SolidWorks Enterprise PDM Ratings

Overall
4.4/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Service
4.1/5

About SolidWorks Enterprise PDM

Cloud-based solution designed to help businesses manage product data, share design information, automate workflows & monitor progress. Learn more about SolidWorks Enterprise PDM

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 52 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 52 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018

“Solidworks PDM review”

OverallOverall SolidWorks PDM has been helpful to our organization. We migrated a large legacy CAD database into PDM, and also use it presently to track releases, review, and organize CAD design data.
ProsSolidworks PDM is a good piece of version control software, with some hiccups. Overall, I like the UI and navigation tools. I like how edrawings has a built in widget of sorts that allows users to preview files in full 3D before opening and editing parts. I also like how easy it is to navigate assemblies and easily see which parts an assembly contains, or where a given part is used. The history tool is also very useful for viewing the changelist and tracking dates of changes, etc. In general I like how PDM interfaces cleanly with the windows navigator UI, and prefer to use the tool in this way as opposed to operating it within SolidWorks why the program is running.
ConsSome aspects of the software are not very user friendly. In particular version numbers (as opposed to revision numbers) can be buggy. It's not always clear when a new version is created or pushed to the server, especially in the case of concurrent users. In some cases I've found that a colleague has created a new version that I do not see until I prompt a version get. However, other times in the same situation I find that I am up to date on the version without having to perform a get. Likewise, when sending PDM notifications to a colleague as in flagging a file for review, etc, the notification does not reliably show up in a user's inbox. Granted some of this may be due to our individual deployment / network issues. Additionally, there is far less documentation and info out there for SolidWorks PDM as there is for general SolidWorks usage. As such, we've had to go to our re-seller with issues, which can be inefficient and makes users reliant on their given re-seller's knowledge base to learn the tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018

“Great Database for Drawings”

OverallSolidworks PDM has been nice to utilize for file management. We are able to keep things organized, have our workflows to deal with the Engineering process, Document Management process, and Management Process for approvals and such, and still have the files available to the rest of the company to utilize in the manner that they need to.
ProsThe best thing about PDM is that it integrates fully with Windows and Solidworks itself. That way, someone that does not have Solidworks can open the files with a viewer and work with them in the way they need, but someone that has Solidworks can open it directly in Solidworks to edit and change the file as needed.
ConsIt is not so easy to integrate with any other type of software. We would like to provide a link to a drawing in our Inventory Management database, so that it will open the latest version of the drawing for a particular part, and it is not so easy to link them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018
Rod R.
PDM/CAD Administrator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2017

“Extremely Customizable, fits almost any business model.”

OverallWe are supporting key business processes throughout the organization with this tool. Any process that relies on forms, visibility, approval loops and audit trails can be handled by PDM.
ProsThe ability to quickly and easily create workflows to match your specific processes is the best feature. We have adapted this tool not only to support Engineering processes and Quality processes, but it supports Planning, Production, Marketing and even Purchasing. If you want to buy something, you initiate the request from PDM.
ConsHistorically, PDM has had some fairly generic tools for the notification system and its error messages should be more specific. To be told that a document doesn't meet the conditions of a transition request without an indicator of what the failure point was is a bit harsh, but it's my understanding that this will change in 2018. Can' wait.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2017
Louis R.
Director of Strategic Accounts
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017

“Use the program for central control and distribution of documents. Solid performance and stability”

OverallDrawing control, design access, revision control
ProsEase of deployment. Allows use within the Windows Explorer interface with document printing and preview within the windows. This eases the user adaption of the product. Our usage is primarily for drawing and model sharing in an environment of approximate 100 users. The controlled access has been key to our revision control process. Our users also enjoy the ability to preview the documents without opening the creating programs - Acrobat, Solidworks, or AutoCad as examples. For Solidworks models, zooming and rotating the view within preview window is also very powerful.
ConsInitial launch can be 15 to 30 seconds. After that the usage is very quick. Unsure about interface on Windows 10 as our environment is currently Win 7.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017
Avatar Image
Rod R.
Senior Business Analyst
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018

“A complete business rev control and process management system”

OverallRev control, file management, business process management, ease of use.
ProsThe greatest advantage to this software is the level of customization that is possible. I have developed the workflow tool in our business to support not only Engineering-centric processes - but also Quality, Operations and even Purchasing/Accounting processes are supported.
ConsSome elements of the development interface take a little patience and a bit of getting used to. There are several dialog boxes in the development area that don't support copy and paste, or select all (Ctrl+A), etc. You get used to working around these elements, but I'd like to see these features added.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“I use SolidWorks every day for my job as a Design Engineer and Enterprise PDM keeps everyone synched”

