Parallels Mac Management Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Parallels Mac Management

Experience unified endpoint management for PCs and Macs with Parallels Mac Management and Microsoft SCCM and manage Macs similar as PCs. Parallels Mac Management is a Microsoft certified plug-in for SCCM extending its management capabilities to Macs and allows IT administrators to discover, enroll and inventory Macs into SCCM, enforce compliance, administer FileVault 2 encryption, deploy software and patches, deploy macOS images with task sequence steps support. Learn more about Parallels Mac Management

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Mike W.
Manager of Learning Technology Solutions
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2017

“Quick, easy, access to windows applications in an equally simple Installation”

OverallAbility to continue using windows tools that I have used regularlyin windows environments while working with a more reliable Mac Computer.
ProsI have been an avid user of iParallels 11 and just upgraded to version 13. For the past couple years I have had no issues with running the windows operating system, products and applications side by side with OS sierra. The product makes working in both environments nearly seamless. For those who love added extras, version 13 comes with several tools for the MAC that are useful for various screen capture, video capture, audio capture purposes. Tons of neat tools and a great option for running a windows environment on a mac. A double-win.
ConsIt is difficult to find something to not like about this software. It's takes a minimal amount of space and works great. Sometimes, while using version 11, and Mac OS Sierra, I would lose cohesiveness and be kicked into window mode.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2017
JOSE B.
IT MANAGER
Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2017

“We use this software to manage the virtual machines that we have in our XSERVE”

OverallWe have virtual machines running, with a very good stability with a minimum investment in licenses and services. It adapts well to platform changes.
ProsI like that it is very simple to use. It is a software that makes good use of the resources of the hardware it has. The stability is amazing, we have placed several virtual machines to work and the software behaves well, distributes the resources in a good way. The administration works very well from VPN.
ConsThe support is limited. The server version has not advanced further. Sometimes when I take control of the virtual machine via console, this fails, the screen goes black. The configuration details can be confusing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2017
Karen M.
Research student
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“Parallels and all its applications are the best for virtual machine use and management for OS”

OverallI install a lot of engineer applications that are only in Windows.
ProsI have been using Parallels since 2011 and I would say that is the best tool for have virtual machines in your MAC. Last year I paid 40 dollars for the full version of Parallels 12 and I have nothing to regret. It is very easy to use, and is like you have a Windows and not a virtual machine. This software also comes with other tools that improve its functionality, I would recommend Parallels to anyone.
ConsThe software is memory consuming. I bought a SSD and also upgrade the RAM to 16 GB and I work in my MAC from late 2011 perfectly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018
Yezid M.
Network and IT Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Parallels MAC Management is my easy VM admin interface, very stable”

ProsCentralized Admin GUI to manage the entire platform, to get information about hardware, software implemented, their licenses. A good tool to control and monitor PCs, MAC and Virtual Machines because of its features. Our network has MAC and Windows computers, and this software is usefull to manage and monitor
ConsSometimes, my software get crash suddenly, and the only way to get it up and running again is to restart it. This crashes occurs when I try to mange a new computer, I guess is a performance bug. By now its my centralized MAC admin gui with no mayor fails.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Joel H.
CTO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2017

“Parallels for the Mac is a mandatory application for productivity”

OverallAbility to create multiple virtual machines on a single piece of hardware. There is also the very useful feature of running Coherence mode with two operating systems running concurrently.
ProsYou can boot windows or Mac. Or, you can run a virtual machine in Coherence mode. This creates a lot of utility for the user.
ConsIt can be difficult to migrate a boot disk on Mac. However, this isn't really a problem with Parallels so much as a wish for easier functionality around creating a bootcamp disk.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2017
Cheri G.
Office manager
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“HElpful especially for mobile offices”

ProsThis software has allowed our employees to log into their work computers from different locations. Allows people to work from home, or abroad. Also does not eat up space on each computer- allows for the space to be shared by all users.
ConsBecause it is connected through the internet- if internet is slow, then the processor runs slowly as well. Must make-sure there is good internet connection.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Robin M.
Owner
Media Production, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Great way to run Windows on Mac”

OverallI have been very happy with Parallels. It has made my Mac act like two computers in one. Being able to run both native Mac programs and Windows programs without two separate machines is great.
ProsParallels is a great way to integrate both Windows and Mac together. Often I need to run a Windows program that is not available on Mac computers. Parallels makes this easy. I am able to run Mac OSX and open a separate space on my computer to run Windows at the same time.
ConsSometimes running parallels can slow down Mac programs. I tend to only run Parallels when I absolutely need it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019

“I'd choose Parallels over VMWare Fusion every day of the week!”

