Newton Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Newton

Newton is the ATS loved by thousands of recruiters for small to mid-sized companies. Newton automates the time-consuming aspects of hiring like agency management, interview scheduling, and compliance. As team sizes grow, Newtons straightforward pricing stays the same. From the candidate search phase all the way to onboarding, Newton relieves inbox overwhelm and improves speed to hire. Learn more about Newton

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 99 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 99 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Keith P.
Corporate Systems & Web
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“We are a 1,200 person company with many global offices. Newton was a perfect fit for our needs.”

OverallRecruiters now have more time to seek optimal candidates as they need less time in the platform to post jobs, schedule interviews, interact with hiring managers, etc. Newton does a great job in blasting out our job postings to the various job boards and tracks where our leads are coming from. Our job seekers have a much easier time with applying for jobs and since our business hires at over 40 locations internationally, having a simple job application process is key for getting applicants who do not speak English as a first language. The job listing integrates seamlessly into our company web site. All good!
ProsOur previous job posting and applicant tracking system was quite old and the user experience for both recruiters and applicants was far from ideal. Newton greatly simplified the job posting process by integrating with Outlook for interview scheduling, allowing mobile feedback from hiring managers (so that they did not need to enter the platform if they did not want to), and having dashboards which quickly showed status of jobs for the recruiters. The application process for job seekers was fast and easy, resulting in our receiving far more applicants per job than the previous tool. Overall, Newton was a perfect fit for our needs as it allowed our recruiters to focus more on seeking candidates (since entering jobs was much easier) and we are getting more/better candidates given the expanded reach and ease of use that Newton provides our job seekers.
ConsThe main thing that we did not like was that the analytics dashboards and tracking were all Flash-based, but that was updated in the most recent platform update, so now our recruiters do not have to worry about Flash plug-in issues. Otherwise, we are quite happy with Newton.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Ken P.
HR Director
Medical Practice, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 3, 2018

“Newton Applicant Tracking System has it all”

OverallNewton is feature rich. After six months of using the product, I've still only scratched the surface of what it can do.
ProsThe program allows the user to create a job posting from scratch or to modify existing ones. There are numerous templates for job posts or emails that can be used out of the box or can be modified and personalized. Newton has agreements with Indeed, LinkedIn and Glassdoor and job postings can be automatically posted to these sites for free. It also allows for posting directly to the company's employment web site as well as the company's Facebook page. The system allows the poster to create knock-out questions so that interested applicants who don't meet minimum qualifications are automatically excluded and the receive a message instantly why they are not eligible. Another vital function is that, once an applicant shows interest, they can be followed in the system every step along the way. You can track them through phone interviews, face to face interviews, email correspondence, and hire, involving other employees who may need to be involved along the way. One final key point is that, if the company is a customer of Paycor Payroll and HR systems, Newton interacts with those seamlessly and a prospect who is hired in Newton will automatically be transferred to Paycor with all of their information.
ConsWhile the system is rich in features, the menus are not intuitive. There can be multiple menus on a page and it can be difficult to navigate to a feature you are looking for. I find myself spending a significant amount of time in the 'Help' section.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 3, 2018
Whitney W.
Talent Acquisition Specialist
Philanthropy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 19, 2018

“Newton Fan Forever”

OverallI love Newton and am in the process of proposing that we bring it to my new employer (which has never had an ATS and desperately needs one).
ProsNewton is very user friendly and flexible enough for people who are not tech savvy. As a recruiter working with multiple project managers, I loved working with a system that allowed me to seamlessly move through workflows independently or alongside hiring managers. Newton is always updating its features and thinking about new things to add to the platform. I also love that it works well with your organization's career page, and may also sync with an HRIS. The Gravity App was great feature to use as well at my former organization (lots of fun-loving, competitive staff).
ConsI didn't experience many challenges with Newton. Occasionally, emails we sent from Newton wouldn't reach candidates (they would end up in spam). To troubleshoot, we just sent things directly from Outlook. We alerted Newton and the problem was fixed pretty quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Staffing and Recruiting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2019