OverallCollaborate and synchronized data for SolidWorks drawings and solid models.
ProsSolidWorks is easily the most used software by engineers at my company. Because so much of our work is collaborative or builds off of previous models having Enterprise PDM is essential. Everything is easy to find and everyone can access the same base parts to make sure that all of our products are uniform. It's quick, it's easy, and it helps me make sure my projects are made correctly.
ConsIt can be complicated, like much of SolidWorks everything is not intuitive at first glance, but this dissipates over time and constant use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Very useful PDM software”

OverallVery good software for watching over the life cycle of the product.
ProsIt can allow simple monitoring of the complete documentation of a certain product. Even people without particular engineering knowlege can easlily learn and use this software. It can be adjusted to the specific needs of the company. It enables team work for engineers, simple tracking of revisions, documents and leading project documentation.
ConsDocument searching is sometimes difficult. Bady desinged property cards can make work very difficult.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Louis R.
Dir of Strategic Accounts
Machinery, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“I used this program to access our stored and shared design files. Have been using 3 years.”

OverallDesign control of share design resources.
ProsControl of access to the designs, especially during the revision process is very strong. I like that the program prevents accidental release of the incorrect version of a design. Visual preview of the design and bill of materials is also great.
ConsFirst loading the program for first use of the day can be quite slow. Agonizingly so. Once the program is loaded, the lookup speed could definitely be better. When starting program too, it too often is waiting to load the latest versions of files.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Mayra Sareth T.
Teacher
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018

“Solidworks is the program that I have used for 5 years to teach the industrial drawing class.”

OverallI have been able to teach my students how to do simulations of detailed drawings of mechanical parts. I have also used the software to design a machine to assemble bamboo panels used in the construction industry.
ProsWhat I like most is that it is a program is used very easily. The software allows to simulate the behavior of mechanical parts, which is of great help when making a design.
ConsWhat displeases me about the program is that the library of materials and screws is a bit limited, and the materials do not always look real.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018
Avatar Image
Ken N.
Director of IT and Engineering Services
Machinery, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“Manages files well”

OverallIn my opinion PDM is essential if you have multiple users working on the same files. Prior to installing PDM we would often have files that would be accidentally overwritten. The where used functionality is also great for evaluating how part changes will impact other assemblies.
ProsDoes a good job of managing files that are being worked on by multiple users. viewer client allows non SW users to view files
ConsInitial setup can be difficult and require knowledge you only get after you have user the tool
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Mauro H.
Application Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“A must for for engineering efficiency. ”

OverallThe age old engineering problem of borrowing parts from a mixture of folders and not being able to easily know where certain parts have been used to gauge the effect of a revision. Alternatively, having multiple copies of the same part for no good reason other than to isolate it to the current project.
ProsIt's integration into the local filesystem to look and behave like a local folder.
ConsIt's high initial cost, setup and yearly license subscription.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Easy to use for drafting and engineering professionals”

ProsThe software is easy to use and there are many robust tools and the functionality is great. It works great for drawing up parts for manufacturing.
ConsComplex grid valve array with a huge number of mates in it was stable in older versions. If you open in it 2018 it is no longer stable and produces problems. Too many mouse clicks are required for 'ARE YOU SURE' boxes popping up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Dylann C.
Director of Product Development
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2017

“Some aspects are frustrating and confusing, but much better than trying to manage parts on my own. ”

ProsOur file system has been a mess. Using this product has helped us to keep track of our designs much better, especially by requiring that the files are in the system before the parts can be prototyped. EPDM is the only way to go!
ConsI don't like not being able to go back to previous designs without messing up my assemblies. The prompts are not intuitive and I have lost file information by choosing wrong.
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2017
Michael W.
Senior Industrial Designer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2017

“Industrial Designer with over 15years experience. My current company uses PDM.”

