DVMAX Practice Ratings

Overall
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About DVMAX Practice

On-premise practice management tool that helps veterinary clinics of all sizes manage emails, medical records, inventory and more. Learn more about DVMAX Practice

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Meghan E.
Veterinarian, House call practice owner
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Incredibly customizable, intuitive, easy”

OverallI went from a brick and mortar practice with many users (7 workstations + 2 laptops)and a 10,000+ item pet supply store to a solo house call practice on one laptop, all using DVMax. I am always making improvements to my practice management software. There is almost always a way to improve my protocols and DVMax helps me do that.
Pros1) Customization. I have created exam templates for many different species and situations. My fish exam template is nothing like my senior cat template. I am constantly changing my Super Items so that I can easily point and click to common procedures and products given a certain set of circumstances. Macros, pick lists (finding items), treatment plans, estimates, everything is super easy to create and edit by you. 2) Intuitive. People who have never used *any* practice management software were up and running within a day or 2 with minimal training. 3) Easy. Type Exam into the medical record, choose the exam type (if applicable), and the exam template comes up, the client is charged, the reminders are updated. Yes, that does take a lot of setting up to get everything exactly how you want it. But record keeping and client communications are so easy. I give every client a copy of their medical record for that day at the end of their appointment. It is done. Never dread hours of finishing records again.
ConsSince I have it on Macs, there are fewer choices with compatible outsourced services. For example, not all pet portals work in a Mac environment and not all integrate with DVMax in *any* environment. The financial reports need a lot of work; just being able to export them directly to quickbooks would be nice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Veterinary, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2018

“Works great on PC”

ProsAllows you store all needed treatments in one central location (treatment plans) for all hospital and boarding. Updates in same time so multiple users can see what task are needing to be completed.
ConsYou can not add onto the invoice if a patient chart is opened on another workstation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2018
Cassandra N.
Manager
Veterinary, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 29, 2018

“Intuitive”

ProsThis software is easy to learn but has alot of depth for advanced users. It is hard to find that in the same software
ConsAt time reporting seems somewhat restrictive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 29, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Outdated”

ProsIt's easy for staff to utilize. Very simple. Easy to navigate.
ConsComplete lack of customization for our communications
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Jill H.
Practice Manager
Veterinary, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“It's ok”

OverallOverall it is an ok practice program. I have worked with others that are more user friendly but I do prefer this search better than others.
ProsThe search engines to search a client is fantastic.
ConsNot extremely user friendly. There are other programs that are better to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Lynnette P.
Lead Client Care Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“I come from a practice using Cornerstone. Dvmax is a definite downgrade. A bare bones software.”

ProsVery little. Tech support is friendly. Setting up email and attachment features requires a lengthy process. Not very Mac compatible.
ConsMinimal functionality. Outdated. Not user-friendly. Has a subscription only fax capability. Attachments hard to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
James O.
Associate Doctor
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2016

“New version has so many bugs and no fixes. Their response has been non-existent.”

OverallPros -- our practice has used the soft ware since 1999 and generally the product has worked OK. Cons -- with every upgrade the data does not fit the screens, data screens get smaller and less user friendly and of course there is no fix for appointments in military time. We talk with the front staff and they know the issues but they only pass it on with no results. I sold the practice recently but if I still owned the practice I would switch to a new software!
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2016
Heather C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2017

“Dvmax review”

OverallI used this software for years at a veterinary hospital. It was very simple and easy to use. However, the lack of updates pushed us to use a different program to keep up with the newer computer systems (Windows) and to give us more options to do paperless documentation. This would be great for small practices who prefer paper records and would only use for mostly scheduling appointments.
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2017
Rachel A.
Emergency clinician
Veterinary, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 23, 2018

“DVMax review”

OverallEasy to use for the not so technically advance however does not save any time on paperwork, actually adds time to your day
ProsVery user friend in that even the "close to retire" clinician can use without trouble
ConsIt is not compatible for high volume/ caseload practices. I had to do all my paperwork on a word document then transfer it over to the program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 23, 2018
Roberto P.
It Administrator
Veterinary, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“DVMAX needs a serious overhaul.”

ProsI was very excited about DVMAX when we were looking for a new PIMS system a f ew years back. It ease of use was a good indication that would be very easy for some of our tech challenged people.
ConsIt lacked some of the more needed integrations with our Lab equipment. Lack of upgrades or service packs to fix bugs in the system
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019