“Built for recruiters by recruiters BUT since Paycor bought them progress has slowed ”

OverallFor our third party staffing agency this is our core operating system for job requisition and candidate activity. Simple intuitive user interface make for ease of doing business.
ProsIt's easiest to use ATS system out there and I looked at a bunch. New users in my company didn't even need to go to the free training session because it's so intuitive. Simple process flow from left to right and green light to advance the candidate a red light to disposition them. Dashboard and report analytics are easy.
ConsSince Paycor bought Newton the pace of product development has slowed. Sad to see the entrepreneurial spirit of the company extinguished by big company bureaucracy. Falling behind on functionality like SMS integration. Cost becoming prohibitive for SMBs and larger enterprises need more robust solutions like iCims.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2019
Derek J.
HR Manager
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019

“Easy, User Friendly Applicant Tracking”

OverallOverall, this is the best system that I've used by far.
ProsThis is a user friendly tracking system. It is easy to train and be trained on. I've used several and none are as easy as Newton.
ConsThere have been a few times that it has gone down and it wasn't a quick fix.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Renewables & Environment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019

“For the money Newton is far and away the best ATS!”

OverallI moved on to a new company that doesn't use Newton ATS and I miss it :(
ProsWhen I started using Newton my company had not previously used any ATS. Newton's team (in coordination with Paycor) worked with my marketing department to implement the ATS quickly and without any hiccups. My life as an HR professional was immediately improved (at least the recruiting function :)) Newton's reps are personable and really do their best to understand your business so they can be of the best service to you.
ConsNone really. The are on the westcoast so if you're in a different timezone you'll have to wait for them to get back to you if you have a question. Not to worry however, they're always quick to contact you back and most answers can be found in the help section on their site.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Daniel P.
Franchisee
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Excellent applicant tracking solution”

OverallManaging hundreds/thousands of job seekers is simplified with Newton. All applicants filter through to one space, and can be seamlessly moved through the next steps with custom email templates, background screen capability (compatible when paired with Sterling). Also can use the unique tracking links to track which job ad sources (ie Facebook, Indeed) are yielding the best results.
ProsThe centralization of all job seekers to one landing place and ease of moving candidates through the hiring process. Unique custom tracking links are a great feature to track analytics.
ConsI haven't been exposed to any poor experiences using the software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Eddie D.
Director of Information Technology
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 30, 2019

“Newton is very easy to use”

OverallWe have a very nice page for our ATS on our website. They will soon be able to use the iframe once we convert our webpage over. It's much easier to organize our applicants than before.
ProsWe were just using indeed and other online methods before finding Newton and it has been great ever since. The team is very good to work with and can do almost anything you ask within reason. I have zero complaints able their service. The cost is great too!
ConsThey were bought by Paycor, but that is not a dislike, just I fear the control or service may change. We are still at the early stages of that process though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Dennis H.
Corporate Director of Human Resources
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018

“One of the best ATS systems on the market”

OverallTime savings, efficiency, better applicant experience, the list goes on and on. All, for a very reasonable fee.
ProsWhen we first implemented Newton the user adoption was amazing. The interface is so user friendly that hiring managers were able to begin using the system within minutes.
ConsThere is very little that I do not like about the Newton system. One of the only shortcomings, which is already being addressed, is integration with other systems; background providers, HRIS systems, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Solid tool/resource for tracking job recruits and applicants throughout the hiring process”

OverallI am not sure why anyone would complain about Newton, unless they are overwhelmed by the amount of features that most of them will never need to access (a large amount of the content and features are only needed by HR). Very satisfied with this product that I've used a hiring manager at my firm on countless occasions. Extremely helpful for collaborative hiring at most companies
ProsLikes: - All relevant information at my fingertips in a single dashboard - the ability to download applicant resume's straight from their newton profile - "newsfeed" feature allows to track entire applicant history
ConsDislikes: - There needs to be better control over who internally has access to use the red "inactivate this candidate" button. No need for most employees to be able to use that feature - has caused some issues at times when folks have inadvertently clicked it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Vaishnavi G.
Recruiter
Utilities, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“One of the best ATS I've used”

