Synapse Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Synapse

Automated warehouse management system (WMS) designed to drive superior performance in supply chain execution. Learn more about Synapse

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jay W.
WMS Administrator
Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 8, 2018

“A Good WMS Developed & Supported by Good People”

OverallSynapse has completely changed the way we operate. It has taken time to change our processes and re-train our employees, but for the better. Many of our customers have come to us from other 3PL's and are astonished by the level of service and transparency that Synapse offers. Every system has pros and cons; there's no perfect system out there. Zethcon listens to their customers, large and small. The cons that I've listed will likely be addressed in the future, so you shouldn't put too much weight on those if you're in the market.
ProsSynapse can be installed on your own internal network or hosted by Zethcon. Customer support is fantastic! Zethcon utilizes an online ticketing system and are quick to respond to critical issues. The staff is very knowledgeable and has found a solution to every unique situation that we've given them. Zethcon is continually upgrading their products to keep up with technology and changing customer needs. The warehouse interface, WebRF, allows the use of smart phones and tablets instead of the costly RF guns. WebRF also has a function called Media Capture which allows the warehouse operator to take photos and upload them to the order. Our customers absolutely love this!
ConsBilling is event driven (which is ok), but it does not allow for conditional logic. Storage renewal billing is confusing and can't be fully automated for daily, weekly, or bi-weekly schedules. Synapse's emailing capabilities are lacking and don't allow for much customization. Small package shipment notification emails to consignees are only sent once and can't be re-sent if there is a tracking number change. The customer portal, Web Synapse, is generally good and easy to navigate. Our customer's biggest pet peeve is not being able to select & copy text from the page.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 8, 2018
robert e.
director of warehousing
Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 5, 2018

“quality warehouse management system”

Overalli have been through 3 implementations for WMS systems. two were complete failures with large amounts of money spent on consultants that could not deliver when it mattered. that is not the case with synapse. the go lives were supported and the system worked as it was designed.
Prosthe ability to manage inventory with ease is the most productive part of this system. everything is systemic and inventory can be tracked, updated, adjusted, reviewed, and reported from the computer. there are multiple layers of permissions and security for users of the system so that user's abilities can be controlled with ease. all of my customer will question their inventory levels at some point because they are not using a system that is on the level of synapse on their end. 99.9% of the time my inventory is right and we are able to quickly identify where the issue is on my customers end. i would say that we use about 40% of the functionality of the system, so there is always room to grow. we are always finding new options and processes that we can use to our benefit. every time a customer throws a curve ball we are able to find a way to use the system to support their request.
Consi have found that it is best to have a super user in house that learns and uses all of the supporting functionality of the system. it is more cost effective to build custom report in house. a super user that is 100% dedicated to understanding and managing the system allows for faster processing of reports and system setup to fully utilize all of the functions of the system and to fully test new processes. Zethcon does provide support, but there needs to be that in house person to interface and implement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 5, 2018
Candy K.
Logistics and Supply Chain, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 7, 2015

“Synapse/Zethcon - Great WMS!”

ProsAs a system, Synapse has done very well with our varied facilities and customers. I believe there is only one option that would top Synapse as our WMS and that would be if we had our own custom, in-house WMS and Developers. However, the cost would be much higher and so the value of Synapse is a better option. We have been with Zethcon/Synapse since 2006 and in my previous experience, I have not found a better software supplier to work with. In previous work experiences, when an upgrade to software was done, there was almost always failures in meeting customer expectations; with Synapse, we have not had that once. In addition, we have undergone 16 conversions from different WMS to Synapse and 8 startups and again, not a single missed shipment. That speaks highly of the software and the provider.
ConsThere is some functionality that is not available, such as billing for labor in less than a full hour and a customer monthly minimum overall charge that I feel is something that could be considered standard with a WMS but is not so with Synapse. From a vendor standpoint, there really isn't anything that I could list here, beyond cost, but primarily because cost is always a factor in the use of software.
Recommendations to other buyersReviews such as this are a primary consideration to me in evaluating the software, not just from a software standpoint, but from customer satisfaction in regard to the supplier (in this case Zethcon). If the supplier promises the world, it is unlikely that they can meet the expectation. Zethcon never promised the world, so there was no disappointment in that regard. However, they have come through with positive responses to questions and issues each and every time. I think direct contact with some of the vendor's customers is critical - whether on site, or by phone.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 7, 2015
Arthur B.
President
Logistics and Supply Chain, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 14, 2016

“Strong recommendation of Synapse, stronger endorsement of Zethcon”

