Who Uses This Software?

SmartBid is for general or prime contractors who need to manage subcontractor data, send bulk communications and collaborate on project documents during preconstruction.


Average Ratings

56 Reviews
  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    Not provided by vendor
  • Free Demo
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Mobile - Android Native
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • JBKnowledge
  • jbknowledge.com
  • Founded 2001
  • United States

About SmartBid

SmartBid is the #1 construction bid management software for general contractors. With SmartBid, precon teams can easily manage their subcontractors, send invitations to bid, share project documents, compare bid proposals, select qualified subs and much more. Unlike other bidding software, SmartBid allows GCs to keep their sub data private, customize the bidding process, integrate data through an open API and access integrations like Procore, Autodesk & STACK Estimating & Takeoff software.


SmartBid Features

  • Bidder Management
  • Building Product Database
  • Cost Database
  • File Sharing
  • Proposal Management
  • Quotes / Estimates
  • RFP Management
  • Subcontractor Management
  • Takeoff
  • Version Control

SmartBid Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Sep 03, 2011
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: JE Dunn Construction is an ENR top 20 General Contractor with offices from Charlotte, NC to Seattle, WA. We have been using SmartBidNet nationally since March of 2010 and regionally in the Southeast for another year prior to that. Before using SmartBidNet, we used iSqFt for several years and several other systems including Pipeline and BidFax. SmartBidNet is the right bid management software package for our organization for a multitude of reasons, several of which are: - Flexibility and customization of the system set-up - SmartBidNet's commitment to adopting current technologies - Ease of use for subcontractors The SmartBidNet system can be configured to accommodate firms ranging in size from only a couple of users to the largest multi-divisional, multi-office organizations. We currently have a total of 431 users across 20 different offices. SmartBidNet allows us to configure our system so that we can group our internal users, projects, and subcontractors by office and our offices by regions so that we can tailor the access of our users to fit what those users should be working on. We can limit or allow access to projects and subcontractor records by user, by proficiency, by office, by region, or by function (preconstruction, operations, accounting, HR, etc.). As an administrator, this flexibility is invaluable and crucial in maintaining security and accuracy of our information. The directors at SmartBidNet have adopted a shrewd practice of releasing new versions of their software about once a month. All subscribers to the system automatically get these new releases by virtue of the system being web-based. In these releases, SmartBidNet will implement (usually) small changes. Users benefit from this methodology by not having to go through extensive training following the typical 'Major Product Release' pattern of most software vendors. This method also allows SmartBidNet to run a continually changing list of product development activities and can more quickly adapt to incorporate newer technologies into their system. This has been particularly important to us as an organization as we have begun to integrate our custom in-house software applications with SmartBidNet in various ways. SmartBidNet offers a refreshingly open policy of allowing our internal systems to push or pull information directly to / from the SmartBidNet system, commenting to us at one point, "It's your data, you can do whatever you want with it". The last item I want to highlight speaks for itself. SmartBidNet leads the industry in ease of access and ease of use for subcontractors. One button access of project information was pioneered by SmartBidNet. Their commitment to a simple subcontractor interface is second to none. SmartBidNet has allowed us to pull together all of the offices for our entire company into a cohesive, well-organized, properly restricted system for the first time ever. This has allowed us to capitalize on many of the synergies that a multi-office general contractor should have in regards to shared resources and shared contacts. It has been a major improvement over previous systems.

There are more affordable options

Aug 28, 2017
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 3.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I do like the way a project is created and the publishing features. I do feel that it was advantageous in the way we were able to take a project that we were going to bid and get the information out to the trades

Cons: I hated the fact that their database is so out of date. Many times our bid invite was going out to the wrong person or that person was no longer with the company. The software needs some form of check and balance to ensure that the information is accurate and that companies are keeping thier information correct.

