VMware vSphere Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About VMware vSphere

Cloud-based virtualization platform which helps enterprises with data consolidation, infrastructure security and remote support. Learn more about VMware vSphere

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 291 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 291 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Gabriel M.
Senior Engineer Proactive Maintenance Lead
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Big changes on new Vsphere 6.7”

OverallHave been on the technology field for over a decade by now working with a lot of different virtualization technologies, by far this is one of the most reliable and easy to use out there. Have seem some weird issues with another virtualization technologies but vsphere always had a lot of redundancy to prevent the production going down once you have configured it correctly.
Pros- Stylish new look. - Better performance than previous versions. - Lots of support for security bridges not supported on previous version and hardware compatibility with new products and software.
Cons- User interface is annoying sometimes. Mostly this is one of the huge concerns for me on this new version, If i want to see the running task there are a lot of widget on the screen and need to zoom out the view to see some of the running task, or the alerts, then zoom in to read it correctly and zoom it out to see them again, is a little annoying for me but well it works... For anything else is pretty good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Michael B.
Coordinator of Network and Technology Services
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Vmware - The Virtualization Standard”

OverallVMWare... If you are virtualization, you've heard of VMware. The free options were a great way to get started, do some basic virtualization for those "silly" services that require a dedicated, standalone machine. Shrink 5 physical servers into one in no time. Then you want more big servers to do more. So you buy into VMware (at substantial expense), licenses lapse, or are difficult to renew (yes this happened, because the VARs couldn't process it right... nice huh? VMware was even involved and couldn't get it quite right). Soon you'll be all-in with VMware, modifying your hardware to meet current version requirements, nickle and diming your datacenter to keep costs low, when security budgets are the focus. You'll find yourself needing to do an upgrade to the VSphere, but not wanting downtime to do it, so you have to buy up to move it to another server in realtime, just to do updates. It gets a little silly. But, let's face it, nothing else comes close. I want VMware to have competition, but nothing else even touches it. HyperV? No. Anything else? Yeaup, there's a few opensource options, but it just cannot compete. VMware vSphere, when you need to virtualize something more than an old video game, it's pretty much where you have to be.
ProsVMware is what you NEED in Virtualization. It has differing feature sets (licensed), based upon your needs. It has an easy barrier of entry for those just getting their feet wet, and has powerful features that are nearly unmatched. If you have servers, if you have a datacenter, if you are in charge of "Stand Alone" applications, you are likely dealing with VMware, and there is a good reason for that. VMware works, and it works well.
ConsNot that VMware is not without flaws. The software works, but for some of us semi-whitebox server builders, we are forced to stay close to the hardware qualified lists. Or pay a premium for a pre-built machine that we pay even more in "maintenance." VMwares license tiers make it challenging to reach the more expensive, an often necessary options. VMware's partnerships with VARs are more important that with you as the customer. Expect to be treated that way, as VARs gobble up a large amount of costs, as quotes runaway from you. Just be prepared, VMware solutions do not come cheap. It's the best, and VMware knows it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Jose de Jesus R.
Gerencia de Área Plataforma Tecnológica
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“My experience virtualizing productivity environment for the growth of services”

OverallThe opportunity to share my experience with the use of VMwaresVphere is generous because I can help other users with my recommendation or other potential clients who wish to implement a virtualized environment
ProsI have worked for a few years in virtualization, using virtual environments completely or mixed environments, virtual - physical, and MWware vSphere has shown me to be a hypervisor, taking full advantage of the processing capacity of each host, so taking advantage of the centralized administration that is achieved through VMware Vcenter, the large number of configurations of networks and virtual networks give an additional value to product. Likewise the use of multiple operating systems allows me to have a server farm with a variety of services to our customers to meet their needs 100%. Actually working VMware vSphere together with VMware vCenter is the greatest benefit cost advantage, since we have significant savings in terms of equipment maintenance, licensing, space saving, energy savings and man hours dedicated to supervising a physical environment as such.
ConsThe daily work of the vSphere tool has helped me to know it and not only know its advantages and benefits but also its few weak points, however its greatest weakness may be its high cost, which for implementations in small business environments can be very difficult. of implementing since a technological infrastructure of process of a great capacity is required and the cost in the licensing would affect in an important way the cash flow, and it would be underutilized. Without the integration of VMware Vcenter 100% all the benefits of VMware vSphere would not be used. Equally, the training of the staff would also have a huge cost, even though the training by the technical staff is excellent, there is also the virtual training that gives the advantage of cost savings, however it is not as effective as in person.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Anthony M.
Sr Systems Admin
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“Redundant Personal Business Cloud with less Overhead”

