IntraVet Ratings

Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
2.5/5

About IntraVet

IntraVet is the industry's most powerful practice management software. It lets you manage your entire practice with one system and personalize it for the way that you work. With IntraVet, you can easily manage and integrate appointments, estimates, invoicing, patient records and imaging, medical history, lab results, SOAPs, equipment, reports and client reminders. Plus, you can use IntraVet's suite of tools, ePetHealth and DIA, to easily market clinic services and educate clients. Learn more about IntraVet

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
David S.
Veterinarian, Practice Owner
Veterinary, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Good but dated”

OverallIt's been a very reliable program for the past 20 years but the quirks drive me nuts and there are many better programs out there. I'm glad I bought it when I did but I really wish they had followed through with all their promised upgrades and expansions.
ProsI purchased this program when my hospital was built 20 years ago. At the time it was the best thing in our market. The interface is straightforward, there is consistency with the upgrades and it's pretty easy to train new staff members on.
ConsVery dated. It went from being the best to just 'meh'. The software has lots of little quirks such as not being able to delete patient numbers using the backspace, or how you jump from one subject to another in SOAPs. Once you figure out the quirks you're good to go but there are a lot of them. It seems that years ago they had a great product but then some software engineer left, the product stagnated for a long time and now it's being slowly updated by the new owners.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Amanda R.
Owner/Veterinarian
Veterinary, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Old Workhorse Software”

OverallOverall my experience if positive, but again, I feel that they haven't kept up with the changes in the industry and what is needed to have a good work flow in the hospital setting. IntraVet needs to keep up or they will find more and more hospitals leaving for "newer" products to help us be more efficient.
ProsIt is easy to use, and once you know what you're doing you can breeze through things. I love that you can set minimum pricing, easily view your schedule, and populate estimates that are easily loaded into the patient invoice.
ConsThe software hasn't kept up with the times. It used to be the best product on the market and I used it at multiple hospitals and was very happy with it. The need to be able to easily text, email, and chart directly from the software is here and IntraVet hasn't kept up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
April L.
Veterinarian and Owner
Veterinary, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“Once a good software but hasn't been able to change to meet changing needs in vet med”

OverallI was an early user of Intravet at my practice in OH and had a great relationship with the company and many of the key people. We felt like the software was a good value then, though of course there were challenges. I sold my practice in OH to my partner and moved to CA. About a year after moving to CA, I purchased a practice and when I thought of software, I thought of Intravet due to past good relations. Contacted them and set up an assessment. We decided we wanted to go with them again. The first few years were great as the company was still Intravet and independently owned. When Intravet was purchased by Patterson, things fell apart. Intravet had been promising some great new upgrades for a year or more, but couldn't pull them off before it was sold to Patterson. Patterson promised the same type of bells and whistles for YEARS but never came through either. Updates often created issues and customer support (once an AAHA industry standard) went from fantastic to abysmal. It was a very tough transition for us because some of the same people were initially still at Intravet when first owned by Patterson, but the quality of software, updates, and support all began to fall. They promised their updated and amazing version for 5 years before I gave up and switched software before it all fell apart on us. Disappointing.
ProsNothing
ConsToo much to say honestly! So disappointing.
Recommendations to other buyersNone
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Roberto P.
IT Administrator
Veterinary, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Intravet is a good robust product”

OverallReally need software just wished they also provided hardware sales at the time to match with their products. This is one that I will definitely revisit next time we upgrade our Practice Management software
ProsReally liked Intravet when I was reviewing which software was more suitable for the clinic. The interface is so sleek and the design is very IOs. Really liked the way the appointment book was set up. Most of their product is very robust and I really enjoyed using it. Their new move to a cloud based system has me very excited and curious.
ConsThe lack of hardware support. At the time of us looking for a new software looking for something that would also required us to look for a hardware vendor would've been a bit too much. At the time the integration with Idexx equipment was a bit lacking and the lack of any ability to auto charge was also a put off.

Vendor Response

By Patterson Veterinary on December 20, 2018
Roberto, We appreciate the honest feedback! We will certainly add your points to our list of items to review with future versions. We understand your concerns around finding a hardware provider. If you are interested, we have partnered with vendors all over the country for this reason. We would be happy to connect and share contact information for some preferred providers in your region at any time. Thank you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Lesley Y.
Practice Manager, RVT
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017

“The software is easy to use, but has limited information you can pull or limit reports. ”

ProsEasy to use....It's easy to train new employees on this system. It's easy to navigate from one screen to another.
ConsLimitations on reports or report information. The support isn't great, I get different answers from different people on how to fix the same problem and most of the time end up fixing it myself.

Vendor Response

By Patterson Veterinary on December 7, 2017
Thank you so much for the feedback Lesley, we truly view it as a gift! We're sorry if you've had a bad experience at all with our support team in the past. We have made a lot of improvements to the team and product over the past few months, so hopefully this hasn't been a recent experience. We would welcome any ideas you may have to help us increase your satisfaction with our support or product! Please feel free to reach out to us directly at any time to discuss!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017
Kim S.
Practice Manager
Veterinary, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2018

“A nightmare of a database!”