OverallAmong the different ATS I have used, I like Newton the best. Love the commenting feature and that all the required info for a job (the JD, the hiring team, budget info etc) is so easily accessible. Easy to add or edit the JD and also very easy to connect to promotional partners (LI, Indeed, Glassdoor, etc)
Pros1. It's so easy to see the entire pipeline for a job. Very easily accessible data 2. Sorts the job based on priority (Urgent to normal to on-hold). 3. You can comment on a candidate (to be viewed by other users, the HM, etc) 4. Ability to set multiple screens (phone or interview) 5. Easy to promote on job boards
Cons1. Only web software. Would really appreciate a mobile app for this. 2. Some functions require a learning period if you're a first time user 3. Maybe introduce Calendar integration for screener calls?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Sherm C.
Human Resources Director
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018

“The best with a software and service provider.”

OverallAccurate, efficient recruiting , hiring, and onboarding of new employee for a very reasonable cost. Particularly important for smaller employers.
ProsThis is the easiest software product I have every used or seen for applicant tracking, reporting, etc. Service is punctualy, courteous, and accurate.
ConsTwo-click sign off? (such a minor thing). I can't think of anything negative about the product, service, cost of use. They always seem to be anticipating, and leading customer/client needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Christine S.
Director of Human Resources
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“Used Newton for 3 years, easy to use helps me manage our applicant flow and candidate progress”

Overallconfidence that compliance is taken care of, never lose a canddiate's file, easy to post jobs on external sites.
ProsI like the Visibility of candidates that are in progress on a job. I can easily see how many candidates we have for a position, who has been reviewed/phone interviewed or interviewed. Also the reports make pulling AAP reports easy as long as you keep on top of dispositioning candidates as you review them. Also I can easily share resumes with the hiring managers.
ConsWould be nice to be able to download an open jobs report with candidates in progress so I can use it for other reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Plastics, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019

“Simple, Sleek, User Friendly”

ProsPlatform is easy to navigate and engaging. Posting open positions, editing, reviewing candidates -all the things that usually take up a lot of time are simplified and enjoyable with Newton. After doing high volume recruiting for 3 years without an applicant tracking system, Newton was a dream and a continues to be years later!
ConsEvery now and then emails to candidates would randomly get dropped/not get delivered. Happened pretty infrequently . Customer Service is on west coast time so occasionaly there is a wait time on questions asked via email.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019
Chris R.
Vice President
Telecommunications, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 11, 2016

“Nothing Better Than Newton!”

ProsSimplicity at its best! Visually appealing to both the candidate and the administrators. Easy to communicate throughout the entire process with hiring managers. Also, customer service is seriously mind blowing. Fast responses, sharing of tools and resources and they don't always just give you the answer, they help discuss issues or concerns until you find the best possible solution. I'll call out Brian Fader - he helps me out almost on a weekly basis. Brian, along with Newton make my life so much easier.
ConsNothing. Absolutely nothing. Newton literally makes my job easier.
Recommendations to other buyersSpend time looking at the reporting and analytics features. The information available to you will allow you to "wow" internal stakeholders while also helping to keep hiring manager accountable. When evaluating these features, compare them to others - you will be impressed.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 11, 2016
Curtis M.
Compliance Officer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Newton Review”

ProsThe software allows the user to track multiple applications with a very easy to understand progress chart. There is a function or customization for just about any hiring and interviewing process. Multiple locations can be tracked with one system. The ability to add comments throughout the process really helps the user stay organized.
ConsGiven that even very complicated hiring matrices can be accommodated, users with a simple hiring process can be overwhelmed by the options. Since these options cannot be hiding or deselected, this adds several more clicks to the process. When navigating into an application and then back to the dashboard, the applications rearrange into a diffrent order almost everytime.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Ryan M.
Talent Acquisition Specialist
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 7, 2019

“A very inexpensive ATS system”