ProsFocus on the multi-client 3PL warehouse operator. Synapse has robust functionality, strikes the right balance between functionality and complexity - not an easy accomplishment for many developers. Zethcon is certainly the right size company for us and for most companies in the 3PL space. We have access to ownership and senior decision makers. Zethcon has adequate resources to devote to significant projects, e.g. new customer implementations and version upgrades.
ConsTheir unique approach is both a strength and a drawback. Zethcon has a robust user group that collaborates to improve the software. This approach means that my company benefits from developments other users have made to the software. At the same time, my competitors go to school on my talented IT team and learn our unique approach to handling some complex requirements. At the end of the day, any competitive advantage we spur is short-lived anyway. In the long run we are better served to operate in a collaborative environment with other users, and benefit from the collective investment in Synapse.
Recommendations to other buyersDon't bother with consultants who market their 1000-question surveys - you will never wade through all the responses in a meaningful way. That only serves the interests of the consultant. Instead, identify your top 10-12 key reasons that you want to upgrade your WMS and then have each vendor/developer demonstrate how their system handles your unique requirement. You will find that Synapse will handle your requirement in their base release; or Zethcon will find a way to elegantly incorporate your requirement into a mod for a modest additional cost.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 14, 2016
Chas M.
Director of IT / Warehouse Operations
Logistics and Supply Chain, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 20, 2016

“Great solution for any 3PL provider”

ProsThe team at Zethcon is friendly and knowledgeable. They all have experience in the 3PL sector and it shows. From the very beginning, during the demo and quoting processes; it was very nice to be able to communicate with a software that understands your needs at your level. They sell you a product that can get the job done for you, the way you need it done; not just a package of bells and whistles. Once we became a live & operational customer, the support staff (help desk) has been attentive, quick to respond and has answered every question and issue we've presented to them.
ConsI honestly have no complaints about Zethcon. I know people don't necessarily like to hear that, but it's the truth. As far as the product, Synapse, there have been little system capability/operations issues that occasionally arise, but honestly expected when migrating to new software. These issues are minor and we've been able to adapt to everything except one, which we needed to pay for a customization/addition. Zethcon delivered this addition as agreed upon and very quickly.
Recommendations to other buyersI'd say laying a detailed list of needs and wants is key. Also categorize them; must-haves to the not-a-deal-breaker items, then set a limit of how many items you feel is acceptable to have met or not. Compiling this list should start months in advance. Not everything that happens in your warehouse will happen every day, or even every week.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 20, 2016
Diana G.
IT Manager
Logistics and Supply Chain, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 5, 2018

“Synapse experience”

Overallthe Zethcon team is still available to help and offer suggestions after the sale has been made and the startup is complete. great team that cares.
ProsSynapse has a variety of features and functions that make the software versatile. In the 3PL environment, I appreciate the variety of options. Customer Support is excellent as well, as a long time customer the team has established working relationships with Zethcon employees that are familiar with our business, making trouble shooting and functional questions much easier to resolve
ConsDuring startup and training, the variety of functionality can be overwhelming. Internally we have to streamline the documentation to make it more operational user friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 5, 2018
Daniel Z.
Solutions Architect
Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 17, 2018

“Great system, highly configurable for individual customer needs.”

ProsSynapse is very user friendly and easy to navigate for all warehouse functionality. Synapse is highly configurable offering many solutions for satisfying many specific customer needs. Synapse support group is always available to discuss any software needs and review process efficiency, including possible modifications if needed. System availability is never a concern while working from remote locations and support is always immediately available on critical issues.
ConsMay take some time to get all the configurations setup to get the process running exactly as needed, but there is always a solution with Synapse and the Zethcon team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Christopher G.
V.P. Information Technology
Warehousing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“Great 3PL System”

OverallOverall this is the best WMS I have used in my 25+ years in information technology, the last 18 of which are in distribution.
ProsAs a 3PL we like the substantial feature set of the software. No matter what business process we have encountered we have found a way to accomplish the goal with Synapse.
ConsIt took us a long time to better understand the feature set and implement them in a meaningful way. Technical support via the ticketing system can be slow. This can be addressed with selecting the correct severity level that meets the needs of the problem at hand. An outage or system failure with a high priority ticket does get addressed immediately.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Chris T.
Director of Distribution Systems
Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 5, 2018

“Synapse is a great system I'd recommend to others.”