ProsNothing at this point. I have nothing else to add...
ConsOut practice has been using Intravet for over 10 years now. I came in as practice manage a year ago and systematically tried to work with Intravet to reduce the shear number of errors and required reboots. We are now on an extremely fast, hard-wired network and the problems have continued to persist. There are too many to list them here. Intravet does not have a working utility that allows you to defragment your database. They have admitted that it does not work and, for some reason, they are not working to fix the utility. Customer service tried to upload our database and run fragmentation report on their end. According to Intravet, our database was not fragmented at all. This is completely impossible given the volume of data that runs through the system on a daily basis. As it turned out, they were supposed to also figure out why a 3rd party app could not be loaded on the system and they said they were unable to load the database - THE SAME DATABASE THEY CLAIMED WAS 0% FRAGMENTED. You get the point!

Vendor Response

By Patterson Veterinary on November 1, 2018
Kim, Thank you for providing feedback. We truly strive to improve the customer experience based on any and all feedback received, regardless of the channel. We're sorry your outlook on IntraVet is currently so low. Upon review of your account interaction history with our team, we agree that the problems you and your staff are experiencing are unacceptable. We plan to reach out to you directly to discuss a go forward plan that all parties involved can agree on and are comfortable with. Again, our apologies for your situation, but it is our goal to resolve this. Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2018
Tammy D.
Head Receptionist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 6, 2018

“Use daily. Easy to navigate.”

ProsEasy to navigate. Appointment book leaves room for detailed notes and is easy to schedule. Our practice will upgrading the software soon to the newest version. Links with laboratory software easily. I have also used the demo of that upgrade and am looking forward to making the switch.
ConsCannot open an invoice if someone else is invoicing. Cannot create an estimate if invoicing. Control Center slows down software. Cannot combine accounts unless software is shut down on all other computers.

Vendor Response

By Patterson Veterinary on January 9, 2018
Thank you for the feedback Tammy! We are happy you've taken the opportunity to try out the cloud demo and we look forward to upgrading your clinic to the latest version!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 6, 2018
Melanie C.
owner
Veterinary, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2017

“Patterson has ruined this company”

Overallloved it at first but technology has surpassed it and no innovation coming from patterson.
ProsWe have the old version 350 . It works pretty well but is not up to speed with current technology. It is easy to use and great for paperless (a bit cumbersome for attaching outside labs and radiology but still not too bad)
ConsStarted with intravet in 2003. Company was run by people who actually had experience in a veterinary clinic. They understood what we do everyday. Now it is run by computer people who do not understand anything. New version caused us to be locked out of large client files. Not good
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2017
Kristen H.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2017

“I have used intravet for over 15 years and find it relatively easy to use.”

ProsI like the appointment calendar and ability to color code doctors. I like the interface between the software and Idexx.
ConsI hate that the new version is not out. We have been waiting for 4 years with no satisfactory answer of where it is. We are almost thinking of switching because our version is outdated.

Vendor Response

By Patterson Veterinary on January 1, 2018
Thank you for your feedback Kristen! We are happy you asked about our new version! We most certainly have updates available for your clinic! We will have a member of our product delivery team reach out to discuss!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2017
Chad D.
Owner/Practice Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2018

“Worked with IntraVet for several years. ”

ProsThe billing reports were easy to use. Invoices were easy to create. Client communications were easy to make templates for.
ConsNo customer support. Used the system for several years with no update. Crashed on several occasions. Would not save items including invoices and client communications.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2018
BRENDA S.
HOSPITAL MANAGER
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2017

“WE WERE A BETA SITE SINCE THE BEGINNING, ALOT OF KINKS TO WORK OUT, BUT IT HAS BEEN WORTH IT.”

ProsEASE OF USE, ABILITY TO CONNECT WITH ALL COMPUTERS IN BUILDINGS, EMAIL CLIENTS, BOARDING PAGE IS SO MUCH EASIER TO USE NOW
ConsNOT BEING ABLE TO ADD MORE THAN 1 DISCOUNT ON THE INVOICE. WE HAVE TRIED SINCE THE BEGINNING TO GET THIS BACK INTO THE SOFTWARE, WE HAD IT UNTIL WE BECAME BETA
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2017
Avatar Image
David A.
Practice Manager, Business Director, Owner
Veterinary, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2019

“Plagued with bugs”

ProsWe moved from the Classic version to the new version, which added users and passwords.
ConsAudit trail is pathetic, incomplete and about as limited as you can get. Reporting stinks. Controlled drug reports do not work and generate garbage, this is "a known issue scheduled to be fixed in a later release" and has been a problem for at least the last 3 major releases! Good luck if the DEA wants reports from your PMS.