OverallOverall the experience has been positive and we can't imagine going back to the days of physical servers for each of our server resources. The scale ability, portability, and redundancy are simply unmatched.
ProsWhen it comes to servers, hardware is expensive and often not completely utilized. With VMware vSphere, we were able to virtualize our entire development and production environment paired with three medium sized servers. This gave us scalability we never had. Our servers are pooled and share the pool resources allowing us to expand our environment to up to 35 servers running across the three servers. With vSphere we are able to have failover in the event one of the servers go down utilizing the vmotion feature without a single virtual server being interrupted. It allows us to do 90% more maintenance without a single disruption.
ConsThe depth of knowledge to use the advanced features and scripting is intense. There are hundreds of individual features and settings that are very difficult to understand without the proper knowledge or training. Once you figure it out you won't go back.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Chris S.
Lead System Engineer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“I would choose no other virtualization platform”

OverallAs an administrator for VMware-related hypervisors and products, I would choose no other hypervisor or virtualization platform to run in my datacenter.
ProsAs a hypervisor, vSphere is and has been the best in class. They are always the first to come out with essential features (vMotion, vSwitch, etc.) and these features become daily used and reliable. I've administered hundreds of VMs over my career and have had little issue from vSphere as a hypervisor. Their feature set is phenomenal, and support is very good as well. Licensing can get costly, but there are several versions to fit your needs. What's perhaps more impresive is that as a platform, vSphere can be built into other VMware components (vCenter, SRM, vRealize, etc.) which keeps growing. Entering vSphere opens your datacenter up to a entrire world of virtualization products, and most third-party products that integrate with virtualization start with vSphere.
ConsIt is easy to get up and running, but it can also get complex depending on what you want to do. It can also get costly if you cannot get discounts and need full feature set.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018

“They're the market leader for a reason, but so many features means complicated UX”

ProsEvery feature an hypervisor can offer - widest feature set and ecosystem to deliver the most comprehensive solution. They scale very well across all parameters: Cluster size, datastore size, VM count, fault tolerance at scale Etc. Their VSAN is great for ROBO deployments, as you get a single pane of glass for all layers (compute, network, storage) HA / DRS / VSMC are all excellent tools for improving availability of the applications that drive the business.
ConsEvery feature means a complicated GUI, with way too many nobs to turn for a small deployment. They VSAN scales poorly in terms of ROI, as more often than not you need the All-Flash VSAN, which after 2-3 copies of the data yields low capacity at double or triple the cost of the (already expensive) Flash Media. Replication is nice but again limited in scale, works great in getting data off the ROBOs to the main datacenter but not scalable enough as a DR solution
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018
Hector V.
Systems Engineer
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2018

“Best Customer Support”

ProsIf you are looking for a central solution to consolidate your data center and all servers look no more. This is the best tool you can buy to do so, you can save money because you will use less hardware by virtualizing all your servers, you can adjust settings, or server specs on the fly, you can run hundreds of servers from the same console and you can manage all of them from the same. Wanting to do maintenance but dont know if that patch/update or upgrade will break the server, dont worry, you can take a screenshot and test it before you apply the fix to the server. The best part of this is their support, you can call them or submit a ticket and their team of experts will call back and help you. Really recommend this product to anyone wanting to consolidate servers and save money on hardware
ConsNo complaints about this product, as long as you know how to browse and use the product
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018

“A necessary tool for managing your Enterprise VMWare environment easily and quickly. ”

ProsVMotion feature to move live VMs between physical virtual hosts is so slick. This feature brought virtualized computing to the next level of functionality and availability. High-Availability: vSphere takes the great value of the free ESXI vmware host offerings and makes them enterprise-grade with High-Availability and vMotion (seamlessly ) Web/thick client (end of life for thick client) consoles available for convenient access to manage your vmware environment. They are well-designed and polished. PowerCLI automation is fully unlocked when used with vSphere, a powerful tool for gathering information and taking care of bulk tasks. A must-have skillset for VMware technicians.
ConsPricing: It's not free, this is an enterprise solution that you must pay for, unlike ESXi virtual host software. VSphere thick client management console is end-of-life, has features and UI that I prefer over the web console.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Networking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Using VMware to Virtualize Your Systems”