ProsI used VMWare Fusion for several years before finally giving in and trying Parallels at the recommendation of some colleagues. I wish I had started with Parallels from day one. The user experience and feature set is far superior to Fusion, and it just looks nice. If you have a need to run Windows on your Mac, do it with Parallels.
ConsCost. As always, great software comes at a price. I wish that this software was a little cheaper to offset the Windows licenses you have to purchase in conjunction with this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Carlos Eduardo d.
Co-Founder
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2017

“A very important tool in my work”

ProsCan't stress enough how Parallels helps my company get our job done, since it helps us test our websites and applications on Windows in a easy way.
ConsMaybe it could be simpler to use and less intrusive from the get go, since it creates desktop shortcuts and assumes that I want to have each windows app as a new window on Mac.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018

“This software works very well in some scenarios, but skip it if you are on a Windows Domain network.”

ProsOnce it's set up, it's really easy to switch back and forth between PC and Mac. You also have your shared data folders between the two, making it easy to transfer files between Mac and PC. This software does work well in situations where you don't need a lot of third party Windows Drivers, or you are on a Workgroup network
ConsIf you are on a domain, then you will lose the "trust relationship" fairly regularly and be unable to log into Windows without resetting up the VM on the domain network. Also, if you are using this in a computer that uses USB peripherals (for example, digital xray sensors, or others) the drivers may not translate correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Best software to get windows on your mac”

ProsHas been so far the best software to run windows on my mac. It's really reliable and always up to date with the latest macOS updates and features. Right now I really loved the pencil support and the coherence feature makes my macbook looks like it has installed Windows 10 and macOS at the same time. It's really amazing.
ConsCoherence feature is great, but also has some performance issues and some lagging every now and then which made me switch back to the normal view style.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2017

“Works pretty well but takes some getting used to”

ProsThe most amazing thing I've been able to do is open Box Edit with Parallels- a plugin that allows you to open things from the file storage Box.com directly in the program and save back to the cloud (no local copy). Parallels checks if Mac has the program (for instance Microsoft Project which is only offered for Windows versus Word which is available on my Mac) and instantly starts up Windows in Coherence mode with the necessary application, then I'm able to click the save button there and have it save back to Box which is open on my Mac side.
ConsSometimes coherence mode is buggy and Parallels needs to be restarted. Save often! Also it can be tricky to wrap your head around which 'drive' or desktop you saved something to and you sometimes have to install things to both sides to get coherence mode to work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Excellent way to manage Mac devices”

ProsParallels Mac Management was easy to set up, and the user experience is excellent. It's so much easier to use that manually setting up, configuring, and maintaining management systems.
ConsMy only complaint is that it's a bit expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Diego Y.
Systems Analyst Associate
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2017

“Parallels is great, easy to use software.”

OverallHaving both Windows and Mac on one computer.
ProsWhat I like most about it is that every thing is laid out and easy to find. Setup is a breeze and it is very easy to setup Windows from just about anywhere.
ConsIf you have a business account, it can be one thing that you might not like about using Parallels. It can be a little tricky to setup when someone else purchases it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2017
Avatar Image
Mordechai R.
Creator & Publisher
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2017

“I find it laggy and clunky and hard to keep running smoohtly”

ProsIt's great that I can run windows on my mac. It allows me access to more software.
ConsI'm amazed at how poorly the implementation is. The bloatware and the attempts to get me to buy all kinds of external packages. Further, I find their installation policy outrageous. That I need to pay to have them keep a copy of my license for repeated downloads to the same machine. I've basically given up. It's cheaper to buy a PC and run it as a server.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2017
Jordan S.
Fraud Specialist
Airlines/Aviation, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2017

“Great experience and its easy to understand”

ProsI like the pure easy of use of this piece of software and how convenient it is to switch from windows back to mac os.
ConsI would say what I like least about the software program is the inability to run on more operating systems at the same time instead of just one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2017
taylor q.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2017

“Perfect software for my businesses needs! ”

OverallIt met all of my expectations flawlessly.
ProsI love how easy it is to connect all of my macs and keep everything running smoothly. Definitely a good buy!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2017
Avatar Image
Curt Q.
Technology Genius
Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“Quickest way to run Windows on a Mac”

ProsIt's popular, installation is super fast, suspension of the machine in the background is great. The seamless integration feature is pretty neat.
ConsAds, some tricky networks settings that aren't currently available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019
Waqas K.
Systems Engineer
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017

“Very basic and hastily written solution. ”

OverallNone to speak of. It's very incomplete.
ProsThere isn't much it provides in terms of Managing Macs the same way other MDM providers do. I guess it works with SCCM, is probably the only thing good about it.
ConsNot even close to an actual MDM for Managing Macs in mid to large enterprises. Update frequency is slow and not as frequent as Apple updates it's OS and software. Leaves much to be desired.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“The Best Software For Virtual Machines”

OverallVery Impressed.
ProsIts very intuitive to use. Very efficiently designed to handle heavy tasks.
ConsJust installing VM Tools for mouse switching is a bit hard on linux machines.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Eric T.
Product Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017

“Easy to use. Does what you would hope and expect”

ProsI like that is another program running. I previously had bootcamp installed, but I couldn't run it simultaneously with OSX.
ConsIt takes up a lot of storage and memory. You are running another OS so that should be expected, but I ran this on a computer with limited memory and storage and it wasn't a good idea
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017