519-1.pdf. We encourage our customers to be trained on The EDGE to be able to utilize its full potential. We have monthly webinars that could benefit you from watching. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019
Stephen B.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019

“Great software, very flexible!”

ProsThe EDGE is very flexible. I can start out with one condition and manipulate it into almost any other condition I need quickly (change out paint types, labor rates, etc.). I also like that I can look at and change all production rates at the same time on the same screen.
ConsI don't like the navigation, there is too much reliance on the mouse and the keyboard is underutilized. I would like to be able to zoom in and out of drawings with the clickwheel on the mouse.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2019
Anthony M.
Vice president
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Central PA Roofer”

OverallOverall, The Edge is an excellent tool for creating proposals quickly and accurately. The newest versions will close all the feature gaps that customer's have wanted for years.
ProsThe Edge will take off and price the estimate simultaneously with some minor tweaking on the front end.
ConsThe user interface and "DOS operating" feel creates a cumbersome feel.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on May 8, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. Version 12 is now available and can be implemented immediately depending on your databases. This greatly improved version is a total rewrite which enables us to deliver innovative features, an updated modern interface, is web-based and is much easier to use. If you are interested in upgrading feel free to contact sales@edgeestimating.com.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Adam D.
Estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Edge 12 - It's getting there”

OverallIn a nutshell, we are enjoying The Edge 12. But like my "Cons" list and my review title suggests - It's getting there (slowly). Right now, we're about at a 70-75% satisfaction rate for Edge 12. There is still a lot of work to be done to return to the quality of ease provided by Edge 10, and I don't doubt that it will eventually get to where we're 100% satisfied.
ProsThe Estimating Edge is one of the best (if not the very best) estimating software programs available on the market. It is easy to use, and the upgrades they made to the Edge 12 (compared to Edge 10) have sped up the estimating process (overall). Streamlined and accurate, we trust The Edge (and their customer service team) to provide us with everything we need.
ConsStill very buggy and glitchy. The Edge 12.6 had fixed many of the issues that were prevalent since Edge 12 was first released; however, there are still glitches. Blurry drawings, slow response/lag time on mouse clicks, etc. But least favorable was the fact that they took away most of the aspects of Edge 10 that made it SUPER user-friendly, and it's not nearly as user-friendly as Edge 10. Their claim of "Less Clicks" for Edge 12 has proven to be inaccurate, as we often spend more time clicking through pages than we did when we had Edge 10.

Vendor Response

By Estimating Edge on July 29, 2019
Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We have created shortcuts in the Version 12.6 please check them out https://www.estimatingedge.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/LIT-User-Keyboard-Shortcuts-WEB_0619-2.pdf. I am more than happy to send you a hard-copy. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019