OverallFor years, I have been designing and managing systems using VMware products. Clients are very happy with their systems.
ProsMuch, much better utilization of physical server resources. VMware hosts are MUCH better at resources sharing than anything Microsoft has ever produced. Take 4 systems, say email, DB, file & print, and authentication/AD, and put those all on 1 MS server. Or... take that same box, install VMware ESXi, and install 4 separate MS servers on top of that, each doing only 1 of those 4 tasks. You will get much better performance in the later configuration. Think about that: By adding an underlying OS (ESXi), and then putting 3 additional OSs (the other 3 MS servers) on top of that, you'll get better performance. And, of course, zero downtime for any physical maintenance in a multi host environment.
ConsStill not a big fan of the web interface for managing the vCenter and hosts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Joshua C.
Student
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“The Dream Environment for Managing your Virtual Network”

OverallPrior to transferring to my current school, my previous college used vSphere to help prep its team for the Pacific Rim Collegiate Cybersecurity Defense Competition (PRCCDC), and using it in that environment really demonstrates the power of the tool for virtualization of entire networks. Absolutely stunning tool in terms of features.
ProsVMware products in general are known for being the best of the best when it comes to virtualization, and vSphere is no exception. The benefits of an easy to manage virtual network are numerous, you save on space, energy, and overall costs. vSphere definitely focuses on ease of management; need to patch all your servers? Takes a fraction of the time that SSHing into each one individually would. Need to shut everything down, or boot everything up? The processes are streamlined for you. Want to deploy a new one? The process, if you don't want to clone an existing one, takes minutes.
ConsIt has a very steep learning curve, mostly due to the learning curve involved in virtualization itself. You must be very experienced in virtualization in order to successfully use vSphere to its full potential... Or, at all, potentially. If you can't setup a virtual server and hit it from outside your network using VMware Workstation, you won't be able to use vSphere successfully.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2019

“VMware vSphere Review”

OverallA perfect sofware for virtualization, multi-operating system integration. Good software.
ProsThe software is easy to use, it enables me to run multiple operating systems on my computer and also help me to try and test softwares before I buy them.
ConsSome times new virtual machine wants to boot to network even when directed to boot from DC or USB.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2019
Dhilip R.
IT Executive
Restaurants, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2019

“Excellent virtualization platform, Solid foundation for server & desktop, Worth Upgrading! ”

OverallVSphere is an awesome software. It offers a truly user-friendly interface where we can see and able to manage all our virtual machines using various kind of products and technologies. We can manage all the specifications and status of each host and the Virtual machines it contains. VMWare is a wonderful product in common, known for its intuitive interfaces, reckless and reliable virtualization applications. We used ESXI and vCenter and realized that it delivers all the features we require and more that allows people to move advance in their virtual environment. One of the stuff vSphere lets us to do efficiently is to run application workloads on the most effective computing, storage, and network capitals. We can manage our time and money with these tools in an effective way. We have a worth investment in VMWare and vsphere is a must, for total control over our environment.
ProsThe ease of manage all virtual environment. It's so cool and straight forward. Lots of training materials & help forms out there to learn and experience. Very famous product so support is always there. It's also very effective. We can make changes on the fly and if we break something, we can revert it back within minutes (In some cases).
ConsThe networking part is little straight forward but complicated sometimes when we start to scale out network adapters and we have a complicated networking environment with many WLans and IP structures. With that said, any experienced networking guy would master it out within minutes. I really could not say much of anything bad about this wonderful product. Licensing models are bit disliking but although every effective software is expensive that we buy these days.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Mauricio A.
Business Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“Good product for virtualizations, no matter what OS you need to deploy.”

Overall-One of the best environments to manage virtual machines.
Pros-Stability for server environments, most of my client's resources are working with vSphere without issues. The most important thing to do is don´t forget best practices tips for the first deployment. -New interface with HTML5 it´s for me the best upgrade from the last years, no more issues trying to manage environments from Linux or MAC. -HA options and configuration works with single clicks, making easier for none IT guys. -Optimize budget for hardware and energy expenses, making easy upgrades and migrations.
Cons-Need an experienced partner to deploy it on business with more than 100 servers. This is important for newer users because partner services are very expensive, making professional services more than a half of the budget. -Old users need to adapt his knowledge to the new interface without the appropriate documentation. -The user guide is not very useful for new users, need more details and explain those tips that are not available on the web interface. -The mobile app is the worst feature on VMware, a year ago was the last time I tried to do something there. Until they get his effort on his apps don't spend any time on this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Marsha J.
User Support Specialist
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“I like that it allows us to optimize or resources and overall cost savings in IT”

OverallHaving been trained in VMware as my first introduction to the virtualization of servers and utilization of resources; I like what vShere provides. It reduces and simplifies our IT infrastructure and it allows us improvements in the accessibility and connectivity of our computer applications. The components included makes the solution really reliable such as ESXi hypervisor for help in which is responsible for help in setting up multiple VMs and DRS that divides and balances computing capacity for VMs across collections of hardware resources.
ConsPlease ensure that you are familiar with VMWare suite of products and get help from current users of this product. Know that this is an investment and as such the solution comes at a price but the total cost of ownership is well worth the initial investment. And the cost is based on the amount of host and processors.be careful of the additional services provided as they can become pricey.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2019