OverallIf you hire not a frequent basis this software would be great, but if you hire more than 5 candidates a month I would pick something else.
ProsNewton is great for companies that are very small and have a very simple hiring process. The cost of Newton is very inexpensive for smaller companies. They do webinar every single week you can sign up for to teach new admin.
ConsI dislike most everything about this software. There is no sourcing tool that is available. They do have a lot of feature updates, but you do have to code it in yourself. We have had Newton for a couple of years and not once has a Newton rep reached out to us about new features or continuing our contract. You can't switch a candidate and put them in a different job, you have to create a candidate instead of moving their whole profile. The candidate duplication is horrible, people can use a different email and get pass the detection 100% of the time. Being able to integrate our HRIS system (ADP) doesn't save us time at all we still have to fill our most of the new candidate drop down boxes. You can't text a candidate or email a candidate without your developers doing the coding for it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 7, 2019
Sarah R.
HR Business Partner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018

“Use this to track candidates, review their information, and track where candidates are in process”

ProsI like how easy the system is to use to track candidates, interviews, offers, etc. I also like that I can send rejection emails and reminders to complete assessments
ConsI don't like that the system is not transferable to our EHX and ISolved account. Also I don't like that to have managers in the account they need to be trained, and get access to all candidates.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Insurance, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“Well worth the investment”

OverallEase of use, and helped organize my applicants way better than the Indeed portal or other applicant tracking systems do out there.
ProsIt connects to our payroll, it provides a quick snapshot of our hiring practices and it maintains historical records of our applicants. We've had some apply multiple times and we now have a better way of maintaining documentation. I can keep reminders and options up-to-date so we dont forget deadlines and its a great portal for working with our applicants.
ConsThere has been a bit of a learning curve in a few areas. We utilize the system a little differently so I had to figure out how to use Newton in a way that worked for us *it wasn't hard*
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Kathleen H.
Business Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018

“This is a very easy tool to use and track all the information on our applicants.”

ProsIt is very easy to use and the customer service during implementation and since has been great. It is very good that you continue to have new releases and upgrades.
ConsSome of the documents that get uploaded do not print correctly unless you download them first. There is no way to move from one No Thank you letter to the next unless they are within the same job posting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018
Ian E.
Recruiting Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 12, 2016

“Newton is Solid”

OverallHaving been an internal recruiter for a variety of technical companies (Enterprise, Consumer Software, Games), I have run across plenty of poorly conceived ATS platforms. Usually they work like dinosaurs and everyone hates to use them. Newton is the exact opposite. I've been using it for two years now, have recommended it to all the clients where I have been onsite, and we all love it. It's obvious that Newton is designed by people that actually worked in the recruiting industry as recruiters. Top attributes: easy to set up, easy to use, and the front page gives you a great snapshot of all your jobs/candidates. Newton is a great collaboration tool to use with hiring managers and is the only system that I have used that doesn't require me to train hiring managers. Literally they just have to push ONE button to provide feedback. Executive team members and my clients that use Newton love the dashboards that provide them with easy to read, graphical, real-time performance metrics. (I like the dashboards because I don't have to spend all my time generating a bunch of status reports every week). Nice! Simply put, the guys at Newton get it. They've always been helpful. You can call their offices and actually talk to a live person and the best part is they keep making improvements to the product.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 12, 2016
Lauren B.
National Recruiter / HR Business Partner
Real Estate, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“Love it.”

OverallHelps our recruiting process be that much simpler / easier.
ProsUser friendly, simple format, keeps us all on the same page. We are located across the country, so having everyone who is involved in recruiting in the system is helpful.
ConsHas recently been very glitchy; integration with WonScore has not been as fluid as we thought it would be.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Linda P.
Director, Human Resources
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“Very easy and offers a lot especially given the low cost.”

