VMS for Service Managers Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About VMS for Service Managers

Vertical Market Software is a fully-integrated service management solution. VMS' mobile software solution allows contractors with service departments to effectively enter data from the field, reduce paper costs, streamline communications, and use GPS mapping for better dispatching. With the ability to operate on all tablets, including iPad and Android devices, VMS mobile is a solution your field technicians will get on board with. Learn more about VMS for Service Managers

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 35 of 35 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 35 of 35 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Stacy C.
Contract Administrator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019

“Your One Stop Shop”

OverallWe have been able to drastically reduce the time for our inventory with the barcoding solution. We have gone from 2 weeks of a 8 person team to 2 days with a 3 person team. We are getting accurate counts, transfers and costing. It has eliminated duplicate item files for the same product (you can use cross reference to link multiple skus to the same item). The job costing has allowed us to run more efficiently and know when we are going to do way better (or way worse) on an estimate. The service reports help us understand which technicians are profitable and which need help. They are always improving and coming out with new features and add-on's to help with processing.
ProsI like most that the software contains almost everything that we need. It has service for our dispatching and bill of service. It has job costing for all of our larger projects. It has Payroll, Inventory, Accounts Payable, Purchase Orders, Equipment Controls, Call Management, Estimating, Order Processing for over the counter parts sales and Accounts Receivable. You wont need anything separate to run your day to day transactions. The Dispatch board is our FAVORITE part. You can schedule your technicians, maintain contracts with billing, bill by time and material, fixed dollar or flat rate.
ConsThere is few online add options. For example, when you need to make a new inventory item, you have to go to the item maintenance file. So you have to leave the screen to you are and go somewhere else - however, you can keep the tabs open so don't loss what you are working on. Some of their add ons (like e-time) don't really work for technicians that are multi-taskers (work both on jobs and service tickets).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019
Lisa N.
Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Overall review”

OverallVentus is helping us find ways to keep our costs lower and we have not implemented all of the capabilities yet. It does take awhile to learn the functions. However, the software makes more sense if you understand how it functions!
ProsItem inquiry is one of my favorite functions. Ventus makes it easy to find when a part came in, where it came from and the open and past sales. This has became a time saver in many ways. Writing checks in Ventus is a breeze. It allows us to change the information prior to creating the check if discount amounts were entered in incorrectly. There is a new credit memo function in AR for applying checks to invoices has saved time and allowed us to keep a better AR record. The new lookup functions that have been added everywhere makes finding information easier. One downfall is not being able to lookup a number with begins with.
ConsThe item inquiry is one of my favorite features in Ventus. However, we do not have a way to look up customer part/material sales history. This can be difficult when a customer would like something that they ordered before but is unsure of the part number. Post-match: The overall idea of post-match is wonderful! However, we are a company that pays our invoices by the discount date. We were unable to create checks for parts that were not received in. Loved the idea of being able to see what po was applied to the invoice. However, saving money was a bigger priority. We had to leave post-match so we were able to write checks. Still waiting for that function to change so we are able to utilize Ventus to the fullest. There has been a recent change to where our overall control of our company maintenance was taken away. Our company takes pride in the controls that we have over our accounting software and the upkeep of it. Because of this we have set-up controls to keep others out where they do not belong. Our control over this has been taken away because of other companies and their misuse of the company maintenance, AR Inquiry and AP History. This should be regulated by the company and not VMS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Ryan L.
Office Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017

“Great Software and Great People”

OverallOur company has been using VMS software to run our business for 17 years and rely on their software as the heart of our back-office. Their software is a great asset for us and I honestly don't know what we would do without it. The software does all of the tracking and number crunching our business needs from taking an initial service call all the way through accounting for the payments from our customers , it is constantly evolving so you are not stuck on an antiquated platform after a few years. Their support team is excellent and is quick to remedy any issues be they user caused errors, or the occasional software issue. I have evaluated several other software packages over the last few years and have seen nothing better on the market for the needs of our business. In a market with out many guarantees, I feel like they always deliver and more importantly they want to help us benefit from their product, not just sell it to us and then walk away.
ProsIt works well, gives us accurate information, and bottom line, makes running our business simpler by being able to integrate everything we do on one platform without compromises.
ConsMy only criticism is that we will sometimes experience a new issue after loading a software update. We always get a quick response to any issues that result from that when contacting their support personnel.
Recommendations to other buyersWe have been using their products a long time, and have really only scratched the surface on what the software is capable of and learn new things that it will do for us constantly. If you are looking for a report or way to gather specific information, be willing to ask, the software may already be able to give you what you are looking for and their support will help you uncover those capabilities.
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017
Russell H.
Asst. Service Mng./Tech/Inside Sales
Facilities Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 9, 2019

