SalonBiz Ratings

Overall
3.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About SalonBiz

SalonBiz salon software was created, before most salons had computers heres what we know to be true: Relationships are what make the beauty industry unlike any other. When you live it and love it like we do, you help grow it, from the salons bottom line to the individual stylists paycheck. When our industry friends experience wild success or get up and try again, they share their experiences with us. Its those stories that built this software. Learn more about SalonBiz

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Lauren C.
Operations Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Our experience is great having customer support at our finger tips 24/7!”

ProsMobility- We are able to take care of clients in a more mobile fashion in this fast paced world we live in. I pads and phones can be used in salon and out of the salon to take care of client and staff needs. Unity- We are able to unify our staff and client data base so if a client visits more than one location we can still give our staff commissions and the clients file can easily be viewed to look up history. Call Center- we are able to handle clients from one central location. Power outages- If one location looses power we can still operate without falling behind on daily book keeping. Customer Support- Customer support is always available and quick to respond to needs, they also have a friendly southern hospitality that is so refreshing! ;-) Promotions- Its easy to add a discount code and use the auto discount feature when running certain sales. Inventory- We just dove into inventory but it is pretty simple and user friendly to count your items in stock. Online Booking- Seems to be an easy function for our clients and helps fill in the day when there is availability.
ConsReports in general are overwhelming & not productive time wise- Being able to find what you are looking for without going to several different reports and having to export and sort is time consuming. Finding service provider benchmarks all in one report would be nice. It becomes confusing for the staff to know where to look to reach their goals when having to go to several places to find out how they are doing on their own. Having to build our our payroll report to show service providers what they are getting paid, custom reports very costly but seems to be the only solution for important aspects of our operation. Staff documentation- There is no where to document an employees timeline such as promotions, write ups, transfers in their file. Pop up notes- Takes to long to get into a pop up note and it is not an easy read format... better format and entry would be awesome for helping clients more effectively.

Vendor Response

By SalonBiz on March 21, 2018
Hi Lauren. We love to hear to hear feedback like this! Especially where we can make improvements. It seems as though no two salons are alike when it comes to benchmarking so we¿re working on something we feel could make everyone happy. We¿ll fill you in soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Cosmetics, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019

“Outdated Salon Software”

OverallI've been working with SalonBiz on and off for almost ten years. Although it's easy to use it is definitely time for an update.
ProsSalonBiz is easy to use, once you know what you're doing...
ConsIt is very outdated, definitely could use a facelift to make use and appearance easier.

Vendor Response

By SalonBiz on January 29, 2019
Hi! Thanks for your feedback. Our team has been working on updating the core software, in fact, we are in the process of releasing a new web based appointment book. I¿d love the opportunity to connect to ensure you are using the most up to date version and that you are taking advantage of all newer features like custom email templates, online booking, the Stylist App, our iPad app and Pocket Salon for your guests. Give us a call at your convenience (888)809-2802.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Lindsey F.
Director of Guest Care
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018

“We have had a wonderful overall experience with Spabiz since day 1. ”

ProsThe software is extremely user friendly and easy to navigate. Support with technical questions, reporting, etc...is always top notch.
ConsIt would be nice to have more customizing options. Altering standings vs deleting all and starting over. Email and text communications with guests outside of just confirmations.

Vendor Response

By SalonBiz on March 16, 2018
Hi Lindsey! Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. It¿s great ideas like yours fuel our future development. We have a brand new texting feature using artificial intelligence we are certain that your guests will love. Can¿t wait to share with you, speak with you soon!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018
Marie M.
Salon Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018

“excellent! The different tools and features make it easy to run your business and track growth”

ProsMy favorite is the software is forever evolving! When I first started as a manager it was a simple software that pulls numbers. NOW...SalonBiz has not only a stylist app but also an app for our guests to elevate their experience. SalonBiz is on trend and we all thrive to live on trend!
ConsMy least favorite would be the visuals. The software looks a little dated but it's not there for looks; it's there for functionality. You can find the visuals in the apps which to me is most important!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018
Aurora E.
Guest Associate
Consumer Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2018

“Withstanding the test of time ”

ProsReliable, multi-functional software. A great solution to booking needs for a variety of salons.
ConsThe aesthetics are a little retro on the version we have currently (not sure if it's updated in later versions of the software). Otherwise, there are currently no complaints.

Vendor Response

By SalonBiz on January 2, 2019
Thanks Aurora! We appreciate your feedback. There are some new changes to the interface that will be released throughout 2019. Be sure to sign up for our blog posts so you¿re kept in the know about the releases. Happy New Year!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2018
Sharon H.
Guest Services Manager
Consumer Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2019

“Quality Performance”

OverallSalonBiz is overall great to work with, it regularly performs a variety of essential functions and is user friendly. This system stores customer notes and data easily, and even has an app to make info accessible on the go.
ProsVery user friendly, customer support is helpful, multi-functional, effecient
ConsMoving appointments is difficult and multi-stepped, should work better

Vendor Response

By SalonBiz on June 24, 2019
Hi Sharon - We are constantly working to improve our system based on great feedback like yours. Thank You!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Cosmetics, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019