ProsIt is very easy to use. Have not had anyone really complain about using it, and minimal training is required for other users. Like that new features are always being added.
ConsEmails going to Inbox instead of into program (candidate responds to an email generated in system but it goes back via my Inbox)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Rita M.
Director, Human Capital Recruiting
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“ATS is easy to use. ”

ProsSimplicity, easy to use. Customer Service is outstanding. Love the new agency management feature - I've been wanting it since I started using Newton in 2013.
ConsWish more reporting options and different dashboard reporting options was offered. Wish we could integrate our satisfaction surveys.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Kimberly Z.
Human Resources Manager
Hospitality, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“I am over the moon for Newton! They are responsive and the system is very intuitive. ”

ProsI love the ease of its use. the customer service is top notch and responds timely. They are always implementing awesome new features.
Consthe data could look a little more appealing and also just to be able to break it down more. The internal applicant component will not integrate with our system which is a bummer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Insurance, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“Great software for garnering and reviewing applications”

ProsVery easy to organize, receive and track resumes. Can easily contact applicants and make comments and notes for other employees involved in the hiring process. Easy to move applicants up and down the application process within this system.
ConsWould be nice to order applicants based on qualifications and not just when a resume is received. For instance to have most qualified or interesting candidates appear first .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Avatar Image
Stephanie S.
Director of Recruiting
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018

“Easy! Quick! Enjoyable!”

ProsNewton is very user friendly and easy to learn/teach new users. The customer support is always helpful and prompt!
ConsI wish it would integrate with our HRIS system. I wish it was easier to email candidates in bulk. Sometimes there are glitches due to it being a web-based software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018
Micheal M.
Human Resources Director
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2018

“Easy to use robust ATS.”

OverallEasy to use!
ProsCan access on any computer or mobile device. Alerts you if a candidate has previously applied. Can store all the recommendation letters along with the CV.
ConsIt's hard to think about a con for Newton. It would be nice if all emails could remain in the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2018
Amy K.
Recruiter
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 20, 2017

“Excellent metrics tracking and straight forward applicant process”

OverallThis is definitely one of the most forward thinking applicant tracking systems. It's truly designed to put the power back in the hands of the recruiter. With automated systems and easy to use processes, Newton is a no-brainer. Once you see how easy the site is to track candidates, upload new connections and leads and tag them with keywords, you'll be hard pressed to find another site that equals it. Hiring Managers can also respond to automated emails from the system with a list of hashtag words to move candidates or approve new requisitions. This improves response times since they don't even have to log into the site! The metrics are simply amazing as well. You can see more accurate detail about your candidates in the process, your sources and your time to fill, which gives you the power to improve the gaps in your system with real-time data.
ProsAwesome metrics Customizable workflows Ease of applicant tracking, sourcing, and contacting Automated posts to external sites Fantastic customer service.
ConsAlmost too much information in the metrics almost.
Recommendations to other buyersDo a demo, you'll be impressed with their knowledge of recruiting and the ease of implementation.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 20, 2017
Frank G.
Recruitment Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2016

“Great customer service and intuitive ATS.”

OverallI haven't done a customer review before though Newton impressed me so much I felt the need to share. Last year I was charged with researching and presenting a business case to implement an applicant tracking system. After conducting numerous interviews, going over my criteria in an ATS and product demos, Newton stood out for me as an intuitive, progressive, and most importantly customer service driven company. From my initial contact with the sales rep. to customer/tech support on the back end, the staff has been very helpful and timely to answer my questions. Newton exceeded my expectations, I have been using them for a year now and I'm happy with our decision. Pros: Very intuitive for Recruiters and Hiring Manager's Easy for Candidates to apply Great Customer Service and tech support Continuous improvement-adding new enhancements and features No hidden fees Tech support responsive in a timely manner Mobile device optimized (to fit on your screens smart phone, ipad, etc.) for both applicant and HR Cons: Not Newton itself though the add-on ChequeFit assessment tool feature. Once an applicant clicks the Submit button to apply for the position the next page comes up explaining about taking an assessment and automatically redirects you to that website. However, there isn't adequate time to read the information on that page which results in getting a high percentage of candidates that end up not taking the test.
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2016
Suzanne B.
Senior HRBP
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“happy 5+ year administrator user”

ProsI love that the developers are always coming out with amazing new features based on feedback from its customers.
ConsI wish we were able to integrate Newton fields over into our HR Info Sys. That would make life even easier!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
JoAnn C.
Human Resources Director
Insurance, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 31, 2018

“Great ATS option for mid-sized companies!”