“Bar-coding & Scanning”

OverallEnjoy working with VMS. They seem to be able to fix most problems in a timely manner and willing to listen to ideas and new problems when they arise.
ProsBar-coding has allowed us to tag each individual item as it is received. Once tagged it makes the transfer of material from warehouse to Tech van much easier and faster (saving time) and this allows us to scan the item versus typing it in which can lead to many typos and errors which leads to wrong parts getting transferred and of course that leads to loss of money and extremely time consuming to fix (MONEY SAVER $$). Bar-coding also has allowed our Techs in the field to be able to scan the item directly to their tablet. This is much faster and no room for typos and picking the wrong part. Not only has this helped us in the everyday operation but Bar-coding and Scanning also has cut our time for inventory down by more than half. What would take us (2) full days we are now doing in less than an (8) hour day.
ConsBar-coding and Scanning has been a positive for us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 9, 2019
Ryan L.
Office Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 7, 2019

“Ventus Software Overview”

OverallWe have used Ventus products for over 20 years with predominantly great success. The software can do everything we need to run our business and is a great tool to do so.
ProsWhat I like most about Ventus is that our company is able to use one software for all of our database needs, everything we do is run through one database that covers us from contracts, service management, purchasing/accounts payable, accounts receivable, payroll, billing, it does it all and each module communicates with the other.
ConsMy only dislike is that due to the system constantly being enhanced via software updates, our company experiences a higher than desirable frequency of bugs and issues when we do software updates. These can often be solved fairly quickly, but the amount of issues our company has faced has been a real hardship both in terms of time we have to spend tracking issues and on the flip side, waiting on fixes for the issues that we experience. We have only been on Ventus for a little over a year so we are hopeful that as time goes on the problems will become a less common occurrence for us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 7, 2019
Scott H.
Controller
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 3, 2016

“Effective and Flexible!”

ProsVentus by Vertical Market Software was not only affordable for our company but was one of the very few options that offered a full package with the ability to handle multiple entities under one roof. The software and staff has allowed us to operate 3 separate business models including manufacturing, rental, service and sales. Again, great value and a huge array of solutions for every business! I appreciate that the vendor is able to make adjustments/additions so the software works specifically for the us and that the staff is always available for questions. (Especially during Go-Live!)
ConsHonestly, there are really no negatives that we have found. The processes for some of the applications were different than what we were use to but that is expected with a new software. Some processes seem to take a bit longer and some a bit shorter but at the end of it all we are able to get better and more accurate information.
Recommendations to other buyers1. Keep in mind the drivers of your business and make sure you are viewing the software as a tool to help improve them not as purely an expense. The software has allowed us to review data for each service technician, salesman, conversion ratios for quotes and so much more. 2. Understand that the implementation of a new software requires change, and if you are going to move forward that you only have to do it once, rather than having too narrow of a system or multiple systems. For us, working with one vendor for all of our software needs has been convenient. 3. Have a list of what you are trying to accomplish as a business and what you are hoping to solve or would like to solve with a software solution. We did this during our interviewing process and Ventus was the only solution that could not only check everything off of the list but also gave us room to grow in our price range.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 3, 2016
Linda W.
Vice-President
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017

“Great Software”

OverallWe did a lot of research before we purchased this software in 1996. We have been using it since then and have had no real problems with the software. The customer support is awesome and they are quick to respond. They have expanded the capabilities of the software, we have not kept up with all the enhancements. The support has been a 9 out of 10 even though I realize we are a very small company and do not use the software to the extent, they are still supportive and do not make us feel unimportant. I do admit there are a few items that I have sent to them that are still not resolved, but it is not a game changer and the software still works great without the issues being resolved.
Prosintegration between all modules is great
Consin service - on the gui side (vms not ventus) you can't search by the name of a street, you have to have the house number or when you search in a/r, its is by the vendor id and not the name
Recommendations to other buyersif you are a service based company the software is designed for this and if fully used to its potential, I believe would be such a great tool for your company
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017
Dee Dee D.
Administrative Manager
Environmental Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019