Overall: It did get us out in touch with the trades, but the coverage was week.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on August 30, 2017

Hi Todd, Thank you for your review! In SmartBid, clients primarily rely on results from their own private database, which they alone maintain. Use of our SmartInsight database of contractors is included with SmartBid as an additional resource for those situations where you will need additional subcontractor coverage, and is especially helpful when you find that you're bidding in a market that you're new to. It's a very large database, and as with any database, the maintenance of those records to keep them updated is a full-time job. People come and go, businesses shut down, etc. and naturally they don't notify us. :) Because of this we work hard to make those records as reliable as possible. Last week for example, 2,000 records deemed as invalid were purged from the system. Overall, this free resource offers a lot of value and we will continue to work hard to make it as reliable as possible!

Capterra-loader

Very effective bidding tool!!

May 04, 2018
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: As a general contractor/construction manager firm, we use SmartBid on almost all of our projects. It's a great tool to let our subcontractors and suppliers know what projects we're bidding on, and ensure we have proper coverage for the scope of work involved. I was part of the initial setup when our company first began using SmartBid. We used to make a "call list" and someone would actually call up to a few hundred subs and suppliers for every project we bid. WOW. I can't believe we wasted so much time! Now, just a few clicks of a button and all of our bidding documents are in one, easily accessible place, and all the appropriate subs and suppliers are notified! Amazing!

Cons: The initial setup was a bit time-consuming. This was partly due to our own company's massively outdated subcontractor and supplier list. Most of our time was spent "trimming the fat" and updating old contact information. There are also limited user profiles, when it would be nice to have more people in our company be able to interact with SmartBid.

Overall: Saved time (which equals $$$) and now we have a great place to store our bid documents, and easily distribute them to all of our subcontractors and suppliers!!

Capterra-loader

Smartbid- Great for general contractors!

Mar 19, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I enjoy that smartbid streamlines the bidding process in construction. It allows you to upload drawings & specifications, as well as selecting trades to solicit to easily. Most bidding softwares are too complex for small subcontractors to understand and easily access documents. Smartbid offers ease of use for these subcontractors as well as allowing subcontractors to benefit the way the general contractor is. Having the availability to create takeoffs in Smartbid for the subcontractors you invite is so important.

Cons: The only thing I struggle with for Smartbid is the options to having subcontractors change their information within the program. We would like to see that subcontractors can update their license information as well as contacts for their company. Hopefully changes will be made in the future to allow these features to be utilized.

Overall: The benefits included are ease of access, multi user capability, subcontractor functions, and the blast emailing projects out to get the project to as many subcontractors as possible. We like the fact that it is cost efficient and allows our subcontractor pool to benefit from the program as well. You can also import public data agency information that includes new subcontractors.

Powerful bid management software

Jun 05, 2018
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It gives you all you need to manage a bidding process. - multiple divisions - pick the trades based on so many items, like area code, location, division and etc. - track who has been reviewing the document, who is interested who is not and etc - customised tender packages And lots of other features

Cons: Weak in searching- you should know how exactly the trade has been saved, otherwise you should try multiple entries. It¿s tricky to add new contacts to the trades and send the invitation for a recent tender It is not that much user friendly and needs time to be expert

Overall is a good Bid Software

Feb 09, 2018
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The software is definetly helpfull for distributing the Invitation to Bid to as many subs as possible. It's also easy to set up.

Cons: One of the main issues I've had is that you have to be very careful on the spec codes that you assign to the subs. If you input the wrong codes, you will be excluding those subs from the ITB.
Also, after so many years of using it, some subs go out of business and you can waste time checking (calling) which subs will be bidding or not.

Overall: Easy to set up and fast distribution

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on March 14, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review SmartBid Gabriela! We agree that it's very important to have the correct spec codes so that you know what scopes your subcontractors perform. Our Customer Service team can review with you some options for managing those codes and getting update requests out to your subs so that they can tell YOU what scopes they perform. Also, because we maintain our own large database of subs (SmartInsight), we know all too well how maintenance of those records is an on-going process due to the human factor: each day businesses close, employees are hired, dismissed, etc. and keeping up with these changes can be very time-consuming, if we learn of them at all. While it's our policy to refrain from editing the records in your private database, we do offer a whole range of data management tools designed to help you find the problem records so you can get them updated. Customer Service would be happy to review these with you! Reach out at any time!

PreConstruction and PreQualification Solution

Jun 27, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This software is easy to use, customizable, and their customer service is excellent. yet to find a software that compares.