“I can say "It is a Great tool for Virtualization"”

ProsVMware vSphere is a simple tool with advanced features for virtualization. I have used this tool for my studies, research works, and security purposes. It provides a great connection between the base operating system and the virtual machine and the configurations are also easy. Using this tool, I was able to run several virtual machines at once and it was very important for my research work. Actually, I need to say that without having VMware vSphere I could not make it. Integrating with the remote clouds also an advanced feature which is provided. I was able to make my OS images fast and effectively thanks to vSphere. As I mentioned before I use VMware for testing or do something which can be harmful to our base operating system. It can protect our OS from being corrupted. I still use this software and I love it.
ConsThe only thing that I distract from vSphere is when I need to run several VMs at once my machine is getting very slow or stuck. Sometimes virtual machines can be corrupted. Hence we need to keep backups always. Except from these things, I love it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018

“Not perfect but still the best option”

OverallWe use VMware software as our main solution for creating and maintaining our virtual infrastructure. It is easy for our staff to find and enroll in training or certification to enhance their skills and participate in local user groups due to the large market share that VMware has with their products. In general there is a very large 3rd party market that is supported to work with or inside VMware solutions.
ProsHuge market share means better community support and user groups. Highly functional management tools to support, maintain and deploy virtual infrastructure. Consistent product updates and new features available.
ConsSupport can be difficult and take time. Some features advertised in marketing are not production ready at the time of release and can be very buggy (HTML5 Interface). Using VMware products at an enterprise level can be very expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Easy & Simplistic to use, yet full of features that make management of virtual machines easy”

ProsEase of access to manage virtual machines. vSphere allows for you to easily manage your entire Virtual Infrastructure, from the Data Storage used to house the VMs to the creation and management of the Virtual Machines themselves. Clone, Deploy, and Configure multiple VMs within minutes... You can stand up an entire infrastructure composed of virtual machines within a short time (depending on available resources) using vSphere
ConsThere can be a slight learning curve for anyone who has not managed a virtual environment. VMware vSphere has numerous functions, features, and capabilities and it can at times seem overwhelming; however, VMware provides great articles and knowledge bases to help even the most novice administrator become a vSphere power user.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019

“Extremely expensive but still worth it for legacy applications”

OverallvSphere revolutionized the datacenter and is still running strong after almost 30 years. Without it we might still be stuck in the stone ages without virtualization or cloud!
ProsvSphere has been around for a while and is trusted for it's stability and reliability. If your applications are not built to fail, if you treat yours apps like pets vs cattle, you probably want to pay for VMware vSphere. Depending on your use case, vSphere may be the only game in town. For instance, if you want to do some complicated GPU sharding, only VMware has worked with Nvidia to offer this. Certainly feature wise, this is the most robust hypervisor on the market. They also have a large ecosystem, community, and excellent support.
ConsThe pricing is quite high and they try to justify this by including more and more management software, SDN, SDS in the overall vCloud offering. However it's still quite expensive and difficult to rationalize in smaller companies with challenging budgets. On the flip side, they have so many offerings now and have create a variety of total solutions which can fit any number of use cases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018

“the leading virtualization platform on the market since more than a decade. A must ”

Overallstate of the art datacenter automation, virtualization, infrastructure management
Prosvsphere is the private-cloud datacenter operating system of choice, market leader, full packed of features and with an impressive ecosystem of third party products which integrate fully with it. Since more than a decade, vsphere has brought virtualization into almost every shop on earth and changed the way the IT departments administer their infrastructure, making it way more flexible, easier, faster and smarter.
Consi have a hard time when thinking about something I dislike in vSphere. I think that the product can be pricey, depending on the licensing level chosen, and this is maybe the aspect I dislike the most, even if I honestly believe that it is worth its money.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Scott L.
Network Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“VMWare vSphere - Managing your Virtual Environment One Click at a Time”

OverallVMWare vSphere has improved quite a lot in the last few versions, the latest version I am on right now (7.5) the HTML5 version of the web interface works very well and while it's missing features of the slow, Flash based web interface it can do everything I need day to day and does it quickly and fairly painlessly.
ProsI use this software a dozen times a day, and I think my favorite thing is that it's very easy to create snapshots and roll back to them if I break something. We have very little downtime thanks to snapshots.
ConsIt's very complex to update. I cringe every time a support ticket leads to me having to update the environment. It's just a complex beast, requiring several different updates/files to be installed in a specific sequence, some of which can cause down time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Austin K.
Help Desk Technician
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018

