Pro_EDI Translator Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Pro_EDI Translator

An affordable EDI Software Solution that allows you to setup unlimited EDI Maps with any number of Trading Partners. EDI Translation that Aligns with your back-end applications. Ideal for organizations sending 850 POs & 810 Invoices- as well as any Healthcare (837/835) or Transportation transactions. We would be happy to help your team become EDI compliant without breaking the bank. We can also write the maps for you or provide a completely hosted EDI Outsourcing Solution. Call Today! Learn more about Pro_EDI Translator

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Scott T.
IT Director
Business Supplies and Equipment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018

“Best 3rd party software I've used”

OverallAutomation
ProsI absolutely love the flexibility that this software provides! We used a product called Sterling Integrator at my previous job and it was a great product but very expensive. If you're looking for a cost effective solution for your EDI needs, I challenge you to find a better product. All this being said, it's the employees that make this product stand out. Incredibly easy to deal with, very responsive, patient, etc... Extremely happy with our choice!
ConsThere is really nothing that I don't like about this software. I can say that others may not like the fact that it's an older product that doesn't have an updated interface. For me, that's not an issue because I'm all about results rather than a pretty interface. This product just works!

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 21, 2018
Thanks for the glowing review Scott! We hope your GHX Setup goes smoothly for years to come! Our Support Team really appreciates the fun atmosphere the Office 360 Team brings to the otherwise dry world of EDI =)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018
Craig D.
eCommerce Manager
Consumer Goods, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2018

“Pro_EDI software has been very reliable and flexible in performing all of our EDI processing.”

OverallWe have been able to quickly set up and implement EDI with hundreds of customers at a very economical cost.
ProsI love that you can set up as many EDI Trading Partners as you want with no extra charges. I also like that you can create as many of your own mapping "templates" as you want with no additional fees.
ConsThe user interface on the Unix version is a little dated. Would like to have a GUI rather than character based. Could use a few more "Conditionals" to allow for math functions. Would like the ability to add comments to each individual field or element "mapping".

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on June 7, 2018
Thanks for the positive review Craig! We don't get as much interest in the UNIX version these days, but I'll pass those comments on to our Dev Team. Our Support Team says Hi by the way!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018

“Solid, reliable software. Exceptional value.”

ProsThe software offers a great value for the functionality. It performs as expected and delivers a reliable result. At its core, ProEDI is a solid EDI translation tool.
ConsControl of flow and processing is not handled natively and requires additional scripting or programming.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 21, 2018
Thank you for your review. We are more open-ended than some other options out there, which force you to adhere to certain communications or post-processing modules. Our clients are free to use whatever FTP / VAN / or file routing systems they like, however we do provide .BAT files and starter scripts to assist with Automated / Unattended processing. Feel free to Email Support@ProEDI.com if you would like additional information on this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018
Jerry A.
Principle Architect
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018

“Rock Solid software.”

ProsWe have been using PROEDI for 15+ years. I've rarely had any issues with the software. Translations are easy to setup and very customizable. Never found a translation or mapping that I couldn't do in PROEDI
ConsThe UI on Linux is a bit dated. No version control for mappings, implementation or trading partners

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 21, 2018
While our Linux interface is less than ideal, ProEDI is Cross-Platform compatible. That allows our customers to create the EDI Maps in the more user-friendly Windows Version, and then run those same maps on the Linux machines with no problem. Some clients also have us create their maps if they are using an all-Linux environment. Let us know if you have questions!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018
Joey S.
Director of E-Commerce
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019

“The most cost effective and easy way to do EDI”

ProsAfter taking the class and learning how to use the software, the setup and translations were a breeze. The stability of the software is solid. We've been using it for the past 3 years without any issues.
ConsThere really wasn't any cons. But you do need to take the class to be able use the software. Like anything else.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on January 30, 2019
Thanks for the review Joey! We do find that folks who take our inexpensive 3-day class tend to fare better than those who do not... But a portion of our user base just dives right into it. Either way, our Cleveland based Support Team is always happy to help you out!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019
Scott N.
IT Admin, Software Architect
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“We have ProEDI running on Unix interfaced with our custom ERP and it is stable and fast.”