Cons: I would like if it was dummed down a bid for subcontractors. I dont like they have to create a login.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

Chris - Thank you for the review and feedback! I wanted to make sure you knew that subcontractors are not required to create a login - they are giving an access code to your project in the email you send and can view documents and bid project details quickly and easily. If you have any doubt, please reach out to support@smartbidnet.com so they can walk you through the process your subs encounter!

Love the endless features

Mar 30, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Features and ease of use

Cons: For users of old fashioned software's, It has a learning curve

Overall: We have been using iSqFt for so long until we stumbled on this amazing product. Absolutely love it. Its very simple to use and got tons of more features. I actually never thought I would use the "Activity" feature . We used this to show the sub when the email we sent was opened and read and held him accountable for the changes he said he never was aware of. Also, there are constant updates and enhancements made to the program based on user review and comments, which is wonderful.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

Kalpana - Thank you for the honest feedback and review! We're working on some updates to the system that will surely solve any existing learning curves. Please let us know if we can help you further at support@smartbidnet.com. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

Customer Support is UnMatched!

Mar 30, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use and great customer support

Cons: Could be easier to build prequal forms

Overall: We have been using SmartBidNet for 4 years for our estimating and our qualification of our subcontractors. Great product and even better support.

Recommendations to other buyers: No

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

Chris - Thank you for the honest feedback and review! We're working on some updates to the system that will get users up and running on prequal quicker. In the meantime, please note you can schedule live, one-on-one training at any time with our Customer Service team. Please let us know if we can help you further at support@smartbidnet.com. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

The right tool for the job in regard to construction management bidding services.

Dec 05, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Great product, open API, and pretty good customer support. Its between this and building connected, but Smart Bid trumps Building connected because it does not require sub contractors to login.

Pros: The ease of use and the right amount of customization. The learning curve is present, but should not hinder a person that is at least somewhat comfortable with computer use. A great product that streamlines the bid process and allows the user the ability to tune the it to their needs.

Cons: The incorporation of the pre-qual process and other administrative tools into the software can be a bit clunky, but they still work, however, they require a bit more fiddling with.

Great Bid Software for GC's

Oct 07, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: SmartBid is a great resource especially for contractors that bid in multiple markets. Our sub database on SmartBid consists of thousands of subcontractors that work with our six regional offices across the US. Our primary precon department is located at our headquarters in Michigan, and often have to support our other offices with estimation. The software makes it easy to find qualified subs with an almost limitless amount of ways to set up a work area in the location of the project. It is full of features that we could make use of with more training. So of the simpler features are the activity report, allowing us to see whether a sub has viewed the project or downloaded the files, and a feature where you can see the browser and IP address of a sub that is viewing projects, to find out if they are forwarding your invitations to others.

Pros: Very easy to pick up the basics, and a very powerful database tool.

Cons: Some of the more in depth features could be very powerful but it would require having more time or assistants to setup for each project.

Recommendations to other buyers: Our company utilizes another very powerful and expensive PM suite, but our estimating department uses SmartBid because it is leaps and bounds above the other systems precon system.

SmartBidNet

Mar 30, 2017
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Being able to quickly let our subs know new information at a moments notice.

Cons: The user interface needs to be updated. It is very difficult to understand how to send out even basic invitations to bid without the assistance of someone that has used the program for several months.

Overall: SmartBid is a fantastic resource that enables us to send out bid invitations to our choice of subs at the click of a few buttons.

Recommendations to other buyers: No.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

Kohl - Thank you for the honest feedback and review! We're working on some updates to the system that will get users up and running quicker. In the meantime, please note you can schedule live, one-on-one training at any time with our Customer Service team. Please let us know if we can help you further at support@smartbidnet.com. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

I loved smartbid and I was sad to say goodbye. It was just too much money for a small company

Apr 11, 2017
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: We found a more affordable program that is better suited for our small business. But it didn't really compare. It is the closest thing we have found but it's not smartbid! Great job programmers!!

Pros: I can't say enough about the pros. It was truly a wonderful software program I loved it all. So easy

Cons: It was a bit intimidating at first and took some time to learn. But once I did, nothing really compares. Customer service was exceptional except the quality of the call sounded at times like it was a bad connection Like the Audio was in a tunnel. And some customer service reps had very strong accents.