ProsZethcon has provided great customer service and helped us with whatever questions we have. Synapse is a highly evolved system and it offers many great options for whatever type of WMS a business requires.
ConsThere are some small quirks with the system that affect some of our customers. Because we can't use special characters it offers problems for some of our customers. Zethcon has worked with us, however, and provided work arounds to be able to satisfy our customer requirements.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 5, 2018
Robert R.
Implementation & Data Manager
Logistics and Supply Chain, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 9, 2015

“Efficient / User Friendly / Great Service”

ProsFlexibility, Advanced Functionality, Track and Trace ability, Easy export of reports into a plethora of formats (PDF, Excel, RPT File, CSV, TXT, Word), Ability to customize reports, System generated auto-emailing (Receipts, BOL's and many other notifications), GUI is simple, straight forward and customizable, good support staff who is truly in-tune with their customer base and extremely knowledgeable from top to bottom.
ConsNothing different from any other out of the box product. Enhancements, modifications are always going to happen and should be expected.
Recommendations to other buyersAsk as many questions as possible and be extremely specific. All systems have they're own vernacular and it might not be the same as you are used to (I.E - Can you do this vs. can you do this in this scenario, etc.) Take your time with the process and have a plan. This is a large decision ... Get as much feedback from your end users and evaluate all aspects of the software - Top to bottom / Executives all the way down. Buy in is critical.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 9, 2015
Avatar Image
Frank M.
Vice President of Operations
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018

“Terrible customer support and poor implementation strategy”

OverallScalable if you have the resources and money.
ProsIF set up properly the system is scalable and had all of the functionality you would want in a robust WMS.
ConsWhere do I start....let's address the platform first. The system is NOT a true cloud-based solution. In order to access the operating system (servers) you will be require to set up VPN tunnels from any location that you wish to access the software from. Why is this a problem? Accessing the software from home, on a business trip, or anywhere other than your primary office is a multiple day setup process. Yes, they do have a web based access portal called WebSynapse but the functionality is EXTREMELY limited and it is basically a portal to view transactions only. Set Up....because of all of the "bells and whistles" the system requires someone extremely well versed in the software to set up your first account. After the initial set up of this single account you will need to test that single account functionality for 6+ months prior to going live. Over the course of that 6+ month you will experience issues that range from simple set up errors to critical stop dead in your tracks problems. Which leads me to my next topic... Customer Support....IT'S ALWAYS YOUR FAULT! Either you didn't test the software enough or you didn't ask the right questions. It is very difficult to ask preventative questions about a new software package since you do not know the system logic and it is nearly impossible to test every scenario that may come up with one account. Be prepared to pay a lot of money to fix these issues. Repeat this process for every account you have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018
Luke H.
Vice President of Distribution
Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 6, 2018

“Very flexible, great configure options, user friendly, robust billing, wonderful customer support”

OverallThe implementation and support teams at Zethcon have been amazing. Working with them on the various complexities that 3PL brings has enabled us to keep up with our fast growing business.
ProsWe are in the 3PL space and being able to configure the system to meet our various customers user needs is crucial. Synapse has great configure options to meet any customer demand. Synapse works very well for 3PL DC's that have robust billing needs. Integrating Synapse with other systems has been very smooth. The support team at Zethcon is an important partner to our process to meet customer IT demands.
ConsNo major cons with this system to speak of at this time. The only areas I would like to see improvement in is the availability of standard reports within Synapse and Web Synapse and the overall UI of Web Synapse needs some slight updating for an improved user experience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 6, 2018
John R.
Vice President
Logistics and Supply Chain, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 11, 2018

“Our experience with Synapse and with Zethcon has been optimal. After significant due diligence we expected as much, and our expectations have been realized.”

OverallOur business is complex...many customers with a variety of requirements. We required a WMS with the flexibility and robustness to meet these requirements. Synapse is that WMS and the Zethcon team works in partnership with us.
ProsSynapse is user friendly at all levels, and for all functional areas...customer service through warehouse operations.
ConsWe cannot point to any negatives. While the base system did not provide all of the functionality that we determined essential for our business, the Zethcon team readily supported us with necessary modifications.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 11, 2018
Craig M.
Logistics and Supply Chain, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 7, 2015

“Great WMS with great support and user group. ”

ProsThey've got a great help desk when we have issues, and since they are local it's nice that we can get hands on support when needed. There are a lot of great resources for training and the user group is nice to bounce ideas off of other companies using the software.
ConsThere really isn't much that we don't like about the software. The only thing I can think of is that there were a few modifications required to get the system setup to exactly how we would like it, which was an added cost.
Recommendations to other buyersGo see the software in action, that's the best way to get a good feel for it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 7, 2015
akash p.
operation
Furniture, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2016

“Synapse”

OverallThe product has a great features, very custom software. It is a cloud based.
ProsCustom feature, migration, REPORTING
ConsPrice, number of users
Recommendations to other buyersVery custom good for invoicing reporting
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2016
Bruce N.
Director of Operations
Consumer Goods, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 30, 2016

“Solid performing system”

ProsSynapse knows its stuff stone cold...extremely helpful customer service...they know which direction you point you to...
ConsNothing at this point...honestly - quite good...the Customer Service department is quite good...
Recommendations to other buyersLay out the process for your warehouse...make it very very detailed...then compare and work Synapse hard...their Customer service will be of great help to you, for sure.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 30, 2016