OverallOverall Newton is a great value if you're looking to create recruitment efficiencies with a moderate budget.
ProsEase of use, automatic posting feature, easy to organize candidate pipeline and communicate with candidates on their status.
ConsThere aren't many negatives that I can think of. Newton could use better support in configuring the on-boarding functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 31, 2018
Avatar Image
Sam C.
Human Resources Specialist
Veterinary, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“The most intuitive, smooth ATS I've ever touched! ”

ProsDesigned to flow in a way that makes sense! Almost every time I think, "you know what would be cool....", Newton has already thought of it or is thinking of it.
ConsOnly tiny gripe is that things glitch very occasionally on the analytics side...but that is a small price to pay for the fact that they're constantly evolving their product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Carlos D.
Talent Acquisition & HR Specialist
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 27, 2018

“Recruiting & Retention Specialist”

ProsNewton is simply the best ATS I've ever used. Not only is it user-friendly, but it is extremely useful at the time of reporting data. Their customer service and response time is uncanny; they are very efficient at troubleshooting and making sure the issue is handled on a timely manner.
ConsI wish they could incorporate a text-to-candidate feature (sort of like TextRecruit) for optimal candidate experience. However, it is still a great ATS at a very low cost.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 27, 2018
Lee H.
HR Manager
Food Production, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018

“Havent found anything I don't like yet”

OverallEase of onboarding new hires and applicant log.
ProsEase of onboarding to Paycor. Has dramatically reduced the amount of time to add new hires and log applicants. Like the reporting style as well.
Consduplicate entries should auto link, or not allow a person to apply for the same job in the same 12 months. They should receive an alert that they already applied and can resubmit and update their current application. Also a chance to do this in Spanish, but translate to English words
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Cedric G.
HR Manager
Renewables & Environment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018

“Newton is by far my favorite ATS!”

ProsNewton is easy to use and their customer service is second to none. And I like the integration with our HRIS and background check service.
ConsThe applicant link screens could be better. For some reason when I print resumes from the system without first downloading they print small. But overall I'm happy Newton.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018
Nicole R.
Director of Human Resources
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018

“Easy to use”

OverallApplication tracking in compliance, easy to get resumes to hiring managers, easy to review notes and look back at candidates.
ProsVisibility of candidates is good, easy to use, instant posting to sites which is awesome! In general, very user friendly for hiring managers.
ConsThis is the first ATS we have used at our company and are still getting used to some of the features. The biggest miss is not being able to fund roles on Indeed via the site. I have to do externally via email with Indeed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018
Sarah M.
Human Resource Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2016

“Affordable Applicant Tracking System Without Compromising Quality.”

OverallOur organization needed an affordable ATS that we could implement fast without compromising quality. All of Newton's features are included in their price; what you see is what you get. We hire 30 to 40 people a year and this system allows us to manage the process from initiating and approving a position requisition through the offer approval in a paperless environment. It has brought efficiency to our process and reduced our time to hire by at least 15 days. Setup was fast and easy. The explanations within the system for set up and various actions are straight forward and easy to understand. They even alert you to the pros and cons of enabling/disabling/changing certain settings. Training managers has been a breeze. It is user intuitive - far less complicated than other ATSs I have used. Customer and Tech Support have been great and the response time is fast. Their Help section is easy to use and actually is helpful! I cannot say that there are any cons based on our needs. Overall, Newton gives us what we need to manage recruiting for our small to mid sized organization at a fair price. We are very happy with Newton.