OverallAn automated EDI process handling thousands of documents a day.
ProsEasy to interface with other applications. Excellent Tech Support. Fully documented to provide easy interfacing and use.
ConsThere is very little wrong with this software and it runs quickly on our legacy SCO Unix system. Once in a while it may hang for a few minutes, and that may be due to other operations on the system.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 24, 2018
I believe at this point we're the only UNIX EDI Platform that is still actively supported... and for sure the only Cross-Platform compatible EDI Software solution out there. Thanks for your many years of business Scott!!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Jan H.
Director, Inf Sys
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018

“Once trained, the tool is easy to use”

ProsThe data processes quick and once everything is set up, it works great. When we had problems, the help/support was very helpful and ready to help us resolve our issues.
ConsA lot of steps to get to what you need. Need more than just the translator piece. Need a communication tool to send and receive the data.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 21, 2018
Appreciate the honest review Jan! We allow our customers any Communication option they are comfortable with, but also sell EDI VAN Services and AS2 connectivity. Let Support know if you'd like any tips on streamlining the FTP communication. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018
Avatar Image
Joey S.
Director of E-Commerce
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018

“One of the best EDI translation tools I've used!”

OverallGreat training from the ProEDI guys, which in turn lead to fast EDI implementation times.
ProsI like the ability to customize various translations on the fly for those complicated EDI scenarios.
ConsI have no complaints. Maybe a face lift of the UI might be nice. Other than that, there software is solid.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 21, 2018
Thanks for the review Joey! Our 3-day Training class will help folks with larger EDI deployments become proficient in EDI mapping much more quickly, as well as assist with streamlined automation and general EDI consulting that comes with it. Appreciate your business!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018
Cindy G.
Programmer
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018

“Working with Pro-edi is easy and the support is great. ”

OverallEasy edi for a great price
ProsThe team is great to work with. They have done maps for us. They have also helped us to do our own maps.
ConsWe use FTP to get our edi files to the PC. Copying the files back and forth manually is a little tedious.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 21, 2018
Thanks for the review Cindy! FYI we can provide you with sample scripts that help move the data files back and forth (or to and from your servers / FTP sites) automatically for unattended processing. Email our Support Team if you would like more info on that. Cheers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018
craig h.
SA
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018

“Proedi's demo was sufficient to giving us enough knowledge to start writing our own maps ”

ProsEase if use, support staff have been outstanding. Beginning we called, can't say the last time we have called for help.
ConsIf you make a change in the middle need to review everything afterwards. Since I don't have that many cons, would not let me send until I could get more words.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 21, 2018
Thanks Craig! Your 'Cons' section made me LOL. I'd say that 1/3 of our customers can write maps with JUST the demo as the 'instructional guide' so way to go =)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018
Rocco C.
IT Director
Automotive, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Good Product for the Cost”

OverallCustomer Service great they are easy to work with but do not spend a lot of money on updating the interface.
ProsVery Cost effective Easy to use Superior Customer Support
ConsDated interface Few options for Reports or auto sending of errors Need to run manually or via a scheduled batch

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on January 23, 2019
Thanks for the Review Rocco! We have plans to update the interface again, and increase the automatic email/text capabilities for batch reporting as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Dan C.
Vice President I.T.
Food Production, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Pro_Edi”

OverallWe are able to exchange EDI documents with all the major retailers. This places us on the same footing as our competitors.
ProsThe software is a professional grade EDI translator. It can handle any document with ease. The mapping process is simple and easy to use. It has been our only EDI translator for 20 years.
ConsThe Hp-Ux screen handling is a little touchy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Kristin R.
CEO and President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018

“Good EDI product. ”

ProsReliable product that has served us well for many, many years. It is very dependable and easy once the mapping conventions are learned.
ConsMy only complaint is that there haven't been any upgrades to our application in like 12+ years. I just wish they would make it run in the background and not take precedence every time an ProEDI command is issued.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018
Luis F.
IT Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2017

“ProEDI has made light work of a project I did not have in-house resources for.”

