Calibre Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Calibre

Calibre is comprised of several solutions that can be combined to meet the needs of your business: The Praetorian Voice Recorder is a turn-key recorder capable of full-time, selective, scheduled, random and on-demand recording. The Mentor QA Suite provides the tools necessary to monitor, evaluate and improve agent performance. The Telecom BI Suite provides access to valuable information about your organization by analyzing quantitative business/customer data. Learn more about Calibre

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
April C.
Author
Publishing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2019

“Best way to keep your e-books organized!”

OverallAs an author, I'm also an avid reader, and with everything basically going digital these days I found myself buying and downloading e-books almost daily. From authors, I'm interested in reading, to resources on marketing and writing, almost everything can be found in e-book format. But eventually, you start to run out of space, and things become difficult to find, which is where Calibre comes into play. I absolutely love that someone came up with this! It makes it super easy to organize all your e-books in one place! They absolutely mean it when they say you're never more than three clicks away from your goal, it's that easy to navigate and use! I also love that they don't just work with one format. I've got kindle books (mobi) epubs and iBooks, and Calibre can handle them all! I can even download newspaper and magazine articles, I mean, seriously, what other software can do all that for you? Calibre is a MUST HAVE for any avid reader, no matter which format of e-book you prefer!
ProsEasy to use. Keeps things organized. Great Customer support.
ConsI honestly can't come up with one bad thing to say about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2018

“Fantastic Book Organization”

OverallLove Calibre & don't know what I'd do without it!
ProsI love that I can have multiple "virtual libraries" to organize both my insanely large ebook collection as well as my vast print book collection. I use it as a wishlist of sorts, also. Tags are extremely helpful & I'm so grateful for the robust format conversion functions. The content server allows me to access my library from my phone & tablet, which is yet another fantastic feature. Oh yeah, & it's free!!
ConsThe interface is a little ugly, but it IS getting better & is customizable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Ananth G.
Assistant Professor
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019

“Not a better book management software than the free and open source Calibre”

OverallI had few books that needed to be converted to a regual ebook - to be read across major lending softwares like Adobe etc. But the problem was the books were encrypted and digitally signed. I used calibre software to rip the DRM to a normal book.
ProsFirst of all its free and open source, accessible across major platforms, Ebook management, functionality of converting books from one format to another, stripping a digitally signed copy of a book(DRM based), usage of various plugins, compression engines to reduce the size of a converted book, using the calibre as a server and reading books portably - the list goes on with this wonderful software.
ConsSometimes Calibre is found consuming more memory than expected.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Ganjar W.
Founder
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019

“Excellent EPUB reader for PC”

ProsWith more and more ebooks are published in ePUB format, it is necessary to have a good ePUB reader. For PC, there are several options. Calibre is, in my opinion, the best. It is the oldest ePUB reader and it has excellent functionalities such as managing metadata, managing covers and even transferring files from one device to another.
ConsCalibre's design is old fashioned. It also automatically prompts for adding books to its library when double clicking a book, making user need to dismiss the pop up box. If a user forgets or clicks on the wrong button, Calibre will add the book to its library, leading to multiple entries of the same book.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Sarah N.
Associate Consultant
Management Consulting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2018

“Very user friendly!”

ProsThis is a very powerful book management software! I like that it is very customizable and scriptable.
ConsThe interface of this software is not the most attractive or intuitive which may put some people off and discourage their use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2018
Oksana N.
Graphic designer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018

“Good software for ebooks”

ProsUseful app to read ebooks in different formats especially epub. Calibre remembers all books you opened in it so you can easily find what you want to read without finding ebook file on your computer - you can find it in the Calibre.
ConsI have only one issue with the Calibre: when I try to convert epub format to the pdf format it doesn't work correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Pooja M.
Business Development Executive
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019

“Perfect.”