Efficient and organized bid management system

Apr 24, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The product is organized in a functional manner and offers great flexibility for the reality that every project is a little different and needs to be handled slightly differently.

Cons: Since it is web-based, I can utilize the software anywhere, even from a tablet. The only wish I have for this product is future development of the mobile app. That said, the app still does offer some useful functionality.

Recommendations to other buyers: I recommend for people evaluating bid management software to consider the overall workflow. The organization of the steps in the system is one of the easiest to learn to use. The simplicity of the steps after that also make using the software easy to gain adoption from other users.

Subcontractors side

Feb 23, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Communication is the biggest thing for me. Submitting submittals is easier through the website. The cost is really a plus for small business owners.

Cons: None so far. So far I have not any issue that I could not resolve myself. Easy to use and manage. I feel confident that if I need customer service I will not have any problems.

Great for Our Estimators

Apr 10, 2018
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Great program to send out mass emails for estimates large or small

Pros: There is nothing better than having management software do the work for you. This estimating tool manages large and small estimates with ease. I love sending quick emails for addenda, adding new subs and making this way easier than bogging down emails

Cons: I wish it had a few more integration tools but those could honestly be built into the program as we have not even begun to use this program as effectively as we could be.

Jan 17, 2013
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We were using a bid invite program our company had developed 6 years ago when we started to have problems with the dependability of it. Invites weren't getting sent and our ability to bring in a broad base of sub bids was diminished. We were suffering from lack of work and decided to solve the problem. After searching and talking with subcontractors and competitors we decided to use SmartBidNet as a cost effective and user friendly replacement for the outdated broken system we had. Our old system did basically the same things as SmartBidNet only without all the options and wasn't nearly as easy. After about a month and a half we feel we are up and running strong. We like that we can easily add a subcontractor to the invited list and we can track who has viewed and downloaded drawings. We still have lots of training for office personnel but that will come with time. Customer support is wonderful and they check in on us every so often to make sure we are doing okay with the transition. We have had better sub bid coverage since switching to SmartBidNet and we have even landed a few jobs just in the last little bit we have been using it. I know this software will help us get more work, it has already made us more effective during the bidding process. They have a great product and great support that backs it up.

Pretty Good

Mar 30, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: This software is pretty good, Need to show contact's cell phone number in all views. Overall it does what we want the software to do.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

Matt - Thank you for the honest feedback and review! I'll make sure our product team sees this note. Please let us know if we can help you further at support@smartbidnet.com. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

Features and ease of use

Aug 10, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: This software is easy to use, customizable, and their customer service is excellent. yet to find a software that compares.

Cons: The user interface needs to be updated. It is very difficult to understand how to send out even basic invitations to bid without the assistance of someone that has used the program for several months.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on August 10, 2017

Hi Amber, thank you for taking the time to add a review of the system! I think that with all the features we've added at request of clients, there is definitely a lot for a new user to consider. The way we help users overcome this is with free training. In addition to our offering of weekly webinars for both new and advanced users, we set up group sessions with our new clients and personal sessions for new users in the areas they need it. Just reach out to our Customer Service if you find you need this!

This is a bid database that my company uses for the bid process for construction projects.

Jul 31, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: We are able to store potentiometer trade partners and send out communications regarding projects with ease. Trade partners are able to respond to the bid invitation and they are able to upload their proposal.

Cons: This software still has a couple of kinks. If at anytime you click the back button, you will be required to log back into the program.

Overall: An up to date database that can be filtered to different areas depending on where the project is located.

SmartBid has been very easy to learn and navigate as I learn the ins and outs of it.

Jul 13, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love the ease of use and the ability to distribute the information we need to get to our subs with such ease. The program is easy to use, but does not lack in its capabilities. For bidding purposes it makes my life so much easier knowing all the available information is getting distributed to everyone that needs to see it.

Cons: I have not come across any cons while working with the software. The only issue I have when using this is selecting the contractors to send bids to, but that is just because it is a strain on the eyes.