“A Great Option for Managing Your VMs”

OverallI've been using VMware Vsphere for over 6 months and before that I didn't have a lot of exposure to Virtualization. It's a really great and necessary feature for any partially IT-based company these days and Vsphere manages to make it simple enough for most users while providing enough features to make it a worthwhile venture to invest in. Vsphere is a great tool for beginners and advanced users alike. I've set up and managed multiple VMs by now and have used multiple platforms to do it (the only other comparable option being Oracle's VirtualBox), and by far Vsphere would be my go to platform. It allows for an easy interface to manage your VMs resources, allows for taking VM snapshots (in case you kerflunkle your VM), allows you to directly interface with the VM through a console, and so much more. When the licensing police come knocking, though, it's a bit of a task to gather all of the required documentation for their audit, so be ready for that. Other than that Vsphere is a great option if you're looking to use a virtualization platform.
ProsEasy to use, supports multiple VMs, able to manage VM resources easily
ConsLicensing can be a bit tricky, although it's not much of a problem if your needs don't change a whole lot.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Parag P.
MES Integration Lead / Business Analyst
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2018

“Virtualization taken to the next level”

OverallMy overall experience of VMware vSphere is great, It is the most secure, efficinet and stable virtulization software in the market.
ProsVMware vSphere is one of the best secure and efficient virtualization software. I found following Pros for the VMware vSphere. 1. Configure and create VMs with ease. 2. You can easily clone existing VM and create a mirror VM is no time. 3. Very intuitive Web and local vSphere client. 4. Always attentive support team. 5. Easily monitor the status of your VMs. Overall best in class virtualization software and way ahead of its competition.
ConsFound very minimal issues with VMware vSphere. 1. The web client is slow and can be improved. 2. A user must have virtualization knowledge to use this software. 3. For the free version, the physical CPU core limit should be increased from 2 physical cores to at least 8 physical cores. 4. Bit overpriced.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018

“Best Hypervisor out there”

OverallIt's super easy to setup and get started, it's something that should be done in every single company I've seen in my life. Sadly, not all companies use VMs to my personal surprise. Only if they could understand how easy it is to transform your business environment with ease using VMware tools. Premium versions offer real value, so if you need more than 4-5 servers and a rock solid production environment you should invest in vSphere.
ProsThe console, the features, the true power of a hypervisor. I use ESXi/vShpere in every chance I get. It's super-light and very easy to manage, understand. Many benefits, it's a no-brainer!
ConsNothing serious, maybe it's lack of integration tools and features like copy-paste and file transfer. But really, that's something small and not needed when it comes to server use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018
Arpan S.
Technical Support Consultant
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018

“vSphere makes managing virtual infrastructure so easy!”

Pros- Simple and easy to use interface - Very powerful. Comes equipped with tons of features - Entire virtual infrastructure ranging from configuring and deploying VMs can be done quickly (depending on the skill level) within minutes. - New HTML5 interface can be used to manage VMs from cell phones.
Cons- Contains so many features that it can be quite intimating even for an inexperienced professional to keep up with the latest releases. VMWare does provides ample of KBs and forums to address this, but many a times, answer is not readily available or it is very difficult to find from docs. This process can be very confusing. - Very expensive - Licensing model can be hard to understand.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018
Jeffrey M.
Software Security Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2018

“Virtualized environments in a click of a button”

ProsAlthough the company i work for has moved away from using vmware, I will review as part of vSphere as i still use personal version for my VMs. vSphere has two amazing uses namely,spinning up duplicate test environments for students writing on site tests with monitoring. vSphere is also amazing for test environments for our applications to be deployed to before releasing via build servers to a production environment. Software uses minimal memory apart from values set per environment on each PC. load and performance testing seems to kill environments though.
ConsIf not configured correctly, virtual environments created may hang for a long time . Needs fine-tuning before any deployment to be used for tests to replicate live environments. This takes a lot of resource time . Have sometimes found that Windows hypervisor sometimes requires re-enablement after multiple restarts without starting up vSphere suite. This was found to happen if hypervisor was started during the install process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2018
Scott B.
Sr. Engineer
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2019

“The only infrastructure you will need”

ProsThe integration with so many products makes this an easy choice.
ConsThe initial setup can take some time to get right.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2019
Alexis N.
IT Director
Alternative Medicine, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2019

“VMware vSphere - The best option for IT people”