Proslook and feel is nice! Well Organised and easy to use. Managing all my e-books with ease.
ConsNothing, this is perfect. No cons at all
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019
Amanda H.
Owner
Writing and Editing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017

“Great ebook Software ”

OverallI use Calibre whenever I'm having trouble with file format or organizing ebooks. It's free but well designed nevertheless. I use it primarily to convertical books from one file type to another. It has a great many more features I don't use. Finding help and how to advice about it is very easy with an online search, though it takes some practice to figure it out. I've never had it crash on either of my laptops, and it does what it's supposed to. I think the user interface could be less clunky, but no real complaints.
ProsSuper useful for ebook management. Helps with DRM issues.
ConsCluttered and a bit confusing.
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Public Safety, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“Calibre”

OverallOverall, my experience in using this software has been great. Options exist that are cross-platform to make this available to all.
ProsThis software is awesome in cataloging and reading your e-books. It accepts a variety of file types and does it with ease.
ConsIts design is focused more on cataloging books than features in reading them. More effort could be put into development with the reader in mind.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“My default software for converting e-reader files”

OverallI have downloaded the desktop version on all my personal machines for many years now. Whenever I am interested in a new author or book, I first "sample" a "free" version which helps me decide if I want to purchase the said material. This process has led to many sales for various authors I would have not otherwise have purchased. As these "free" versions can come in various formats, Calibre helps me change the files in my preferred format before transferring them to my e-reader. I have recommended this software to others and will continue to do so.
ProsEasy to use. Great way to organize a local library.
ConsDoes not offer (or I have not found a way) to save a profile online and save my library in the cloud (am relying on other solutions for this which ads a some overhead to the whole experience).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Sharon N.
Writer
Writing and Editing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“Easy conversion for free”

OverallVery positive. It does what it says on the tin, and that's for no outlay. Who can ask for anything more?
ProsIt's remarkably intuitive, even for dunces like me. I managed to convert a book to an epub version very quickly and it worked perfectly. It's far more forgiving of epub book versions than Kindle, reading pretty much anything you throw at it, and it can take a Word document or PDF and convert it in minutes.
ConsActually, not much. I did have to play with it for a while to figure out what it was capable of, but I've used professional software that wasn't nearly as user-friendly as this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Preeti S.
accounts executive
Human Resources, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Best Book Management software”

OverallAmazing
ProsThis is very easy to use. You can also customize the design with CSS Style Sheet. Loving it!
ConsNone. This software is pretty great ! I love using it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Market Research, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019

“One of the best Call Center QA tools out there”

OverallEasy to use, very functional.
ProsIt's easy to record calls and report on them. The analytics capabilities are some of the most advanced I have seen with specific keyword recognition.
ConsWhile I love the speech analytics feature, it yields a fair amount of false positives, which could probably be improved via pattern recognition.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Dylan E.
Software Programmer and Security Officer
Information Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2018

“A suite of tools designed to improve business intelligence”

ProsUnlike the other reviews (which are talking about the ebook management software), this application is designed to improve your business intelligence with a few different pieces of software. I am most familiar with the Mentor QA suite, which helps you track the personal development goals of your employees and partners. The interface works well and is surprisingly easy to navigate.
ConsIt is a complex piece of software that needs knowlegdeable experts to set up. It can also be very expensive, depending on the size and scope you need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2018
Mohd Kasif S.
Systems Analyst
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019

“Easy solution for ebook management”

ProsGreat place for book lovers. Easy to manage. Good page formatting.
ConsNothing till now. This software works well within my requirements.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019
Rick P.
Director
Publishing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“A Wonderful Ebook Tool”

ProsCalibre offers the most complete suite for e-book management: it not only allows you to easily store an array of ebook files, but it also allows you to quickly and easily convert between file types as an exceptionally high quality - not bad for a free software!
ConsThe aesthetics are a little bit retro. Perhaps a minor complaint, but wouldn't mind seeing a UI reboot at some point!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
LINDA H.
Sales Agent
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019

“Better for books than docs”

OverallI need a tool to edit contracts that are .pdf documents
ProsI seems to have the functionality I am looking for. It is less expensive that some of the other options
ConsIt seems to be better suited to converting books than documents, although you can edit documents with it too.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019