Overall: The main benefit from this software is just the saving of time. What could take up to half my day, I can accomplish in the matter of an hour. The ease of use and time saving have been truly helpful.

Evan Jakel Review

Mar 30, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Please read prior page.

Cons: Please read prior page.

Overall: This system is helpful in many ways and we use it for all our projects. I do have a few comments/suggestions.

I do not like our some trades are linked together automatically, ex. when drywall is tagged is automatically tags finish carpentry.

I wish there was a way to filter the invites with union and non-union subs. I know non-union subs do not like receiving invites for union jobs.

I also wish there was a way to filter out people who have already bid, so they are not getting our reminder invites, some get worried and think we didn't receive their bid the first time but there is no way of filtering them out from the second invite.

Overall, it's a great system and very easy to use. I would just tweak a couple of things if I could but none of these suggestions are huge problems that block our success, just minor annoyances.

Thank you

Recommendations to other buyers: Please read prior page

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

Evan - Thank you for the feedback and review! I'll be sure our Customer Service team gets these notes. Please let us know if we can help you further at support@smartbidnet.com. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

One of the best bid softwares on the market

May 24, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I prefer receiving bid invites through smartbid than other similar softwares due to it's overall simplicity

Pros: The software is easy to use from a contract and subcontractor standpoint. Can submit bids directly through the software.

Cons: It can be slow and slightly laggy at times. The folder layout can get confusing if somebody isn't keeping things organized at the top.

User-friendly for bid management

Jul 11, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Smart-bid is easy to learn and relevant to use. You can mange your bidding process properly, Especially when you are dealing with big number of stakeholders such as sub-contractors and need to feed them by the right project information, you can use this software and save a lot of time with a very low risk rate of error.

Cons: You need to be careful of any duplication of packages to the subs. Software is not intelligent to control this and needs the QC of the user.

Powerful Bidding software

Jun 23, 2016
4/5
Overall
3.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It helps a lot with the bidding and quoting process, keep track of what is happening, and definitely helps you keep contacts updated.

Cons: The emails, generally looked like spam. thus, most of the time, the supplier need to be previously contacted and put up to speed of what is happening. Also, It is difficult to send a quick email, e.g. there is a lot of setup to do before shooting a re-bid to a selected group or particular package.

Recommendations to other buyers: Check if you need to send massive emails (large documents and lots of recipients), if so, this is for you. I think that it is a very goo

Good Software

Feb 06, 2018
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This is one of the main programs I access when bidding projects for clients. It is reliable and easy to use.

Cons: No real issues with it, adding projects is pretty simple but accepting invitations can only be done from the email address of the person that was invited.

Nov 09, 2011
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: SmartBidNet is magnificent, easy to learn and use. It is powerful and precise; the tech support is knowledgeable, and quick to respond. They have resolved the few problems I've had, (typically not with SBN) within the hour. SmartBidNet has always worked above and beyond my expectations. It used to take days to sort and email drawings and specifications to 50 or so subcontractors, now I have a sub list of hundreds who have plans and specs online, every time, 24 hours a day. With the current addition of "Cloud Take Off" my subcontractors now have onscreen take off abilities, and real time collaboration capabilities. I can mark up drawings with notes, select any number of subcontractors and communicate my request for quotations in minutes instead of hours. I don't know how we were able to manage the bid process without it. We bid more projects in less time with fewer resources than ever before. The old school bid process was a pain, but SmartBidNet is a breeze. I love this priceless piece of software heaven.

A simple-to-use platform to collect and access contractors and pricing data for bids

Jun 12, 2018
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It provides enough functionalities that you don't really need another software to manage your bids. I used it in the context of construction project bids.

Cons: It acts as a good yellow-pages book, but lacks some analytical components that would be beneficial. One of them is the ability to see what percentage of trades have been covered for a project. Meaning, do we have enough bids for every trade that goes into building a building so that we can confidently say that at least one of the bids will be of a price that is fair and covers the required scope? That's a very specific question, and one that SmartBid itself can't answer because it doesn't offer many data analytics options.