OverallPretty good.
ProsVirtualization is something that every IT resource must know, VMware provides you the ability to virtualize all your resources, create network adapters from scratch, and connect them all across. Is pretty easy to use, but of course you need to have some IT background because the program uses a lot of terminology related to the Infrastructure side.
ConsThe bad thing is that to host this system, you need to allocate a lot of resources for this tool to work properly. If you have a lot of virtual machines running, the performance of each will be impacted directly if you are not hosting the VMware into a very good infra.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2019
Dave O.
Sr Network Administrator
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019

“Game Changer”

OverallThe ability to create, move and manipulate Virtual Machines is a game changer. We were able to take multiple physical servers offline and migrate them to the VM environment. Without vSphere, we would have never made such a rapid migration from physical to virtual.
ProsvSphere gives you the ability to connect to your VMs via the old school Thick Client or the more powerful web client. So you can access the VM Architecture from any computer in your organization.
ConsIt can be a bit of a bear if things arent working. There are so many Internet articles on different issues you may be having. You dont want to "try things" on a production server. Support is a bit on the expensive side.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019

“vSphere, a great solution for your data center.”

OverallDefinitely meets expectations, its functions to maintain a monitoring and server virtualization makes it labeled as first class. The administration of our cluster through vSphere greatly enhances our activities, even this solution is always at the forefront of new technologies for virtualization with each of its updates.
ProsThe support is very outstanding, worthy of highlighting and of first quality. Operates perfectly in our infraestructure, its great control over virtual machines achieves the goal. Easy to use and gives you many additional functions that give you reliability.
ConsWhat conditions the use of this product is its high cost, but it is worth inventing in this powerful virtualizer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019
Brandon M.
System Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2018

“The defacto standard for a virtualization platform. All other virtualization solutions look to it.”

OverallWe trust this platform to run 97% of our servers.
ProsVMWare's vSphere platform is very mature, and supports ties to all aspects of the computing landscape. VMWare continuously innovates with new features and functionalities. This is the most stable and well supported route for on premise hosting.
ConsTier 1 support is terrible. I've had two support cases where my first contact didn't even know what the product was (vCenter Server Support Assistant) Suffer through till higher tiers and they will fix your issue, but if it isn't down expect it to take a minimum of days. Cost for addons such as NSX, SRM, vSAN can be very steep. Licensing can easily outcost your hardware.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Vsphere easy to use virtual server software”

OverallAble to manage My VMs by monitoring and adding resources to VMs when needed.
ProsI am able to monitor vms on host server for usage to plan expansion later. I can add storage and virtual networks to host server in order to keep certain systems separate from each other
ConsThere is someone a complex setup when it comes to advanced setup and when troubleshooting i do frequently have to contact support if i have issues i cannot figure out as their support site is somewhat confusing to understand
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“Virtualization | Manage VM ware ”

OverallV-sphere is a system of combined with VMware vSphere Storage Appliance, vSphere Data Protection, vSphere Replication and vShield Endpoint. It helps to manage the VM resources, cloud computing, remote accessing, and replication and many more features.
ProsVMware V-sphere helps to manage VM ware infrastructure. V-sphere has to install on the server pc on the VM. Then have to configure the V-sphere and it can access using V-sphere client from the host pc. Without using V-sphere we can directly access the VMware using the ESXI platform using the IP, but it directly access through the web browser, when we use the V-sphere can access through V-sphere client and it gives many options to manage the VM.
ConsLicensing cost is very high, and need a networking knowledge to set up the V-sphere and maintained the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Utilities, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018

“Flexible virtualization platform lets you consolidate your servers”

OverallWe have consolidated our old hardware onto new, which means we have a higher density and uptime now. Our physical desktops are also virtual now, enabling our users to work from anywhere. Since everything is integrated, administration has become less time consuming than before.
ProsThe software is very stable and allows us to consolidate physical servers, while making them more highly available. It can hosts virtual desktops and applications, that can be managed through a single management interface. The compatibility with applications is better than with any other virtualzation platform.
ConsUpgrades need to be carefully planned, because the underlying hardware may need a firmware update as well. This means dependencies. Luckily VMware has extensive documentation and compatibility matrices that help you to find out what to update first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“Great product for both small and large business”

OverallWe were able to consolidate multiple racks of server to a single rack and increase uptime in the process. We scale faster than ever and can transition between hardware platforms seamlessly.
ProsThis product scales exceptionally well. I have gone from a single host to 40 hosts and 1000 VMs pretty painlessly. There are more security options than other competitors and the reliable is hard to beat.
ConsThe software is expensive and you have to pay for each peace. The core product is good for very basic stuff but you have to pay for additional licenses and products to get the really good stuff. It can be very complex and the web GUI is clunky and buggy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018
Jose V.
Director of IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2018