“Software - People and Products - Look No Further”

OverallThrough the years we have grown along with VMS in our needs and usage of our software. Had the need 3 years ago to research new software after having been on the VMS (GUI) product over 20 years. After much talk, many demos and group conversations, we stayed with VMS and went with the VENTUS product and have not regretted the decision. The software is great and the people are even better!
ProsIt is a fully integrated product from purchase orders to dispatch to all things financial. We don't have to go outside the VMS product for supporting software such as an accounting product. Ventus can be customizable to fit your needs and have not seen a better dispatch board.
ConsThere are places in the software that are inflexible and some processes that could be improved such as the ability to online add items (such as a new vendor or a new inventory part #). Currently have to go the task of adding something new.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019
Michele W.
Vice President
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 7, 2019

“Vice President”

OverallVentus is very accommodating to our needs and offers current and updated programming working efficiently and quickly to fix or update customer needs.
ProsThe software handles all of our needs in one interactive package. It seamlessly handles detailed workorders, inventory, job cost, payroll, general ledger, equipment control. AR, AP, general ledger and offers management tools and reporting to know exactly where we are doing well or not so well in real time. Mobile data, barcode scanning, and % of profit reporting are my favorite features, but I truly enjoy the whole package. Using this software has increased our profit 10% or more.
ConsRequires employees to be well trained on the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 7, 2019
Kimberly O.
Controller
Consumer Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“VMS HVAC Software”

OverallIt's a great software for any HVAC contractor looking to have every platform under "one roof".
ProsWe migrated from VMS to Ventus about 4 years ago, and it was a great decision! We were up and running within a day and needed very little training. The support from VMS is great, they are always very helpful and responsive. The product is easy to use and navigate, and we are very happy!
ConsCurrently, the only issue we have with the software is that we are not allowed to have a master password for the Company Maintenance portion, and have to call in every time we need to use that portion of the software. Sometimes we are doing maintenance changes after hours, and we cannot obtain a password then.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
DuPre R.
CFO
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Review”

OverallI have had a good experience with VMS. If I have a question about how something works they will show you how to use their program so it works for you.
ProsI like how easy it is to use and understand VMS. You are able to get reports that show you valuable information. You are also able to put things in order by job number or area.
ConsI don't like that this program is set up as excel but it doesn't have all the functions of excel. For example you should be able to group a bunch of categories in order and be able to change them. In Job Cost when setting up a job it would be useful if you could change all of the divisions, departments, or tax codes all at once.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Douglas A.
Vice President
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Great Customer Support”

OverallWe have been with VMS since the text-based user interface days. Teams are wonderful. It is great to visit with them every year and to know there is a friend on the other end of the support line when we need it.
ProsTop marks for customer support. Having an integrated solution for all our business is very efficient.
ConsThe documentation is only on-line, not integrated into the software. The documentation is task accomplishment specific. It does not lend itself well to "What does that field do?" or "What is the impact of checking this box?" type questions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
VICKIE S.
BOOKKEEPER
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 10, 2019

“AIA BILLING”

ProsTHE PROGRAM FOR AIA BILLING IS THE EASY SET UP OF THE JOB TILL COMPLETION OF THE JOB THE WAY THE PROGRAM GIVES THE CUSTOMER ONCE SUBMITTED A COMPLETE BREAK DOWN OF THE BILLING OF THE MONTH - FROM THE INVOICE TO THE SCHEDULE OF VALUES, TO THE APPLICATION OF PAYMENT
ConsIF A MISTAKE IS MADE IN THE AP - IT IS NOT FUN TRYING TO CORRECT AND REMOVE IF A DISCOUNT IS TAKEN AND SOMETHING IN THE SYSTEM DOES NOT TAKE THE DISCOUNT IT CAN SHOW UP IN HISTORICAL NOT A FUN THING TO GET OUT OF THE SYSTEM
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 10, 2019
Michael W.
President
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 10, 2019

“Leasing and Consulting Company”