ProsI use this system behind the scene of an automated process. I do not interact with it unless I need to make a change, which I usually work with support. The software is rock solid. The support is even better! The experience has been 100% positive!

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on September 7, 2017
Thanks for your review Luis, it's been a pleasure having you as a customer since 2005!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2017
Debbie B.
Office Manager
Warehousing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“ProEdi ”

OverallConstant customer map changes are handled professional and quickly by the ProEDI translator and staff.
ProsThe flawless execution and reliability is what I like most about this software.
ConsThis has yet to be determined because it performs every task required of it.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on January 29, 2019
Appreciate the glowing review Debbie, hope all is well in AK!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Sharon E.
IT tech
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017

“Great support and instruction on usage, very helpful.”

ProsGreat support and instruction on usage was good, so able to use without issues. Used daily and provided what we needed. When changes were required got the help we needed and continued. Very good support!
ConsThat we didn't automate for one user, other users were good with using as we set it up, but some users would have benefited from an automated usage.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on October 11, 2017
Thanks for your review Sharon! FYI we DO have an Automated Setting - ProEDI can be setup to run in 'Unattended Mode' for Automated processing, which includes routing your files to and from your Trading Partners.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017
Vince C.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2011

“One of the most straigh forward EDI Programs I've ever used”

OverallA Great EDI Software product if you want to do unlimited EDI Translation on your own PCs, without having to spend extra money on partner setup fees, communication taxes, or any other 'gotcha's that the more expensive packages seem to have. Great Support Team, and a solid product, I recommend it to all my clients.
ProsInexpensive, but has the ability to translate ANY EDI document, not just healthcare, Transportation or Invoice/PO maps. Data is mapped SPECIFICALLY to your Application File Layout - so it can be automatically fed into your ERP or Accounting system. Unattended Mode is nice for automation, and their Support Team was very friendly and always reliable.
ConsThe product has been around for over 20 years, so it looks a little more dated... but I'm a believer of 'if it aint broke don't fix it" - ProEDI runs fine on our clients Windows 7 and old Unix boxes. We havent had any clients requiring XML translation, but I believe ProEDI doesnt work as well with XML.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on September 28, 2015
Thanks for the review Vince! We do not handle XML currently, but that doesnt seem to be as popular as people thought it was going to be... If you have a normal ERP system you should have no problem with importing / exporting our flat files (.CSV) Glad you enjoyed our customer support!
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2011
Julia Z.
EDI Systems Analyst
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“Developing maps for transportation industry - 204, 990, 214, 210”

OverallCost efficient
ProsInexpensive and low maintenance solution for companies with low to medium volume of EDI transactions. Ability to edit or add segments and elements to any transactions regardless of X12 Standard. This comes handy when you for instance mostly using 4010 but have a requirement for 5010 from one Trading Partner and don't want to create 5010 maps from scratch.
ConsAbsence of built in communication tool. Batch files get very cumbersome when dealing with multiple Trading Partners/transaction sets. Have to rely on DOS commands for any type of specific requirements - unusual naming convention or email alerts. Order of translation logic. Unable to "go back", have to use "SAVE" variables.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 23, 2018
Thank you for being a ProEDI User and Reseller of our Software Julia, Go Cavs!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Jennifer W.
ERP Programmer/Analyst/EDI Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018

“Software is easy to use and support is great”

ProsThis software is simple, effective, and a great value. The customer support is always very helpful and quick to respond.
ConsThe software has a dated look and with that could probably be a bit more user friendly, but it does NOT affect its performance.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 21, 2018
Thanks for your review Jennifer, always a pleasure working with your team!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018
Josh R.
EDI/Web Developer
Furniture, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019