“Repurpose Aging Servers Quickly and Profit”

OverallRepurpose old hardware and make great, efficient use of machines that are just sitting idle. Great for testing and certification of applications.
ProsWe've been able to re-purpose some older servers that were not being used. We're currently using vSphere for a sandbox environment and some non-critical business applications. The hypervisor has allowed to host some apps we did not have room for on other servers. The setup was quick and painless. We were worried that the server hardware would not run as smooth but the broad compatibility of vSphere has allowed to us a smooth and suprisingly fast experience.
ConsSince we're on the free flavor, obviously we're hitting some of the limitations of a non-paid version. However, we're looking at possibly making a purchase in the near future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2018
Scott J.
Senior Systems Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017

“The best virtualization platform out there.”

OverallTurns just a few physical servers into Hundreds of Virtual servers. The ROI is amazing.
ProsA complete offering. Feature rich. Works very well with minimal complex setup. Can be configured for maximum performance with some bit of tweaking of hardware and software. Compatible with the widest number of guest operating systems. New HTML5 web interface is accessible from mobile devices.
ConsCan be very complex in larger configurations. More feature rich editions are quite expensive. You can be nickel and dimed to death with addons. May require outside resources to setup correctly for maximum performance depending on your environment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Medical Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019

“Good product, poor portal”

OverallI've had a 50/50 success rate with support. Sometimes they've been quite helpful and have gone out of their way to follow through. In other cases I've been given simple how-tos and an auto-closed case which leaves me replying to a 'resolved' case for a delayed response.
ProsVMWare offers tons of functionality for managing host clusters and virtual machines. You can configure and make changes to servers, add resources as needed, mount drives, and monitor performance.
ConsThe installed client of VMWare used to be excellent. The VSphere website, however, seems to have compatibility issues and the constant time-outs can be infuriating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019
Bob d.
Database Administrator
Machinery, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“VMWare VSphere Server Virtualization and Management”

OverallI generally enjoy using the application. It makes updating and re-starting servers much easier than using remote desktop and being able to resize servers as business conditions change is much easier than using physical hardware.
ProsVSphere makes managing servers generally quick and easy from a single interface
ConsThe online portal does not seem as robust as the earlier technician client application. Because it requires the use of Adobe Flash, every time I go to sue it I have to turn on Flash and refresh the portal. Sometimes the portal will not load and I have to exit and try again. It is just tedious and more cumbersome than the older application.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Sean P.
Director of Information Technology
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“Reliable High Performance Virtualization ”

ProsThe high availability and distributed resource scheduler ensure our systems are always online and performing well. The vSphere hypervisor is very stable, secure and easy to update. VMotion is amazing and allows workloads to be moved easily for updates and hardware maintance.
ConsLicensing costs are high but are competitive with other platforms when you ensure you have the same functionality and features. The web based management does rely on Flash and this is becoming more difficult to work with as browser support varies. This may have been addressed in versions newer than 6.5.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Chris L.
IT Support Engineer
Machinery, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“All I can say is WOW”

OverallVSphere along with VCenter is just hands down the best investment my company has done. We are saving $1000s per month in power, hardware and labor as well as Protection Plans from the vendors or 3rd party vendors. You create space in your environment also adding a bit of extra income if you decide to sell out your old physical hardware that will no longer be utilized.(depends on age of hardware)
ProsThe software is feature packed! There is so many things that vSphere automates it literally saves me hours out of my day. Aside from the features you save money by condensing your physical environment to a virtual one, making expansion very easy.
ConsIt was a complex set up and there are a bunch of issues that could hold up an entire conversion when you are P to V 'ing (Physical to virtual) your environment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“An excellent virtualization platform ”

OverallVery positive - when issues have arisen their support team has been able to help very quickly and is is vary rare that the program ever develops issues.
ProsSetting up of templates/clones is extremely simple. These tasks can be completed outside of office hours by the simple act of setting up a scheduled task. Settings can be toggled in order to allow for the addition and/or removal of RAM and CPU cores whilst the server remains active, and the addition of hard drive space is invaluable.
ConsIt is rare that I have actually come across something that has actively caused an issue within vSphere. The closest I can come to a con about the software would be that VMWare failed to corner the hosted server audience - Azure for instance is now a far more viable solution as both the licencing and the hardware can be brought from one company - had VMWare moved into this earlier I do not believe that we would be considering moving our entire infrastructure to Azure.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Jeremy H.
IT Manager
Food Production, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“VMware works”

