CS Professional Suite Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About CS Professional Suite

Suite of products and services designed by accountants for accountants to manage workflow processes in professional accounting firms. Learn more about CS Professional Suite

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
BRITTANY S.
Office Manager
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019

“Good software, wish it had some better features”

OverallWe are managing all of our tax projects within the CS Suite. From preparing the return, to tracking clients and where their projects stand, to sending and receiving client documents within the integrated "Drop Box" portal system.
ProsThe entire suite serves the purpose of getting the job done. We have several of the Suite programs and that has made doing things like sending tax organizer out a much simpler job within their interface.
ConsLearning how to properly use the software within our unique environment has been a huge challenge. Google provides no help and their own "help and how-to center" only provides so much information. I wish their products integrated better between themselves.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 31, 2018

“Thomson Reuters - Highly Recommend”

OverallOverall, my experience with CS has been positive. I'm able to print legible and clear returns with detailed support. It is a very sophisticated and user friendly software with a lot of efficient functions. I learn something different everyday.
ProsAmong other things, my favorite feature is how the tax preparation software allows you to instantly view where your input figures carry to on the official government forms. I also like how you can work backwards, such as, when you can't locate an input page, if you click on the line of the official form where a number should be, the program will take you to the correct input sheet.
ConsSometimes, the program will undergo glitches and miscalculate or not calculate various credits or taxes. Some of the elections could be easier to locate if they were included on the "general" tab.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 31, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2019

“Great product with very intuitive format”

OverallUser friendly product with very great functionality!
ProsAt my firm, we use a variety of CS professional Suite products. All of the software is very intuitive, we can easily see how the input will look like when printed. Especially UltraTax makes it so easier for the preparers and reviwers as it lists its diagnostic functions and "FYI"s. Also, it has very detailed instructions. For example, you can just google "Ultratax multistate filings", then you will see a list of instructions provided by rep.
ConsIt can run slow because very often we need to run many other programs such as Excel and Outlook. Also, sometimes UltraTax does not allow hard input. Instead, we need to find a certain way to input information to be correctly presented.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2019
courtney k.
Administrative Coordinator
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019

“CS Professional Suite Products”

OverallI use these products daily, and overall have had a great experience and would recommend to other companies.
ProsWe use a variety of CS professional Suite products! All of the software is very user friendly, we also purchase hardy copy and e books and the support staff is always helpful.
ConsThe Capatcha verification can be frustrating at times, it is very sensitive and if you do not select the specific boxes it wants then you end up repeating the process multiple times before you are able to access the system. Also, at times we have had to call support for technical "issues" and then receive a bill for it - I find to be a little unreasonable; that is what support is for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019
Harold M.
Shareholder/Officer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2018

“Very average in most respects some products like practice are better than others like UltraTax”

OverallGood integration between the different products, but unfortunately to the exclusion of integrating with anything else.
ProsGood integration between the various products. Good user interface design for some products like Practice CS but not for others. The tax product is generally very accurate once you figure out how to use it well. I like the multiple screen ability. The Practice product will allow you to open and sign in multiple times which can make up for the slow changing of screens. We tend to open a copy with the employee dashboard and then open another copy of the program to keep the client dashboard open so we can update projects and the like. This is the only way to deal efficiently with the slow screen changes. Good reporting, good support when calling in, but slow with email. Great diagnostics for Ultra Tax. The ability in Ultra Tax to open both input and forms screens at the same time is nice.
ConsFirst it is 32 bit and so does not interface well with other programs. Runs slow because it can only take advantage of limited memory. Runs even slower if you have very many other programs open (outlook, excel, word, etc). Many features only work if you have an older 32 bit operating system. For example you cannot click the email address of a client and generate an email that also stays attached to their client detail unless you are using 32 bit email software on a 32 bit machine. The Ultra Tax user and data entry is one of the worst I have seen, very outdated. At times you have to switch multiple screens to input basic stuff. Trying to locate where to make an entry can be an exercise in frustration. Ultratax is very accurate when the return is completed but a mess when trying to figure out how to do data entry. Does not integrate with other calendar apps to get your appointments onto a preferred product for you calendar. You can only use the online version and access it or push everything up to the cloud for their mobile version. So the bottom line is slow, their tech support said they have no plans to write a 64 bit version, awkward data input for the UT product. Tax return data entry is about 35% longer than on our prior product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019

“A robust platform for defined needs.”

OverallIt is certainly an all-in-one solution for the needs of a medium-sized firm, however at the time of making the developments to adjust it to the processes of another country it is not friendly in any way. as well as its mobile applications still leave much to be desired.
Pros When we implemented CS in our firm we changed from a homemade software to a total solution with great support. It was very exciting to be the first firm in the country that used this platform.
ConsThe implementation was a long process, having to develop procedures and connections with our own systems that took more than two quarters to define the launch with users. The adjustment to the particular needs of another culture when used in a country other than the USA, limited us in terms of many of the options that were not very customizable because they were designed in the requirements of another country.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018

“CS Professional Suite - some parts are better than others.”

