SirsiDynix Symphony Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About SirsiDynix Symphony

SirsiDynix Symphony is the most complete and customizable integrated library system available to libraries of all types and sizes today. SirsiDynix Symphony offers library management tools that increase productivity, help identify opportunities for cost savings, and give libraries insights that will improve the end user experience. Thanks to its flexible architecture, Symphony easily accommodates new technologies and evolves as necessary to meet the changing needs of libraries and their users. Learn more about SirsiDynix Symphony

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jessica L.
Children's Librarian
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Gets the job done with some training”

Overallday to day cataloging, weeding reports, and collection maintenance
ProsOnce you are trained after a few weeks it becomes easier to navigate but even after 7 years we are still learning about features we never used. It is customize able with common tasks on top, love being able to clone users to do multiple library cards at once, we like that cataloging is separate so no one accidentally deletes or edits a record. Easy to back date things when we are closed or look through holds on items.
ConsUsing workflows, it is not forgiving when it comes to spelling errors of any kind. Workflows requires lots of up front training and we find many of our staff use our outward public catalog to find materials instead. Many times doing advanced searching requires knowing specific catalog codes that might not be easily known for anyone at a service desk. I also think the reports feature is clunky and antiquated and we are only allowed to print reports at specific times so it doesn't overload the system. Language of side bar like ephemeral isn't easily known to librarians but seems self explanatory. Annoying to have to close all opened tabs before it will shut down.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Ah, my old friend SirsiDynix”

OverallI've been a cataloging librarian for about 10 years and this is the only program I've ever cataloged in. It functions exactly as I've ever needed it to; the acquisitions is straight forward, the cataloging functions work well and accomodate all number of media, and I have never been in a situation where I couldn't find a way to do it in Sirsi. Importing records is particularly easy, it's a great tool for copy catalogers. However, nothing is without flaws. This is a highly specialized ILS, it requires training and time to understand. None of it is particularly intuitive and some functions I've never used -- but been told not to because they're too complicated and easy to screw up. I have no hard feelings regarding these things, but I will admit, that anytime I've trained anyone to use it, it's a time-consuming and complicated process. Luckily, for training and otherwise, some 'tabs' or features can be locked or password protected to limit access to the only person that needs to use those functions. Overall, I wouldn't recommend SirsiDynix to anyone without knowing whether or not it could meet their library's needs and be worth sinking the time into training it requires.
ProsIt really gets the job done, and has features for everything I've ever needed it for.
ConsIt's difficult to learn to use and difficult to teach others how to use
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2018

“Powerful library catalog software, feels outdated (as does all library catalog software)”

OverallThis software manages my library catalog very well. I have used it for many years, mainly focusing on cataloging, but also in circulation of materials to patrons.
ProsThis software is powerful and successfully manages millions of bibliographic records for my library. It manages basically every aspect of my library's LIS, from acquisitions to cataloging, indexing, and circulation.
ConsUsing what they call their different "wizards" is rough, since so many different tasks are broken out into different parts of the program. So, to fully finish one catalog record and to make it ready for indexing, I have to go to multiple "wizards" within the program to finalize everything. The overall feel of the software is outdated
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2018
Avatar Image
Yvonne S.
Instructional Designer II
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018

“Frustrating glitches”

ProsI love that this can make library automation easier. It has all the features need for libraries, large and small.
ConsSirsi is full of bugs. Updates don't and can't come fast enough. It's not intuitive and you can do the same actions about 3 o4 different ways which is tough when training since everyone end up doing things differently. There are a ton of quirks to get used to in billing which is the worst since this causes a lot of frustration among patrons, too. If I ruled our library system, I would have chosen something else.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018
Avatar Image
Eric B.
Research Librarian
Research, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“SirsiDynix Symphony WorkFlows”

ProsI use the SirsiDynix Symphony WorkFlows circulation module. It has a wide variety of useful functions. In addition to patron registration, check out, and discharge, you can update patron status, renew individual titles that a patron has checked out, look up single items, mark items as used (handy when books and journals are used by patrons and are not re-shelved; also good for statistics), etc.
ConsWe've had problems lately with patrons accessing their accounts with their password. An email response from SirsiDynix to remedy this is only valid once and is only good for 20 minutes. So we're trying to figure out how to let our patrons access their account if they forget their password or are blocked.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019

“Library Software for the future”

OverallSeems to be a pretty stable product few bugs, but always working on these.
ProsThe OPAC portal Enterprise is a very good product that is very functional, it has the drill down facet features users are used to. It also is fairly well integrated with electronic resources.
ConsThe out of the box reporting module is not very user friendly and has limitations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019
Brian D.
It support
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017

“really great software for managing library”

ProsWe can set right to different user and mange all the library thing you need to mange in a library !!!Really esay to use
ConsThe only thing i dont like if when i install in french for some user, you need to change the language , log out, after that, relog and reclose the software to make the character appear in normal character, but appart that it's really good
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017
Madan Mohan A.
Head of Library Systems
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2017

“We have been using Symphony from 2008. Got upgraded from Horizon 7.3 . Found to be a stable system”

OverallBeing an automated library we depend on the system to manage the library well.
ProsSymphony Library Management System is a stable and reliable System. It is mostly user-friendly. Got all the modules.
ConsThe weakest point of Symphony System is it's reports. The management reports are grossly inadequate and badly formatted. It is a time consuming process and frustrating at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2017