OverallvSphere was our only choice for a hypervisor because of some system requirements we had for a piece of our payroll infrastructure. However, I have grown to understand vSphere how it works, and what its quirks are.
ProsI like how everyone supports VMware as part of my infrastructure
ConsI don't like how heavy the VMware infrastructure needs to be. I came from a Ctrix Xen Server environment and Xen Server didn't need extra management servers and it had management redundancies built in. VMware needs an extra server (appliance) to handle the management framework and if the management appliance becomes unavailable you are out of luck.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Jesus M.
Ingeniero de Soporte Senior
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2018

“A secure and easy to administer data center”

ProsIt really is a tool that helps you minimize effort and work; that goes from the FortiConvert that allows you to take a real server and pass it to the virtual system without tedious reinstallations, until its administration and use that are quite intuitive, since it has a clear user interface that facilitates all tasks
Cons The costs of this very useful tool are quite high; if we compare it to other software in the same branch of services; this taking into account if you want to have all the services that comprise a virtualized datacenter and with high redundancy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2018
Avatar Image
Scott L.
Network Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018

“VMWare makes deploying workstations and servers incredibly easy.”

OverallWe use this for our end user virtual desktop assignment as well as several of our test servers and testing environments. It's very easy to assign users, remove and add virtual hardware, and remove unused devices.
ProsThis software is super easy and fun to use. Creating new desktop pools, virtual appliances and servers, or virtual desktops for individual use is really fast and reliable.
ConsThe best features, such as View Composer and Linked Clones, cost additional in licensing, and the software licensing in general is very expensive. Setting up the environment can also be very intimidating, and may require third party assistance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018
Neil L.
Network Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017

“With this software platform, I am able to configure, manage, deploy and maintain any VM with ease.”

ProsUse of the web client or windows client is simple and clear. Some one with very little experience can create a VM or deploy an OVA in a short space of time. Even doing a VM migration using the wizard ensures that it feels like all you are doing is clicking next, next and next. There are copious amounts of documentation or videos to guide you along the way and if you require and help the customer support is very good.
ConsThe licensing for this software tends to add up to quite allot over the course of a year. So you have to make sure that you budget accordingly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017
Richard W.
IT Mgr
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017

“Easy to use and reliable”

OverallEasy and Reliable VM Management.
ProsI love this software as it is easy to use. When it comes to your vm's, this is your companies life. If a vm has an issue, this could cost the company thousands of dollars an minute being down. You need something that shows all our vm's in one place, is well laid out and is also reliable. This software is all of that. It makes managing all your vm's from one central place a breeze.
ConsSometimes i find the error messages can be a little vague and confusing so i have to call up support to find out what they mean. But support is always fast to answer and very helpful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017
Mike D.
System Engineer
Retail, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Management of VMs the easy way”

OverallWe have a farm of several hundred VM's, and vSphere is the best tool for the job.
ProsNeed to make changes on the fly? vSphere makes it easy. Monitoring server performance? That's a snap. So user friendly, if someone teaches you how to use the software, 10 minutes later you can teach someone else. Deployment, maintenance, and decommissioning are also a breeze.
ConsI didn't personally have any problems with the software, but I understand during an upgrade there were issues that required a call to support. That's why they have support, though, so not really a big issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“vmware vsphere is the leader of this market”

OverallI'm using it from years, both esx and esxi version and i'm satisfied. I've to say without particural case vsphere is a must have on any baremetal server.
Prosit's a leader and after a decade of development it's almost perfect. Finally has a great web console so administrator could use it also from Linux workstation . Software support and great performance and functionality like snapshot or thin volume make it a must-have on every bare-metal server
ConsSometimes some functionality are not easy to find so menu could be rethinked to avoid too clicks to build basic tasks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“Next Level Enterprise IT”

OverallWe were able to consolidate and virtualize all of our servers; vSphere takes away the daily struggles with hardware and empowers standardizing operating systems across the entire enterprise.
ProsVMware vSphere is a superior virtualization platform. Using vSphere, we have been able to virtualize our infrsatructure, produce numberous Proof of Concepts with ease, and testing and deployment has never been easier. The software is very mature, easy to use and intuitive in it's design.
ConsThe software is expensive for enterprise features. The Hardware Compatibility List is also very limiting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Josh R.
IT Project Manager
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018

“Virtual Server administration made easy”

OverallOverall using vSphere is a very positive experience. Once you learn your way around you are going to love your time with this software.
ProsvSphere is a fantastic admin tool that allows you to administrate you virtual environment. The features of the tools are powerful and let you do many things from expanding disks to adding cores and RAM to your virtual machines. It is the easiest way to manage complicated Virtual infrastructures.
ConsThere is a steep learning curve, but once you learn your way around the steps to get things done become verify intuitive and easy to pick up on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018