Clear Books Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Clear Books

Clear Books accounting is simple, intuitive and award winning accounting software for small businesses and accountants. Save time and work smarter by managing your accounts in the cloud, so you and your accountant can access your books anywhere, anytime. Manage invoicing, banking, VAT and submit returns directly to HMRC. We even cater for multi currency accounting and construction industry scheme verifications and submissions. We are HMRC recognised as a MTD VAT software supplier. Learn more about Clear Books

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
John J.
Business Director
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2017

“Clear Books has been a vital tool in managing my day to day finances for my business.”

OverallBefore Clear Books, I used an alternative free version of a similar system. After growing to a certain size, I spoke with my accountant to move to something that could push the limits of a free product. Using Clear Books means that my accountant better understands my finances, and can advise accordingly. The key benefits to Clear Books are the Dashboard and the integration of Go Cardless for easy one-click invoice collection. My businesses never have to worry about BACS transfers or payments as I can collect any invoice using the pre-authorisation method for each invoice raised. Clear Books will also generate the necessary bills to make sure that any interest or fees paid are correctly categorized and settled. You can also keep an eye on who's transactions are currently being progressed and who's have been paid. Tie in the Go Cardless integration with reoccurring invoice templates and I have myself a feasible, cost effective means of Direct Debit without the expensive setup costs and benefit from the low-interest rate.
ProsThe Clear Books system is very easy to navigate and with the integration of your data into a one-stop dashboard which is customisable to your needs, you get a very in-depth overview on how your business finances look at a glance. This is a vital tool for me as I don't need to keep running regular reports to see how my finances are, I check the dashboard and it has already done the hard work for me. From the dashboard, I can easily find how much profit, expenditure, income and outstanding invoices come to. From there, I can work out what is bringing the finances down and what is building the finances up.
ConsIn regards to the overall system, I do not have any particular dislikes but more of a difficulty understanding how to apply any refunds and credits within the system. When I issue refunds or have credits applied to any of my supplier accounts, this is often something I have to speak to my accountant about. My second point is around Quotes. These tend to remain on the system even after the invoice has been generated from them. It would be more efficient to have a check box to confirm completion of the quote rather than creating the invoice, then clearing down the quote. Not a big issue, but would save some time when you have a batch of quotes you've forgotten to clear down that could have been addressed at the time of invoice conversion.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2017
Avatar Image
Anderson S.
Analista Financiero I
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Excellent solution to carry and track the accounting”

OverallIt has been very productive to have a tool like this software since it compiles the accounting information and helps you manage it so that you can have all your accounting in order and reconciled, even emits reports that are very useful when making decisions, facilitates payment of taxes and the management of payments with our suppliers
ProsIt has a panel through which you can control the most important aspects of your accounting, program reminders and automate the payments you should make, another aspect that I like is your billing module, you can customize and adapt to your needs, manage the part You only have to import the bank statements and reconcile your accounts effectively
ConsIn general lines is a fairly complete software, however I have noticed that it does not allow you to repeat certain tasks, that is, once a task is completed, you must re-program it again if you require it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 28, 2018

“Decent accounting software, does the job”

OverallIt's a good basic accounting software, but it lacks the added value with no relevant webAPI integration.
ProsClear Books gives you access to basic accounting tools (I work in sales so I use it for creating quotes and invoices and chasing unpaid invoices). I can do these tasks with ease.
ConsThere are two main cons to Clear Books in my experience: - They continually add UI changes, it's not a huge deal, but almost every week they've changed some little thing. It can be annoying when you're trying to figure out where things are. - They lack the webAPI integrations we need. This means that you can't automate repetitive tasks such as creating quotes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 28, 2018
Sharon P.
Director
Security and Investigations, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017

“Easy to use and full of useful tools”

OverallEasy to use on a day-to-day basis and great reporting and search functionality.
ProsClearBooks is easy to use and has a myriad of useful tools. It has a great search function, excellent reporting capabilities and the Dashboard provides an excellent top level review of how the business is doing.
ConsThe document templates can be difficult to tailor to your own requirements - however, the support team is amazing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017
Kerensa L.
Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017

“Find the package very easy to use and any problems I have had have been resolved quickly.”

ProsEase to use by a non accountant, common sense view, easy to navigate, can be viewed by others if necessary without having to close the package.
ConsWhen you input too many lines in a bill the package can lock and you have to start from scratch, it doesn't automatically save until you press the save button.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017
Avatar Image
Tomás D.
Analista Profesional III
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2019

“The best in accounting services on the web”

OverallYou have total control and access to accounting when and where you want, that is a great advantage, it allows you to consolidate the accounting and correcting and detecting the details that can cause the company to fail financially, reducing costs and time
ProsIt is an accounting service platform that has very good design, is aesthetically pleasing and easy to use, it does not cost much to adapt to the general board, since it contains all the necessary information, you can even handle transactions with different types of currency, handle billing and company's payroll
ConsThere are functions on the platform that can be simplified to give the system better functionality

Vendor Response

By Clear Books on February 6, 2019
Thanks Tomas! We're glad you're enjoying using Clear Books.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Pia D.
Project/Tours Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2018

“Great tool to work with!”

ProsEasy to use and has great tools to work with. reports are very useful and helpful to get a good overview of how business is going. Saves time and is effciient. i would recommend to any small business.
ConsI find there could be improvements in some features, but the customer support is very helpful and I find that they make changes according to the feedback they get, so I can see how this application will grow and imporve.

Vendor Response

By Clear Books on July 31, 2018
Hi Pia, Thank you so much for your review. We love that you are enjoying using Clear Books. We are working hard to continue to improve the system to help you work better in the future. If you have any specific improvements, please let our support team know because they sit about 10 paces across the office from our Head of Product! Kind regards, Karina
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2018
Nick B.
Clear Books
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2010

“Clear Books Small Business Accounting Software ”

OverallIf you are a small/medium sized business or an accountancy firm looking to provide your clients with a remote access solution that is easy and simple to use then this is the software for you.
Pros-Ease of use -Pricing from 5/month -Import your bank statement and explain the transactions no more having to sit and enter each transaction for hours on end. -Online so it can be accessed from anywhere. -One click VAT returns for UK users.
ConsOnline only, if you do not have internet access you will not be able to access it.
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2010
KATE M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2016

“ CLEAR BOOKS, ACCOUNTING PARTNER ”

OverallCLEAR BOOK is simple to use, clear, and generally intuitive accounting software. It has a nice lay out and good feature selection, and it also has neat invoicing and payroll features. It is used by many accountants, including several small accounting firms.
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2016
TAHA S.
BUSSINESS
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018

“GOOD ONE”

ProsAGAIN THIS ONE THE GOOD ACCOUNTING SOFTWARE FOR ALL THE PEOPLES WHO HAVE SMALL BUSSNIESS AND LIMITED BUSSINESS
ConsI DONT FIND BIG DRAW BACK IN THIS THE ONLY ONE I FIND IS THAT IT IS FOR A VERY LIMITED SEGMENT OF PEOPLES
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018