ProsI like that each part is automatically given a new rev without having to do it manually. Updating parts in assemblies with a newer version is easy.
ConsWhen searching for files I have to start at the beginning each time. Once I exit a folder and try to access another folder that folder doesn't show its contents. The folder is empty. I have to start at the beginning of EPDM and then the files will show up.
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Gambling & Casinos, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“Solidworks ePDM Basic tool of modern company ”

OverallBasic tool of modern company
Prosbest way to track and menage documentation, reviews, version and modifications on 3d models. very complex setup process, but in the end it worth it. smart way of name coding
Consvery complex setup process, but in the end it worth it. too complex process of creating cards, custom design properties, check in/out
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
Chris K.
Mechanical Design Engineer
Medical Devices, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“A Solid Solution for Small to Mid Sized Companies”

ProsThe addition of customized workflows improves ability to make SolidWorks PDM fit within the company's procedures. It has allowed nearly seamless work sharing on large complicated assemblies. The greatest asset that PDM offers us is consistent storage and organization - making components and sub assemblies easy to find and easy to determine correct revisions/versions of files. Overall, it is one of the cheapest solutions with lots of options for configuration. I would highly recommend it.
ConsSetup can be a bit complicated and confusing. While there are videos and documentation walking you through most of the installation steps - knowing how to setup custom workflows, variables, and data cards can be a frustrating event. Having a consultant setup the PDM can be really expensive, but there are lots of proprietary knowledge that's necessary to really grasp custom configuration. The software itself is not as straight forward as I'd like to see - especially understanding the nuances of versions and revisions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Justin J.
Design Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2017

“SolidWorks Enterprise PDM organizes all of our files.”

ProsIt allows us to manage the life cycle of our SolidWorks parts and libraries as well as managing our related documents. The support offered by SolidWorks is second to none.
ConsThe initial cost is relatively steep, but it does offer a more than competitive feature set. From the administration side, it does require someone with SQL and Windows server experience, which could be a challenge for a small team. Although, it is easy enough to get training and support from your SolidWorks VAR.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2017
Avatar Image
Ada T.
Docente en Mecánica - Jefa de Almacén Central de la UPT Aragua FBF
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018

“Software is excellent when making corrective reviews of the designs presented”

OverallAnother indisputable benefit is the availability of the list of materials, it is excellent when manufacturing is necessary to modify the design due to lack of specific material.
ProsWhat I like most about this software is that it synchronizes the design data and saves it to me securely. In addition to the time, the great time that allows me to save by reusing parts or elements designed in advance and that I can redesign because it is stored in the files, the main advantage being the visualization by the windows explorer which avoids having to open each file to know what it is.
ConsIn reference to this software, there are no negative aspects that stand out according to the functionalities offered. That is to say, the control of revision of the designs is an excellent option at the same time that I can share the designs in a more efficient way, to elevate the level of the design and to dedicate more time to innovate in them and not to remake mechanical elements that already I had done one once.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Aníbal E.
Especialista De Soporte Datos Inalámbricos | Wireless Data Support Specialist
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 18, 2018

“software for engineers”

OverallI have used this software for engineers to design mechanical parts such as a camshaft. with my experience on this program I would say that it is much easier and can be modeled by guaranteeing the quality and operation of your designs before committing to manufacture them. This software is made up of three modules: piece, assembly and drawing.
Prosthere are multiple programs to design in engineering but this is one of the software used in mechanical engineering, aeronautics and industrial, is a program for these students of these related careers develop, model parts and assemblies and extract from them both technical and other types of information necessary for production.
ConsWhat I like least about this software is that users must have a 64bit computer to be able to use solidwork from 2015 to the current year
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 18, 2018
Adam B.
Engineer
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017

“Very helpful with file management and revision control”

Overalldocument control
Prosreduces duplication and tracks changes well. It also gives the ability to go back and view past revisions.
Consit makes the process of creating new parts and assemblies ridged. So if you ever need to make something quick and dont need the structure then it can be a definite set back. but for the most part that is the point of the software.
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2018

“developing engineering ”

Prosthe most useful application for modeling 3D parts. Solidworks allows me to design parts in detail with small error margins, besides this it allows me to extract the construction drawings of these pieces quickly, including all the information necessary for their manufacture.
ConsSome of the problems I've had have been because of the compatibility between different versions of the software. During the use of the program I have had problems but the help window of the software has been useful to solve them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 31, 2018

“Powerful tool for advance engineering”

OverallOverall, it is a great software just need a proper training.
ProsSolid works has a deep learning curve. Once you get past the curve you can create powerful simulations. The software do make things easy.
ConsI used solid works a lot during my engineering classes. It is a really powerful tool to create simulations and designs. It has great user interface making it easy to move between CAD models and simulation. I do find using the plugins a little troublesome.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 31, 2018
Holly M.
Quality Coordinator
Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Solidworks PDM Review”

ProsI like the concept of it, the revision controls and that it can store all of the design documentation in one spot. I like using templates to help create new projects.
ConsSetting it up is tricky. I don't like how you can't have data cards populate in templates that you create. I do not like having to check out a document to edit it as t his step is often missed and creates double the work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Jeremy Z.
Student
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“Easy to use, efficient”