“Know Where The Stumps Are”

ProsIt does what it is designed to do, translate EDI data to a text file and vice versa. Support is top notch.
ConsIt can be quirky when modifying layouts and maps. Save often and you will avoid 98% of these.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on January 29, 2019
Thanks for your review Josh!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019
Warren S.
IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2013

“Software and Support are Good ”

OverallWe process healthcare claims, and didnt want software that automatically updated our SQL database. ProEDI allows you to map EDI data any way you'd like - so it can either be imported into your system after translation, or you could edit the data again with Excel if need be before transmitting. They have a very friendly support team, tho they close at 6 PM EST. The only downside is the interface could use a makeover. It functions well, especially if you know what you're doing. It just looks a little older... Overall a great product for Healtchare EDI.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on September 28, 2015
Thank you for your Review Warren! A lot of people use SQL as their back end for importing / exporting EDI transactions... We work with other Legacy ERP / Backend Software Applications as well. They just have to be able to import / export flat files or .CSV.
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2013
Danica C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2016

“A Great Solution for those who don't want to put all their trust in `the Cloud'”

OverallWe were using another EDI `Cloud-Based' Translator that promised a lot, but ended up costing us more than anticipated. We switched to ProEDI only to save money, because unlike all the other EDI options out there, they don't force you to do EDI `in the Cloud' so they can charge you a monthly fee. With ProEDI we were able to anticipate EXACTLY how much our EDI operations would cost each year, which was great. It also ended up being cheaper than 12 months of `Outsourced EDI.'

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on April 26, 2016
Thanks for your review! We also offer an Outsourcing EDI option, but find many of our customers who have an ERP or Accounting System (etc) in place already, prefer having more control over their entire EDI and IT operations.
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2016
Louie N.
IT Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2015

“VAN Services Were the CHEAPEST We Saw in Our Search! ”

OverallWe were using another Value Added Network that was charging us 'Inter-Connect' Fees and all sorts of other sur charges... We asked ProEDI about their EDI VAN Offerings, and they were able to cut our bills in HALF! We saved 52% the 1st month to be exact, because they don't over charge you and their per kilo-character rate was a lot cheaper than the other 3 'large companies' we were inquiring to.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on October 15, 2015
Thank you for the review. Even if we are not able to provide you with EDI Software, we can always save you money (more easily) on VAN Services.
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2015
Trisha P.
Founder
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“We Use ProEDI LE to exchange 810 Invoices and EDI 850 POs with our 1st Trading Partner”

ProsWe like how easy it is to use... We don't even interface with the software really, everything is done in the background the way we have it setup. We use .BAT files and Scheduling Scripts to streamline everything and it works really well.
ConsWe were going to write our own EDI maps but decided not to... It looked kind of confusing but that might just be EDI. Luckily they have an option for people who dont want to write maps.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on May 21, 2018
Appreciate the Review Trisha! Also, our team LOVED The Bovino Jerky Samples you sent us!! =)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Joshua V.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2016

“A Simple but effective EDI Translator”

OverallWe use Pro EDI just for basic EDI PO and invoice conversion. We used to use QuickBooks, but now we use another accounting package since our business has grown. Pro EDI was able to work with both software platforms. The maps were modified when we changed systems, but the switchover was smooth and painless to us and our customers. We had them write the maps, but they give you the power to write your own EDI maps if you're so inclined.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on February 29, 2016
Thank You for your kind Review!
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2016
Nathan A.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 24, 2015

“Great experience, highly recommend!”

OverallWe use ProEDI Software to process our Dental Claims with various insurance agencies. They wrote the 834 and 837D maps for us, which were customized to play nicely with our open Dental Software. Their Support Team is really nice, which is why we went with them.... Plus the price was a bit lower than the other EDI Packages we looked into.

Vendor Response

By Pro_EDI on November 24, 2015
Thank You Nate! It was a pleasure working with you and Dr. Dinh!
Source: Capterra
November 24, 2015