OverallVentus software has helped us to handle all of property, consulting, and training aspects easily in one program.
ProsIt helps me to track all of my equipment that I lease and create easy contracts and invoicing as well as all of my rental properties and even consulting services. I like the easy to use password options. I can secure private information or limit use of programs or reports that are only for use by certain users.
ConsRequires trained and informed users ...
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 10, 2019
Michele W.
Vice President
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017

“Ventus Giving Us Great Returns”

OverallWe have been using Ventus software for 6 yrs. The detail and control we now have in all areas of operation since we started using the software has saved us thousands of dollars. We use all modules except for some of the newest ones, they all bring value and allow us to increase our productivity and track problem areas. I was unable to truly know what was going on in all areas of my (5) companies until we started using this software.
ProsAccess to detail and profitability
ConsNeed to be trained by someone who knows how to use the software.
Recommendations to other buyersWe have increased profits by 20% using the Ventus modules.
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017
Brian S.
President
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Ventus Software Review”

OverallOverall the Ventus software is an important part of our business operations. The mobile dispatch for field techs has allowed us generate service invoices at the time of service and improve service cash flow.
ProsVery robust. Integrated modules allow us to efficiently handle all accounting, payroll, inventory, service management and dispatch functions. The ability to have custom programming for additional needs.
ConsIn the past, work orders were slow to be resolved. Much improved now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
MILES B.
BOOKKEEPER
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Very Powerful Stuff”

ProsVMS is very robust. It is a very powerful accounting software. If used properly it can do a lot of amazing things
ConsI do wish it were easier to use and learn. If you don't have a good overall understanding of how it is working it can be difficult make it do what you want in some cases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Jim N.
CFO
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017

“GUI to Ventus”

OverallOur company has used VMS since 1991. We absolutely could not operate our day to day business without them. The Software is comprehensive and intuitive. The Mobil Data App has also greatly improved the efficiency of our Service Department.
ProsThe amount of information right at your finger tips
Consbecause of its vastness, sometimes it becomes overwhelming
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017
Jennifer R.
OFFICE MANAGER
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017

“GREAT SUPPORT!”

OverallI've been working in the VMS software since 1995. We have seen and been through the many changes of VMS. What always stays consistent is the wonderful support at VMS, specifically our rep. She is always helpful and insightful. She is funny and understanding. The software is easy to work in, and easy to train new hires.
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017
Amber R.
Controller
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“Ventus Software”

OverallThe fact that the software is focused on our industry as a main customer base is appreciated since we can be very specific and specialized. The ability to incorporate custom features into the software is also a plus.
ProsThe search and report options and it being a single software for all our business needs.
ConsWhen updates also cause issues and need additional updates.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
Terri D.
Accounting Manager
Accounting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 7, 2019

“Accouting Manager”

OverallGood. The help desk is awesome.
ProsYou can have multiple version of the company file open and that allows you to more effectively research and make adjustments
ConsI wish there were an overall search feature. Also if there were keyboard shortcuts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 7, 2019
Roseann K.
a/p
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017

“Vertical Market has been great for our business!”

OverallWe love all the applications in the software. We have very few issues, but when we do they are taken care of promptly.
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017
Jessica E.
Service Coordinator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 3, 2016

“Amazing results of our business performance, paperless procedures.”

ProsThe ease of learning the software and customer support received from VMS has made our transition to the software much smoother than we anticipated. The programmers and reps are always willing to listen to your problems and help with different suggestions.
ConsCrystal reports have been a struggle for us, when running reports. More training with Crystal Reports would be beneficial.
Recommendations to other buyersThe mobile data has changed our business performance. We instantly have our technicians write up, customer signature, pictures, unit information, etc... This allows us to quote and bill as soon as our technicians have completed a call.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 3, 2016
Michele W.
Vice President
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 2, 2016

“Best Total Package Software Product for Construction and Service”

ProsVery detailed software has allowed us to increase our control, efficiency, and effectiveness in the area of job cost, inventory, and service. Profit margins are up 15% in 4 yrs. Great Customer Support.
ConsThere is nothing I do not like.
Recommendations to other buyersThis software will bring your company into the 21st century with software, dispatch, and mobile data to make the efficient use of human resources and management control tools.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 2, 2016
Dawn Nalley Ashland C.
Office manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 14, 2019

“Ventus”