Jun 01, 2011
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Since we purchased SmartBidNet 3 years ago, we have been very impressed with the value of the product and with the improvement it has brought to our estimating process. The product is very user-friendly and functional. Our subcontractors had very little trouble getting used to the software, and the SmartBidNet support staff made themselves available to them as well to help them get acquainted to it. The product does everything we need it for and much more, without the nuisance of advertisements or promotional offers. The support staff have always been very available and helpful, through our initial implementation of the software and still today with the most minor problems or questions. SmartBidNet has provided drastic cost and time savings for our estimating department. It has also created an efficient tool for managing and communicating with our database of subcontractors.

Best software I've seen

Nov 04, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's easy to customize to your liking. The best feature is the capability to create notes for each contractor contacted, and keep track of their bidding status throughout the bid timeline.

Cons: It would be nice to have the capability to solicit contractors that you currently don't have contact information for. For instance, if you were doing a project in a new location, to get a list of contractors who specialize in the bid categories you are looking for.

Recommendations to other buyers: After shopping around the market (Gradebeam, BlueBook, ISQFT, etc), this program was by far the best for our needs.

Smartbid Software Review

Feb 06, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I use the software to bid construction projects. It is very easy to use and is a great tool to have when bidding construction projects. Very easy to keep notes within the project. The ability to track whether a subcontractor has viewed, or downloaded the project is very helpful.

Cons: Sometimes subcontractors have trouble viewing Invitations to Bid.

Great Software!!!

Jul 11, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: What I like about Smartbid Bid management Software is that it is very easy to use and we can directly send bids.

Cons: SNo bad comments or feedback with this software. I love the service it provides. Very helpful!

User for about 8 years

Dec 13, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I've been using SmartBidNet for about 8 years. It seems to be the best service for the money. It does have a little learning curve as there is a lot of functionality. The program seems to be developed off a specific person's wants as it's logic and operational flow tends to have specific functionality rather than more user options to have things one way or another. The logic is still good. I found SmartBidNet at a different company and convinced them to switch and then brought it to my current company and convinced them to switch as well.

Very Effective Pre-construction Management Software

Dec 13, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I came from a company where all the pre-construction administration was done from Microsoft Outlook. SmartBid is so much more effective. I like that I am able to distribute large amounts of information to selected contractors. I do wish that adding contractors to a project list were as easy as a click of a button, or revising who gets the information without changing the global company contact. Maybe it already does this and I just need to understand that aspect better.
Overall I've had a great experience with the software.

SmartBid Review

Apr 03, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: SmartBid has been a very useful tool to our company the last few years. Their customer service is top notch. They are constantly adding features and components to make the software better and always looking for feedback and suggestions. The SmartInsight function is one of the most useful features i have seen from a bidding software. I would highly recommend this software.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

Tim - Thank you for the feedback and review, I will be sure our Customer Service team sees this! It's a pleasure working with companies like yours.

One month into use - so far so good!

Sep 12, 2014
4/5
Overall
3.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3.5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The vast majority of the work we do is public work, and the goal is to reach as many companies as possible. Other software systems required subcontractors to create accounts.

Cons: The pricing was a bit higher than we are used to. We have users that only need it for a month or two a year, which doesn't justify creating additional accounts.

Recommendations to other buyers: If you need software for public bidding opportunities, this is a great place to start (private works as well)!

Great for getting the ITBs and Addenda out to the bidders.

Mar 30, 2017
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Like any database, constant editing and upkeep required. Need to be able to properly have the sub users input their CSI divisions correctly. Too many subs received invites but then can't bid because they don't perform the work they are invited for.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

John - Thank you for the honest feedback and review! I'll be sure our Customer Service team sees these notes. Please let us know if we can help you manage your sub database further at support@smartbidnet.com. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

Part Time User

Dec 14, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I help out in the estimating department when we are slow and need to land more projects. In turn, I use SmatBidNet for a few months a year. Overall I like it. There was a bit of a learning curve in the beginning but that is to be expected with any software. I have noticed that even with the updates and the such I am able to jump back in year after year without much if any lose of how to use the program. Of all the estimating/soliciting programs I have used this one is superior.

SmartBidNet Review

Feb 22, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: We use this program several times per week. Many of the GC's we work with communicate with us ising it. I have nothing but good to say about it. A great way to acquire documents for projects and never a problem with the software!

