TerraSync Software Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5

About TerraSync Software

Using GPS for GIS data collection and data maintenance is essential for timely decision-making and the wise use of resources. Learn more about TerraSync Software

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Hilary W.
Scientist III
Environmental Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2018

“For environmental professionals, TerraSync is a great thing!”

OverallOverall, I have been pleased with TerraSync and the services it provides. Anything that streamlines field work is greatly appreciated, and this software does just that.
ProsTerraSync is great for the transfer of data between the GPS unit and your computer. The software makes going into the field easy - from quick upload of pre-selected sample locations to fast download of collected data points post-effort.
ConsThe software does seem to have a few quirks - I've had coordinate system units change from feet to meters on me a few times between upload and transfer to the GPS unit, which can be tricky when trying to fix real-time in the field.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Nathan B.
Environmental Scientist
Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“It feels like it's software that is stuck in the 90s - but it does everything it needs to.”

OverallIt's literally the only software/hardware combo that can do what we need to do in a way that doesn't require backpack units and huge capital investments. It's amazingly powerful but implemented in a really dumb way.
ProsThe functionality is pretty amazing - the ability to geolocate with that level of precision, to do these corrections that rapidly, to do it in the field with a laptop is insane. That being said, the actual handheld user experience on a GEOXT or whatever is mediocre at best. I mean, we use it every day for projects that we couldn't otherwise do - but only because it's the only option, not the best.
ConsThe user interface makes no sense, the terminology of 'background' vs 'data' files is silly and non-intuitive, using it to navigate in the field is hit-and-miss (I'd rather have a topo and a compass), and editing features is almost impossible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019

“GPS Software”

ProsBest GPS interface Ive used to display data taken in the field and transitioning it onto a screen.
ConsA lot to handle, but overall a very solid tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Alaila L.
Technological Advisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“Trimble equipment is very useful for gravimetric surveys, seismic and topographic studies.”

ProsThe software that terraSync are essential tools for a field geolocation work, allowing the field operator to store all the data collected in a single computer that can later be downloaded to a computer in the easiest and most efficient way. They are high precision equipment for seismic surveys, georadar, topographic surveys, etc.
ConsTrimble functional equipment perfectly in open areas free of vegetation which is a limitation for spaces with high density of vegetation, losing signal capture data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Environmental Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“Works for preparing, processing, and transferring GIS / GPS data.”

ProsGood interface for transferring data to my field units from desktop information. Very easy to choose multiple base station groups for post-processing, and combine shapefiles into single background files.
ConsSometimes it's necessary to change attributes of multiple features collected features before sending to the GIS department. This is often done by field staff, who may not have full GIS software on their computers. It would be nice to be able to access data by feature type in tabular form, rather than having to click on every feature in a rudimentary map to make changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Garrett K.
Scientist
Environmental Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“I use TerraSync on a Trimble 6000 Series for wetland delineations. Very accurate equipment.”

ProsI like the abundance of features. Although I only use some of them, the ones I do use are very efficient.
ConsAlthough I like the abundance of features, sometimes having too much can be confusing. I with there was one specifically designed around me field needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Zach K.
IT tech
Computer Networking, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Trimble terrasync”

ProsMapping data points in real time is fluid and functional. Data transfers once back at the office are easy. Wifi ready but I've never used in the field.
ConsThe handheld device is clunky and moving software between machines is messy with licenses needing to be removed by the vendor before reactivating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Avatar Image
ronald s.
JEFE DE SALA SITUACIONAL
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018

“It is a software in which data of geographic information can be collected in the field in a fast way”

OverallQuality of the information collected in the field.
ProsIt is a software with many advantages since it has a good interface, in addition to the high precision of the data.
ConsIt is a software with a high cost, but it is worth investing since it gives excellent results in terms of accuracy and data quality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018
Avatar Image
Yemsi P.
Planificador Territorial II
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018

“Capture GPS data in a simple and basic way”

OverallThe benefits are being able to capture data gps quickly in a fieldwork. In addition to its compatibility with GIS software, which allows to facilitate certain work processes
ProsThe program allows basic GPS data capture functions in any place, with good satellite coverage. Another aspect that I like is that it allows transferring the captured data to other formats such as dxf, shp among others, to process that data in other programs.
Cons I do not like that it has a old fashioned user interface, and it is limiting in some options to do. I want to have more facilities to collect the data and make the necessary modifications, in the short time that I have in fieldwork
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018