Vendor Response

By Newton Software on April 6, 2016
Thanks, Sarah! Happy to hear the positive impact Newton has had on your organization! Be sure to let us know whenever you have any suggestions to help make Newton better :)
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2016
Cory K.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 21, 2011

OverallNovotus is a Recruitment Process Outsourcing company that leverages the best people, technology, and processes to deliver blazing fast and wicked smart recruiting solutions. We work with over 200 clients; many have existing ATS solutions, many have nothing and for many we select, implement and manage their ATS environment. For years, we have been forced to work with tools designed by software companies to run, and supposedly provide efficiency to the recruitment process...ouch! When we met the Newton guys and did the demo, we immediately recognized that someone finally "got it". Efficiency gains in recruiting come from keeping recruiters on the phone and swiftly moving candidates through stages of the process while all involved parties have total visibility as to what's happening. They get it...and built a tool that does it! We have implemented Newton with several customers over the past year and a half and continue to move forward with some larger implementations. My criteria is simple - implement fast, train quick, get productive, instant visibility through real-time reporting (you need to check out the reporting!), swift customer service, frequent product evolution (they listen to their customers), big enough to deliver and small enough to give a darn! Implementing Newton in our environment was a technology breakthrough we had been searching for and the industry had been missing. We found it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 21, 2011
Quinn P.
Marketing Assistant
Medical Practice, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 24, 2018

“AMAZING”

Proslove this program. Newton really stood out amongst other ones. Most of my employees enjoyed it and wished it was everywhere.
ConsI would not have any. I think most programs should look just like newton, it is the best in the market.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 24, 2018
Rachel D.
HR/ Recruiting Administrator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“Newton is mine and the organization's first experience with an ATS. It has made us much faster!”

OverallMore organized position filed, improved hiring time, improved experience for hiring manager and applicant.
ProsThe workflow is well organized and it's also very helpful that all approved team members are able to see each step of the process.
ConsEmail template formatting seems very archaic and leaves a lot to be desired. It's also confusing for applicants who apply through Indeed for the email communication.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Phil H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 22, 2011

OverallHaving been an internal recruiter for a variety of technical companies (Enterprise, Consumer Software, Games), I have run across plenty of poorly conceived ATS platforms. Usually they work like dinosaurs and everyone hates to use them. Newton is the exact opposite. I've been using it for two years now, have recommended it to all the clients where I have been onsite, and we all love it. It's obvious that Newton is designed by people that actually worked in the recruiting industry as recruiters. Top attributes: easy to set up, easy to use, and the front page gives you a great snapshot of all your jobs/candidates. Newton is a great collaboration tool to use with hiring managers and is the only system that I have used that doesn't require me to train hiring managers. Literally they just have to push ONE button to provide feedback. Executive team members and my clients that use Newton love the dashboards that provide them with easy to read, graphical, real-time performance metrics. (I like the dashboards because I don't have to spend all my time generating a bunch of status reports every week). Nice! Simply put, the guys at Newton get it. They've always been helpful. You can call their offices and actually talk to a live person and the best part is they keep making improvements to the product.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 22, 2011
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018

“Great basic service”

OverallGreat basic system for managing applicants. Smaller size companies would be thrilled.
Pros* Great for basic applicant tracking * Allows you to build scorecards for specific roles * Moves the applicant through the hiring process * Integrates with background screening products * Provides basic analytics
ConsI would have liked to see the ability to customize the recruiting process. Some managers perform more than 1 face-to-face when interviewing. It did not allow the ability to add that into the process and properly report metrics.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018
Twila A.
HR Manager
Philanthropy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 3, 2018

“Cost effective but powerful ATS”

OverallI had heard good things about Newton and they were true. The platform is easy to use for both managers and applicants, and looks modern. On the backend, we are impressed by the level of customization we get for one of the most affordable products on the market.
ProsI was looking for an ATS that would allow some customization and lots of data reporting. Newton creates a robust database of applicant data that can be sorted and reported in various ways.
ConsAs we reviewed ATS platforms, the one thing I found to be missing was any sort of focus on diversity statistics or goals. Newton will allow us to search and create our own reports for DEI, but doesn't have much ready-made beyond the EEO report.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 3, 2018
Suzanne D.
HR Mgr
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“Great for HR dept of One!”