Vendor Response

By Patterson Veterinary on January 30, 2019
David, Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry your current perception of our product is not meeting your standards, and frankly, with comments like this it¿s not meeting ours either. We¿re sorry you¿ve ran into some trouble with the product. This problem is impacting your specific practice only and it¿s tied to how your staff are invoicing drugs out in a very unique manner. Regardless of how you¿re using the product, your reports should always be accurate. We should have a fix for your practice ready to be deployed within the next week. One of our support representatives should be reaching out to you shortly to give a status update. Thank you for your patience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Veterinary, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019

“I love and miss using this software”

ProsDefinitely the most user-friendly software I have personally used in vet med.
Consnewer versions seem to become more complicated over time
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019
Avatar Image
RHONDA E.
Owner
Veterinary, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“Horrible Customer Service for the price they talk in circles”

OverallVeterinary Organization for client/patient record system
ProsEasy to learn and use quickly for patients. It does the basics for a veterinary practice. We upgraded from Dog Doc to this.
ConsCustomer Service and price of Computer support. I purchased the product and purchased the support for 2 years and they promised an upgrade that was never seen. 10 years later, still no upgrades and worse ever customer service.

Vendor Response

By Patterson Veterinary on April 13, 2018
Dr. Ellison, We appreciate all of your feedback. We've attempted to reach out a few times this week to discuss your current unique situation. To clarify, we most certainly do have an upgrade available for your practice, and would love an opportunity to walk you through how to get to the latest version of IntraVet. Please send us an email at softwareupgrade@pattersonvet.com and a member of our product delivery team will work hand in hand with you to ensure a smooth upgrade experience. Thank you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Craig M.
owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2016

“I have version 350, which is 8 years old. I will not upgrade to the new version ”

OverallI opened a new hospital 8 years ago with Intravet. The EMR is easy to learn for staff, flexible, and allows us to be mostly paper-less (can attach documents easily). We have been able to expand computers, but when we bought a new computer with Windows 8, Intravet would not work. When IntraVet 4.0 came out, Intravet pulled the upgrade just before we were about to. It has been a huge fiasco with promises over 2 years that the upgrade would be ready in a couple months. We decided not to upgrade when another hospital came to see how we managed to be paperless with verion 3.5 and said most of the processes we were doing were not possible with version 4.5. When I need a new computer system, it will likely be something completely different.
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2016
Phil K.
DVM
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
May 27, 2016

“Horrible software”

OverallIntravet is horrible and I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy. Six months of support calls and numerous problems and no transparency about the problems they are having with the software. We have decided to spend more money and switch to a different company only six months after updating to Intravet. We asked to be switched back to Intravet Classic and they cannot do that even though they still sell the product. We have no recourse for a refund and they have only agreed to give us a small credit for support. So after 6 months of calls and wondering why the software and computers aren't working correctly, we will have spent numerous hours and thousands of dollars for 2 workstations and 2 laptops (one of which is not working correctly). Recently a support person admitted to a problem with the appointment calendar. They have known about it for months but only within the past 2 days did we find out about it. The problem would cause blocks to randomly be removed in the calendar thus creating scheduling issues and confusion. We have been blaming ourselves and our staff for the problem for the past 6 months. Numerous other glitches and problems exist and no updates have occurred to fix the problems during the 6 months we have had the software.
Source: Capterra
May 27, 2016
Keith H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 29, 2016

“Intravet served us well ”

OverallUsed Intravet since the year 2000 and had nothing but great service from them. Went to them for computerized medical records so staff no longer had to deal with bad handwriting from doctors, computerized appointment book, and to access accurate data from different areas of practice production. We always used our own computer equipment that was checked to be compatible with Intravet software requirements and never had any operational issues. Although tech has changed dramatically since 2000, still loving our dependable Intravet system.
Source: Capterra
February 29, 2016
Liz O.
Owner/DVM
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
November 4, 2014

“DO NOT BUY INTRAVET...”

Overall(would have rated NO STARS if it allowed) I have been dealing (not using) IntraVet for the past 3 years. Experience has been, and continues to be, a distaster and a huge waste of money. Every day this software freezes up all of the computers in my practice. It also will have components of it stop working all of a sudden. I pay the fee for "IntraVet customer support", yet I continually need to pay an outside IT specialist to resolve the issues IntraVet can't figure out. I recently was advised that I needed to purchase all new computers (the old ones being 2 years old). They advised me that a "New" upgrade was coming (they promised that 2 years ago) IntraVet did finally release it, then quickly pulled it due to it having MORE issues than the current one! I would not wish this software on anyone!!!! , , I have finally accepted the fact that I wasted a HUGE amount of money and time on InrtaVet! I would not wish this software on anyone!
Source: Capterra
November 4, 2014
Verified Reviewer
Veterinary, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Great software”

OverallI really enjoyed using IntraVet!
ProsI loved this software when I used it. IntraVet was easy to use, I loved the search feature and my overall experience was great, I liked how the paperless charts were color coded.
ConsThere were not many features that I disliked.

Vendor Response

By Patterson Veterinary on April 22, 2019
Thank you for sharing your overall feedback along with the shout outs for our search feature and charting! We love IntraVet too!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019