ProsThe integration between products is what led me to buy the whole suite. UltraTax is the best product, easy to use, and has free support. The other products are much harder to set up and learn, and Thomson charges you for support for them, even if the problem you're calling about is actually a product bug.
ConsThey charge for support on all products except UltraTax. Practice is becoming a dinosaur, and badly needs to be updated. File Cabinet crashes multiple times every day.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018
Linda F.
Office Manager
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2017

“Excellent Tax Software”

OverallIt's a reliable product
ProsThompson Reuter contacted our firm after TaxWorks bit the dust. The final year of TaxWorks was a train wreck (they made a software change that we all needed to fight and muddle through, spending hours upon hours with our IT to complete returns. UltraTax by Thompson Reuter is a great product
ConsIt is pricey, and contacting Customer Service can be hit and miss. Just me experience, but it seems they staff heavily during tax season, but the rest of the year are bare bones.
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“UltraTax is the best solution”

OverallThomson Reuters CS is more commonly referred to as UltraTax. I developed tax software for a competitive product for several years, and I still prefer Creative Solutions UltraTax to what I used to work on.
ProsUltraTax handles every complex tax situation, and has all of the features you can imagine. They always manage to anticipate my needs before I realized I needed it.
ConsThe only downside I can think of is cost. It can be expensive, but it's a better total value than any of the competitors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018

“Great Suite of Products ”

ProsLove all of these products. Generally easy to use and figure out and I love how they all talk to each other with the client codes you assign. Makes saving documents and client information very easy. It is also very simple for new accountants to learn.
ConsSome of the functions can be difficult to master like creating new reports or creating queries to try and filter data. A bit archaic in these cases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018
Kylie S.
Accountant
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“CS Professional Suite ”

ProsThe programs are able to talk to each other allowing for more efficient work days. Once you have everything set up correctly, these are extremely dependable programs.
ConsWorkpapers isn't 100% accurate most of the time so the time you spend reviewing and correcting the input, you could just input it yourself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018

“Robust software suite for tax preparation and accounting firm management.”

ProsHighly in depth, performs complex tax calculations effectively, provides a great system for managing firm billings.
ConsSometimes the software can be a little clunky. The tax software could use an upgrade in ease of switching from data entry view to viewing the finalized tax return including all schedules and reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Great Overall Products Though Some Are Better Than Others ”

ProsWe use a lot of the suite products. The integration between the products is top notch and so helpful. Most of the products are relatively intuitive to use.
ConsSome of the more advanced features are super cumbersome to figure out or are downright useless.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Jillian C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2017

“Practice CS and File Cabinet CS”

OverallI am only reviewing these two products in the Professional Suite because they are the only two I use on a regular basis. Practice CS helps me keep track of our clients information, staff time and client billing, plus all the reports I need to run. I find it to be user friendly and the customer support for this product has been excellent. Although you will get billed for using Thomson Reuters customer support so that is a downside. Practice CS is set up well, everything is easy to find on a stationary menu on the left side. Keeping track of invoices paid vs. owed is easily done with the many reports you can run. Thankfully Thomson Reuters helps you set everything up when you first start out. File Cabinet CS is a great digital filing system that works with scanned PDF documents and different file types. It has helped to cut down on the mounds of paper we store and print. I highly recommend it if you are needing a digital filing system. There is one negative however, the client IDs have to be set up slightly different in File Cabinet and Practice. This has caused some confusion and trouble with billing clients correctly. I am not sure why the programs are not using the same configuration for client IDs when they are made by the same company. maybe it is something Thomson Reuters can address in the future.
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2017
DEEPAK M.
OWNER
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2016

“Can professional suite”

OverallExcellent integration. Expensive and late in latest trends. ACCURACY IS HIGHPOINT. GOOD EFFICIENCY AVAILABLE.
ProsINTEGRATION
ConsCOST, AND NOT LATEST TREND
Recommendations to other buyersNO
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2016
Jenna G.
Office Manager
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“CS Professional Suite”

ProsIt showed you what was wrong once submitted the documents
ConsI didn't like how you had to go into different spots to find the documents needed
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“Great partner for managing workflow in an accounting office”

ProsThe CS Suite integrates well with its partner software which makes supervising a team workflow a breeze. The suite assists tracking staff time, reports, client details and other necessities. The layout is very easy to maneuver around with, simple and easy to learn. Integrated software are easy to learn as well, they chose the best software to integrate with.
ConsTech support charges costly. It is great and amazing that tech support is available 24/7, but the cost is rather high. Despite that fact, being that the suite have software which are adaptable, tech support is used minimally.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Spencer K.
Accounting Assistant
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2019

“ACS - better than QuickBooks”

OverallI used ACS for a number of Dental practices' monthly financial statements.
ProsI like the functionality and simplicity of the software. It is easy to track where all of the transactions are going and to edit or delete mistaken transactions. It also can import a spreadsheet of transactions all at once.
ConsIt is not very pretty or easily used by those without a background in accounting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2019
Jon B.
owner
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“significant programming error in UltraTax”

ProsI don't have anything positive to say about the software. It doesn't perform the basic task that it's supposed to, i.e. properly calculate your taxes.
ConsMy tax accountant uses Thomson Reuters UltraTax. In 2015, it made a significant error in my state filing. I was audited by the state, and based on the error that the software made, I owe the taxes plus $700 in penalties and interest. The time I have lost to this audit is significant as well. My accountant requested that TR compensate me for the penalties and interest. They declined to. The programming error in the software was a very basic error. They should be ashamed of themselves.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019