Overalltime and professionalism.
ProsThe ease in scheduling and moving candidates through the process. Love that everything is in one place and I can even move them into our payroll system.
ConsThere is a lot more I could do...but it's hard to find the time to train and learn! I could use more help with de-duplicating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Chuck K.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 22, 2011

OverallI have been involved in the staffing industry for over twenty years. I have been involved in using, selecting, and implementing most of the well-known ATS systems on the market in the past 15yrs. The ONLY ATS I will use now is Newton. These guys have nailed it. It's simple, effective, and does the things we use day to day exceptionally well. Newton doesn't have all the bells and whistles other tout in their systems. But, the reality is, we rarely use those items anyway and all they do is clutter the system and screens. Newton is clean. It's simple. The dashboard is simple and effective. Navigation is as quick as it can be. You don't have open screen after screen like other systems or backtrack for days. I give it four stars for functionality ONLY because it doesn't have all the functionality of other systems. But, like I said, it has the functionality I need to track and improve staffing. It's simple to implement as well and their team is always there to assist. It's the only ATS that I have found that hiring managers enjoy using and we all know that if they like it it can make our job easier. Newton is a no-brainer if you are going to implement an ATS.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 22, 2011
Brian E.
Talent Acquisition Lead
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 14, 2017

“Excellent tool for small to medium size businesses who need an internal applicant tracking system”

OverallIf you're looking for a low-cost applicant tracking system and don't have a large variation of jobs, then this tool will work for you. If you have multiple jobs and are working with candidates through several of the positions, Newton creates a lot of extraneous duplicate work that ends up being more time consuming and makes it no long cost-effective.
ProsThe price is less than other applicant tracking systems. It is also very easy to use. The user interface is very easy to read resumes.
ConsThere is a lot of duplicate work that needs to be done. If you are considering a candidate for multiple jobs, then a candidate must be duplicated. You can then combine the duplicates later as the process goes through and the candidate is eliminated from certain jobs, which will then combine the notes, but it's a lot of extra busy work. The candidate workflow can also be confusing to some recruiters and hiring managers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 14, 2017
Tom B.
Director, Recruiting and Resource Operations
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 12, 2016

“Newton - Good product for small to midsized corporate implementations”

OverallNewton software is designed for a corporate implementation. I run a recruiting group at a government contractor where we place candidates on site at various Federal government agencies and prime contract holders. We are not a staffing agency but I run my group like a staffing group and newton software is not designed for a staffing model. Having said that, it works quite well in its function as a corporate applicant tracking system. The Job orders page is its best feature in my opinion. When you bring up the job requisitions page, you can get a very clear idea of the number of candidates that are being sourced for each position and what stage each candidate is in. The reporting function is strong in Newton. The filters allow you to drill down to get specific metrics. Like any piece of software it takes some getting used to but it does have some very good workflow aspects to it. Automatic notification of candidates that have been declined or not accepted for a position as well as notification triggers when interviews are scheduled. Another nice function is that you can request feedback from the hiring manager, who has reviewed a resume, interviewed or phone screened. This id done in the app as part of the workflow functionality. We are a small organization and based on my knowledge of more powerful/robust ATS's, Newton will work well with small to midsize organizations.
ProsThe Job Reqs Dashboard and the reporting are its strongest features
ConsA little klunky in its design - needs some updating.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 12, 2016
Darlyene D.
Operations Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Cuts time in half”

ProsThis is very easy to use. It simplifies the recruiting and hiring process. It would take us up to 6 weeks to get from the application process to the hiring process. Now it takes about 3 weeks.
ConsSome of the inputs are a bit confusing but with practice it gets easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Sonia C.
Director, Human Resources
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018

“I love Newton!”

OverallThis system keeps you accountable and organized and identifies where the bottlenecks are in your processes. It also allows for easy to use reporting and keeps by applicant flow data very clean.
ProsThe software was easy to set up and easy to use. There are lots of sample letters that can be customized your company's needs. The Newton software allows us to post our position to our website and to the public at the same time and allows for us create "tracking links" to track the sources we use to advertise.
Consyou can not save an email to draft if you have to hop off to do something else. the echo feature is not perfect .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018