ProsI enjoy the fact that there is a simple to use part management addition to solidworks for companies to use to keep track of parts
ConsAfter using the software for a little while, I am finally getting used to it. It has taken some time to set up, but we are operating more efficiently with this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Jon T.
PDM Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2015

“If you are using SOLIDWORKS there is only one choice for PDM... SOLIDWORKS PDM”

OverallSOLIDWORKS PDM (PDM) is a full-featured data management solution for organizations large and small. It lets you find and repurpose files, parts and drawings, share design information, automate workflows, and ensure manufacturing always has the right version. Don't let its name fool you: SOLIDWORKS PDM (PDM) is the premier data management choice for SOLIDWORKS Users regardless of your size. With the incredible advantage of being based on Microsoft SQL Server, PDM has enormous flexibility in how it can be configured. From simple revision management and search all the way to full blown engineering change control and companywide document management, PDM can be what you want it to be. Conventional wisdom dictates that a system with this much flexibility would be incredibly difficult to configure and integrate into your company, however the exact opposite is true with PDM. Hawk Ridge Systems can have PDM installed, configured and running at your site in as little as 1 day.
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2015
Avatar Image
Alex W.
Mechanical Design Engineer
Machinery, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 24, 2018

“Best PDM”

OverallI've used three PDM devices and this takes the cake by far. PDM enterprise is the most accurate and easiest to use. Choose the blueberry.
ProsVery easy to use and searches are very helpful and accurate.
ConsCould be slow at times. Large registries can take forever.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 24, 2018
Alejandro G.
Mechanical engineering student
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2018

“I love solidworks for design and simulation in 3D, its ease of use is the best.”

OverallDevelopment in the CAD area. Quality in engineering designs.
ProsWhat I like about solidworks are the simulations and the different materials that can be used, all their options and very useful tools when designing in engineering.
Conswhat I like the least is the rendering time, if the user does not have a team of good features can tadar more than expected.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2018
Jasmine H.
Engineering Technician/Assistant
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“A step up from CAD”

OverallMore depth and advanced drawing capability
ProsTutorials are fantastic and if you are a user of CAD should be fairly simple to transition over as long as you are familiar with the drawing basic principles.
ConsIf you are not comfortable with change their will be a big learning curve but with the tutorials and some practice should catch on pretty quick.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Vishal V.
Quality Control Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2018

“My Reviews about solidworks ”

OverallOverall It was good experience.. i learn alot about solid works & designing. That's gives good experience in designing.
ProsI like the most in this application is basically it's a 3d designing software it is used to design the machines nd other solid body nd designing or die's and frames..
ConsLeast i like in this application is every year updation and new features in application & its not easy to learn and use that's i like least
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Ruben A.
Geografo
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2018

“This program has a interface that allows the development of simples designs to others more complex.”

OverallThis is a great help in my work, especially in the span of lapse time that an earthquake can occur, with the use of the three-dimensional image to see the possible behaviorals.
ProsIt allows to elaborate designs of high quality, it is of great help in the area of mechanical engineering that allows to simulate possible projects.
ConsIts neccesary had certain experienc about of design in computer, the ideal need will be easy control
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2018
Daniela L.
Biomedical Engineer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018

“Great and useful ”

ProsThe use of the cloud is really helpful and you can have access anytime, the PDM implemetation is very efective and fast. You can also count on the IT services for any doubt or problem.
ConsAt the beggining its not easy to understand all the features and implementation can be slow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2018

“Worked for us but sometimes a hassle”

OverallKept files safe and monitored revision and release errors
ProsThis powerful software is very useful for revision and release control and limiting access where necessary.
ConsIt can be a bit confusing and complicated and time consuming which is often the case with powerful systems that have so many functions
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2018
Tyler W.
Manufacturing Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Very slow and not intuitive”

ProsIt gets the job done and makes document control nice but it is not easy to use and is very cumbersome and slow. But it does manage the documents very well.
ConsVery slow, cumbersome, not intuitive, and is hard to get documents through because of how slow it is!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Jeremy P.
Mechanical Engineer
Chemicals, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018

“Easy to use product. Great for Engineers and product testing. ”

OverallSaves time and money
ProsThis product allows for extensive product testing purely on the software which can save huge amounts of capital when it comes to early product development.
ConsThis product is so massive in terms of byte size and CPU usage that you need a highly powerful computer to effectively run the program. Something should be done to make it more usable on a standard work laptop.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Moises R.
Analista de planificación de mantenimiento
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2018

“it is a excellent 3D CAD design software for modeling parts and assemblies in 3D and 2D drawings !!”

