HydroCAD Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About HydroCAD

HydroCAD Stormwater Modeling provides easy TR-20, TR-55, SBUH, and Rational hydrology, plus TC calculations, pond storage, outlet hydraulics, pump routing, underground storage, pollutant loading, and more. Version 10.0 adds many new features including direct CAD import, dam breach routing, skimmers, tubes, siphons, local rainfall data import, and a constantly expanding chamber library. Interactive graphical environment is fast and intuitive, producing better results in less time on every project Learn more about HydroCAD

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 7 of 7 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 7 of 7 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Christine B.
Engineering Technician III
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018

“I use this software quit often and find it to be very user friendly and easy.”

OverallMakes my job more efficient.
ProsI didn't have to do a lot of set up for entering data. Everything is in the manor in which it should be for me (like units, etc.) It prints out reports the way I want them.
ConsI don't have a stand alone program. It's just through AutoCAD. I am not sure if it is available through stand alone now. We used to have it that way. I like that better. Sometimes the picture of the pond prints off out of place and the letting is too small.

Vendor Response

By HydroCAD Software Solutions on August 29, 2018
Thanks for the review. Please note that HydroCAD has always been a stand-alone Windows application. Although we have the ability to import watershed data from AutoCAD, HydroCAD always runs as a separate stand-alone program and does not require AutoCAD.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Julio A R.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018

“intuitive software to deal with complex systems”

OverallThe benefit I get is to do my hydraulics work, recommending solutions that have a support through the reports of network calculations, easy to visualize and that the clients and municipal officials can easily understand
ProsWhat I like most is that it deals with complex hydraulic systems through simple mechanisms, easy to visualize and identify in the hydraulic network that is being designed. In the same way, the application handles quantities like flow of entrance, exit and allowed storage, excellent and practical designing tool
ConsWhat I like the least is that the design of hydraulic networks there are elements of flow control that make the network more efficient, however, hydrocad does not have an element that identifies it, for example valves or gates
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018
Julia M.
Landscape architect
Architecture & Planning, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018

“Hydrographs no longer by hand”

OverallStormwater management plans in compliance with national polution discharge elimination (npdes) law.
ProsIndustry standard for stormwater analysis and design..
ConsJust such a bugger to use... the graphics are odd
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018
Trisha D.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2016

“Can't complain, not too flashy but great where it counts”

OverallI used HydroCAD for one of my Civil Engineering classes in college. I like that it treats designs realistically, for example, if a building is not fully or functionally shaped, the software shows weird designs (great feedback).
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018

“Great program if I could grasp it. ”

OverallVery accurate and a great way to store information.
ProsHas a lot of things you can do. Used it for a stormwater detention basin and it did a great job at calculating water flows.
ConsIt was very hard to understand. But maybe if I specialized in hydraulics instead of roads/structures I would understand it more.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018
James R.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017

“Cad Review for Promat”

OverallUsed software for about 1 month helping customer with a project. The software was easy to use. I found the commands simple and easy to understand
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017
JEAN K.
Contract Designer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2018

“This program definitely has great features and functions for the job. ”

ProsIt can handle very complex systems which makes this an excellent program for design. Also, great tool for hydraulic calculations.
ConsThis program is specific on how reports are printed. Can be a little cluttered and complicated to read. Ability for 3D design would be greatly appreciated.

Vendor Response

By HydroCAD Software Solutions on August 29, 2018
Thanks for the review, but based on your company name I suspect you're thinking of HydraCAD fire protection software, which is a product of another company. We are HydroCAD Stormwater Modeling.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2018