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

James - Thank you for the feedback and review! We love hearing from subs receiving invites from SmartBid. Would love to talk with you further - you should receive my contact info with this message. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

Awesome

Oct 27, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Most definitely worth it Easy to use easy to understand get it while it's hot

Pros: Easy to understand easy to use get it asap it's most definitely worth it

Cons: None

SmartBid Review 4.3.2017

Apr 03, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Customer Service is always amazing! I do have a few suggestions as far as making the program easier to use.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

Natalie - Thank you for the feedback and review! It is a pleasure working with companies like Coastal and I'll be sure our Customer Service team sees this! Please do send any and all suggestions to support@smartbidnet.com for our consideration. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

Smart bid review

Mar 30, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: The interface is pretty easy to use. I haven't used it in a while but it worked out pretty good on the project we had it on.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

Ryan - Thank you for the feedback and review! It is a pleasure working with companies like Joeris. We hope SmartBid continues to meet your team's expectations and we hope that you'll let us know if it does not. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

Excellent user friendly value for money.

Jun 23, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Being able to cost and accurately execute projects on time with no hustles also reference to me and my team.
Satisfied customers who are always happy to receive invoices of projects well done.

Overall: Ability to estimate all the projects overheads timely and to focus more on production of the actual time on the job.

Vendor Response

by JBKnowledge on July 05, 2017

Oupa - Thank you for the review! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and enthusiasm for SmartBid!

Excellent system for coordinating construction activities

Nov 07, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: As a user of SmartBidNet via general contractors, I find it extremely easy to use, and keeps all important information in one place. Tenders can be viewed, downloaded, printed, and you can even submit your quote directly in the system!

Excellent Customer Support

Dec 13, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I have had excellent customer support over the four years that I've used SmartBidNet. If they can't give you the solution right away, they always follow up with a phone call and make sure any issues are resolved.

I organize and manage my company's projects that are out to bid

Oct 06, 2014
4/5
Overall
2.5 / 5
Ease of Use
3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4.5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: There are lots of options.

Cons: There are almost too many options. It's hard to find how to do certain things, but I am getting used to it.

Recommendations to other buyers: This software allows you to fully customize your project that is out to bid.

Bid calculator

Jan 13, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I really liked it, it helped me to get more precise estimates down to the penny as for how it used to be would vary and sometimes bid would be several thousand dollars off

Pros: The ease of use and how it takes all the data and crunches it all I have to do is key it in

Cons: Nothing

Recommendations to other buyers: Try it you'll really like it makes bidding and estimated better and quicker

Great way to track bid invites and digital takeoffs

Dec 08, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: We have been using this tool for several years now and it allows us to manage subcontractor bid lists, prequalifications, and project takeoffs.

Works Great!

Dec 13, 2016
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: This has been a great tool to help as we solicit bids for upcoming projects. Th UI could use some work to make it more efficient.

Excellent software for contacts database and bidding invites

Feb 03, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Very complete. It has very nice filters, very good setup. The new interface is definitely better and cleaner. As long as you make it clear with your invitees what are they going to receive and what they need to do, it is a very nice tool to have.

Great software

Oct 12, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: It was great experience. I found what I needed in this software

Pros: Easy to navigate

Cons: Little knowledge needed from the end user

Recommendations to other buyers: Please, take advantage of this software. It is incredible

great!

Dec 13, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: would recommend. Great for small businesses. Great for training new hires.

Pros: great

Recommendations to other buyers: buy!

Great software

Jan 24, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: After reviewing and meeting with 8-10 software vendors we chose Smartbid to manage our bidding and buyout process. This software integrated with our current software and allowed the most flexibility for the different platforms we use. Ultimately for the price and features, we believed it was the best product for our company. The only feature I would have liked to see is a regional GC vendor database to pull from.

Must have tool

Oct 31, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: This is one the best tools I have at work to manage the bids in my company. It is really easy for me and the contractors to communicate .

SOFTWARE REVIEW

Oct 11, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Website easy to navigate. The app for Android or IOS seems easy to use.

Love it!

Nov 08, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Love this product. Easy to use and worth the money!