OverallThe people are great. Not always very good at getting back with you. Feel like a small fish and not as important in comparison to other companies that use the software so we sometime get bumped.
ProsThe program has a lot to offer. Can be an all inclusive software system.
ConsNo or very little training on the software. No idea how to use most of it. Not consistent from one module to another. EX. spell check in service billing but not in accounts receivable billing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 14, 2019
Anita M.
Controller
Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 7, 2019

“Pros and Cons”

OverallBecause of the functionality and ease of use, it has great potential. However, the instability of the programming and the poor response of service makes me wish we had not purchased the product.
ProsIt has great functionality, and it's user friendly.
Cons1. The programming is very unstable. Most of the time, when a new release it's out, it messes up something that was working correctly before. 2. Service is far to slow in responding, if they respond at all. If they do respond, they are usually helpful....BUT it's rare for them to respond quickly, and sometimes they do not respond at all.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 7, 2019
Rob J.
COO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2017

“Its been average. Not terrible but not great.”

ProsThe software has a module for most everything a company does. It can do alot of different things and is good for a company starting out in our industry. We have just outgrown it.
ConsThe software is outdated in a lot of ways. My biggest issue though is how difficult it can be to get some new set up by programming. Anything custom is expensive and takes forever
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2017
Jack J.
NA
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“Overall Good”

ProsWhat I like most about this software is what some of the reports give. They can be extremely useful in managing our technicians
ConsWhat I like least about the software though is that you are somewhat limited in reporting and can't easily create custom reports
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Katrena P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017

“ Great Software for Dispatching Service Calls”

OverallWe our a service/repair company that uses VMS software for dispatching calls to technicians. The dispatch board allows you to see all technicians on the board and what calls are assigned to them. The dispatch board has a color scheme that lets you know when the technician acknowledges, puts on hold, and completes the ticket. Best part you can pick what colors you want for those options. We also use Mobile Data which goes hand in hand with the dispatch board. Mobile Data allows the technicians to receive the tickets electronically on there mobile device. The technicians can now see the comments we enter, ticket number, site info, enter parts they use, comments for the repair and much more! We also use the software for AR, AP, inventory, and check reconciliation. Overall VMS is a good product, and has great customer service.
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017
Anthony M.
IT Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 14, 2019

“One year customer”

OverallOverall I think the software is good but the bugs need to be worked out. Quicker turnaround on help desk support.
ProsIt was designed specifically for the PEI industry and had estimating, call management, AIA, certified payroll, core processing and gps integration built in.
ConsStarting up was slow and cumbersome. Tech support and software fixes are slow. Reports that are basic don't work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 14, 2019
Yvette W.
CFO/VP
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2014

“VMS software and the Vertical Market Staff get our Vendor of the Year Award”

OverallI can't say enough of how much we love the VMS product, and how reliable it was for us. We ran VMS from 1997 through 2013, migrating from VMS to the SQL version (Ventus). During our time on VMS, we experienced practically no software problems with the program. The support was, and continues to be great, and I have the highest degree of confidence when I do have to call that issues are taken care of quickly. These guys really deserve an award!
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2014
Debra S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017

“VMS review 2.15.17”

OverallI use the payroll module 85% of the time so I cannot really comment on the other modules. As for payroll, I believe there are a lot of features we are not using. What I do use, I find the ease of use is a 4 out of 5 star rating. This is because I have worked with other payroll modules at a different company. If VMS could provide more detail, that would be helpful. For example, the check stub does not break out the FICA taxes into SS and Medicare. Also, if there could be more descriptions available for the earning codes instead of a lump sum for "REIMB,TRV/ADJ", that would be helpful to the employees. I do want to praise Linda, Diana and Martye...they are so helpful and patient any time I've contacted them. Especially Linda! :) She takes the majority of my questions!
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017
Consiglia M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017

“Software rating review”

OverallWe started to use Ventus software in 2014. The applications are user friendly and the closing per month is quick and efficient. If you encounter any difficulties the support is outstanding.
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017
Sharon C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017

“VMS is a wonderful company to work with.”

OverallWe have been with VMS since 2003 and I would recommend them to others for sure. The service response is very fast.
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017
Ken H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2017

“Customer Review”

OverallThe software works okay but is not very consistent from 1 module to the next. To many little quirks that you need to work around because trying to get them fixed is just to time consuming.
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2017