“Great Salon Product- but must have patience”

OverallWe stay really organized. There are a lot of great features like being able to put a clients birthday in their file.
ProsI love the format of the program. It's easy to learn how to use and there a lot of great features to help your salon run smoothly.
ConsTechnical support is a joke. Half the time SalonBiz tech supports blame issues on internet or Aveda Pure Privilege

Vendor Response

By SalonBiz on January 7, 2019
We love hearing feedback like yours. SalonBiz is all about helping you easily manage salons operations.:) Our software and team improve when we work together, we¿d love the opportunity to discuss your interaction with our team, I invite you to reach out to me personally. I hope to hear from you soon. Best!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019
Avatar Image
Allison P.
Hostess
Restaurants, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2018

“Not terrible but not the best”

OverallOverall it is a good software to use with it's different pros and cons. I like that it is an easy system to learn and easy screens to navigate through.
ProsIt is easy to navigate through the software and the picture icons are a nice bonus. If you don't know what the icon means just hover your mouse over it and it says the name of the icon/what or does. I personally think that is helpful as pictures are easier on the eyes.
ConsDoes not allow you to move appointments around with ease as I normally have to go out of the appointment and then go back in to edit it again. You are also no longer able to call salonbiz and have them reopen it when there is a ticket error. Therefore, it should allow us to edit tickets right away without having to contact someone.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2018
Kevin T.
Ind. Stylist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“Salonbiz is a great force to be reckoned with! ”

ProsAs with any booking software system that's out there, you'll need to setup your services, service categories, service price, duration and so on. You have complete control over how you'd like the system to interact with you. They've even got a Stylist app that you can grant or revoke privileges to. It's robust and features packed!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
Rochelle S.
Receptionist
Cosmetics, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018

“Salon/Spa Necessity”

ProsThe capability to customize the service for each stylist is a great feature, especially since our stylists also offer spa services. We can customize the time based on what is needed for each service. Another perk is being able to upload the clients information into the system. This allows for the receptionists to access their information with one click to confirm their appointments, instead of having to locate their file.
ConsI can't think of any complaints for SalonBiz. It's a great software to have, and makes everything run a lot smoother for a medium sized Salon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Translation and Localization, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 6, 2019

“I LOVE this booking tool!”

OverallOverall I'm very happy every time I have used it. Very easy and intuitive, very reliable and up to date with all the information I need. I LOVE it!!!
ProsI love how easy it is to book an appointment with this booking tool. I can see everyone's schedule up to date, very reliable and very easy to cancel appointments as well.
ConsI just wish there was another view for the schedules, for example, a monthly view, where I could see more than just a week at a time.

Vendor Response

By SalonBiz on May 7, 2019
We are so glad to hear you Love the booking tool. There is a way to see a 2 week view of the book, unfortunately a month view is not an option. Call us at (888) 809-2802 and we'll show you how. Thanks!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 6, 2019
Alan N.
Cosmetologist
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“Not the easiest to use”

OverallThe software needs improvement for mobile use, great for bigger companies not the best for smaller salons. Customer Service is the worst, customer satisfaction is not guaranteed with manager.
ProsDifferent functionalities, great for reports.
ConsMobile use is not the easiest for users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Jacob A.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“Hands down, the best software for a full-service day spa”

OverallThis software is the backbone of our salon and day spa. Could not function without it.
ProsWe have tried over 5 different salon and spa softwares, and SalonBiz is by far the best. It has all the necessary functionality, without bloat. It is intuitive to set up as well.
ConsPricing is a little higher than I'd like, but because it does what we need it to, we put up with a little extra cost.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Kate M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2017

“Needs to work out some kinks”

OverallWe were one of the first customers to use the cloud based spa biz. It had almost everything we needed and the support was top notch. However, there were some major growing pains. My main complaint was that the program was too slow. Several times it went down and of course this is stressful for a company. I loved their reports and I found it easy to look at and to use. Sometimes there were weird glitches that would like a while to resolve. If they ever worked out all their kinks we would consider using them again. I would test this first to make sure the speed was where it should be prior to purchasing this product, but otherwise it was a good program.
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2017
Carissa S.
Manager
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017

“Very Customizable”

ProsLove that we can customize what each user login can access, Offers text reminders for our clients.
ConsText confirmations for clients are an additional cost, color customization makes the screen look too busy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017
Avatar Image
Jennifer M.
Stylist
Cosmetics, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2018

“Salon biz is easy”

OverallI used salon biz forever when I was working for Aveda, it worked very well
ProsThis software was super easy to book with and navigate and check out
ConsThe price was much higher then other salon booking services
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018

“Awful and outdated.”

ProsTo be honest, I don't really like much of anything about this software. The only pro I have is that it claims to be cloud based.
ConsThis software is extremely outdated and not user friendly. There are hardly any features that differ from any other salon software and they are hard to find and navigate. Do not recommend.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018
Pam R.
ouner
1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2016

“sleek salon spa”

OverallThe software is always down.You call them and they cant fix it.They have awful customer suport.Im losing guess and money.
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2016