ProsThe software offers a range of solutions for edit or make all design what you want to do . this is so nice
ConsSolidWorks must improve a important thing that consists in organize all the tools in a better way that help you with your work
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2018
Trent L.
Network Administrator
Machinery, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“de-facto standard”

OverallEasy to understand and update / maintain. End user controls.
ProsEasy software integration into Windows and SolidWorks. Version control and maintenance works as advertised.
ConsOffline files seem to break the plug-ins in some places. But the other features help and the fixes are easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Bankole O.
Writer and Editor
Graphic Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018

“Solid work review”

OverallI have used it for few design and it's my best tool so far for engineering design
ProsIt's simpler to handle that Autocad. The arrangements of the toolbars and descriptions make it usable
ConsIt doesn't do very well on Windows 32bit.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018
BEN K.
QUALITY
Machinery, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“ONLY CHOICE OUT THERE”

ProsI LIKE THE SPEED OF THIS SOFTWARE EVEN ON A LIMITED COMPUTER.
ConsVERY TIME CONSUMING TO LEARN YOUR WAY AROUND THE HOTKEYS AND WHAT YOU ARE TRYING TO DO.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019

“Kinda obsolete”

OverallEngineering change controls
ProsIt is secure and very easy. Data can be backed up into different physical locations. Access control is easy
ConsIt is so classical and just serve its purpose, looks so outdated. basically, it is like storing the file into your hard disk. Very Very simple and not technical at all
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019
John M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2016

“Great product but could use better user guide”

OverallI used this package to develop the mechanical drawings for a payload for a project. I had had no formal training in Solidworks so I had to teach myself. While I expected it to be a long process, I wish there was a better getting started guide to walk me through the first steps and getting acquainted better with the program. Once I got accustomed to it, things went smoothly.
ProsThe renderings.
ConsUsability
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2016
Avatar Image
maria teresa s.
Microbiólogo
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2018

“It is comfortable and does not simplify and speed up the design of electrical systems and others!!!!”

Prosit Works more efficiently and improves collaboration and data exchange between different teams, thus reducing delays.
ConsIt has some difficulty for editing the model when it is very advanced. so it delay your work and make it a little annoy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Apparel & Fashion, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“A best CAD software.. ”

ProsSolidworks provides more versatile tools and user friendly interface for modeling.
ConsRequired high memoy capacity and RAM for running.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Gabrielle L.
Lead Senior Tech Writer
Aviation & Aerospace, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Great for drawings, not for documents”

ProsThe software is great for tracking items through the release process, including iterative revisions.
ConsIt feels much more geared toward CAD drawings and less geared toward documents, which is our primary use of the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
William B.
Tool Room Purchasing Agent
Consumer Goods, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2017

“Solidworks is a great tool for designing.”

OverallA good system to design what I have in mind with great detail.
ProsMy favorite thing about this software is the 3D rendering capabilities that leave almost no limit to the imagination.
ConsMy least favorite thing about this software is how much there is to learn to use this program to its full potential.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2017
Matt J.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Great software tool”

OverallI've used solidworks throughout my time in college. The software itself is easy to use and extremely versatile in what you can do with it. Highly recommend!
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019

“Solidworks Review”

ProsThe best software to use for computer aided design. No better competitor and you can create an infinite amount of things on it. Great for simulation also.
ConsExpensive software to buy. It has a very big learning curve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Daniel M.
Ingeniero de Procesos de Areas de Desarrollo de Producto, Servicio al Cliente y Artes
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018

“Perfect tool to create 3D projects with simulations allowing partners to have better visual aids.”

ProsUser friendly software and with the features of creating complex surfaces and ther patterns can be viewed,
ConsPricing for this software is really high if you would like to use it at home as a hobby or as a learning tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018
javier r.
engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018

“one of the best simulator software it has a really great color and graphic design it so useful in wk”

Prosthe most i like is that is has so many useful tool so you have so many option to edit all your work and do it the best you can
Consyou need to organize better the tool because sometime it can be complicated to use and it make slow your work
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018
vincent s.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2017

“Very powerful, but steep learning curve”

OverallLots of functionality but does require quite a bit of learning to make it work within the constraints of your documentation system.
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2017
Tim V.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017

“Software review ”

OverallNew PDM software is working well. Backward compatibility is also quit good compared to previous versions. .
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017